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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for a Status Conference on
December 14, 2005. For all three years at issue, the Division assessed tax, penalty, and interest
because the Petitioner had not filed Utah income tax returns for these years. The Petitioner has since
filed returns for these years and paid all assessments. The only remaining issue concerns the
Petitioner’s request for waiver of penalties and interest associated with the assessments. Upon
agreement of the parties, the Status Conference was converted into an Initial Hearing, as described in

Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5, which was held to address the waiver issue.
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The Petitioner states that he contracted with a CPA firm in Utah to prepare his income
tax returns, beginning, he believes, with the first year at issue in this appeal. Because he has homes
in both Utah and STATE and is self-employed, he did not question his CPA when the CPA
determined that he was a STATE domiciliary and, as a result, not required to file Utah returns, even
though he had filed such returns in the past.

After the Commission issued its assessment and discussions were held, the
Petitioner’s CPA advised him that he was domiciled in Utah and subject to Utah taxation for the
years at issue. The Petitioner’s CPA has subsequently prepared Utah returns for the Petitioner for the
three years at issue. The Petitioner has filed these returns and paid all amounts owing from the
assessments. The Division confirms that it has accepted the returns filed by the Petitioner. Because
of his CPA’s mistake, however, the Petitioner asks the Commission to waive the 10% failure to
timely file penalties, the 10% failure to timely pay penalties, and the interest that the Division
assessed.

The Division states that prior to the years at issue, the Petitioner filed his returns and
paid the tax due in a timely manner. Accordingly, it does not appear that penalties have previously
been waived.

APPLICABLE LAW

UCA §59-10-539(1) provides for the imposition of penalty and interest, pertinent
parts as follow:

(1) In case of failure to file an income tax return and pay the tax required
under this chapter on or before the date prescribed therefor (determined with

—2—



Appeal No. 05-1153

regard to any extension of time for filing), unless it is shown that such failure
is due to reasonable cause and not due to willful neglect, there shall be added
to the amount required to be shown as tax on such return a penalty as
provided in Section 59-1-401. For the purposes of this subsection, the
amount of tax required to be shown on the return shall be reduced by the
amount of any part of the tax which is paid on or before the date prescribed
for payment of the tax and by the amount of any credit against the tax which
may be claimed upon the return.

(8) In addition to the penalties added by this section, there shall be added
to the tax due interest payable at the rate and in the manner prescribed in
Section 59-1-402 for underpayments.

UCA §59-1-401 provides for the imposition of penalties for failure to file returns and
pay tax when due, as follows:

(1) (a) The penalty for failure to file a tax return within the time prescribed
by law including extensions is the greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax
due on the return.

(2) The penalty for failure to pay tax due shall be the greater of $20 or 10%
of the unpaid tax for:

(a) failure to pay any tax, as reported on a timely filed return;

(b) failure to pay any tax within 90 days of the due date of the return,
if there was a late filed return subject to the penalty provided under
Subsection (1)(a);

(c) failure to pay any tax within 30 days of the date of mailing any
notice of deficiency of tax unless a petition for redetermination or a request
for agency action is filed within 30 days of the date of mailing the notice of
deficiency;

(d) failure to pay any tax within 30 days after the date the
commission's order constituting final agency action resulting from a timely
filed petition for redetermination or request for agency action is issued or is
considered to have been denied under Subsection 63-46b-13(3)(b); and

(e) failure to pay any tax within 30 days after the date of a final
judicial decision resulting from a timely filed petition for judicial review.
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UCA §59-1-402(5) provides that “[i]nterest on any underpayment, deficiency, or
delinquency of any tax or fee administered by the tax commission shall be computed from the time
the original return is due, excluding any filing or payment extensions, to the date the payment is
received.”

Furthermore, in those situations where penalty and interest have been properly
imposed, the Tax Commission is granted the authority to waive, reduce, or compromise penalties and
interest upon a showing of reasonable cause. Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(10).

DISCUSSION

The Petitioner agrees that he owed the income tax that the Division assessed and that
he did not file Utah tax returns nor pay the tax due timely for the three years at issue based on the
advice of his CPA. Under these circumstances, the Division properly assessed penalties and interest
in accordance with Sections 59-1-401 and 59-2-402. The Petitioner has asked the Commission to
waive the penalties and interest under the circumstances, which the Commission is authorized to do
upon a showing of reasonable cause pursuant to Section 59-1-401(10).  Although penalties and
interest may be waived upon certain circumstances, the criteria to waive interest are different than
the criteria to waive penalties.

Interest is charged because the taxpayer has had the use of the tax dollars during a
period when the state should have had that use. For this reason, interest is only waived if the
imposition of interest arose from a Commission employee’s error. There is no testimony or evidence

proffered to show that a Tax Commission error caused the circumstances leading to the interest
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assessment. Accordingly, the Commission does not find reasonable cause to waive the interest at
issue and, as a result, sustains the interest assessment.

On the other hand, the Commission considers a number of situations to be reasonable
cause to waive a penalty, two of them being a consideration of the taxpayer’s prior tax payment
history and a consideration of the taxpayer’s reliance upon competent tax professionals. The
Petitioner explains that he relied upon the advice of a Utah CPA that he was not required to file a
Utah tax return for the three years at issue. Because he has a home in STATE and is self-employed,
the Petitioner’s reliance on the CPA’s advice does not appear unreasonable. Furthermore, the
Division states that the Petitioner’s record does not show other delinquencies. For these reasons, the
Commission finds reasonable cause to waive the 10% failure to file and 10% failure to pay penalties
for all three years at issue.

DECISION AND ORDER

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission finds the penalty and interest assessed for
the three tax years at issue were properly imposed. Nevertheless, the Commission waives the
penalties that were imposed for all three years, upon a finding of reasonable cause to do so.
However, the Commission denies the Petitioner s request to waive interest and sustains the interest
assessment for all three years. It is so ordered.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this
Decision and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to

this case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a



Appeal No. 05-1153

Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the
Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:
Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134
Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this

matter.

DATED this day of , 2005.

Kerry R. Chapman
Administrative Law Judge

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION.

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision.

DATED this day of , 2005.
Pam Hendrickson R. Bruce Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner
Palmer DePaulis Marc B. Johnson
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice: If a Formal Hearing is not requested as discussed above, failure to pay any balance resulting
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from this order within thirty (30) days from the date of this order may result in a late payment
penalty.
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