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STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

 This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for a Formal Hearing on March 

18, 2008.   During the Division’s opening statement, Taxpayer voluntarily left the proceedings 

and refused to participate further.  The Division then made a proffer of evidence and testimony in 

support of its position.  Based upon the evidence and testimony presented at the hearing, the Tax 

Commission hereby makes its: 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. The issue before the Utah State Tax Commission in this matter is Taxpayer’s appeal of 

income tax, penalty, and interest deficiencies issued for the tax years 1999 through 2003.     

2. Taxpayer was a Utah resident and subject to Utah Income Tax laws during all years at 

issue.  

3. For the 1999 tax year, the Division issued a Statutory Notice of Audit Change and second 

Statutory Notice of Deficiency on October 4, 2006.  The statutory notice reflected $$$$$ 

of Utah taxable income, $$$$$ of tax, and no penalties.  For the 2000 and 2001 tax years, 
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the Statutory Notice of Estimated Income Tax and Statutory Notice of Deficiency were 

issued on September 7, 2004.  The statutory notice for the 2000 tax year reflected $$$$$ 

of Utah state income, $$$$$ in tax, and $$$$$ in penalties.  The statutory notice for the 

2001 tax year shows $$$$$ in Utah state income, $$$$$ in tax, and $$$$$ in penalties.   

4. For the 2002 tax year, the Statutory Notice of Estimated Income Tax and Statutory 

Notice of Deficiency were issued on November 29, 2004.  For the 2002 tax year, the 

statutory notice shows $$$$$ of Utah state income, $$$$$ in tax, and $$$$$ in penalties.   

5. For the 2003 tax year, the Statutory Notice of Estimated Income Tax and Statutory 

Notice of Deficiency were issued October 4, 2006.  The statutory notice reflected $$$$$ 

of Utah taxable income, $$$$$ in tax, and $$$$$ in penalties.     

6. Taxpayer appealed the 1999, 2000, and 2001 deficiencies in Appeal No. 04-1222.  The 

Commission issued an Order of Default in Appeal No. 04-1222 on January 10, 2005.  

Taxpayer did not appeal the decision in Appeal No. 04-1222. 

7. On or about June 11, 2005, the Taxpayer filed “zero” returns for all years at issue.  The 

Auditing Division rejected the returns for the 2000, 2001, 2002, and 2003 years as 

frivolous in a letter dated June 14, 2006. 

8. The “zero” return for the 1999 tax year was mistakenly processed by the Processing 

Division, prior to the Auditing Division having an opportunity to determine that the 

return should not have been accepted because Appeal No. 04-1222 involving the 1999 tax 

year had already been decided.   

9. Taxpayer submitted a letter dated September 25, 2006 in response to the June 14, 2006 

letter from the Auditing Division rejecting the “zero” returns filed by Taxpayer for the 

years at issue.  This letter was forwarded to the Appeals Division on or about October 16, 

2006, and this appeal was opened as a result. 

10. In the Division’s Post Initial Hearing Brief, dated January 19, 2007, the Division 

requested the imposition of the $500 penalty under Utah Code An. §59-1-401(7) for each 

of the years at issue on the basis that the “zero” returns were frivolous, for a total of 

$2,500.   

11. At the hearing, the Division renewed their argument in favor of the imposition of the 

$500 frivolous filing penalty for the years at issue.   

12.  As of the hearing date, Taxpayer’s outstanding balance, including interest to date, less 

amounts received through garnishment efforts, and excluding the $2500 frivolous return 

penalty, was $$$$$. 



Appeal No. 06-1256 
 
 

APPLICABLE LAW 

 Utah Code Ann. §59-10-104 provides for the imposition of tax as follows in pertinent 

part: 

[A] tax is imposed on the state taxable income, as defined in 
Section 59-10-112, of every resident individual… 
 
Utah Code Ann. §59-10-104 (1999-2003). 

