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 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 
PETITIONER,  )  
  ) ORDER 

Petitioner, )  
) Appeal No.  06-1436 

v.  )  
) Account No.  ##### 

TAXPAYER SERVICES DIVISION,  ) Tax Type:    Withholding Tax  
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, )    Penalty 
  ) Tax Periods: 10/05 – 03/06 
 Respondent. )  

 ) Presiding:  Robinson   
 _____________________________________ 

 
Presiding: 

R. Spencer Robinson, Administrative Law Judge 
 

Appearances: 
For Petitioner: PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 

  
 
 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Commission for an Initial Hearing on January 9, 

2007 in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5.  The Petitioner appealed a decision by the 

Taxpayer Services Division (the “Division”) denying waiver of penalties and interest.  The 

Division declined to waive penalties for the fourth quarter of 2005 and the first quarter of 2006 

based on compliance history.  The penalty for the fourth quarter of 2005 was $$$$$.  The penalty 

for the first quarter of 2006 was $$$$$.   

Petitioner has paid the total amount owed.  Petitioner requests a waiver of the 

penalties and interest. 

 APPLICABLE LAW 

Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401 (1) (a)  “The penalty for failure to file a tax 
return within the time prescribed by law including extensions is the 
greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax due on the return.”  
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Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401 (2) “The penalty for failure to pay tax due 
shall be the greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax for:   

. . . . 
 

(b) failure to pay any tax within 90 days of the due date of the return, 
if there was a late filed return subject to the penalty provided under 
Subsection (1)(a);   

 
Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(11) “Upon making a record of its actions, 
and upon reasonable cause shown, the commission may waive, reduce, 
or compromise any of the penalties or interest imposed under this part.”  

 
Utah Code Ann. §59-1-402. 
 
(2)  Except as otherwise provided for by law, the interest rate for a 
calendar year for all taxes and fees administered by the commission shall 
be calculated based on the federal short-term rate determined by the 
Secretary of the Treasury under Section 6621, Internal Revenue Code, 
and in effect for the preceding fourth calendar quarter. 
 
(5)  Interest on any underpayment, deficiency, or delinquency of any tax 
or fee administered by the commission shall be computed from the time 
the original return is due, excluding any filing or payment extensions, to 
the date the payment is received. 

 
DISCUSSION 

Petitioner’s wife has been the Secretary/Treasurer for the company.  Her health 

caused late filings.  Late filings began in 2004.  PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE 

acknowledged he accepted his wife filing and paying late because of her health.   

By April 19, 2006, eleven days prior to the time for filing the return for the first 

quarter of 2006, (  X  ) health deteriorated to the point she was admitted to the hospital.  She 

remained there until December of 2006. 

Petitioner filed the return for the fourth quarter of 2005 in March of 2006, and 

submitted payment on November 27, 2006.  The tax due was $$$$$.  Respondent assessed a late 

filing penalty of $$$$$, and a late payment penalty of $$$$$. 

Petitioner filed the return for the first quarter of 2006 in July of 2006.  The tax 

due was $$$$$.  Respondent assessed a late filing penalty of $$$$$, and a late payment penalty of 

$$$$$. 
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When Respondent denied Petitioner’s request to waive the penalties and interest, 

Petitioner submitted a Petition for Redetermination.  It requests a waiver based on (  X  ).  

At the hearing, RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE agreed to waive the 

penalty for the first quarter of 2006.  She did so because (  X  ) entered the hospital eleven days 

prior to the deadline for filing the return for that quarter.  She declined to waive the penalty for 

the fourth quarter of 2005, and declined to waive interest. 

PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE provided documentation that COMPANY A 

had granted a waiver for late payment of employer contributions.  He also provided 

documentation that the COMPANY B held in abeyance a penalty assessed for failure to provide 

worker’s compensation insurance.   He represented these actions were taken by other State 

agencies because of his wife’s health. 

Petitioner did not state he relied on advice from an employee of the Tax 

Commission.  He did not assert Tax Commission error.  Absent such, the Commission usually 

does not waive interest.  Petitioner had the time value of the money owed through no fault of the 

Commission. 

Publication 17 sets forth a number of circumstances that may establish 

reasonable cause.  One is death or serious illness.1  A health condition resulting in an extended 

hospitalization eleven days prior to the filing deadline qualifies a reasonable cause.  A 

longstanding health condition that delays filing over several periods does not establish reasonable 

cause. 

                                                 
1 The death or serious illness of a taxpayer or a member of the immediate family caused the delay. With 
respect to a business, trust or estate, the death or illness must have been of the individual, or the immediate 
family, who had sole authority to file the return.  The death or illness must have occurred on or 
immediately prior to the due date of the return. 
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 DECISION AND ORDER 

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission waives the penalty for the first 

quarter of 2006.  As the Petitioner has paid the amounts sought by the Division as penalty and 

interest, the penalty for the first quarter of 2006 is to be refunded.  Interest, if calculated on the 

penalty imposed for the first quarter of 2006, is to be recalculated.  The difference, if any, is to be 

refunded.  The Commission sustains the penalty and interest for the fourth quarter of 2005. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this 

Decision and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any 

party to this case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to 

proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must 

include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this 

matter. 

DATED this __________ day of _____________________, 2007. 

 
________________________ 
R. Spencer Robinson 
Administrative Law Judge 
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BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this 

decision. 

DATED this ________ day of _______________________, 2007. 
 
 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson  R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair  Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson    D'Arcy Dixon Pignanelli  
Commissioner   Commissioner  
 
Notice: If the Petitioner does not request a Formal Hearing within the thirty-days as discussed 
above, failure to pay the amount of deficiency that results from this order may result in an 
additional penalty.  
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