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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Comaomi$si an Initial Hearing pursuant to the
provisions of Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5, on Fetyrda 2007.

On April 24, 2006, the Petitioner requested andfaf $$$$$ in sales tax he had paid on his
March 8, 2005 purchase of a motor vehicle from DERISHIP of CITY 1, Utah. On June 6, 2006, Taxpayer
Services Division (the “Division”) mailed the Paiiter a Statutory Notice is which it refunded takes tax in

part and denied the refund in part. The Diviseiunded $$$$$ of sales tax, plus interest, bechesgealer
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had erroneously charged sale tax on the manufastuebdate of $$$$$. However, the Division denied a
refund of the remaining $$$$$ in sales tax thatireder had collected on the taxable sales amdB$E$S.
On June 16, 2006, the Petitioner submitted a Betitr Redetermination, asking the Commission tiorre:
the remaining $$$$$ in sales tax he had paid otrdmsaction.

Background Information. The Petitioner purches&RST VEHICLE from DEALERSHIP
(“first vehicle”) on March 8, 2005. This issue bef the Commission concerns the sales tax paithien t
transaction. Soon after the Petitioner took passesof the first vehicle, it began to malfunctioithe
Petitioner contacted the Utah Division of ConsuRwtection, which told him that a dealer had tgiven at
least four opportunities to correct a problem befdtah’s “Lemon Laws” (UCA §13-20-1 to —7) tookesdt.
When the dealer could not correct the first vehiclghe fifth attempt, the Petitioner proffers thattold the
dealer to fix it or give him his money back.

The dealer offered to take back the defectiva fiehicle and give the Petitioner a new
vehicle (“second vehicle”) with an additional wartgif the Petitioner paid a $$$$$ difference. Peagitioner
and dealership finally agree to terms where thigi®®r would pay an additional $$$$$. On June20D5,
the Petitioner went to the dealership and exchatigedirst vehicle for the second vehicle. He o,
however, that the contract the dealership askeddisign was drawn up to show that he was purchasin
new vehicle with a trade-in, which did not reflélseé exchange he had negotiated. Upon protestitigeto
dealership, the Petitioner was told that the dshlprhad to draw up the contract that way. ThéiBeer

signed the documents and received the second geliitle documents show that the dealership changed

1 Utah Code Ann. 859-12-104(60) specifically ex&srippm sales and use tax “amounts paid to a
purchaser as a rebate from the manufacturer ofvavaebicle for purchasing the new vehicle[.]” Prior
the exemption being enacted into statute, Utah AdRule R865-19S-68(F) (since repealed) provided
that such rebates were nontaxable if separatebdsta
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Petitioner $$$$3$ in sales tax for this second fatien, erroneously charging sales tax on the naatufer’s
rebate of $$$$3.

The Petitioner soon found out that the secondclehias also defective. On November 21,
2005, CAR MANUFACTURER agreed to reimburse the tReter for the all amounts he had paid for the
second vehicle, including the $$$$$ in sales teoneously paid.

The Petitioner argues that had the dealershigew up the June 17, 2005 documents to

show that he was returning the defective first glghtind exchanging it for the new second vehible seles
tax he paid on first vehicle would have also befarrded. Because he had very little use of tiséehicle
due to its defects and because the dealershipedkfiaswrite up the Junel7, 2005 documents as he had
negotiated, the Petitioner asks the Commissiorefiond him the sales tax he paid in regards to itise f
vehicle. The Petitioner also points out that thilsis only recourse, as he has already takendhkeighip to
small claim’s court and lost because he signeditime 17, 2005 documents that the dealership idgiste
sign.

The Division, on the other hand, points out tladéstax is a “transactional” tax, as set forth in
UCA 859-12-103(1) and Utah Admin. Rule R865-19SR2(fe 2"). Because the June 17, 2005 documents
were not drawn up as a “return” of the first vedjdbut as the purchase of the second vehicle hétHirtst
vehicle characterized as a “trade-in,” the Divisemgues that the purchase of the first vehicle nesna
separate transaction that is subject to salessmthy. For these reasons, the Division asksdhe@ssion to
sustain its denial of the remainder of the saleshat the Petitioner requests to be refunded.

