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 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 
PETITIONER,  )  
  ) ORDER 

Petitioner, )  
) Appeal No.   07-0002 

v.  )  
) Account No.  ##### 

TAXPAYER SERVICES DIVISION,  ) Tax Type:    Sales Tax  
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, )    Penalty & Interest 
  ) Tax Period:  03/06 
 Respondent. ) Presiding:  Robinson    
 _____________________________________ 
 
Presiding: 

R. Spencer Robinson, Administrative Law Judge 
 

Appearances: 
For Petitioner: PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE, Vice President and Controller, 

PETITIONER. 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE, Taxpayer Services Division 
  

 
 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Commission for an Initial Hearing on March 20, 2007, in 

accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5.  The parties were represented as indicated above. 

The Division waived a penalty of $$$$$ for January of 2006.  This was the fourth error in 

the previous three years.  The Division declined to waive the penalty of $$$$$, and interest 

($$$$$ as of November 9, 2006) for March of 2006.  The Petitioner appealed a decision by the 

Taxpayer Services Division (the “Division”) denying waiver of penalty and interest for March of 

2006.   

 APPLICABLE LAW 

Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401 (1) (a)  “The penalty for failure to file a tax 
return within the time prescribed by law including extensions is the 
greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax due on the return.”  
 
Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401 (2) “The penalty for failure to pay tax due 
shall be the greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax for:   
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. . . . 
 

(b) failure to pay any tax within 90 days of the due date of the return, 
if there was a late filed return subject to the penalty provided under 
Subsection (1)(a);   

 
Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(11) “Upon making a record of its actions, 
and upon reasonable cause shown, the commission may waive, reduce, 
or compromise any of the penalties or interest imposed under this part.”  

 
Utah Code Ann. §59-1-402. 
 
(2)  Except as otherwise provided for by law, the interest rate for a 
calendar year for all taxes and fees administered by the commission shall 
be calculated based on the federal short-term rate determined by the 
Secretary of the Treasury under Section 6621, Internal Revenue Code, 
and in effect for the preceding fourth calendar quarter. 
 
(5)  Interest on any underpayment, deficiency, or delinquency of any tax 
or fee administered by the commission shall be computed from the time 
the original return is due, excluding any filing or payment extensions, to 
the date the payment is received. 

 
DISCUSSION 

EMPLOYEE, an employee of Petitioner, made an error in electronic filing for January of 

2006.  What followed was application of the January 2006 payment to February of 2006.  A 

cascade effect followed, with the February 2006 payment being applied to March 2006. 

In March, EMPLOYEE contacted the Tax Commission.  He spoke with (  X  ).  (  X  ) 

made adjustments to take care of the cascade effect. 

EMPLOYEE waited for the adjustments to be made before filing the return and making 

the payment for March of 2006.  Petitioner’s March 2006 payment was two days late. 

Petitioner asks that the penalty be waived because of the need to wait until the corrections 

to its account were made.  Petitioner pointed out the filing and payment were two days late. 

Respondent pointed out the taxpayer is to designate the specific period to which payment 

is to apply.  Respondent argued the need to realign the payments to the correct months was 

caused by the taxpayer’s error.   
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A letter from EMPLOYEE dated September 18, 2006 states (  X  ) said there would be no 

penalties or fines related to the issue.  A June 22, 2006 comment in Respondent’s records notes 

the March payment was two days late.  There is nothing in the comment about a waiver. 

 DECISION AND ORDER 

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission finds Petitioner has not established 

reasonable cause for a waiver of penalties in this case.  Petitioner had previously received 

waivers.  Petitioner is responsible for the error leading to the penalty and interest.  The 

Commission denies Petitioner’s request for a waiver of the penalty.   

There is no Commission error contributing to the failure to timely file and pay the sales 

tax returns.  The Commission sustains the Division’s assessment of interest.  It is so ordered. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision 

and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this 

case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a 

Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the 

Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this __________ day of _____________________, 2007. 

 
________________________ 
R. Spencer Robinson 
Administrative Law Judge 
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BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this ________ day of _______________________, 2007. 
 
 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson  R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair  Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson    D'Arcy Dixon Pignanelli  
Commissioner   Commissioner  
 
Notice: If the Petitioner does not request a Formal Hearing within the thirty-days as discussed 
above, failure to pay the amount of deficiency that results from this order may result in an 
additional penalty.  
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