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 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 
PETITIONER, )  
  ) ORDER 

Petitioner, )  
) Appeal No.  06-0579 

v.  )    
) Account No. ##### 

PROPERTY TAX DIVISION )  
OF THE UTAH STATE TAX ) Tax Type:   Property Tax/Centrally Assessed 
COMMISSION, ) Tax Year: 2006  

) 
Respondent. ) Judge: Robinson 

 _____________________________________ 
 

Presiding: 
R. Spencer Robinson, Administrative Law Judge  

        
Appearances: 

For Petitioner: PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE  
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1, Property Tax Division 
                              RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2, Property Tax Division  

 
 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing 

pursuant to the provisions of Utah Code Ann. ∋59-1-502.5, on June 28, 2006.  Petitioner is 

appealing the penalty assessed pursuant to §59-2-207 relating to late filing of Petitioner’s Annual 

Tax Report for the tax year 2006. 

 APPLICABLE LAW 

 A person, or an officer or agent of that person, owning or operating property 

described in Subsection (1)(b) shall file with the commission, on a form prescribed by the 

commission, a sworn statement on or before March 1 of each year. (Utah Code Ann. ∋59-2-207 

(1)(a).)  



Appeal No.  06-0579 
 

 
 -2- 

 Except as provided in Subsection (3)(c), the commission shall assess a person a 

penalty as provided in Subsection (3)(b), if the person, or an officer or agent to that person, fails 

to file: (i) the statement required under Subsection (1)(a) on or before the later of: (a) March 1; or 

(B) if the commission allows an extension under Subsection (1)(c) for filing the statement, the 

day after the last day of the extension period or (ii) any other information the commission 

determines to be necessary. .   .   (Utah Code Ann. ∋59-2-207 (3)(a).) 

The penalty is equal to the greater of 10% of the estimated tax due not to exceed 

$50,000; or $100.  (Utah Code Ann. ∋59-2-207 (3)(b).) 

(i) Notwithstanding Subsections (3)(a) and (4), the commission may waive, 

reduce, or compromise a penalty imposed under this section if the commission finds there are 

reasonable grounds for the waiver, reduction or compromise.  (ii) If the commission waives, 

reduces, or compromises a penalty under Subsections (3)(c)(i), the commission shall make a 

record of the grounds for waiving, reducing, or compromising the penalty.  (Utah Code Ann. 

∋59-2-207 (3)(c).) 

DISCUSSION  

Petitioner is appealing the penalty assessed pursuant to Utah Code Ann. ∋59-2-

207 relating to late filing of Petitioner's Annual Tax Report for the tax year 2006.  The return is 

due March 1 of each year.  Respondent sent a letter on March 9, 2006 notifying Petitioner it had 

not filed a return.  Petitioner filed a return on March 17, 2006.  Petitioner’s representative, 

PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE, explained that inexperienced, new employees did not 

recognize the return when it arrived and filed it in a drawer.  Respondent sent notice of the 
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penalty on May 1, 2006.  Petitioner responded on May 9, 2006.  Respondent said Petitioner has 

not been delinquent in previous years.  Respondent took no position on the issue of waiver, 

saying it would defer to the Commission. 

 DECISION AND ORDER 

After reviewing the circumstances in this matter, the Commission waives the 

penalty.  It is so ordered.   

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing or the right of an 

affected county to show cause pursuant to section 59-2-1007 why the Commission should not 

adjust the values in accordance with this order.  However, this Decision and Order will become 

the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless an affected party files a written request 

within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a 

request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, 

address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further administrative 

appeal rights in this matter.  In that event, the Property Tax Division is ordered to adjust its 

records in accordance with this order.  The Property Tax Division is also ordered to calculate the 

final adjustments, if any, to the values apportioned to tax districts as a result of this order and to 

deliver that information to the affected counties on behalf of the Commission.  The auditors of 
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the affected counties are ordered to use the information so provided to adjust their tax roles in 

accordance with this order. 

DATED this _________ day of _______________________, 2006. 

 
 
   ___________________________________ 
   R. Spencer Robinson 
   Administrative Law Judge 
 
 
BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION. 
 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this 
decision. 

 
DATED this ________ day of ________________________, 2006. 

 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson  R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair  Commissioner 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson  D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner   Commissioner 
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