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BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION

PETITIONER 1 & PETITIONER 2, ORDER

Petitioners, Appeal No. 07-0268
Vs.

Tax Type: Income Tax

TAXPAYER SERVICES DIVISION, Tax Period: 2000, 2001
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, Account No. #####

Respondent. Judge: Robinson
Presiding:

R. Spencer Robinson, Administrative Law Judge

Appearances:
For Petitioner: PETITIONER 2, by telephone
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE, Compliance Supervisor,

Taxpayer Services

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Commission for an Initial Hearing on May 31, 2007, in
accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5. The parties were represented as indicated
above.

The Division waived a failure to pay penalty of $$$$$ for the 2000 tax year as first
time error. The Division declined to waive interest for the 2000 tax year on the grounds there
was no Commission error.

The Division declined to waive failure to pay penalty of $$$$$ and interest for the
2001 tax year. It declined to waive the penalty based on compliance history. It declined to
waive interest on the grounds there was no Commission error. From these decisions,

Petitioners appeal.
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APPLICABLE LAW

59-10-543. Burden of proof.

In any proceeding before the commission under this chapter, the burden of proof shall be
upon the petitioner . . . . .

59-10-525. Date notice of deficiency is final.

(1) Except in any case where the taxpayer has earlier filed with the commission a petition
for redetermination of the deficiency as provided in Title 59, Chapter 1, Part 5, the notice of
deficiency shall constitute a final assessment of the deficiency in tax, including interest
thereon and any penalties or other additions to tax:

(a) upon the expiration of 30 days, or 90 days if the notice is addressed to a person outside of
the states of the union and the District of Columbia, after the date of mailing of the notice of
deficiency to the taxpayer; or

(b) upon the date, when in writing, the taxpayer agrees with the commission that a deficiency
exists in a specified amount and consents to the assessment of such deficiency.

59-1-401 (11)

Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable cause shown, the commission may
waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or interest imposed under this part.

DISCUSSION

The Division’s Response to Petition for Redetermination — Appeal of Waiver

Decisions states that Petitioners filed a tax return for the 2000 tax year on March 15, 2001. A
refund was issued in the amount of $$$$$. An audit assessment of the 2000 tax year was
completed in March of 2005, with an additional assessment of $$$$$.

The Division’s Response states that Petitioners filed a tax return for the 2001 tax year
in March of 2002. A refund also resulted. An audit assessment was completed in April of
2006. The assessment showed additional tax due in the amount of $$$$$.

In both instances, an income match was done. PETITIONER 2 said they never
received notification from the IRS informing them of changes made by the IRS to the federal

returns. RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE said she had no information regarding a
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change made by the IRS. Such a change, if made would have triggered the duty to notify the
Commission within ninety days if the change affected State tax liability. Absent such
notification affecting Utah tax liability, assessments must be done within three years.

The Division said Statutory Notices, which are notices of a deficiency, were mailed
to Petitioners’ last known address in CITY, STATE. The Division did not provide the date of
mailing.

Petitioners were at the CITY address for about three months. PETITIONER 2 said
because of address changes, the first they knew of this issue was when a parent informed
them of a call from a collection agency.

Due process requires sending the Statutory Notices to the last known address. It
appears that was done in this case. Such notices become final, if there is no response, within
thirty days of mailing.

However, if Petitioners did not have a change made in their federal return that
affected their Utah return, and if the income match was initiated by the Division more than
three years after their returns were filed, the assessments of taxes, penalties, and interest are
outside of the three year period of limitation found in §59-10-536.

Petitioners did not establish the assessments were not timely. Petitioners have the
burden of proof. Because Petitioners did not request information relating to these issues, and
introduce it at the hearing, they have failed to meet their burden.

DECISION AND ORDER

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission sustains the penalty and interest. It is so
ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this
Decision and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any

party to this case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to

3-
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proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and
must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:
Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134
Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this

matter.

DATED this day of , 2007.

R. Spencer Robinson
Administrative Law Judge

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION:

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision.

DATED this day of , 2007.
Pam Hendrickson R. Bruce Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner
Marc B. Johnson D'Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commissioner Commissioner
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