APPLICABLE LAW

UCA 859-12-103 provides for the imposition of saesl use tax on certain transactions, as

follows in pertinent part:
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(1) A tax is imposed on the purchaser as providetlis part for amounts paid or
charged for the following transactions:
(a) retail sales of tangible personal property maitlein the state;

Utah Admin. Rule R865-19S-2 provides guidance coring Utah’s sales and use tax and
provides, as follows:

A. The sales and use taxes are transaction tapesed upon certain retail sales and
leases of tangible personal property, as well as wertain services.

B. The tax is not upon the articles sold or fumeid, but upon the transaction, and
the purchaser is the actual taxpayer. The verslaharged with the duty of
collecting the tax from the purchaser and of payirggtax to the state.

Utah Admin. Rule R865-19S-20(C) (“Rule 20") proggithat a seller filing its sales and
use tax return can adjust the amount of “totalssabes follow: “Adjustments may be made and credit
allowed for cash discounts, returned goods, andleatk that result from sales upon which the tax ha
been reported and paid in full by a seller to th& Tommission.”

Utah Admin. Rule R865-19S-72 addresses exchamg$rade-ins, including their
application to motor vehicle transactions, as fefio

A. An even exchange of tangible personal propfertyangible personal property
is exempt from tax. When a person takes tangibtsgmal property as part
payment on a sale of tangible personal propertgssa use tax applies only to
any consideration valued in money which changesiian

B. For example, if a car is sold for $8,500 armtealit of $6,500 is allowed for a
used car taken in trade, the sales or use taxegpplithe difference, or $2,000 in
this example. Subsequently, when the used catdstsa applies to the selling
price less any trade-in at that time.

C. An actual exchange of tangible personal prigsetietween two persons must
be made before the exemption applies. For exarties is no exchange if a
person sells his car to a dealer and the dealdsltbé credit to apply on a
purchase at a later date; there are two sepaagisairtions, and tax applies to the
full amount of the subsequent purchase if and whietkes place.
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DISCUSSION

The Petitioner’'s March 8, 2005 purchase of théviehicle was a taxable purchase of tangible
personal property and, thus, subject to sales aedax. The Petitioner exchanged the first vetiimlea
second vehicle on June 17, 2005. Had the Jur20DB, paperwork shown that the purchaser “returtteel”
first vehicle, the transaction would have been wered “voided” and the sales tax the Petitionéd pa the
purchase of the first vehicle could be refundetie Tommission notes that the Petitioner was refuitiue
full amount of sales tax he paid on the purchagsbetecond vehicle because Utah’s Lemon Laws ¢geovi
that a manufacturer who accepts a return of a “i#mehicle must “refund to the consumer the fulighase
price including [sales tax], less a reasonablenalae for the consumer’s use of the vehicle.” \$eA §13-
20-4; Utah Admin. Rule R152-20-2.

However, when the purchaser “exchanged” the figdticle for the second vehicle, the
dealership did not draw up, and the Petitionendidsign, documents to reflect a “return” of thistfivehicle.
Instead, the June 17, 2005 documents reflect detid’ of the first vehicle on the purchase of sezond
vehicle. Rule 72 does not provide for a refunthefsales tax paid for a vehicle that is subsedyeatied in
on another vehicle. For these reasons and besaleseand use tax is a tax on the transactionsamat & tax
on the item purchased, the Commission finds thalhl#w does not provide, under these circumstafares,
refund of the additional $$$$$ of sales tax, asiestpd by the Petitioner. Accordingly, the Comiaiss
sustains the Division’s action and denies the iBatit’'s appeal.

DECISION AND ORDER

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission sustamBivision’s denial of the Petitioner’s

refund request. Accordingly, the Petitioner’s agpe denied. It is so ordered.
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This decision does not limit a party's right tocarRal Hearing. However, this Decision and

Order will become the Final Decision and Ordethef Commission unless any party to this case filestten
request within thirty (30) days of the date of tthéxision to proceed to a Formal Hearing. Suelyagst shall
be mailed to the address listed below and mustidecthe Petitioner's name, address, and appealetumb

Utah State Tax Commission

Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will precludg further appeal rights in this matter.
DATED this day of , 2007.

Kerry R. Chapman
Administrative Law Judge

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION.

The Commission has reviewed this case and the sigded concur in this decision.

DATED this day of , 2007.
Pam Hendrickson R. Bruce Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner
Marc B. Johnson D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commissioner Commissioner
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