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BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION

PETITIONER,

ORDER
Petitioner,
Appeal No.  06-1416
V.
Account No. #i####
AUDITING DIVISION Tax Type: Individual Income
OF THE UTAH STATE Tax Years: 2003 & 2004
TAX COMMISSION,
Judge: Chapman
Respondent.
Presiding:

Kerry R. Chapman, Administrative Law Judge

Appearances:

For Petitioner:
For Respondent:

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the
provisions of Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5, on September 27, 2007.

The Petitioner is appealing Auditing Division’s (the “Division”) assessment of individual
income tax for the 2003 and 2004 tax years. On October 10, 2006, the Division issued Statutory Notices of
Estimated Income Tax (“Statutory Notices”) to the Petitioner for the two years at issue because the Petitioner

had not filed income tax returns for these years. The amounts of additional tax, penalties, and interest assessed

PETITIONER (by telephone)

by the Division are, as follows:

Year

2003
2004

Tax

$$5$$
$$5$$

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Penalties

$$5$$
$$5$$

Interest

$$5$$
$$58$

RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE, from Auditing Division

Total

$$58$
$$58$
$$5$$
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At the hearing, the Division stated that subsequent to its assessments, the Petitioner has
submitted a 2004 tax return, which it has accepted and which shows that the Petitioner owes $$$$$ in
additional tax, penalty and interest as of the hearing date. The Petitioner does not disagree with this amount.
Accordingly, the only issue before the Commission is the amount due for the 2003 tax year. The Division asks
the Commission to sustain its assessment for the 2003 tax year, while the Petitioner states that she does not

know how much is due.

APPLICABLE LAW

UCA §59-10-536(3) provides that the Tax Commission may assess income tax “at any time if:
(a) no return is filed . . . .” For situations where a taxpayer fails to file a Utah individual income tax return,

UCA §59-10-506(2) provides, as follows in pertinent part:

(2) (a) If any person fails to make and file any return required by this chapter at the
time prescribed therefor, or makes, willfully or otherwise, a false or fraudulent return,
the commission shall make such return from its own knowledge and from such
information as it can obtain through testimony or otherwise.

(b) Any return so made and subscribed by the commission shall be prima facie
good and sufficient for all legal purposes.

The Utah Legislature has specifically provided that the taxpayer bears the burden of proof,
with limited exceptions, in proceedings involving individual income tax before the Tax Commission.
UCA §59-10-543 provides, as follows:

In any proceeding before the commission under this chapter, the burden of proof
shall be upon the petitioner except for the following issues, as to which the burden of
proof shall be upon the commission:
(1) whether the petitioner has been guilty of fraud with intent to evade tax;
(2) whether the petitioner is liable as the transferee of property of a taxpayer,
but not to show that the taxpayer was liable for the tax; and
(3) whether the petitioner is liable for any increase in a deficiency where such
increase is asserted initially after a notice of deficiency was mailed and a
petition under Title 59, Chapter 1, Part 5 is filed, unless such increase in
deficiency is the result of a change or correction of federal taxable income

.
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required to be reported, and of which change or correction the commission had
no notice at the time it mailed the notice of deficiency.

DISCUSSION
The parties agree that as of the hearing date, the Petitioner owes $$$$$ in additional tax,
penalty, and interest for the 2004 tax year. For the 2003 tax year, the Petitioner does not know if she agrees
with the Division’s assessment. The Petitioner believes that she has a 2003 tax return to file, but has not done
so. Under these circumstances, the Petitioner has not met her burden of proof to show that the Division’s
assessment for the 2003 tax year is incorrect. Accordingly, the Commission sustains the Division’s assessment
for the 2003 tax year.

DECISION AND ORDER

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission finds that the Petitioner owes $$$$$ in additional
tax, penalties, and interest for the 2004 tax year, as of the hearing date. In addition, the Commission sustains
the Division’s assessment for the 2003 tax year. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision and
Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written
request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a request shall
be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.
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DATED this day of , 2007.

Kerry R. Chapman
Administrative Law Judge

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION.

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision.

DATED this day of , 2007.
Pam Hendrickson R. Bruce Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner
Marc B. Johnson D’ Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice: If a Formal Hearing is not requested as discussed above, failure to pay any remaining balance
resulting from this order within thirty (30) days from the date of this order may result in an additional late
payment penalty.
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