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Withholding Tax Penalty & Interest 
Signed 06/07/2007 
 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 
PETITIONER,  )  
  ) ORDER 

Petitioner, )  
) Appeal No.   06-1421 

v.  )  
) Account No.  ##### 

TAXPAYER SERVICES DIVISION,  ) Tax Type:    Withholding Tax  
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, )    Penalty & Interest 
  ) Tax Period:  06/06 & 07/06 
 Respondent. ) Presiding:  Robinson    
 _____________________________________ 
 
Presiding: 

R. Spencer Robinson, Administrative Law Judge 
 

Appearances: 
For Petitioner: PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE, by phone 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE, Taxpayer Services Division 
  

 
 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Commission for an Initial Hearing on January 30, 

2007, in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5.  The Petitioner appealed a decision by the 

Taxpayer Services Division (the “Division”) denying waiver of penalties and interest.  The 

Division granted waivers for July, August, November, and December of 2005.  The Division 

declined to waive penalties for June and July of 2006.   

As of August 25, 2006, the penalty for June of 2006 was $$$$$ and interest was 

$$$$$.  As of September 29, 2006, the penalty for July of 2006 was $$$$$ and interest was 

$$$$$. 

 APPLICABLE LAW 

Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401 (1) (a)  “The penalty for failure to file a tax 
return within the time prescribed by law including extensions is the 
greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax due on the return.”  
 
Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401 (2) “The penalty for failure to pay tax due 



Appeal No. 06-1421 
 
 

 
 -2- 

shall be the greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax for:   
. . . . 

 
(b) failure to pay any tax within 90 days of the due date of the return, 
if there was a late filed return subject to the penalty provided under 
Subsection (1)(a);   

 
Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(11) “Upon making a record of its actions, 
and upon reasonable cause shown, the commission may waive, reduce, 
or compromise any of the penalties or interest imposed under this part.”  

 
Utah Code Ann. §59-1-402. 
 
(2)  Except as otherwise provided for by law, the interest rate for a 
calendar year for all taxes and fees administered by the commission shall 
be calculated based on the federal short-term rate determined by the 
Secretary of the Treasury under Section 6621, Internal Revenue Code, 
and in effect for the preceding fourth calendar quarter. 
 
(5)  Interest on any underpayment, deficiency, or delinquency of any tax 
or fee administered by the commission shall be computed from the time 
the original return is due, excluding any filing or payment extensions, to 
the date the payment is received. 

 
DISCUSSION 

Petitioner converted to monthly filing in July, 2004.  He was to file by EFT.  

There were no issues until July of 2005.  Petitioner paid July, August, November, and December 

of 2005 by check, instead of by EFT. 

The Division’s initial contact with Petitioner was in January of 2006.  By May of 

2006, Petitioner had filed all returns and paid the taxes due.  By June of 2006, Petitioner had 

sufficient notice of what was required. 

The June and July 2006 returns were due after notice to Petitioner of what was 

required.  Though Petitioner may have relied on a company employee, such as a CPA, or on an 

external professional provider, the errors occurred after adequate notice of what was required.  

Such notice is attributed to the employee or provider. 

As indicated above, the Division granted waivers for the first three periods, May, 

June, and July of 2005.  Applying its guidelines, the Division declined to grant additional 

waivers. 
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The Commission did not have the time value of the money it should have 

received with timely filed withholding tax returns.  Absent action by the Commission causing the 

error, interest is generally not waived. 

 DECISION AND ORDER 

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission finds Petitioner has not established 

reasonable cause for a waiver of penalties in this case.  The Commission denies Petitioner’s 

request for a waiver of penalties.   

There is no Commission error contributing to the failure to timely file and pay 

the withholding returns.  The Commission sustains the Division’s assessment of interest.  It is so 

ordered. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this 

Decision and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any 

party to this case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to 

proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must 

include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this 

matter. 

DATED this __________ day of _____________________, 2007. 

 
________________________ 
R. Spencer Robinson 
Administrative Law Judge 
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BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this 

decision. 

DATED this ________ day of _______________________, 2007. 
 
 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson  R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair  Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson    D'Arcy Dixon Pignanelli  
Commissioner   Commissioner  
 
Notice: If the Petitioner does not request a Formal Hearing within the thirty-days as discussed 
above, failure to pay the amount of deficiency that results from this order may result in an 
additional penalty.  
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