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  BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 
PETITIONER,  ) ORDER 

)  
Petitioner, ) Appeal No. 06-1461 

)   
v.  ) Account No.  ##### 

) 
AUDITING DIVISION ) Tax Type:   Income / Penalty & Interest  
OF THE UTAH STATE )  Tax Years:  2003 & 2004 
TAX COMMISSION, )   

)  Judge: Chapman 
Respondent. )  

 _____________________________________ 
 

Presiding: 
Kerry R. Chapman, Administrative Law Judge  

        
Appearances: 

For Petitioner: PETITIONER 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1, from the Auditing Division 
 RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2, from the Auditing Division  

 
 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for a Telephone Status Conference 

on April 3, 2007, which was converted to an Initial Hearing, as described in Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5. 

The Petitioner is appealing Auditing Division’s (the “Division”) assessment of penalties and 

interest for the 2003 and 2004 tax years.  On October 10, 2006, the Division issued Statutory Notices of 

Estimated Income Tax (“Statutory Notices”) to the Petitioner, in which it imposed additional tax, penalties, and 

interest for the two years at issue, as follows: 

        Year              Tax      Penalties         Interest            Total 

        2003          $$$$$                  $$$$$                    $$$$$                 $$$$$      
        2004                      $$$$$                         $$$$$                    $$$$$                 $$$$$ 
               $$$$$ 

 APPLICABLE LAW 
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Utah Code Ann. §59-10-539(1) provides for the imposition of penalty and interest associated 

with delinquent individual income tax, pertinent parts as follow: 

(1)    In case of failure to file an income tax return and pay the tax required under this 
chapter on or before the date prescribed therefor (determined with regard to any 
extension of time for filing), unless it is shown that such failure is due to reasonable 
cause and not due to willful neglect, there shall be added to the amount required to be 
shown as tax on such return a penalty as provided in Section 59-1-401.  For the 
purposes of this subsection, the amount of tax required to be shown on the return 
shall be reduced by the amount of any part of the tax which is paid on or before the 
date prescribed for payment of the tax and by the amount of any credit against the tax 
which may be claimed upon the return.   
. . . . 
(8)      In addition to the penalties added by this section, there shall be added to the 
tax due interest payable at the rate and in the manner prescribed in Section 59-1-402 
for underpayments.   
 
UCA §59-1-401 provides for the imposition of penalties for failure to file returns and pay tax 

when due, as follows: 

(1) (a)  The penalty for failure to file a tax return within the time prescribed by law 
including extensions is the greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax due on the return. 
. . . .           
(2)  The penalty for failure to pay tax due shall be the greater of $20 or 10% of the 
unpaid tax for:  

(a) failure to pay any tax, as reported on a timely filed return;   
(b) failure to pay any tax within 90 days of the due date of the return, if there 

was a late filed return subject to the penalty provided under Subsection (1)(a);  
(c) failure to pay any tax within 30 days of the date of mailing any notice of 

deficiency of tax unless a petition for redetermination or a request for agency action 
is filed within 30 days of the date of mailing the notice of deficiency;   

(d) failure to pay any tax within 30 days after the date the commission's order 
constituting final agency action resulting from a timely filed petition for 
redetermination or request for agency action is issued or is considered to have been 
denied under Subsection 63-46b-13(3)(b); and   

(e) failure to pay any tax within 30 days after the date of a final judicial 
decision resulting from a timely filed petition for judicial review.   
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UCA §59-1-402(5) provides that “[i]nterest on any underpayment, deficiency, or delinquency 

of any tax or fee administered by the tax commission shall be computed from the time the original return is 

due, excluding any filing or payment extensions, to the date the payment is received.”   

UCA §59-1-401(11) provides that the Tax Commission is authorized to waive, reduce, or 

compromise penalties and interest upon a showing of reasonable cause. 

DISCUSSION 

The Petitioner admits that she failed to timely file Utah income tax returns for the 2003 and 

2004 tax years and to timely pay the amounts due for these years.  Accordingly, the Division properly imposed 

failure to timely file penalties, failure to timely pay penalties, and interest, in accordance with Sections 59-10-

539, Section 59-1-401, and Section 59-1-402.   

