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Sales Tax / Penalty & Interest

Signed 09/10/2007
BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION

PETITIONER, ORDER

Petitioner, Appeal No. 07-0217
Vs.

Tax Type: Sales Tax / Penalty & Interest

TAXPAYER SERVICES DIVISION, Tax Period: 10/02 — 12/02 forward
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, Account No. ##H#H##

Respondent. Judge: Robinson
Presiding:

R. Spencer Robinson, Administrative Law Judge

Appearances:
For Petitioner: PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE, pro se, via telephone
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE, Compliance Supervisor,

Taxpayer Services Division

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Commission for an Initial Hearing on April 30, 2007, in
accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5. The parties were represented as indicated
above.

The Taxpayer Services Division (the “Division”) assessed penalties and interest on
all periods from July 2002 — September 2002 forward, stating the third quarter of 2002 was
the last period Petitioner filed and paid on time. Petitioner asked the Division to waive the
penalties and interest. The Division declined. The Petitioner appealed.

APPLICABLE LAW
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Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401 (1) (a) “The penalty for failure to file a
tax return within the time prescribed by law including extensions is
the greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax due on the return.”

Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401 (2) “The penalty for failure to pay tax due
shall be the greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax for:

(b) failure to pay any tax within 90 days of the due date of the
return, if there was a late filed return subject to the penalty
provided under Subsection (1)(a);

Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(11) “Upon making a record of its actions,
and upon reasonable cause shown, the commission may waive,
reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or interest imposed under
this part.”

Utah Code Ann. §59-1-402.

(2) Except as otherwise provided for by law, the interest rate for a
calendar year for all taxes and fees administered by the commission
shall be calculated based on the federal short-term rate determined by
the Secretary of the Treasury under Section 6621, Internal Revenue
Code, and in effect for the preceding fourth calendar quarter.
(5) Interest on any underpayment, deficiency, or delinquency of any
tax or fee administered by the commission shall be computed from
the time the original return is due, excluding any filing or payment
extensions, to the date the payment is received.
DISCUSSION
PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE, the owner of PETITIONER, acknowledged he
was responsible for the interest. He said he would expect a reasonable interest fee on money
he borrowed. However, he requests a waiver of the penalties.
Petitioner stated that as soon as he learned of the problem with his taxes, he called the
Commission. He began making payments in the manner directed as soon as possible.
PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE’S daughter was seriously injured in a climbing

accident on January 8, 2007. His time and financial resources have been focused on her care

since then. Payment would add to Petitioner’s financial difficulties.
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Respondent said the business opened in June of 1996. Respondent said the third
quarter of 2002 was the last period in which Petitioner filed and paid on time. All returns are
at least two years late. In addition to the penalties and interest, Respondent has also incurred
legal fees in connection with its efforts to obtain payment.

DECISION AND ORDER

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission finds Petitioner has not established
reasonable cause for a waiver of penalties in this case. Petitioner’s history does not support
granting a waiver. Petitioner’s financial hardship flowing from his daughter’s injuries, while
unfortunate, does not establish reasonable cause. The Commission denies Petitioner’s
request for a waiver of the penalty.

There is no Commission error contributing to the failure to timely file and pay the
sales tax returns. The Commission sustains the Division’s assessment of interest. It is so
ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this
Decision and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any
party to this case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to
proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and
must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134
Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this

matter.

DATED this day of , 2007.
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R. Spencer Robinson
Administrative Law Judge
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BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION:

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision.

DATED this day of , 2007.
Pam Hendrickson R. Bruce Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner
Marc B. Johnson D'Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice: If the Petitioner does not request a Formal Hearing within the thirty-days as
discussed above, failure to pay the amount of deficiency that results from this order may
result in an additional penalty.
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