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 ____________________________________ 
 
PETITIONER, ) 
  ) ORDER  

Petitioner, )  
)  

v.  ) Appeal No.  06-1189 
)  #####  

MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION, )  
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, ) Tax Type:   Registration fees 
STATE OF UTAH, ) Tax Period:   2005-2006 

)   
Respondent. )    Judge:  Robinson 

_____________________________________ 
 

Presiding:  
 R. Spencer Robinson, Administrative Law Judge  
 
Appearances:  
 For Petitioner:  PETITIONER, pro se, via telephone 
 For Respondent:  RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1, Assistant Attorney General 
   RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2, Motor Vehicle Division  
 
    
 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

The parties participated in an Initial Hearing on October 17, 2006, in accordance with the 

provisions of Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5.  Petitioner is requesting a partial refund of the fees he paid 

when he registered his vehicle.  The basis for his request is that he sold the vehicle prior to the expiration 

of its registration. 

Petitioner renewed the registration of his 1999 Honda Accord EX on or about October 6, 

2005.  The registration was valid until September 30, 2006. 

On or about January 24, 2006, Petitioner sold the vehicle.  On March 29, 2006, Petitioner 

requested a refund of $$$$$.  The basis for his request was that he no longer owned the vehicle, but had 

paid for a full year’s registration. 
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Respondent denied the request.  Respondent took the position that the registration was for 

twelve months, arguing it made no difference that Petitioner did not use the full twelve months.  

Petitioner appealed. 

At the Initial Hearing, Petitioner argued common sense dictated a refund.  He said several 

other states grant refunds of unused registration.  He said it was just to grant the refund.  He 

acknowledged Utah law supported the Respondent.  

Respondent argued the registration was for twelve months.  Respondent pointed out 41-

1a-215 provides for 12 month registrations of vehicles under 12,000 pounds in gross laden weight, 

whereas 41-1a-1207 permits registration fees for vehicles exceeding 12,000 pounds in gross laden weight 

to be a percentage of the total for the year, depending on the length of the registration.  The Respondent’s 

position is that failure to grant a proportional registration for one class of vehicle, while providing it for 

another, evinces an intent to make registrations of vehicles under 12,000 pounds gross laden weight to be 

for one year, with no adjustment connected to the duration of the registration. 

APPLICABLE LAW 

41-1a-215. Staggered registration dates - Exceptions. 

(1)(a)  Except as provided under Subsections (2) and (3), every vehicle registration, every 
registration card, and every registration plate issued under this chapter for the first 
registration of the vehicle in this state, continues in effect for a period of 12 months 
beginning with the first day of the calendar month of registration and does not expire 
until the last day of the same month in the following year. 
 

ORDER 

Based upon a review of the evidence, the Commission denies Petitioner’s Request for 

Refund of a portion of his registration fee.  It is so ordered. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision 

and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files 
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a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such 

a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and 

appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this ________ day of ________________________ 2007. 

 
 

__________________________________ 
R. Spencer Robinson 
Administrative Law Judge 

 
 
BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this _________ day of ________________________, 2007. 
 
 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner    Commissioner 
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