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 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 
PETITIONER, ) 
  )  
  ) ORDER 

Petitioner, )  
) Appeal No.  06-1324 

v.  )  
) Account No.  ##### 

TAXPAYER SERVICES DIVISION,  ) Tax Type:   Withholding Tax  
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, )    Penalty 
  ) Tax Period: 03/06 –06/06 
 Respondent. )  

 ) Presiding:  Robinson   
 _____________________________________ 

 
Presiding: 

R. Spencer Robinson, Administrative Law Judge 
 

Appearances: 
For Petitioner: PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE, via telephone 
For Respondent: No one appeared 
  

 
 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Commission for an Initial Hearing on January 

9, 2007 in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5.  The Petitioner appealed a 

decision by the Taxpayer Services Division (the “Division”) denying waiver of penalties 

and interest.  The Division waived the penalty for January of 2006 based on Petitioner’s 

previous record of filing and paying on time.  The Division declined to waive penalties 

for the remaining four periods, March, April, May, and June of 2006.  The penalties 

totaled $$$$$.  As of September of 2006, interest was $$$$$.  The Division did not waive 

interest.  Petitioner is not requesting a waiver of interest. 
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PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE appeared via telephone.  No one 

appeared on behalf of the Division.  PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE requested a 

default be entered against the Division. 

 APPLICABLE LAW 

Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401 (1) (a)  “The penalty for failure to file a 
tax return within the time prescribed by law including extensions is 
the greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax due on the return.”  
 
Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401 (2) “The penalty for failure to pay tax 
due shall be the greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax for:   

. . . . 
 

(b) failure to pay any tax within 90 days of the due date of the 
return, if there was a late filed return subject to the penalty 
provided under Subsection (1)(a);   

 
Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(11) “Upon making a record of its 
actions, and upon reasonable cause shown, the commission may 
waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or interest 
imposed under this part.”  

 
Utah Code Ann. §59-1-402. 
 
(2)  Except as otherwise provided for by law, the interest rate for a 
calendar year for all taxes and fees administered by the 
commission shall be calculated based on the federal short-term rate 
determined by the Secretary of the Treasury under Section 6621, 
Internal Revenue Code, and in effect for the preceding fourth 
calendar quarter. 
 
(5)  Interest on any underpayment, deficiency, or delinquency of 
any tax or fee administered by the commission shall be computed 
from the time the original return is due, excluding any filing or 
payment extensions, to the date the payment is received. 

 
DISCUSSION 

Petitioner did not file withholding returns or remit withholding tax 

payments for January 2006, or for March through June of 2006.  The Division waived 
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penalties for January 2006 based on compliance history, and imposed penalties for failure 

to file and failure to pay in accordance with the statutes on the remaining periods.  

Because the Division did not appear, the Commission has no other information on 

Petitioner’s compliance history.   

Petitioner submitted a Petition for Redetermination.  It requests a waiver 

of penalties and sets forth the rationale for its request.  The Petition states an 

insubordinate former employee held the checks and returns, instead of submitting them.  

When Petitioner received notice of the delinquent taxes, it discovered the error.  This was 

after the employee left the company. 

As indicated above, the Division granted waivers for January of 2006.  

Applying its guidelines, the Division declined to grant additional waivers for the four 

periods of March through June of 2006. 

Petitioner argues it should receive the waiver because it relied on an 

employee.  Reliance on an employee is not the same as reliance upon a competent tax 

advisor, referenced in Publication 17.  Generally, employees’ actions, or inactions, are 

attributable to the company employing them, and do not support a waiver.   

When the actions of employee constitute embezzlement, also mentioned in 

Publication 17, a waiver may be granted.  In this case, the former employee did not 

convert the money to his or her use. Hence, no embezzlement occurred.  Additionally, 

Petitioner had the funds when it became aware the former employee had not filed the 

returns or remitted the payments.  It did not show it was unable to obtain replacement 

funds from any other source, a second element set forth in Publication 17. 
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The Commission denies Petitioner’s request to default the Division.  Were 

the Commission to enter an Order of Default, the Division could move to set the default 

aside, or request a Formal Hearing.  The Petitioner would have the same options if the 

situation were reversed.   

Petitioner provided sufficient information in the Petition for 

Redetermination to allow the Commission to rule on the requested waiver.  Petitioner is 

not prejudiced by ruling on its information.  Administrative economy supports rendering 

a decision on the available information. 

 DECISION AND ORDER 

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission finds the conduct of 

Petitioner’s former employee does not establish reasonable cause for a waiver of 

penalties.  However, absent information on Petitioner’s compliance history, the 

Commission grants waivers for March and April of 2006, as a second and third period 

subject to waiver within three years.  The Commission denies Petitioner’s request for a 

waiver of penalties for May and June of 2006.   

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, 

this Decision and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission 

unless any party to this case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of 

this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed to the 

address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 
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Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights 

in this matter. 

DATED this __________ day of _____________________, 2007. 

 
________________________ 
R. Spencer Robinson 
Administrative Law Judge 
 

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in 

this decision. 

DATED this ________ day of _______________________, 2007. 
 
 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson  R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair  Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson    D'Arcy Dixon Pignanelli  
Commissioner   Commissioner  
 
Notice: If the Petitioner does not request a Formal Hearing within the thirty-days as 
discussed above, failure to pay the amount of deficiency that results from this order may 
result in an additional penalty.  
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