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STATEMENT OF THE CASE 
 
 This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for Formal Hearing on April 15, 

2008.  The Applicant is appealing the Commission’s Order from the Initial Hearing in this matter 

upholding the suspension of his salesperson license to sell motor vehicles.  Based on the 

testimony and evidence presented at the Formal Hearing, the Tax Commission hereby makes its: 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. On November 15, 2006, the Applicant submitted a Motor Vehicle Salesperson 

Application to the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division (“MVED”) to renew his license.  

(Exhibit R-1).   

2. Question number three of the application asks, “During the past 10 years, have you been 

convicted of any misdemeanors or felonies in Utah or any other state?”  Applicant 

checked the “Yes” box, and in the space provided, wrote, “Felony DUI.” 

3. Applicant was granted a salesperson license, and resumed working for COMPANY.   
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4. Applicant’s Utah Criminal History Report (Exhibit R-2) was subsequently obtained and 

showed the following convictions in the last 10 years:  

DATE  CONVICTION 

1/15/2002 DUI Reduced to Alcohol/Drug Related Reckless (Class B 

Misdemeanor) 

8/6/2002 DUI (Class B Misdemeanor) 

10/30/2002 DUI (Third Degree Felony) 

10/30/2002 DUI (Third Degree Felony) 

11/18/2005 Illegal Possession/Use of Controlled Substance (Class B 

Misdemeanor) 

1/9/2006 Distribution of Dangerous Drugs (Third Degree Felony) 

5. Based on the number and nature of the convictions, and on Applicant’s failure to disclose 

his criminal history on the application, MVED issued a letter dated March 7, 2007 

suspending Applicant’s salesperson license.   (Exhibit R-3).   

6. At the Formal Hearing, Applicant testified that he did not intentionally mislead MVED 

by failing to disclose all of his convictions.  Applicant stated that the form was confusing, 

that he believed the illegal possession and distribution of dangerous drug charges were 

dismissed as part of a plea bargain related to a parole violation for the 2002 DUI 

convictions and that he did not understand the difference between a traffic misdemeanor 

and a traffic infraction.   

7. The Applicant submitted letters from WITNESS 1 and WITNESS 2 (Exhibits P-1 and P-

5), two of the parole officer’s involved in the Applicant’s supervision since his release 

from prison.  Both letters note that the Applicant has undergone substance abuse 

treatment, including therapy and classes; and that the Applicant has met his parole 

requirements without incident.   

8. The Applicant provided a letter from WITNESS 3, a licensed clinical social worker from 

the Veteran’s Administration outpatient clinic in CITY (Exhibit P-2).  WITNESS 3 states 

that she has worked with the Applicant for months, that he completed a residential stay 

for substance abuse several years ago, and that the Applicant remains motivated to make 

changes in his life and continue working his recovery plan.   

9. A letter was also submitted from WITNESS 4, a licensed substance abuse counselor with 

the (  X  ) on behalf of the Applicant.  WITNESS 4 states that the Applicant has 

established himself as a role model to other clients, that he has participated in the 
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program since November of 2006, has no unexcused absences, and no positive urinalysis 

and breathalyzer tests.  (Exhibit P-3).   

10. Applicant’s employer, is aware of Applicant’s criminal past, and WITNESS 5, the 

President of COMPANY, submitted a letter on Applicant’s behalf that states that 

Applicant “a valuable employee of my dealership.”  (Exhibit P-4).  Further, the Applicant 

has been employed at the dealership for the last four years, and while the Applicant was 

incarcerated, the dealership held his position open for him.   

11. At the time of the hearing, the Applicant remained on parole for his most recent 

conviction.  At the hearing, the Applicant represented that his parole officer had 

submitted a request for release from parole and that the Board of Pardons and Parole 

should be making its decision within two weeks.  On April 25, 2008, the Commission 

received a copy of a letter from the Board of Pardons and Parole stating that the 

Applicant’s parole would be terminated on April 29, 2008. 

