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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the
provisions of Utah Code Sec. 59-1-502.5, on September 10, 2007. Petitioner is appealing an audit deficiency
of Utah individual income tax and interest for the year 1999. The Original Statutory Notice of Estimated Tax
for 1999 had been issued on September 5, 2006. Petitioner had timely appealed the audit. The amount

currently at issue is as follows:

Tax Penalty Interest Total
1999 $$$$$ $$$$$ $$$5$ $$$5$
APPLICABLE LAW

A tax is imposed on the state taxable income of every resident individual for each taxable year.

(Utah Code Sec. 59-10-104).
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Resident individual is defined in Utah Code Sec. 59-10-103(1)(k) as follows:

(k) "Resident individual" means:

(1) an individual who is domiciled in this state for any period of time during
the taxable year, but only for the duration of such period; or

(i1) an individual who is not domiciled in this state but maintains a
permanent place of abode in this state and spends in the aggregate 183 or
more days of the taxable year in this state. For purposes of this Subsection
(1) (k)(ii), a fraction of a calendar day shall be counted as a whole day.

Domicile is clarified at Utah Administrative Rule R865-91-2(A) (1998 & 2002)1 as follows:

“Domicile” means the place where an individual has a true, fixed, permanent
home and principal establishment, and to which place he has (whenever he is
absent) the intention of returning. It is the place in which a person has
voluntarily fixed the habitation of himself or herself and family, not for a
mere special or temporary purpose, but with the present intention of making
a permanent home. After domicile has been established, two things are
necessary to create a new domicile: first, an abandonment of the old
domicile; and second, the intention and establishment of a new domicile.
The mere intention to abandon a domicile once established is not of itself
sufficient to create a new domicile; for before a person can be said to have
changed his or her domicile, a new domicile must be shown.

The Utah Legislature has specifically provided that the taxpayer bears the burden of proof in
proceedings before the Tax Commission. Utah Code Sec. 59-10-543 provides the following:

In any proceeding before the commission under this chapter, the burden of
proof shall be upon the petitioner. . .

Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable cause shown, the commission may
waive, reduce, or compromise any of the penalties or interest imposed under this part. (Utah Code Sec. 59-1-
401(11).)
DISCUSSION
Respondent based its audit on the assertion that Petitioner was a resident of Utah for tax

purposes during 1999. Petitioner argues that he was a resident of STATE during most of 1999. The issue
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before the Commission is whether Petitioner was a "resident individual" of Utah for the purposes of Utah Code
Sec. 59-10-103(1)(k). From the information presented Petitioner did not spend in the aggregate more than 183
days per year in Utah during 1999. A resident individual, in the alternative, is one who is "domiciled" in the
State of Utah.

The question of whether one establishes or maintains a domicile in Utah is a question of fact.
The Commission has considered this issue in numerous appeals and whether someone is a "resident individual"
for state tax purposes has been addressed by the appellate courts in Utah.”> As discussed by the courts in
considering this issue, the factfinder may accord the party’s activities greater weight than his or her declaration
of intent.’

At some point prior to 1999 Petitioner had established Utah domicile. Once a domicile has
been established two things are necessary to create a new domicile: 1) an abandonment of the old domicile; and
2) the intention and establishment of a new domicile. Petitioner had established a domicile in Utah at least by
1997. He was going to school in CITY 1, Utah and he had obtained a Utah drivers license. In 1997 he
purchased a mobile home where he resided while he was finishing school. The mobile home was located in a
trailer park where he leased the trailer space. The Utah domicile was established, and the facts do not indicate
that Petitioner abandoned Utah as his domicile or intended to, and actually established a new domicile in
STATE.

In June of 1997 Petitioner was offered a teaching position in CITY 2. He then graduated from

1 The rule defining domicile was revised effective December 2002. The Commission applies the rule in effect
during the audit period.

2 The issue of domicile for Utah individual income tax purposes has been considered by the Utah Supreme
Court and the Court of Appeals in the following cases: Lassche v. State Tax Comm’n, 866 P.2d 618 (Utah Ct. App.
1993); Clements v. State Tax Comm’n, 839 P.2d 1078 (Utah Ct. App. 1995), O’Rourke v. State Tax Comm’n, 830
P.2d 230 (Utah 1992), and Orton v. State Tax Comm’n, 864 P.2d 904 (Utah Ct. App. 1993).

3 See Clements v. Utah State Tax Comm’n 893 P.2d 1078 (Ct. App. 1995); and Allen v. Greyhound Lines,

3-
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College in Utah, in July 1997. Although he had already had the CITY 2 job offer, he renewed his Utah Drivers
License in July 1997. He explained that this was because he never intended to stay in STATE very long. In
August 1997 Petitioner moved in with his parents at their residence in the CITY 2 area. He states that he did
pay them rent, but provides no written lease or receipts. He had leased out the mobile home that he owned in
Utah to a third party. He indicates that the mobile home remained leased until May 1999. He acknowledges
that he did visit Utah during the summers, but would stay with his sister who had a residence near CITY 1.
During the school year, he was both teaching and coaching so that he did not have significant time to spend in
Utah. He continued teaching in CITY 2 and resided there with his parents through the 1998 /1999 school year.
He states that he did have a STATE bank account and received mail at his parent’s residence in STATE.
However, he had never obtained a STATE drivers license and in February 1999 he registered his vehicle in
Utah.

In July 1999, Petitioner married ( X ). She was a Utah resident at the time of the marriage,
but she moved to STATE with Petitioner until November 1999 when Petitioner resigned his position in CITY
2 and the couple moved to Utah, back to the mobile home that they had maintained in this state. They did
work some in Utah in December 1999.

All these factors indicate that Petitioner did not intend to make a permanent residence in
STATE as he did not take the actions typical in establishing a new domicile. There was no STATE drivers
license, vehicle registration or even an independent residence. He maintained significant ties to Utah, the
mobile home, drivers license and vehicle registrations. Furthermore, Petitioner explained the renewal of the
license in Utah was because he did not intend to stay in CITY 2 very long.

However, the issue of domicile is complicated. Petitioner’s income was primarily earned in

Inc., 583 P.2d 613, 614 (Utah 1978);
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STATE and he was spending most of his time there, so it is understandable that he misunderstood his Utah
filing requirements for the 1999 year. For this reason there is sufficient cause for waiver of the penalties.

DECISION AND ORDER

Based upon the information presented at the hearing, the Commission finds that Petitioner
remained domiciled in Utah throughout the year at issue and sustains the Statutory Notice as it pertains to the
tax and the interest assessed thereon. The penalties are hereby waived. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision and
Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written
request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing. Such a request shall
be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2007.

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge
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BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION.

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision.

DATED this day of , 2007.
Pam Hendrickson R. Bruce Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner
Marc B. Johnson D’ Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commissioner Commissioner

NOTICE: If a Formal Hearing is not requested, failure to pay the balance due as determined by this order
within thirty days of the date hereon, may result in a late payment penalty. Petitioner may contact Taxpayer

Services at (801) 297-7703 to make payment arrangements.
JKP/06-1227.int



