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PETITIONER, ) 

) ORDER 
Petitioner, )  

) Appeal No.  07-0388  
v.  )     

) Tax Type:   Property Tax/Centrally Assessed 
PROPERTY TAX DIVISION ) Tax Year: 2007 
OF THE UTAH STATE TAX ) 
COMMISSION, ) Judge: Phan 

) 
Respondent. )  

 _____________________________________ 
 

Presiding: 
Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge  

        
Appearances: 

For Petitioner: PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1, Analyst 
 RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2, Analyst 

 
 

 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the 

provisions of Utah Code Sec. 59-1-502.5, on June 4, 2007.  Petitioner is appealing the penalty assessed 

pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 59-2-207, for Petitioner’s late filing of the 2007 property tax report.  

 APPLICABLE LAW 

 A person, or an officer or agent of that person, owning or operating property described in 

Subsection(1)(b) shall file with the commission, on a form prescribed by the commission, a sworn statement on 

or before March 1 of each year. (Utah Code Sec. 59-2-207(1)(a).)   

Except as provided in Subsection (3)(c), the commission shall assess a person a penalty as 

provided in Subsection (3)(b), if the person, or an officer or agent to that person, fails to file: (i) the statement 

required under Subsection (1)(a) on or before the later of: (a) March 1; or (B) if the commission allows an 
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extension under Subsection (1)(c) for filing the statement, the day after the last day of the extension period or 

(ii) any other information the commission determines to be necessary .  .   .   (Utah Code Sec. 59-2-207(3)(a).) 

The penalty described in Subsection (3)(a) is an amount equal to the greater of: (i)10% of the 

person’s estimated tax liability under this chapter for the current calendar year not to exceed $50,000; or (ii) 

$100.  (Utah Code Sec. 59-2-207(3)(b).) 

(i) Notwithstanding Subsections (3)(a) and (4), the commission may waive, reduce, or 

compromise a penalty imposed under this section if the commission finds there are reasonable grounds for the 

waiver, reduction or compromise.  (ii) If the commission waives, reduces, or compromises a penalty under 

Subsections (3)(c)(i), the commission shall make a record of the grounds for waiving, reducing, or 

compromising the penalty.  (Utah Code Sec. 59-2-207(3)(c).) 

DISCUSSION  

Petitioner's representative states that a new office manager was hired and that it was the duty 

of the office manager to file the report.  In March 2007 it was discovered that the office manager was 

embezzling funds.  The office manager was thereafter terminated and is currently being prosecuted by the 

Carbon Country Attorney on 47 counts of theft and unlawful use of a financial transaction card and forgery.  

After termination of the office manager Petitioner had an intense audit conducted and discovered the 2007 

Annual Return for Assessment.  Petitioner immediately contacted Respondent and, when it was determined 

that it had not been filed, Petitioner quickly (within a few days) filed the return.    

Respondent’s representatives indicate that this was the first time a penalty had been assessed 

against Petitioner.  Petitioner had been filing the report timely prior to the period at issue.  Due to the 

compliance history of the Petitioner along with the fact that the delay was caused by a situation with an 

embezzling employee and that Petitioner expeditiously sought to rectify the situation and promptly filed after 

becoming aware, it was Respondent’s recommendation that this penalty be waived.   
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The Commission accepts Respondent’s recommendation in this matter, and will waive the 

penalty considering the account history and the embezzlement.  The Commission cautions Petitioner that the 

criterion for waiving a second penalty is more stringent. 

 DECISION AND ORDER 

Based on the foregoing, the Commission waives the penalty assessed pursuant to Utah Code 

Sec. 59-2-207.  It is so ordered.     

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing or the right of an affected 

county to show cause pursuant to Section 59-2-1007 why the Commission should not adjust the values in 

accordance with this order.  However, this Decision and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the 

Commission unless an affected party files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to 

proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the 

Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further administrative appeal rights in 

this matter.  In that event, the Property Tax Division is ordered to adjust its records in accordance with this 

order.  The Property Tax Division is also ordered to calculate the final adjustments to the values apportioned to 
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 tax districts as a result of this order and to deliver that information to the affected counties on behalf of the 

Commission.  The auditors of the affected counties are ordered to use the information so provided to adjust 

their tax roles in accordance with this order. 

DATED this _________ day of _______________________, 2007. 

 

___________________________________ 
Jane Phan 
Administrative Law Judge 
 
 
 
 

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION. 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this ________ day of ________________________, 2007. 

 

 
Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner    Commissioner  
 
 