 “Resident individual” is defined in Utah Code Ann. §59-10-103 as follows: 

       “Resident individual” means: 
 

(i) an individual who is domiciled in this state for 
any period of time during the taxable year, but 
only for the duration of such period; or 

 
(ii) an individual who is not domiciled in this state 

but maintains a permanent place of abode in this 
state and spends in the aggregate 183 or more 
days of the taxable year in this state.  For 
purposes of this Subsection (1)(j)(ii), a fraction 
of a calendar day shall be counted as a whole 
day. 

 
Utah Code Ann. §59-10-103(1)(j) (1999) 
Utah Code Ann. §59-10-103(1)(k) (2000-2002). 

 For the 2003 tax year, Utah Code Ann. §59-10-103 was amended as follows: 

(q) (i)  “Resident individual” means: 
 

(A) an individual who is domiciled in this state for any 
period of time during the taxable year, but only for 
the duration of the period during which the 
individual is domiciled in this state; or  

 
(B) an individual who is not domiciled in this state but: 

 
(I) maintains a permanent place of abode 

in this state; and  
 
(II) spends in the aggregate 183 or more 

days of the taxable year in this state. 
 

 (ii)  For purposes of Subsection (1)(q)(i)(B), a fraction of a 
calendar  
             day shall be counted as a whole day. 
 
Utah Code Ann. §59-10-103 (2003). 
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 Utah Code Ann. §59-10-112 defines “state taxable income” for purposes of Utah Code 

Ann. §59-10-104 as follows: 

“State taxable income” in the case of a resident individual means 
his federal taxable income (as defined by Section 59-10-111) 
with the modifications, subtractions, and adjustments provided in 
Section 59-10-114.  The state taxable income of a resident 
individual who is the beneficiary of an estate or trust shall be 
modified by the adjustments provided in Section 59-10-209. 
 
Utah Code Ann.§59-10-112 (2003).   

 Utah Code Ann. §59-10-111 defines “[f]ederal taxable income” for purposes of Utah 

Code Ann. §5-10-112 as follows: 

“Federal taxable income” means taxable income as currently 
defined in Section 63, Internal Revenue Code of 1986. 
 
Utah Code Ann. §59-10-111 (1999-2003).   

 For purposes of Utah Code Ann. §59-10-111, and as defined in Section 63 of the Internal 

Revenue Code, is as follows in pertinent part: 

[T]he term “taxable income” means gross income minus the 
deductions allowed by this chapter… 
 
26 U.S.C. 63 (1986, as amended). 

 For purposes of determining “taxable income” Section 61 of the Internal Revenue Code 

defines “gross income” as follows: 

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this subtitle, gross income 
means all income from whatever source derived, including 
(but not limited to) the following items: 

 
(1) Compensation for services, including fees, 

commissions, fringe benefits, and similar items; 
(2) Gross income derived from business; 
(3) Gains derived from dealings in property; 
(4) Interest; 
(5) Rents; 
(6) Royalties; 
(7) Dividends; 
(8) Alimony and separate maintenance payments; 
(9) Annuities; 
(10) Income from life insurance and endowment 

contracts; 
(11) Pensions; 
(12) Income from discharge of indebtedness; 
(13) Distributive share of partnership gross income;  
(14) Income in respect of a decedent; and  
(15) Income from an interest in an estate or trust. 
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26 U.S.C. 61 (1986, as amended).   

 Utah Code Ann. §59-10-539(1) imposes penalties and interest, as follows in pertinent 

part: 

(1) In case of failure to file an income tax return and pay the tax 
required under this chapter on or before the date prescribed 
therefore (determined with regard to any extension of time 
for filing), unless it is shown that such failure is due to 
willful neglect, there shall be added to the amount required 
to be shown as tax on such return a penalty as provided in 
Section 59-1-401.  For the purposes of this subsection, the 
amount of tax required to be shown on the return shall be 
reduced by the amount of any part of the tax which is paid 
on or before the date prescribed for payment of the tax and 
by the amount of any credit against the tax which may be 
claimed upon the return. 

