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PETITIONER, ) FINDINGS OF FACT, 
  ) CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, 
         Petitioner, ) AND FINAL DECISION 

)  
v. ) Appeal No. 05-1161    

)    
MOTOR VEHICLE ENFORCEMENT )          Tax Type:  Motor Vehicle   
DIVISION OF THE UTAH STATE TAX  )     Sales Person License 
COMMISSION, )       
  ) Judge:  Phan 

Respondent. )  
 _____________________________________ 

 
 Presiding:  

                Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge    
 
 Appearances:  

 For Petitioner: PETITIONER  
     For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE, Assistant Director, Motor Vehicle 

Enforcement Division 
  

 
 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for a Formal Hearing on November 

22, 2005.   Based upon the evidence and testimony presented at the hearing, the Tax Commission hereby 

makes its: 

 FINDINGS OF FACT 

1.   Petitioner is appealing Respondent’s decision to deny him a Motor Vehicle Sales 

Person license.    

2.   Petitioner’s Motor Vehicle Salesperson Application was dated August 5, 2005. On the 

application form Petitioner disclosed that he had been convicted of a felony in October 2000 in STATE and 

that his Dealer License in STATE had been revoked.     

3.    On August 12, 2005, Respondent issued a letter indicating that the license had been 
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denied because of the criminal conviction during the last 10 years.  The Division cited Utah Code Sec. 41-3-

209. 

4. Petitioner timely appealed the decision and the matter proceeded to the Formal 

Hearing. 

5. Petitioner explained that he had been a motor vehicle sales person for approximately 

twenty years when in 1994 he opened his own dealership.  He was under funded and things went bad in 1997 

or 1998 when he sold his inventory and transferred title to the vehicles to another dealer.  The other dealer had 

paid with a check, which later bounced.  In the mean time Petitioner had written checks that he then could not 

cover and he no longer had the inventory.   

6. By 1999 Petitioner had closed the dealership as the theft charge made its way through 

the court system in STATE.  It was not resolved until October 2000 when he was convicted of felony grand 

theft of property.  He was sentenced November 2000 to “two years at half time.”  He spent a total of 13 months 

between jail, prison and a halfway house.  Then he was paroled for a period of two years. 

7. STATE revoked Petitioner’s Dealers License.  

8. While on parole Petitioner was found to be in violation of the terms and he was sent 

back to jail for a period of six months.  He indicates it was for being in possession of business checks, although 

the account had been closed for years.  No information was presented to refute this testimony.  No charges 

were filed with this incident.  Petitioner was released in May 2005.   

9. Respondent had Petitioner’s criminal history record pulled and agrees that Petitioner 

has no other relevant charges or convictions.  Therefore, Petitioner is not a habitual or repeat offender.  The 

conviction pertained to a violation of sate law involving theft based on Petitioner’s action in writing checks 

without sufficient funds.   

10. Petitioner acknowledges that he did something wrong and points out that has paid the 
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price.  Now he just wants to be able to earn a living and car sales is what he knows.  He does not want to be a 

dealer, just a sales person.  He has physical conditions that would prevent him from doing manual labor and he 

indicates that he could not support himself financially with the other job options that he has as a convicted 

felon. 

11. Petitioner provided a letter from the sales manager of a dealership which indicated that 

he understood Petitioner’s past history and wanted him on the sales staff.  Additionally the dealership is also 

required to sign, and did sign, the Motor Vehicle Salesperson Application form where the conviction was 

disclosed.     

 APPLICABLE LAW 

(2)(a) If the administrator finds that there is a reasonable cause to deny, suspend, or revoke a 

license issued under this chapter, the administrator shall deny, suspend, or revoke the license. (b) Reasonable 

cause for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license includes  .  .  (iv) current revocation or suspension of a 

dealer, dismantler, auction, or sales person license issued in another state;  .  .  .  (vii) a violation of any state or 

federal law regarding motor vehicles;  .  .  . (x) a violation of any state or federal law involving fraud .  .   . 

(Utah Code Sec. 41-3-209(2).). 

 CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

Petitioner’s STATE dealers license was revoked and he was convicted of a crime involving 

felony theft in STATE.  For those reasons the Division’s action denying the license was not inappropriate.  The 

Division indicates that the Commission, however, has the authority to determine if the license should be issued 

under the reasonable cause criteria indicated at Utah Code Sec. 41-3-209.  Based on the factors presented the 

Commission concludes that a sales person license should be issued to Petitioner.  

 DECISION AND ORDER 

Upon review of the information presented, Petitioner has had only one conviction which 
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resulted from an incident in 1997 or 1998.  He has now served the sentence stemming from the conviction. 

Additionally, the conviction involved duties as a motor vehicle dealer, not duties of a sales person.  The 

Commission would note that Petitioner fully disclosed his conviction and the revocation of the dealer license 

on the application form.  The dealership that he would work for is aware of the past history.  From these factors 

the Commission does not find Petitioner to be a threat to the public if granted a sales person license.        

Based upon the foregoing, the Tax Commission orders the Division to issue to Petitioner  a 

Motor Vehicle Sales Person License.  It is so ordered. 

DATED this _____ day of ___________________________, 2005. 

 
____________________________________ 
Jane Phan 
Administrative Law Judge 
 

 

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this _____ day of _____________________, 2005. 

 

Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
Palmer DePaulis   Marc B. Johnson 
Commissioner    Commissioner  
 
Notice of Appeal Rights: You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request for 
Reconsideration with the Tax Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. ∋63-46b-13.  A Request 
for Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of law or fact.  If you do not file a 
Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order constitutes final agency action. You have thirty 
(30) days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order in accordance with Utah Code Ann. 
∋∋59-1-601 and 63-46b-13 et. seq.     
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