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 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 
PETITIONER,  ) ORDER 
  )  

Petitioner, ) Appeal No.   05-1765 
)  

v.  ) Account No.  ##### 
)  

AUDITING DIVISION,  ) Tax Type:    Withholding Tax  
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, )    Penalty & Interest 
  ) Tax Period:  2003 
 Respondent. ) Presiding:  Robinson  
 _____________________________________ 
 
Presiding: 

R. Spencer Robinson, Administrative Law Judge 
 

Appearances: 
For Petitioner: PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE, Owner 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE, from the Auditing Division  
  

 
 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Commission for an Initial Hearing on January 16, 

2007 in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5.  On November 18, 2005, Respondent sent 

Petitioner a Statutory Notice informing Petitioner an audit showed Petitioner owed additional 

withholding tax for 2002 and 2003.  The Notice assessed a penalty for 2003, as well as interest 

for 2002 and 2003.  The penalty was $$$$$.  The Petitioner appealed on December 17, 2005. 

 APPLICABLE LAW 

Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401 (1) (a)  “The penalty for failure to file a tax 
return within the time prescribed by law including extensions is the 
greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax due on the return.”  
 
Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401 (2) “The penalty for failure to pay tax due 
shall be the greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax for:   

. . . . 
 

(b) failure to pay any tax within 90 days of the due date of the return, 
if there was a late filed return subject to the penalty provided under 
Subsection (1)(a);   
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Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(11) “Upon making a record of its actions, 
and upon reasonable cause shown, the commission may waive, reduce, 
or compromise any of the penalties or interest imposed under this part.”  

 
Utah Code Ann. §59-1-402. 
 
(2)  Except as otherwise provided for by law, the interest rate for a 
calendar year for all taxes and fees administered by the commission shall 
be calculated based on the federal short-term rate determined by the 
Secretary of the Treasury under Section 6621, Internal Revenue Code, 
and in effect for the preceding fourth calendar quarter. 
 
(5) Interest on any underpayment, deficiency, or delinquency of any 

tax or fee administered by the commission shall be computed 
from the time the original return is due, excluding any filing or 
payment extensions, to the date the payment is received. 

 
Utah Code Ann. §59-10-4061 
(3) (a)  Each employer shall file an annual return, in a form the 
commission prescribes, summarizing:   

(i) the total compensation paid;   
(ii) the federal income tax deducted and withheld; and   
(iii) the state tax deducted and withheld for each employee 
during the calendar year.   

(b) This return shall be filed with the commission on or before 
February 28 of the year following that for which the report is made.   

 
Utah Code Ann. §59-10-543 
In any proceeding before the commission under this chapter, the 
burden of proof shall be upon the petitioner except for the following 
issues, as to which the burden of proof shall be upon the 
commission:2   
 

DISCUSSION 

Petitioner stated an employee responsible for submitting withholding tax 

payments embezzled some of the funds intended to pay withholding taxes.  The employee also 

destroyed accounting records.  Petitioner has used bank records in an effort to reconstruct its 

accounting records.  Petitioner said the lack of records prevents it from challenging Respondent’s 

calculation of tax liability.  Petitioner has sued the former employee. 

                                                 
1 This is the version in effect in 2002 and 2003. 
2 None of the exceptions, fraud with intent to evade, issues involving a transferee of property, or an 
increase in a deficiency, apply in this case. 
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When the actions of employee constitute embezzlement, the Commission may 

grant a waiver.  In this case, Petitioner’s former employee converted some of the withholding 

payments to personal use and destroyed records to cover what had occurred.  Petitioner believed 

everything was current.  It was not until the audit that Petitioner discovered the discrepancy. 

Respondent argues Petitioner should have reconciled the withholding amounts 

reflected on W-2’s issued to employees with the amount of withholding reported on Form TC-

96R.  Respondent cites §59-10-406 (3) for a duty to reconcile tax withheld on W-2’s.  The 

Commission has previously held there is a duty to reconcile quarterly filings, information on W-

2’s, and the amount listed on Form TC-96R.  Reconciliation, if attempted, would have revealed 

the absence of records needed to reconcile.  Failure to discover this supports the penalty. 

 DECISION AND ORDER 

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission finds the evidence does not establish 

reasonable cause for a waiver of the penalty.  The Commission denies Petitioner’s request for a 

waiver of penalty based on the current evidence.  If Petitioner has additional evidence it believes 

may change the outcome, it may request a Formal Hearing, as outlined below.  

There is no evidence of Commission error causing underpayment.  The State of 

Utah did not have the use of the withholding tax funds that Petitioner should have submitted.  The 

Commission sustains the audit with regard to interest.  

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this 

Decision and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any 

party to this case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to 

proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must 

include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 
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Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this 

matter. 

DATED this __________ day of _____________________, 2007. 

 
________________________ 
R. Spencer Robinson 
Administrative Law Judge 

 
 
BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this 

decision. 

DATED this ________ day of _______________________, 2007. 
 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson  R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair  Commissioner 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson    D'Arcy Dixon Pignanelli  
Commissioner   Commissioner  
 
Notice: If the Petitioner does not request a Formal Hearing within the thirty-days as discussed 
above, failure to pay the amount of deficiency that results from this order may result in an 
additional penalty.  
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