 
(2) If any part of any deficiency in tax imposed by this chapter, 

as defined by Section 59-10-523, is due to negligence or 
intentional disregard of rules, but without intent to defraud, a 
penalty shall be assessed, collected, and paid as provided in 
Section 59-1-401 in the same manner as if it were an 
underpayment.   

 
(3) If any part of a deficiency in tax imposed by this chapter, as 

defined by Section 59-10-523, is due to fraud, there shall be 
added to the tax a penalty as provide in Section 59-1-401.  
This amount shall be in lieu of any other addition to tax 
imposed by Subsection (1) or (2).   

 
Utah Code Ann. §59-10-539 (1999-2003).   

 Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401 sets the penalties as provided for in Utah Code Ann. §59-10-

539 as set forth below in relevant part: 

(1) (a)  The penalty for failure to file a tax return within the  
               time prescribed by law including extensions is the   
               greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax due on the  
               return.  
 

(b)  Subsection (1) does not apply to amended returns. 
 
(2) The penalty for failure to pay tax due shall be the greater of 

$20 or 10% of the unpaid tax for: 
 
(a) failure to pay any tax, as reported on a timely filed 

return; 
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(b) failure to pay any tax within 90 days of the due date of 
the return, if there was a late filed return subject to the 
penalty provided under Subsection (1)(a); 

 
(c) failure to pay any tax within 30 days of the date of 

mailing any notice of deficiency of tax unless a 
petition for redetermination or a request for agency 
action is filed within 30 days of the date of mailing the 
notice of deficiency; 

 
(d) failure to pay any tax within 30 days after the date the 

commission’s order constituting final agency action 
resulting from a timely filed petition for 
redetermination or request for agency action is issued 
or is considered to have been issued under Subsection 
63-46b-13(3)(b); and  

 
(e) failure to pay any tax within 30 days after the date of a 

final judicial decision resulting from a timely filed 
petition for judicial review.   

 
Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401 (1999-2003). 

 With regard to the frivolous filing penalty, Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(7) provides,  

If any taxpayer in furtherance of a frivolous position has a prima 
facie intent to delay or impede administration of the tax law and 
files a purported return that fails to contain information from 
which the correctness of reported tax liability can be determined 
or that clearly indicates that the tax liability shown must be 
substantially incorrect, the penalty is $500. 
 
Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(7) (1999-2003).   

 Section 59-1-501 of the Utah Code provides that a taxpayer may file a petition for a 

redetermination of a deficiency: 

Any taxpayer may file a request for agency action, petitioning 
the commission for redetermination of a deficiency. 
 
Utah Code Ann. §59-1-501 (2002). 

 “Deficiency” is defined in §59-10-523 of the Utah Code, as follows: 

(1) As used in this chapter, “deficiency” means the amount by 
which the tax imposed by this chapter exceeds the excess of 
(a) the sum of (i) the amount shown as the tax by the 
taxpayer upon his return, if the return was made by the 
taxpayer and if an amount was shown as the tax by the 
taxpayer thereon plus (ii) the amounts previously assessed 
(or collected without assessment) as a deficiency over (b) the 
amounts previously abated, refunded, or otherwise repaid in 
respect of such tax.   
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(2) For purposes of Subsection (1): 

 
(a) If no return is filed, or the return does not show any tax, 

a return shall be considered as having been made by the 
taxpayer and the amount shown as the tax by the 
taxpayer upon his return shall be considered to be zero. 

 
(b) The tax imposed by this chapter and the tax shown on 

the return shall both be determined without regard to any 
amounts, the tax imposed by this chapter exceeds the 
excess of the amount specified in Subsection (1)(a) over 
the amount specified in Subsection (1)(b).   

 
Utah Code Ann. §59-10-524 (2002).   

