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BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 
 
PETITIONER, 
 
 Petitioner, 
 
v. 
 
MOTOR VEHICLE ENFORCEMENT  
DIVISION OF THE UTAH STATE 
TAX COMMISSION, 
 
 Respondent.  
 

 
 
ORDER 
 
Appeal No.      07-0807 
 
Tax Type:        Motor Vehicle 
                        Dealer Violation 
    
Judge:             Phan  
 

 
 
Presiding: 

Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge  
        
Appearances: 

For Petitioner: PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE, Owner, PETITIONER 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1, Assistant Director, MVED   
 RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2, Officer, MVED 

 
 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the 

provisions of Utah Code Sec. 59-1-502.5, on July 12, 2007.  The matter is before the Commission on 

Petitioner’s appeal of a $$$$$ penalty imposed by Respondent  (“MVED”) for displaying for sale a vehicle 

from an unlicensed location.   

APPLICABLE LAW 

Utah Code Ann. §41-3-105(4)(c)(iv) provides that an application for a motor vehicle dealer’s 

license must include “a complete description of the principal place of business, including . . . any other places 

of business operated and maintained by the applicant in conjunction with the principal place of business[.]” 

UCA §41-3-201(4) provides that “[a] supplemental license shall be secured by a dealer     
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. . . for each additional place of business maintained by him.”   

UCA §41-3-210 prohibits a motor vehicle dealer from conducting certain acts, as follows in 

pertinent part: 

(1) The holder of any license issued under this chapter may not: 
. . . . 
 n)  sell, display for sale, or offer for sale motor vehicles at any location other 
than the principal place of business or additional places of business licensed under 
this chapter;  this provision is construed to prevent dealers, salespersons, or any other 
representative of a dealership from selling, displaying, or offering motor vehicles for 
sale from their homes or other unlicensed locations;  
. . . . 

A penalty is imposed for a civil violation of the Utah Motor Vehicle Business Regulation Act 

in accordance with UCA §41-3-702, as follows in pertinent part: 

(1) The following are civil violations under this chapter and are in addition to 
criminal violations under this chapter:   
 . . . .         
 (c) Level III: . . . .     
                 (iv) selling from an unlicensed location;  . . . . 
(2)    (a) The schedule of civil penalties for violations of Subsection (1) is:  

. . . . 
(i) Level III: $250 for the first offense, $1,000 for the second offense, and 
$5,000 for the third and subsequent offenses. 

         (b) When determining under this section if an offense is a second or subsequent 
offense, only prior offenses committed within the 12 months prior to the commission 
of the current offense may be considered.  
. . . . 

DISCUSSION 

  On June 6, 2007, MVED imposed the $$$$$ penalty after determining that Petitioner was 

displaying for sale a Dodge Durango at ADDRESS in CITY, which was not the dealership’s principal place of 

business.  When the vehicle was discovered at the location by an MVED Investigator, written in large letters on 

the front, back and side windows of the vehicle were the sale price and telephone number.  The vehicle was 

parked near and facing HIGHWAY where it would be visible to the passing traffic.  The MVED Investigator 
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who spotted the vehicle took photographs of the vehicle which clearly indicate the position and location of the 

vehicle next to the highway and that it was being offered for sale.  In addition the vehicle was parked a long 

way from a manufactured or modular home retail location, considering the empty parking lot, and as close to 

the highway as possible.  The Case Report indicates that Investigator (  X  ) had called the number on the 

vehicle and had spoken with PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE.  The report indicated that PETITIONER 

REPRESENTATIVE stated he had placed the vehicle there to sell with the consent of his brother who owned 

the manufactured home business.  This was not a licensed location for Petitioner.  

  MVED determined that the $$$$$ penalty was appropriate under Section 41-3-702 because 

the offense of selling from an unlicensed location is a Level III violation and because it was Petitioner’s first 

offense. 

  Petitioner’s representative did not contend that the dealership was not licensed to sell vehicles 

at that location on HIGHWAY or that the vehicle was parked there.  Instead at the hearing, and in contradiction 

to the Case Report, he indicates that he had driven the vehicle to that location, which was the parking lot for 

the manufactured home business, because he was dining in a nearby restaurant.  Petitioner did not provide a 

witness or other support for this position.  With his appeal form it had been Petitioner’s written representation 

that he had parked there because he was at the manufactured or modular home business inquiring about 

purchasing a home.        

  It was the Division’s position that the manner in which the vehicle was parked, away from the 

business, across an empty parking lot and next to the highway constituted offering the vehicle for sale at an 

unlicensed location.  The Division indicated that even if a salesperson were driving a vehicle for personal use 

and went, for example, to the grocery store, if the vehicle was parked away from the other vehicles, near the 

road to obviously be more visible than it would be a violation, but if the vehicle was parked in amongst the 
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other cars it would appear that it was just parked there while the driver was in the store and would not be 

considered as being offered for sale at that location.   

  In this matter the inconsistency of the later explanations on the part of the Petitioner, give 

credence to the Case Report and the original statement made by the Petitioner to the investigator, that 

Petitioner had placed the vehicle there to sell, with the consent of the owner of the business.  For this reason 

the Commission sustains the Division’s imposition of a penalty.  However, the Commission instructs the 

Division that it disagrees with the Division’s interpretation of the law to some extent in this matter, as the 

Commission would not give such significant weight in the determination on the manner in which a vehicle is 

parked, in and of itself, whether it was parked amongst the other vehicles, or at the edge of the parking lot.   

 DECISION AND ORDER 

 Based on the foregoing, the Commission sustains MVED’s imposition of the $$$$$ penalty at 

issue. Accordingly, the Petitioner’s appeal is denied.  It is so ordered.   

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and 

Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written 

request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall 

be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this __________ day of _______________________, 2007. 

____________________________________ 
Jane Phan 
Administrative Law Judge 
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BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION. 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this _________ day of ________________________, 2007. 

 

 

Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli  
Commissioner     Commissioner  
 
JKP/07-0807.int. 


