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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the
provisions of Utah Code Sec. 59-1-502.5, on May 30, 2007. Petitioner is appealing the penalty assessed
pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 59-2-207 for late filing of the 2007 annual property tax report.

APPLICABLE LAW

A person, or an officer or agent of that person, owning or operating property described in
Subsection(1)(b) shall file with the commission, on a form prescribed by the commission, a sworn statement on
or before March 1 of each year. (Utah Code Sec. 59-2-207(1)(a).)

Except as provided in Subsection (3)(c), the commission shall assess a person a penalty as
provided in Subsection (3)(b), if the person, or an officer or agent to that person, fails to file: (i) the statement

required under Subsection (1)(a) on or before the later of: (a) March 1; or (B) if the commission allows an
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extension under Subsection (1)(c) for filing the statement, the day after the last day of the extension period or
(ii) any other information the commission determines to be necessary . . . (Utah Code Sec. 59-2-207(3)(a).)

The penalty described in Subsection (3)(a) is an amount equal to the greater of: (i)10% of the
person’s estimated tax liability under this chapter for the current calendar year not to exceed $50,000; or (ii)
$100. (Utah Code Sec. 59-2-207(3)(b).)

(1) Notwithstanding Subsections (3)(a) and (4), the commission may waive, reduce, or
compromise a penalty imposed under this section if the commission finds there are reasonable grounds for the
waiver, reduction or compromise. (ii) If the commission waives, reduces, or compromises a penalty under
Subsections (3)(c)(i), the commission shall make a record of the grounds for waiving, reducing, or
compromising the penalty. (Utah Code Sec. 59-2-207(3)(c).)

DISCUSSION

Petitioner's representative states that this was a small operation and he was the only one who
could file the report. He had medical problems around the time the report was due. Respondent’s
representatives indicate that this was the first time a penalty had been assessed against Petitioner. Petitioner
had been filing the report timely, or even early for a number of years prior to the period at issue. Petitioner had
filed the property tax report on March 7, 2007, only one week late. Based on these factors, it was
Respondent’s recommendation that this penalty be waived.

The Commission accepts Respondent’s recommendation in this matter, and will waive the
penalty considering that it is a first time error. The Commission cautions Petitioner that the criterion for

waiving a second penalty is more stringent.
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DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission waives the penalty assessed pursuant to Utah Code
Sec. 59-2-207. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing or the right of an affected
county to show cause pursuant to Section 59-2-1007 why the Commission should not adjust the values in
accordance with this order. However, this Decision and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the
Commission unless an affected party files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to
proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the
Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further administrative appeal rights in
this matter. In that event, the Property Tax Division is ordered to adjust its records in accordance with this
order. The Property Tax Division is also ordered to calculate the final adjustments to the values apportioned to
tax districts as a result of this order and to deliver that information to the affected counties on behalf of the
Commission. The auditors of the affected counties are ordered to use the information so provided to adjust

their tax roles in accordance with this order.

DATED this day of , 2007.

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge
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BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION.

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision.

DATED this day of , 2007.
Pam Hendrickson R. Bruce Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner
Marc B. Johnson D’ Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commissioner Commissioner
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