 Section 59-10-525 sets for the date a notice of deficiency is final, below: 

(1)  Except in any case where the taxpayer has earlier filed with 
the commission a petition for redetermination of the 
deficiency as provided in Title 59, Chapter 1, Part 5, the 
notice of deficiency shall constitute a final assessment of 
the deficiency in tax, including interest thereon and any 
penalties or other additions to tax: 

 
(a) upon the expiration of 30 days, or 90 days if the notice 

is addressed to a person outside of the states of the 
union and the District of Columbia, after the date of 
mailing of the notice of deficiency to the taxpayer; or  
 

(b) upon the date, when in writing, the taxpayer agrees 
with the commission that a deficiency exists in a 
specified amount and consents to the assessment of 
such deficiency. 

 
(2) For purposes of this section and any other relevant 

provisions of this chapter, a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal 
holiday in Utah is not counted as the last day of the time for 
filing petition for redetermination of a deficiency in tax.   

 
Utah Code Ann. §59-10-525 (2002).   

 The time for filing an appeal is governed by Rule R861-1A-20 of the Utah 

Administrative Rules, as follows in pertinent part: 

B. A petition for redetermination must be received in the 
Commission offices no later than 30 days from the date of a 
notice that creates rights to appeal.  The petition is deemed 
to be timely if: 
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1. the petition is received in the Tax Commission 
offices on or before the close of business of the last 
day of the 30 day period; or 

 
2. the date of the postmark on the envelope or cover 

indicates that the request was mailed on or before 
the last day of the 30 day period. 

 
Utah Admin. Code R861-1A-20 (2002). 

 The burden of proof is on the Petitioner, except in certain instances, as set forth in Utah 

Code Ann. §59-10-543, below: 

In any proceeding before the commission under this chapter, the 
burden of proof shall be upon the petitioner except for the 
following issues, as to which the burden of proof shall be upon 
the commission: 
 
(1) whether the petitioner has been guilty of fraud with intent to 

evade tax; 
 
(2) whether the petitioner is liable as the transferee of property 

of a taxpayer, but not to show that the taxpayer was liable 
for the tax; 

 
(3) whether the petitioner is liable for any increase in a 

deficiency where such increase is asserted initially after a 
notice of deficiency was mailed and a petition under Title 
59, Chapter 1, Part 5 is filed, unless such increase in 
deficiency is the result of a change or correction of federal 
taxable income required to be reported, and of which change 
or correction the commission had no notice at the time it 
mailed the notice of deficiency. 

 
Utah Code Ann. §59-10-543 (1999-2003). 
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

A.  1999 Tax Year   

 The Commission previously entered a Default against the taxpayer for the 1999 tax year 

in Appeal No. 04-1222.  However, Petitioner subsequently filed a “zero” tax return, which was 

processed by the Processing Division resulting in a new Statutory Notice of Audit Change and 

Deficiency being issued by the Auditing Division, re-opening the 1999 tax year for appeal.      

 The 1999 notice of deficiency was sent to Taxpayer on October 4, 2006.  The instant 

appeal was opened on October 16, 2006, well within the 30 day period allowed by Utah Admin. 

Code R861-1A-20. The Commission finds that the Taxpayers appeal of the 1999 notice of 
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deficiency was timely.  Utah Code Ann. §59-10-543 places the burden of proof on the taxpayer in 

this matter to show that the deficiency is incorrect.   

 Tax is imposed on the “state taxable income” of every “resident individual” under Utah 

Code Ann. §59-10-104.  Taxpayer has made no argument that he was not domiciled in the State 

of Utah during the years at issue.  As all correspondence from the Taxpayer indicates his 

residence is in CITY, Utah, the Commission concludes that Taxpayer is a “resident individual” as 

defined in Utah Code Ann. §59-10-103.  “State taxable income” is determined from an 

individual’s federal taxable income less certain adjustments, and is defined as “federal taxable 

income” as defined in I.R.C. §63.  See Utah Code Ann. §59-10-112 and §59-10-111.  Section 63 

of the Internal Revenue Code defines “taxable income” as “gross income” minus certain 

deductions.  “Gross income” is defined as “all income from whatever source derived” and 

provides a list of examples, including compensation for services.  See 26 U.S.C. §61 (1986, as 

amended).  The Division provided evidence, including W-2 compensation income, which shows 

that the Taxpayer had Utah taxable income for the 1999 tax year.  The Taxpayer provided no 

evidence to the contrary, and the Commission sustains the Division’s tax assessment for the 1999 

tax year.   

