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 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 
PETITIONER,  )  

) ORDER 
Petitioner, )  

) Appeal No.  06-0271  
v.  )  

) Account No.  ##### 
TAXPAYER SERVICES DIVISION,  ) 
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, ) Tax Type:   Successor Liability 

)  
Respondent. ) Presiding:  Phan   

 _____________________________________ 
 

Presiding: 
Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge 
 

Appearances: 
For Petitioner: PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1, Assistant Attorney General 

                               RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2, Tax Compliance Agent  
 
 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Commission for an Initial Hearing on November 6, 2006, 

pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 59-1-502.5.  Petitioner is appealing an assessment of proposed liability 

against a successor in business, issued pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 59-12-112.  The Statutory Notice 

was dated December 15, 2005.  The proposed assessment was based on a sales tax deficiency in the 

amount of $$$$$ owed by COMPANY A.  The period for when the liability was incurred was from 

April 2004 through May 2005.  Additional penalties and interest have been assessed against 

COMPANY A, but are not included in the proposed successor liability assessment.    
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 APPLICABLE LAW 

The tax imposed by this chapter shall be a lien upon the property of any person who 

sells out his business or stock of goods or quits business.  Such person shall complete the return 

provided for under Section 59-12-107, within 30 days after the date he sold his business or stock of 

goods, or quit business.  Such person’s successor in business shall withhold enough of the purchase 

money to cover the amount of taxes due and unpaid until the former owner produces a receipt from 

the commission showing that the taxes have been paid, or a certificate that no taxes are due.  If the 

purchaser of a business or stock of goods fails to withhold such purchase money and taxes are due 

and unpaid after the 30-day period allowed his personally liable for the payment of the taxes 

collected and unpaid by the former owner.  Utah Code Sec. 59-12-112. 

 DISCUSSION 

OWNER 1 had run COMPANY A as a sole proprietorship for 18 years until 2002 or 

2003 when he incorporated as COMPANY A.  For most of the period he had operated out of a 

building that he owned, but had to sell the building in 2000 or 2001 to the city.   He moved the 

business into a building that he rented.  This, according to Petitioner’s representative, was a financial 

hardship as the rent was too high for the business.  OWNER 1 later moved into a new building 

sometime after the incorporation of COMPANY A and prior to the take over of the business by 

COMPANY B.  The newer building had a lower rent, but less visibility.     

OWNER 1 developed serious health issues and could no longer work and manage the 

business.  It was due to this situation and moving to the building with the high rent that the business 
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began incurring the tax liability that it at issue. In May 2005 his son OWNER 2 incorporated under 

the name COMPANY B, and the business was transferred to the new entity in exchange for which 

OWNER 2 was to pay his father, who was no longer able to work, a monthly draw of $$$$$ and take 

over the leases on the building and equipment.  It is unclear if OWNER 2 paid his father any 

additional amount for the business as there was some discussion about medical expenses or 

insurance.  A copy of any purchase agreement has not been submitted.   

From the proffer of Petitioner’s representative once this occurred, there were all new 

employees of the business.  There were issues with an embezzlement and failure to maintain the 

books and records or file tax returns that occurred after OWNER 2 had taken over the business.  

However, this occurred after the period that is at issue in this appeal and may be subject to other 

proceedings. 

 Upon reviewing the information, COMPANY B took over the business location, the 

lease on the building and equipment, and continued to operate the same type of business.  The name 

of the new corporation also was similar enough to be an attempt at retaining the goodwill of the 

existing customer base.  Regardless of whether none of the employees continued to work for the new 

corporation, COMPANY B is a successor in business of COMPANY A. 

As a successor in business, according to Utah Code Sec. 59-12-112, Petitioner should 

have been withholding purchase money  to pay for the taxes incurred by the prior business.  In this 

situation, it is unclear whether Petitioner made only the $$$$$ per month payments, or whether there 

was some other transfer of funds, which may have been payment of medical expenses, health 
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insurance or assumption of liabilities.  Petitioner would have the burden of showing that there had 

been no other funds paid to his father for the transfer of the business.  Because it appears that at least 

some payment was made for the transfer of the business, Petitioner is liable for the payment of the 

taxes collected and unpaid by the former owner up to the amount Petitioner paid to the prior owner 

for the business.  Payment need not be a direct payment, but could also have included payment of 

medical bills, insurance premiums, assumption of liabilities and all other consideration.  Petitioner 

has the burden of proving what amount was actually made as payment to the former owner for the 

business.  The Commission acknowledges that this amount could be less than the successor liability 

assessment, but has insufficient evidence before it to abate any portion of the assessment.  If 

Petitioner would like to make a showing that the payment for the business was less than the 

successor liability assessment, Petitioner may request a Formal Hearing and should be prepared to 

submit evidence to support its position.  In addition to successor liability payment of the taxes, the 

taxes are a lien upon any assets transferred with the business.  

 DECISION AND ORDER 

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission assesses the Liability Against a Successor 

in Business as proposed in the Statutory Notice Dated December 15, 2005.  It is so ordered.   

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this 

Decision and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to 

this case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a 

Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the 



Appeal No. 06-0271 
 
 

 
 -5- 

Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this 

matter. 

DATED this __________ day of ______________________, 2007. 

 
____________________________________ 
Jane Phan 
Administrative Law Judge 

 

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 

The  Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this ________ day of _________________________, 2007. 

 

Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli  
Commissioner    Commissioner  
 
Notice: If the Petitioner does not request a Formal Hearing within the thirty-days as discussed above, 
failure to pay the amount of deficiency that results from this order may result in an additional 
penalty.  
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