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 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 
PETITIONER,  )  

) ORDER 
Petitioner, )  

) Appeal No.  06-1045      
v.  )  

) Account No.  #####  
AUDITING DIVISION OF THE ) Tax Years:  2002 & 2003 
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, ) Tax Type:    Income 

)  
Respondent. ) Judge:  Phan  

 _____________________________________ 
 

Presiding: 
Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge 
 

Appearances: 
For Petitioner: PETITIONER,  
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE, Manager, Income Tax Auditing 
  

 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the provisions of 

Utah Code Sec. 59-1-502.5 on June 4, 2007.  The matter had been scheduled for a Telephone Status 

Conference and was converted to an Initial Hearing.  Petitioner had originally filed an appeal of audit 

deficiencies of income tax, penalties and interest for tax years 2002 and 2003.  As of the date of the hearing the 

2003-year had been resolved and Petitioner had filed a return for the 2002 year, which had been accepted and 

posted over the audit.  Respondent had adjusted the tax, interest and penalties for 2002 based on the tax 

amount Petitioner claimed on the return.  The issue remaining was the penalties assessed for the 2002 tax year 

pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 59-1-401.  The penalties were 10% failure to file and 10% failure to pay penalties 

totaling $$$$$.     

 APPLICABLE LAW 

 The penalty for failure to file a tax return within the time prescribed by law including 

extensions is the greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax due on the return.  (b) This Subsection (1) does not 
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apply to amended returns.  Utah Code Sec. 59-1-401(1). 

The penalty for failure to pay tax due shall be the greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax for 

(a) failure to pay any tax, as reported on a timely filed return; (b) failure to pay any tax within 90 days of the 

due date of the return, if there was a late filed return subject to the penalty provided under Subsection (1)(a).  

Utah Code Sec. 59-1-401(2). 

Interest on any underpayment, deficiency, or delinquency of any tax or fee administered by the 

commission shall be computed from the time the original return is due, excluding any filing or payment 

extensions, to the date the payment is received. Utah Code Sec. 59-1-402 (5). 

Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable cause shown the commission may 

waive, reduce or compromise any of the penalties or interest imposed under this part. Utah Code Sec. 59-1-

401(11). 

 DISCUSSION 

 It was Petitioner’s position that although she had moved from Utah by March of 2003, she 

had returned to Utah to have her taxes prepared for the 2002 tax year and that she had mailed the returns in 

with a check for payment of the taxes prior to the April 15 deadline.  She does not know why the return was 

never received or processed by the Tax Commission.  She indicates that later, after she learned that the Tax 

Commission did not have her return she had asked her tax preparer to hand deliver the return to the Tax 

Commission and it was her understanding that he had done so.   

Respondent’s representative indicated that the penalties had been assessed pursuant to statute. 

He did acknowledge that Petitioner had a good account history prior to 2002 as there had been no other 

penalties assessed.    

Interest is assessed when taxes are not paid or underpaid to compensate the state for the time 



Appeal No.  06-1045 
 
 
 
 

 3

value of money.  Petitioner would have continued to have the use of the funds from the time the tax was due 

until it is eventually paid.     

DECISION AND ORDER 

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission finds that sufficient cause has been shown to 

justify a waiver of the penalties assessed with Petitioner’s individual income tax for tax year 2002.  Insufficient 

cause was shown for waiver of the interest for 2002 and the tax amount has been adjusted to the amount that 

Petitioner claimed on her return.  It is so ordered.  In addition as the issues have been resolved for tax year 

2003, the appeal for that year is dismissed.   

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and 

Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written 

request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall 

be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this __________ day of ______________________, 2007. 

 
____________________________________ 
Jane Phan 
Administrative Law Judge 
 
 
 
 
 

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 
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The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this ________ day of _________________________, 2007. 

 

Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner    Commissioner 
 
NOTICE: Failure to pay the balance due as a result of this order within thirty days from the date hereon may 
result in an additional penalty.  
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