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 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 

PETITIONER,   )       INITIAL HEARING ORDER 
  )  
 Petitioner, ) Appeal No.  05-1364 
  )   
v.  )  

 ) Tax Type:   Cigarette/Use Tax 
AUDITING DIVISION OF THE ) Acct. #  #####  
UTAH STATE ) Tax Period:   12/25/02 – 03/18/05 
TAX COMMISSION ) 
  )  
 Respondent. ) Judge:   Robinson    
 _____________________________________ 
 
Presiding: 
 R. Spencer Robinson, Administrative Law Judge  
        
Appearances: 
 For Petitioner:  PETITIONER, Petitioner, pro se, by telephone 
 For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1, Audit Manager, Auditing 

Division 
 
 
 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to 

the provisions of Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5 on January 30, 2006. 

Based on information acquired via the Jenkins Act, the Division conducted an audit and 

issued an assessment against Petitioner for unpaid cigarette tax and use tax on purchases of cigarettes 

from COMPANY A and COMPANY B via the Internet.  The audit determined Petitioner owed $$$$$ in 

cigarette tax and $$$$$ in use tax.  Respondent also assessed interest.  Respondent did not assess a 

penalty. 

Petitioner acknowledged the purchase of the cigarettes, but stated that she did not believe 

the transactions are subject to sales or use tax.  She said one does not pay taxes on catalog purchases.  

She said there was no notice from the Internet merchants that tax was due.  She said if the law existed 
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prior to March of 2005, someone should have told her.  She said if was passed after March of 2005, she 

should not be liable for anything occurring before the law passed. 

Respondent said the audit was conducted in accordance with the statutes.  It received the 

information pursuant to the Jenkins Act, which originally became law 1949, in June of 2005.  It took 

about two months to process the data.  The audit was done on August 15, 2005.   Because of the 

circumstances, it did not seek a penalty. 

Petitioner’s first purchase was on December 25, 2002.  She made periodic purchases 

through March 18, 2005.  Respondent assessed cigarette tax in the amount of $$$$$ on each purchase.  

The total amount was $$$$$.  Respondent assessed sales tax in the amount of $$$$$ on each purchase.  

The total amount was $$$$$.  Respondent also assessed interest. 

APPLICABLE LAW 

Cigarette Tax  

Utah Code Ann. §59-14-204 provides, in pertinent part,  

(1) Except for cigarettes described under Subsection 59-14-210(3), 
there is levied a tax upon the sale, use, storage, or distribution of cigarettes in the 
state.  

(2) The rates of the tax levied under Subsection (1) are:   
(a) 3.475 cents on each cigarette, for all cigarettes weighing not 
more than three pounds per thousand cigarettes; and  
(b) 4.075 cents on each cigarette, for all cigarettes weighing in 
excess of three pounds per thousand cigarettes. 

(3) The tax levied under Subsection (1) shall be paid by any person 
who is the manufacturer, jobber, distributor, wholesaler, retailer, user, or consumer.    

 
Cigarettes distributed for sale in Utah typically have a cigarette stamp on each 

pack, which indicates that the manufacturer, distributor or vendor has paid the tax. Utah Code  

§§59-14-204 and 59-14-205.  The cigarettes purchased by Petitioner did not have stamps affixed.  
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Petitioner caused the cigarettes to enter the State of Utah when she purchased them.  Petitioner 

was required to file a statement and pay the tax directly to the Tax Commission within 15 days of 

storage, use or consumption in Utah, or by the 15th of the month following the calendar month in 

which the cigarettes were imported, if authorized by the Commission. Utah Admin. Rules R865-

20T-1 and R865-20T-2.  She did not know of the requirement.  Therefore, she did not file a 

statement or pay the tax. 

Use Tax 

 Utah Code Ann. §59-12-103(1) provides, in pertinent part,  

(1) A tax is imposed on the purchaser as provided in this part for amounts 
paid or charged for the following transactions: 

. . . . 
 

(l) amounts paid or charged for tangible personal property if within this state 
the tangible personal property is:  

(i) stored;  
(ii) used, or  
(iii) consumed;   

 
Utah vendors, and out-of-state vendors with nexus to Utah, are required by law to collect 

Utah sales tax on behalf of the Tax Commission on each Utah sale.  COMPANY A and COMPANY B 

are not Utah vendors.  They do not have nexus to Utah.  Therefore, Utah cannot regulate their activities 

and require them to collect and remit sales tax.   

If the seller does not collect sales tax on items sold and delivered into Utah, as occurred 

in this case, the purchaser is required to accrue and remit use tax directly to the Tax Commission on his 

or her individual income tax return. This is true for all untaxed Internet purchases, not merely cigarettes.  

Utah Code  §59-12-107(1) (d); Utah Admin. Rule R865-21U-3; and Utah Admin. Rule R865-21U-6. 
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Penalties and Interest 

If the purchaser fails to report and pay any tax due within the prescribed time period, the 

Commission may assess the tax, plus interest and penalties.  Interest runs from the date that the return 

was due.  Utah Code  §59-1-204(5). 

DISCUSSION 

COMPANY A and COMPANY B recently came into compliance with the reporting 

requirement set forth in the Jenkins Act, a federal law requiring merchants selling tobacco products across 

state lines to report the purchases to the taxing authorities of the state where the purchaser resides.  Upon 

receiving information regarding the Petitioner’s untaxed cigarette purchases, the Division issued an 

assessment for the unpaid cigarette tax and the unpaid use tax on each transaction.   

