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 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 

PETITIONER,   )       INITIAL HEARING ORDER 
  )  
Petitioner, ) Appeal No.  06-1471 
  )   
v.  )  

 ) Tax Type:   Cigarette/Use Tax 
AUDITING DIVISION OF THE )   
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, ) Tax Period:   04/12/2005 - 07/06/2005 
  )  
Respondent. ) Judge:   Robinson    
 _____________________________________ 
 
Presiding: 
 R. Spencer Robinson, Administrative Law Judge  
        
Appearances: 

 For Petitioner:  PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE, power of attorney, 
for PETITIONER 

 For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE, Assistant Attorney 
General 

 
 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing 

pursuant to the provisions of Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5 on February 6, 2007. 

Based on information acquired via the Jenkins Act, the Division conducted an audit 

and issued an assessment against Petitioner for unpaid cigarette tax and use tax on purchases of 

cigarettes from COMPANY A via the Internet.  The audit determined Petitioner owed $$$$$ in 

cigarette tax and $$$$$ in use tax.  Respondent also assessed interest.  Respondent did not assess a 

penalty. 

Petitioner stated though his debit card was used to make the purchases, he did not 

purchase the cigarettes.  He said (  X  ) purchased the cigarettes using Petitioner’s debit card.  
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Petitioner knew (  X  ) was using the debit card to make the purchases, and gave permission for him 

to do so. 

When Petitioner authorized (  X  ) to use his debit card to purchase the cigarettes, he 

became responsible for the actions he authorized.  Respondent is within its rights to seek payment 

from Petitioner. 

 APPLICABLE LAW 

Cigarette Tax  

 Utah Code Ann. §59-14-204 provides, in pertinent part,  

(1) Except for cigarettes described under Subsection 59-14-210(3), 
there is levied a tax upon the sale, use, storage, or distribution of 
cigarettes in the state.  
(2)  The rates of the tax levied under Subsection (1) are:   

(a) 3.475 cents on each cigarette, for all cigarettes weighing not 
more than three pounds per thousand cigarettes; and  
(b) 4.075 cents on each cigarette, for all cigarettes weighing in 
excess of three pounds per thousand cigarettes. 

(3)  The tax levied under Subsection (1) shall be paid by any person 
who is the manufacturer, jobber, distributor, wholesaler, retailer, user, 
or consumer.    

 
Cigarettes distributed for sale in Utah typically have a cigarette stamp on each pack, 

which indicates that the tax has been paid by the manufacturer, distributor or vendor. Utah Code  

§§59-14-204 and 59-14-205.  The cigarettes purchased by Petitioner did not have stamps affixed.  

Petitioner caused the cigarettes to enter the State of Utah when he purchased them.  Petitioner was 

required to file a statement and pay the tax directly to the Tax Commission within 15 days of storage, 

use or consumption in Utah, or by the 15th of the month following the calendar month in which the 

cigarettes were imported, if authorized by the Commission. Utah Admin. Rules R865-20T-1 and 
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R865-20T-2.  He did not know of the requirement.  Therefore, he did not file a statement or pay the 

tax. 

Use Tax 

 Utah Code Ann. §59-12-103(1) provides, in pertinent part,  

(1) A tax is imposed on the purchaser as provided in this part for amounts 
paid or charged for the following transactions: 

. . . . 
 

(l) amounts paid or charged for tangible personal property if within this state 
the tangible personal property is:  

(i) stored;  
(ii) used, or  
(iii) consumed;   

 
Utah vendors, and out-of-state vendors with nexus to Utah, are required by law to 

collect Utah sales tax on behalf of the Tax Commission on each Utah sale.  COMPANY A is not a 

Utah vendor.  It does not have nexus to Utah.  Therefore, Utah cannot regulate its activities and 

require it to collect and remit sales tax.   

If the seller does not collect sales tax on items sold and delivered into Utah, as 

occurred in this case, the purchaser is required to accrue and remit use tax directly to the Tax 

Commission on his or her individual income tax return. This is true for all untaxed Internet 

purchases, not merely cigarettes.  Utah Code  §59-12-107(1) (d); Utah Admin. Rule R865-21U-3; 

and Utah Admin. Rule R865-21U-6. 

Penalties and Interest 

If the purchaser fails to report and pay any tax due within the prescribed time period, 

the Commission may assess the tax, plus interest and penalties.  Interest runs from the date that the 

return was due.  Utah Code  §59-1-204 (5). 
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DISCUSSION 

COMPANY A complied with the reporting requirement set forth in the Jenkins 

Act, a federal law requiring merchants selling tobacco products across state lines to report the 

purchases to the taxing authorities of the state where the purchaser resides.  Upon receiving 

information regarding the Petitioner’s untaxed cigarette purchases, the Division issued an 

assessment for the unpaid cigarette tax and the unpaid use tax on each transaction.  Petitioner does 

not deny that (  X  ) made these purchases with his permission, but feels (  X  ) should pay the 

taxes and penalties.   

DECISION AND ORDER 

The Commission affirms the assessment for the cigarette tax, the use tax, and interest.  

It is so ordered.  However, the Commission directs the Division to review, and, if necessary, 

recalculate the interest on the cigarette tax.  Under section 59-1-402(5) of the Utah Code, interest 

runs from the date that the return is due.  Utah Administrative Rule R865-20T-2 states that the return 

is due (1) 15 days from the date of use, storage or consumption in Utah, or (2) the 15th day of the 

month following the calendar month in which the cigarettes were purchased.  Because it is unknown 

when the cigarettes were delivered into Utah, the second provision of the rule applies.  If it did not do 

so, the Division should calculate interest from the 15th of the month following the month of purchase. 

The Commission understands that making a lump sum payment may create a 

hardship for Petitioner.  If so, Petitioner may contact the Taxpayer Services Division to make 

payment arrangements. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this 

Decision and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to 
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this case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a 

Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the 

Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal 

rights in this matter. 

 DATED this ________ day of ________________________, 2007. 

 
    ____________________________________ 
    R. Spencer Robinson  
    Administrative Law Judge 
 
 
BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION. 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

 DATED this ________ day of ________________________, 2007. 

 

 
Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner    Commissioner 
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