However, subsequent to receiving the Statutory Notices, the Petitioner hired an accountant to 

prepare her returns and recently submitted the returns for the two years at issue.  She also paid the amounts 

shown due on the returns, as follows: 

         Year              Amount of Tax Remitted 

          2003                     $$$$$      
          2004              $$$$$ 

The amounts the Petitioner paid for the two years at issue were significantly more than the 

amounts assessed by the Division.  The Division explains that the Petitioner included additional income, 

specifically alimony, on her tax returns that the Division could not have discovered at the time of assessment.  

The Division also proffers that because the amount of the delinquent tax for each year, as shown on the 

submitted returns, is greater than the tax originally assessed, as shown on the Statutory Notices, the penalties 

and interest will automatically be increased by the Tax Commission to reflect the actual delinquency.   
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The Petitioner explains that she wishes to pay her taxes, but asks the Commission to consider 

waiving the penalties and interest due to her circumstances.  The Petitioner proffers that she and her husband 

separated in 2001and that her divorce was quite prolonged.  She further explains that her husband had always 

managed their taxes and always hired accountants to prepare and file their returns.  The Petitioner also proffers 

that when her 2002 taxes were due in early 2003, she was able to prepare and timely file her return and pay her 

taxes. 

However, by the time 2003 taxes were due in early 2004, the Petitioner explains that her life 

had changed so that she did not have the emotional energy to prepare and file tax returns, knowing that she did 

not have the money at that time to pay the taxes that were due.  She proffers that prior to 2004, she had had to 

move and that her child had had a baby and both of them had moved in with her.  In addition, the Petitioner 

was working and had begun to attend graduate school in an attempt to support herself and her family.   

Upon receiving the assessments, however, the Petitioner decided to deal with the issue and she 

took money out of her retirement account to hire an accountant and pay the amounts due not only to the Tax 

Commission, but also to the federal government.  She asks the Commission to consider her circumstances and, 

if possible, to waive the penalties and interest associated with the tax years at issue. 

Interest.  Although penalties and interest may both be waived upon a showing of reasonable 

cause, the criteria for which the Commission waives interest are different than the criteria for which it waives 

penalties.  Interest is charged because the taxpayer has had the use of the tax dollars during a period when the 

state should have had that use.  For this reason, interest is only waived if the imposition of interest arose from a 

Commission employee’s error.  The Petitioner does not deny that the interest arose due to her own actions.  

Accordingly, the Commission finds that no reasonable cause exists to waive the interest imposed for the two 

years at issue and denies the Petitioner’s request for a waiver of interest. 
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Penalties.   In Utah State Tax Commission Publication 17 (Waivers – Reasonable Cause), the 

Commission provides that a penalty may be waived upon a showing of “clearly supported extraordinary and 

unanticipated reasons for late filing or payment, which demonstrate reasonable cause and the inability to 

comply, may justify a waiver of the penalty.”   

In this case, the Petitioner had filed an income tax return for the 2002 tax year, but chose not 

to timely file returns for the years at issue, partly because she did not have the funds to pay the taxes.  

Nevertheless, the Commission recognizes that the Petitioner filed tax returns for 2003 and 2004 that showed 

greater tax liabilities than had been imposed in the Statutory Notices and that she paid the greater amounts of 

taxes due.  As a result, the Petitioner may be assessed a larger amount of penalties than shown in the notices, in 

order that the penalties correspond to the higher reported amounts of delinquent tax.  Because the Petitioner 

took steps that resulted in her paying more tax that had been assessed, the Commission finds it reasonable to 

“cap” her penalties for the two years at issue at $$$$$,the amounts imposed in the Division’s Statutory Notices 

for the two years at issue.  Accordingly, the Commission waives any penalties for the 2003 and 2004 tax years 

that would exceed the $$$$$ in penalties that were imposed in the notices. 

 DECISION AND ORDER 

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission waives any penalties for the 2003 and 2004 tax 

years that would exceed more than $$$$$ for the two years combined.  Otherwise, the Petitioner’s request to 

waive the $$$$$ in penalties originally assessed and any interest associated with the 2003 and 2004 tax years is 

denied.  It is so ordered. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and 

Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written 
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request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall 

be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this __________ day of _______________________, 2007. 

 

____________________________________ 
Kerry R. Chapman 
Administrative Law Judge  
 

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION. 
 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this _________ day of ________________________, 2007. 
 
 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson  R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair  Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson  D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner   Commissioner  
 
Notice: If a Formal Hearing is not requested as discussed above, failure to pay any balance resulting from this 
order within thirty (30) days from the date of this order may result in a late payment penalty. 
 
KRC/06-1461.int  