12. For the division, RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2 testified at the Formal Hearing 

that MVED is required by Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209 to suspend Applicant’s license 

because of the nature of the Applicant’s convictions and his failure to fully disclose his 

criminal history.  The undisclosed convictions included an additional driving under the 

influence of alcohol/drugs, alcohol related reckless driving, distribution of dangerous 

drugs, and illegal possession/use of a controlled substance.   

13. The Division argued that under Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209 the Applicant’s DUI and 

alcohol related reckless convictions are violations involving motor vehicles, the 

possession/use of a controlled substance, and the failure to disclose his criminal history 

all constitute “reasonable cause” that would warrant the suspension of the Applicant’s 

salesperson license.   

APPLICABLE LAW 

 The denial, suspension, and revocation of a salesperson license are governed by Utah 

Code Ann. §41-3-209 as follows: 

(1) If the administrator finds that an applicant is not qualified to 
receive a license, a license may not be granted. 

 
(2) (a)  If the administrator finds that there is reasonable cause 

to deny, suspend, or revoke a license issued under this 
chapter, the administrator shall deny, suspend, or revoke the 
license.   

 
(b) Reasonable cause for denial, suspension, or 

revocation of a license includes, in relation to the 
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applicant or license holder or any of its partners, 
officers, or directors: 

 
(vi) making a false statement on any 

application for a license   
             under this chapter or for special license plates; 

(vii) a violation of any state or federal law 
involving motor vehicles; 

(viii) a violation of any state or federal law 
involving controlled substances; 

(x) a violation of any state or federal law involving 
fraud… 
 

Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209 (2007).   
  

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

The Petitioner failed to disclose all of his prior convictions, which facilitated the 

Division issuing a license to him when the Division may not have done so, had all the 

convictions been disclosed.1  It is the Commission’s position that an applicant is required 

to disclose all felonies and misdemeanors for which the applicant was convicted within 

the past 10 years.  The Applicant testified that he believed the illegal possession and 

distribution of dangerous drug charges were dismissed as part of a plea bargain related to 

a parole violation for the 2002 DUI convictions and that because he did not understand 

the difference between a traffic misdemeanor and a traffic infraction he did not disclose 

the alcohol related reckless charges.  The Applicant’s employer was aware of the 

Applicant’s criminal history, and even held his job open while the Applicant served his 

prison sentence.  For these reasons, the Commission does not find that the Applicant 

intentionally omitted his criminal history from his application.   

The Division had reasonable cause to suspend the Applicant’s salesperson license 

under Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209.  The Applicant has been convicted of crimes that 

involve motor vehicles, violations of state law involving controlled substances, and failed 

to fully disclose his criminal history on the salesperson application, all of which 

constitute “reasonable cause” for the suspension of a salesperson license.  Although the 

Division had reasonable cause to suspend the Applicant’s license, the Commission may 

                                                 
1 Utah Code Sec. 76-8-504(2) provides that it is a class B misdemeanor to make any written false 
statement, which one does not believe to be true, or knowingly create a false impression in a written 
application, with the intent to deceive a public servant in the performance of his or her official function. 
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consider other factors, such as the passage of time since the most recent conviction, the 

payment of restitution, and termination of probation or parole.  It has been approximately 

one and one-half years since the Applicant’s most recent conviction.  In the past, the 

Commission has used clearing parole or probation as a general guideline to allow 

salesperson licenses to individuals who have been convicted of the crimes identified in 

Utah Code Ann. §41-3-209.  The Applicant was released from parole on April 29, 2008.  

For these reasons, the Commission finds that the Applicant should be granted a 

salesperson license.     

DECISION AND ORDER 

 Based on the foregoing the Commission abates the actions of the Division and grants the 

Applicant a salesperson license.  It is so ordered.   

 DATED this __________ day of ______________________, 2008. 
 
 

______________________________ 
Jan Marshall 
Administrative Law Judge 

 
 
BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this ________ day of _________________________, 2008. 
 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner    Commissioner 
 
Notice of Appeal Rights:  You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request 
for Reconsideration with the Tax Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §63-
46b-13.  A Request for Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of 
law or fact.  If you do not file a Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order 
constitutes final agency action.  You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue 
judicial review of this order in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-601 and §63-46b-13 et. 
seq. 
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