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 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 

PETITIONER,   )       INITIAL HEARING ORDER 
  )  

Petitioner, ) Appeal No.  06-1599 
  )   
v.  )  

 ) Tax Type:   Cigarette/Use Tax 
AUDITING DIVISION OF THE )   
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, ) Tax Period:   04/12/2005 - 07/06/2005 
  )  

Respondent. ) Judge:   Robinson    
 _____________________________________ 
 
Presiding: 
 R. Spencer Robinson, Administrative Law Judge  
        
Appearances: 
 For Petitioner:  PETITIONER, pro se, by telephone 
 For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1, Assistant Attorney 

General 
   RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2, Auditing Division 
 
 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the 

provisions of Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5 on March 6, 2007. 

Based on information acquired via the Jenkins Act, the Division conducted an audit and issued 

an assessment against Petitioner for unpaid cigarette tax and use tax on purchases of cigarettes from 

COMPANY A via the Internet.  The audit determined Petitioner owed $$$$$ in cigarette tax and $$$$$ 

in use tax.  Respondent also assessed interest.  Respondent did not assess a penalty. 

Petitioner stated he is a resident of STATE.  He said he comes to his childrens’ storage facility 

twice a month.  He receives mail and packages at that address, which is ADDRESS, CITY, Utah.  He 

also has utilities in his name at that address. 

Petitioner said he had cigarettes delivered to both his Utah address and his STATE address.  He 

agreed use tax was probably due.  He felt the tobacco tax was owed to STATE. 
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The Division stated it had assessed taxes on what was shipped to Utah.  It stated taxes were not 

reported or paid on ##### packs shipped to Petitioner’s Utah address.   

 APPLICABLE LAW 

Cigarette Tax  

Utah Code Ann. §59-14-204 provides, in pertinent part,  

(1) Except for cigarettes described under Subsection 59-14-210(3), there 
is levied a tax upon the sale, use, storage, or distribution of cigarettes in 
the state.  
(2)  The rates of the tax levied under Subsection (1) are:   

(a) 3.475 cents on each cigarette, for all cigarettes weighing not more 
than three pounds per thousand cigarettes; and  
(b) 4.075 cents on each cigarette, for all cigarettes weighing in 
excess of three pounds per thousand cigarettes. 

(3)  The tax levied under Subsection (1) shall be paid by any person who 
is the manufacturer, jobber, distributor, wholesaler, retailer, user, or 
consumer.    

 
Cigarettes distributed for sale in Utah typically have a cigarette stamp on each pack, which 

indicates that the tax has been paid by the manufacturer, distributor or vendor. Utah Code  §§59-14-204 

and 59-14-205.  The cigarettes purchased by Petitioner did not have stamps affixed.  Petitioner caused 

the cigarettes to enter the State of Utah when he purchased them.  Petitioner was required to file a 

statement and pay the tax directly to the Tax Commission within 15 days of storage, use or 

consumption in Utah, or by the 15th of the month following the calendar month in which the cigarettes 

were imported, if authorized by the Commission. Utah Admin. Rules R865-20T-1 and R865-20T-2.  He 

did not know of the requirement.  Therefore, he did not file a statement or pay the tax. 

Use Tax 

Utah Code Ann. §59-12-103(1) provides, in pertinent part,  

(1) A tax is imposed on the purchaser as provided in this part for amounts paid or 
charged for the following transactions: 

. . . . 
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(l) amounts paid or charged for tangible personal property if within this state the 
tangible personal property is:  

(i) stored;  
(ii) used, or  
(iii) consumed;   

 
Utah vendors, and out-of-state vendors with nexus to Utah, are required by law to collect Utah 

sales tax on behalf of the Tax Commission on each Utah sale.  COMPANY A is not a Utah vendor.  It 

does not have nexus to Utah.  Therefore, Utah cannot regulate its activities and require it to collect and 

remit sales tax.   

If the seller does not collect sales tax on items sold and delivered into Utah, as occurred in this 

case, the purchaser is required to accrue and remit use tax directly to the Tax Commission on his or her 

individual income tax return. This is true for all untaxed Internet purchases, not merely cigarettes.  Utah 

Code  §59-12-107(1) (d); Utah Admin. Rule R865-21U-3; and Utah Admin. Rule R865-21U-6. 

Penalties and Interest 

If the purchaser fails to report and pay any tax due within the prescribed time period, the 

Commission may assess the tax, plus interest and penalties.  Interest runs from the date that the return 

was due.  Utah Code §59-1-204 (5). 

DISCUSSION 

COMPANY A complied with the reporting requirement set forth in the Jenkins Act, a federal 

law requiring merchants selling tobacco products across state lines to report the purchases to the taxing 

authorities of the state where the purchaser resides.  Upon receiving information regarding the 

Petitioner’s untaxed cigarette purchases, the Division issued an assessment for the unpaid cigarette tax 

and the unpaid use tax on each transaction.   
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Petitioner does not deny purchasing the cigarettes, or having them mailed to his Utah address.   

He stated he took most of the cigarettes to STATE.  

DECISION AND ORDER 

The Commission affirms the assessment for the cigarette tax, the use tax, and interest.  It is so 

ordered.  However, the Commission directs the Division to review, and, if necessary, recalculate the 

interest on the cigarette tax.  Under section 59-1-402(5) of the Utah Code, interest runs from the date 

that the return is due.  Utah Administrative Rule R865-20T-2 states that the return is due (1) 15 days 

from the date of use, storage or consumption in Utah, or (2) the 15th day of the month following the 

calendar month in which the cigarettes were purchased.  Because it is unknown when the cigarettes 

were delivered into Utah, the second provision of the rule applies.  If it did not do so, the Division 

should calculate interest from the 15th of the month following the month of purchase. 

The Commission understands that making a lump sum payment may create a hardship for 

Petitioner.  If so, Petitioner may contact the Taxpayer Services Division to make payment 

arrangements. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and 

Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a 

written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such 

a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, 

and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 
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Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this ________ day of ________________________, 2007. 

 
    ____________________________________ 
    R. Spencer Robinson  
    Administrative Law Judge 
 
 
BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION. 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

 DATED this ________ day of ________________________, 2007. 
 
 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner    Commissioner 
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