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 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 
PETITIONER, ) 

) ORDER 
Petitioner, )  

) Appeal No. 07-0462    
v.  )     

) 
MOTOR VEHICLE ENFORCEMENT  ) Tax Type:   Sales Person License 
DIVISION,  UTAH STATE TAX ) 
COMMISSION, ) Judge: Phan 

) 
Respondent. )  

 _____________________________________ 
 

Presiding: 
Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge  

        
Appearances: 

For Petitioner: PETITIONER 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1 
 RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2, Officer, MVED   

 
 

 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the 

provisions of Utah Code Sec. 59-1-502.5, on May 17, 2007.  Petitioner is appealing the denial of his 

application for motor vehicle salesperson licenses.  The license was denied by letter dated March 28, 2007. 

Petitioner’s Petition for Redetermination form was undated, but received in the Appeals Section on April 24, 

2007.  

APPLICABLE LAW 

 (2)(a) If the administrator finds that there is a reasonable cause to deny, suspend, or revoke a 

license issued under this chapter, the administrator shall deny, suspend, or revoke the license. (b) Reasonable 

cause for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license includes  .  .  .  (vi) making a false statement on any 

application for a license under this chapter or for special license plates; (vii) a violation of any state or federal 
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law involving motor vehicles; (viii) a violation of any state or federal law regarding controlled substances; (ix) 

charges filed with any county attorney, district attorney, or U.S. attorney in any court of competent jurisdiction 

for a violation of any state or federal law involving motor vehicles; (x) a violation of any state or federal law 

involving fraud; or (xi) a violation of any state or federal law involving a registerable sex offense under Section 

77-27-21.5.  . .  (Utah Code Sec. 41-3-209(2).). 

DISCUSSION 

Respondent denied issuance of the motor vehicle salesperson license to Petitioner based on the 

fact that Petitioner had disclosed on his Motor Vehicle Sales Person application that he had been convicted in 

1998 of a felony drug charge.   

At the hearing Petitioner explained that the conviction occurred nine years ago.  He had served 

his sentence of 1year and 9 months time, as well as completed probation.  He was released from probation in 

June or July 2000.  He had also completed a drug rehabilitation program during this period and paid all the 

fines.  He indicated that he has had no convictions since the 1998 convictions.  Petitioner also indicated that he 

had not had any “run ins” with the law since then, except for an incident which occurred in November, 2006.  

The November incident involved him retrieving some of his belongings from the residence of a former 

girlfriend.  He states that just within the last couple of weeks he had received notice that the District Attorney 

may proceed on misdemeanor trespass charges.  He indicates, however, that he recently spoke with the District 

Attorney, who at this point is still considering whether to drop the charges or go forward.  There had not been a 

conviction for trespassing indicated in Petitioner’s Criminal History Report, which was provided by 

Respondent on May 18, 2007.       

Petitioner’s Criminal History Report confirmed that Petitioner has had no convictions since 

1998.  There was listed under “Date of Last Arrest,” the date of April 30, 2007, which may coincide with when 
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Petitioner learned of the new trespassing charges.  There was no other information relating to the November 

incident and no other arrests or charges that occurred after 1998.     

 DECISION AND ORDER 

 Due to the fact that Petitioner successfully completed the probation and drug treatment 

program by 2000 and has had no new convictions since 1998, it is the determination of the Commission that 

Petitioner be issued a motor vehicle salesperson licenses at this time.  Should Petitioner be convicted of one of 

the crimes specified in the statute, or that would otherwise give Respondent cause, Respondent should suspend 

the license at that time.  It would be the Commission’s conclusion, however, that even if Petitioner were 

convicted of a misdemeanor trespass charge, it would not be cause under the statute to suspend Petitioner’s 

license, assuming there were no other charges or convictions.     

 Based on the forging, Petitioner’s appeal is granted and Respondent is hereby ordered to issue 

a motor vehicle salesperson license to Petitioner.     

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and 

Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written 

request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall 

be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 
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Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this __________ day of _______________________, 2007. 

 
____________________________________ 
Jane Phan 
Administrative Law Judge 

 
 
 
BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION. 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this _________ day of ________________________, 2007. 

 

 

Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner    Commissioner  
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