 The October 4, 2006 notice of deficiency for the 1999 tax year did not assess additional 

penalties on the Taxpayer; however interest was assessed.  As the Taxpayer voluntarily left the 

proceeding during opening statements, he did not offer any evidence that would support a waiver 

of the interest assessed; therefore, the Commission sustains the Division’s assessment of interest 

for the 1999 tax year.   

B.  2000 and 2001 Tax Years   

 The Commission previously entered a Default against the Taxpayer for the 2000 and 

2001 tax years in Appeal No. 04-1222.  Although the Commission liberally grants relief from 

default, it will not provide relief when none is requested and no reasons are provided to support 

relief from a default.  The taxpayer offered no explanation for his default, and did not ask the 

Commission to set aside the default entered in Appeal No. 04-1222.  On that basis, the 

Commission sustains the Division’s audit assessments, including tax, penalties, and interest for 

the 2000 and 2001 tax year.   

C.  2002 Tax Year   

 The Statutory Notice of Estimated Income Tax and Statutory Notice of Deficiency for the 

2002 tax year were issued on November 29, 2004.  The notice indicates that to contest the audit, 

and appeal must be filed within 30 days.  The Division maintains that Taxpayer did not file a 

written Petition for Redetermination for the 2002 tax year until the instant appeal was opened in 
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October of 2006.  As the Taxpayer voluntarily left the proceedings during opening statements, he 

offered no evidence to the contrary.  Taxpayer’s appeal of the 2002 tax year deficiency was filed 

nearly two years after the statutory notice was issued, far in excess of the 30 day period provided 

for by Rule R861-1A-22.  As Taxpayer’s appeal was untimely, the Commission dismisses the 

appeal for the 2002 tax year, and sustains the deficiencies, including tax, penalties and interest as 

provided in the November 29, 2004 notice of deficiency.   

D.  2003 Tax Year  

 The notice of deficiency for the 2003 tax year was sent to the Taxpayer on October 4, 

2006.  The instant appeal was opened on October 16, 2006, within the 30 day period allowed by 

Utah Admin. Code R861-1A-20.  Utah Code Ann. §59-10-543 places the burden of proof on the 

taxpayer in this matter to show that the deficiency is incorrect.   

 Tax is imposed on the “state taxable income” of every “resident individual” under Utah 

Code Ann. §59-10-104.  Taxpayer has made no argument that he was not domiciled in the State 

of Utah during the years at issue.  As all correspondence from the Taxpayer indicates his 

residence is in CITY, Utah, the Commission concludes that Taxpayer is a “resident individual” as 

defined in Utah Code Ann. §59-10-103.  “State taxable income” is determined from an 

individual’s federal taxable income less certain adjustments, and is defined as “federal taxable 

income” as defined in I.R.C. §63.  See Utah Code Ann. §59-10-112 and §59-10-111.  Section 63 

of the Internal Revenue Code defines “taxable income” as “gross income” minus certain 

deductions.  “Gross income” is defined as “all income from whatever source derived” and 

provides a list of examples, including compensation for services.  See 26 U.S.C. §61 (1986, as 

amended).  The Division provided evidence, including W-2 compensation income, which shows 

that the Taxpayer had Utah taxable income for the 2003 tax year.  The Taxpayer provided no 

evidence to the contrary, and the Commission sustains the Division’s tax assessment for the 2003 

tax year.   

 Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §59-10-539, penalties and interest are imposed for the 

failure to file an income tax return.  Taxpayer failed to timely file a return or pay the tax due for 

the 2003 tax year.  The Commission finds that the Division properly assessed the 10% failure to 

file penalty under Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(1) and the 10% failure to pay penalty under Utah 

Code Ann. §59-1-401(2).  As the Taxpayer had voluntarily left the proceeding, he did not offer 

any evidence that would support a reasonable cause waiver of the penalties and interest, therefore, 

the Commission sustains the Division’s assessment of penalties and interest for the 2003 tax year.   