Petitioner does not deny that she made these purchases, but she states she was unaware 

that tax was due.  While this apparently prompted the Division not to seek a penalty, her lack of 

awareness does not warrant waiving the taxes or interest.   

Petitioner believes no taxes are due.  Should the taxes be due, she requests a waiver of the 

interest.  The Division asserts the taxes are due.  It objects to her request to waive interest on the grounds 

no reasonable cause exists.   

The taxes are due on out-of-state cigarette purchases.   As for the interest, Petitioner’s 

ignorance of the law does not rise to the level of reasonable cause.  Additionally, she had the time value of 

the money. 

DECISION AND ORDER 

Under section 59-1-402(5) of the Utah Code, interest runs from the date that the return is 

due.  Utah Administrative Rule R865-20T-2 states that the return is due (1) 15 days from the date of use, 
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storage or consumption in Utah, or (2) the 15th day of the month following the calendar month in which 

the cigarettes were purchased.  Because it is unknown when the cigarettes were delivered into Utah, the 

second provision of the rule applies. 

Utah Code Ann. §78-12-26 provides that “[a]n action may be brought within three years: . 

. . (4) for a liability created by the statutes of this state, other than for a penalty or forfeiture under the laws 

of this state, except where in special cases a different limitation is prescribed by the statutes of this state.”  

For most other Utah taxes, the Legislature has enacted a different limitation that permits the Commission 

to assess a tax at any time if the taxpayer fails to file a return on which the tax should have been reported.1  

However, no such statute has been enacted in the Utah Cigarette and Tobacco Tax and Licensing Act to 

govern the assessment of cigarette taxes, as reported on the return described in Rule 20T-2.  Rule 20T-2 

does not provide for the limitation, either.  Therefore, the Commission finds Division may only assess 

cigarette tax three years after the date that a cigarette tax return is due under Rule 20T-2, even where the 

taxpayer has failed to file the return. 

The Division issued its Statutory Notice on August 15, 2005.  Given this assessment date 

and the above ruling, any cigarette tax imposed by this notice would have had to be due by August 15, 

2002, three years prior to the assessment date.  Pursuant to Subsection (A)(2) of R865-20T-2, an entity 

subject to the cigarette tax should report and pay the cigarette “on or before the 15th day of the month 

following the calendar month during which the cigarettes were imported.”  Because of this rule, cigarette 

tax on any purchase made in July 2002 would have been due on August 15, 2002, exactly three years prior 

to the assessment.  Given the August 15, 2005 date of the Statutory Notice, the Commission finds that the 
                                                 
1      See UCA §59-5-114(1) (severance tax);  UCA §59-7-519 (corporate franchise tax);  UCA §59-9-106 
(insurance tax);  UCA §59-11-113 (inheritance tax);  UCA §59-13-210(6) (motor fuel tax);  UCA §59-13-
313(4)(special fuel tax). 
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Division may only assess cigarette tax on those purchases that occurred on or after July 1, 2002.  The 

Commission sustains the Division’s assessment of cigarette tax for those purchases made on or after July 

1, 2002. 

As noted above, §59-12-103(1)(l) imposes use tax on tangible personal property stored, 

used, or consumed in this State.  §59-12-107 (1)(d) requires a person to pay a use tax imposed on a 

transaction described in §59-12-103 (1) if the seller did not collect the tax imposed (which, in this case, 

the sellers did not collect) and the person stores, uses, or consumes the tangible personal property in the 

State.   

Administrative Rule R865-21U-6 (A)(2)(c) states that individuals who have no sales tax 

collection responsibility and who have less that $400 in use tax liability per year are to remit the use tax 

on their annual State income tax return.  Line 24 of Form TC-40, the Utah Individual Income Tax Return, 

is where persons declare and pay use tax in the amount of $400 or less.  §59-10-536 requires additional 

tax due on a return be assessed within three years after the return was filed. 

A tax return covering the 2002 tax year would be timely filed on April 15, 2003.  The 

Division sent its notice to Petitioner on August 15, 2005.  It may go back three years from that date, to 

August 15, 2002.  Therefore, assuming Petitioner filed a State income tax return, the Division may 

properly assess use tax for purchases made after January 1, 2002, but not prior to January 1, 2002. 

The Commission affirms the assessment for the cigarette tax on purchases made on or 

after July 1, 2002, and interest on that tax.  Petitioner’s purchases are all after July 1, 2002. 

Because neither party provided evidence regarding whether the Petitioner filed a Utah 

income tax return, Respondent may review Commission records to see if Petitioner filed Utah income tax 

returns.  If Petitioner filed returns during the pertinent years, Respondent may assess use tax, plus interest 
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on the tax due, for returns filed for the period of January 1, 2002, forward.  If returns were not filed, there 

is no limitation period.  It is so ordered. 

The Commission understands that making a lump sum payment may create a hardship for 

Petitioner.  If so, Petitioner may contact the Taxpayer Services Division to make payment arrangements. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision 

and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case 

files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  

Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, 

address, and appeal number:  

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

 DATED this ________ day of ________________________, 2006. 

 
     __________________________ 
     R. Spencer Robinson  
     Administrative Law Judge 
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BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION. 
 
The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

 DATED this ________ day of ________________________, 2006. 

 

 
Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
Palmer DePaulis   Marc B. Johnson 
Commissioner    Commissioner 
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