E.  Frivolous Return Penalty   
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 At the hearing, the Division asked for the imposition of the $500 frivolous filing penalty 

under Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(7) for all years at issue.  The Taxpayer was first put on notice 

in January of 2007 of the Division’s assertion of the frivolous filing penalty as it was requested in 

the Division’s Post Initial Hearing Brief.  Utah Code Ann. §59-10-543(3) provides that the 

burden of proof rests with the Division when the following issue arises: 

Whether the petitioner is liable for any increase in a deficiency 
where such increase is asserted initially after a notice of 
deficiency was mailed and a petitioner under Title 59, Chapter 1, 
Part 5 is filed, unless such increase in deficiency is the result of a 
change or correction of federal taxable income required to be 
reported, and of which change or correction the commission had 
no notice at the time it mailed the notice of deficiency 
 

  Utah Code Ann. §59-10-543 (1999-2003).   

The Division is asking for the imposition of the $500 penalty after the notices of deficiency were 

mailed and the Petitioner had filed a Petition for Redetermination.  Under such circumstances, the 

Division bears the burden to prove an increase in deficiency, except where a change or correction 

of federal taxable income was required to be reported, which has not occurred in this matter.  

Under the circumstances present in this matter, the Commission finds that the burden of proof lies 

with the Division to prove that the Taxpayer is liable for the $500 penalty.   

 Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(7) provides for the assessment of the $500 frivolous filing 

penalty if a taxpayer takes action that includes the following three elements (1) the action is in 

furtherance of a frivolous position; (2) there exists a prima facie intent to delay or impede 

administration of the tax law; and (3) the taxpayer files a purported return that fails to contain 

information from which the correctness of reported tax liability can be determined or that clearly 

indicates that the tax liability shown must be substantially incorrect.   

 Furtherance of a frivolous position.  Courts have generally found that returns with the 

filing of a zero return is frivolous and have upheld the frivolous filing penalties.  See Little v. 

United States, 2005 WL 2989696; Schultz v. United States, 2005 WL 1155203; Yuen v. United 

States, 290 F. Supp 1220 (D. Nev. 2003); Gillett v. United States, 233 F. Supp.2d 874 (W.D. 

Mich. 2002); and Bonaccorso v. Commissioner, T.C. Memo. 2005-278.  The Commission finds 

that the filing of a zero return in the instant case is a frivolous position.  The Division has 

presented sufficient evidence to show that Taxpayer did have taxable income for the years at 

issue. 

 Prima facie intent to delay or impede administration of the tax law.  The Taxpayer filed 

tax returns that are frivolous, and that have required time and effort by the Tax Commission to 
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properly analyze and address the Taxpayer’s frivolous action.  By purposefully filing tax returns 

that assert this frivolous position, the Taxpayer has delayed and impeded the administration of the 

tax laws.  The Commission also finds that the Taxpayer’s delay or impediment of tax law 

administration was intentional.  The evidence shows that the Taxpayer filed Federal Form 4852, a 

substitute W-2 form, that reports all compensation as “0” as well as “corrected” 1099 forms with 

a statement that the original 1099 erroneously alleges payment of gains, profits or income.  It has 

long been held by the Courts that wages and compensation for services are taxable income.1  For 

these reasons, the Commission finds that the Taxpayer has acted in an intentional manner to delay 

or impede tax law administration.   

 Return has insufficient information to determine liability or clearly indicates that the 

liability shown is incorrect.  The “zero” returns filed by the Taxpayer for the years at issue 

contain a frivolous position, by asserting that the Taxpayer had no income.  The documents 

accompanying the returns included IRS Form 4852 and seemingly self-corrected IRS Form 1099, 

but failed to include the original W-2 and 1099 they were intended to replace, even though the 

Taxpayer had access to them.  Prior to the Taxpayer filing the “zero” returns, the Division had 

received information in the regular course of business that indicated the Taxpayer had received 

Utah taxable income for the years at issue, and had issued statutory notices of deficiency for the 

1999, 2000, 2001, and 2002 tax years.  Accordingly, the Commission finds that the return clearly 

indicated that the liability shown was incorrect. 

 The Commission finds that the Division has shown all elements required for it to impose 

the $500 penalty in this manner, and imposes the $500 frivolous filing penalty for the 1999 and 

2003 tax years.   

 The Commission finds that the Division is prevented from raising the issue for the 2000 

and 2001 tax years under the doctrine of res judicata.  “[T]he doctrine of res judicata ‘precludes 

the relitigation of all issues [and claims] that could have been litigated as well as those that were, 

in fact, litigated in the prior action.’”  State v. Garner, 106 P.3d 729, 731 (Utah 2005) quoting 

Buckner v. Kennard, 299 P.3d 842.  The Commission finds that the Division should have raised 

                                                 
1 1The 5th Circuit stated "it is clear beyond peradventure that the income tax on wages is constitutional."  
Stelly v. Commissioner, 761 F.2d 1113, 115 (1985).   See also Granzow v. C.I.R., 739 F.2d 265, 267 
(1984) in which the Seventh Circuit stated, “It is well settled that wages received by taxpayers constitute 
gross income within the meaning of Section 61 (a) of the Internal Revenue Code . . . and that such gross 
income is subject to taxation.”     In United States v. Koliboski, 732 F.2d 1328, 1329 fn 1 (1984), the 
Seventh Circuit stated “the defendant’s entire case at trial rested on his claim that he in good faith believed 
that wages are not income for taxation purposes.  Whatever his mental state, he, of course, was wrong, as 
all of us already are aware.  Nonetheless, the defendant still insists that no case holds that wages are 
income.  Let us now put that to rest: WAGES ARE INCOME.” See also United States v. Mann, 884 F.2d 
532 (10th Cir. 1989). 
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the frivolous filing penalty for the 2000, and 2001 tax years in Appeal No. 04-1222, and is 

precluded from doing so now.  The Commission notes that although the 1999 tax year was also 

addressed in Appeal No. 04-1222, that year was re-opened for appeal when Taxpayer Services 

Division processed the amended return and the Auditing Division issued a second statutory notice 

of deficiency.   

 The Commission finds that the Division is precluded from asserting the $500 frivolous 

filing penalty for 2002 tax year, as the appeal for that year was dismissed by the Commission as 

being untimely.  Under Utah Code Ann. §59-10-525, the notice of deficiency became “a final 

assessment of the deficiency in tax, including interest thereon and any penalties or other additions 

to tax” 30 days after the date of the notice, which was November 29, 2004 for the 2002 tax year.   

DECISION AND ORDER 

 Based on the foregoing, the Commission sustains the assessment of income tax, interest, 

and penalties for failure to timely file and pay, as well as for frivolous filings, in the following 

amounts: 

Year  Tax   Late File/Pay  Frivolous  Interest as of 
       Penalties     Filing   Notice Date 

 
1999  $$$$$     $500   $$$$$ 

2000  $$$$$  $$$$$      $$$$$ 

2001  $$$$$  $$$$$      $$$$$ 

2002  $$$$$  $$$$$      $$$$$ 

2003  $$$$$  $$$$$   $500   $$$$$ 

 

Together with interest accruing at the statutory rate after the date of applicable notices.  It is so 

ordered.   

DATED this ________ day of ______________________, 2008. 
 
 

________________________________ 
Jan Marshall 
Administrative Law Judge 
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BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 

 The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this ________ day of _______________________, 2008. 
 
 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner                            Commissioner   
 
 
Notice of Appeal Rights:  You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request 
for Reconsideration with the Tax Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sec. 63-
46b-13.  A Request for Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of 
law or fact.  If you do not file a Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order 
constitutes final agency action. You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue 
judicial review of this order in accordance with Utah Code Sec. 59-1-601 et seq. and 63-46b-13 et 
seq. 
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