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BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 
PETITIONER, ) 

) ORDER 
Petitioner, )  

) Appeal No.  05-0920 
v.  )   

) 
MOTOR VEHICLE ENFORCEMENT  ) Tax Type:   DUI Impound 
DIVISION, UTAH STATE TAX ) 
COMMISSION, ) Judge: Robinson 

) 
Respondent. )  

 _____________________________________ 
 

Presiding: 
R. Spencer Robinson, Administrative Law Judge   

      
Appearances: 

For Petitioner: PETITIONER 
For Respondent: Assistant Attorney General RESPONDENT 

REPRESENTATIVE 
 
 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial 

Hearing pursuant to the provisions of Utah Code Ann. ∋59-1-502.5, on October 4, 2005. 

Petitioner requests a refund of the impound fee assessed when he was 

arrested for driving under the influence.  He states an unidentified DMV employee told 

him that if he were acquitted, the fee would be refunded.  He relied on that 

representation. 

He states his attorney advised him not to attend the administrative hearing 

at the Driver License Division.  Because he failed to attend the hearing, his driver’s 

license was administratively suspended.  He was acquitted following his trial on the 
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driving under the influence charge.  At the time of the hearing before the Commission, 

his driver’s license remained suspended. 

APPLICABLE LAW 
 
41-6a-1406 (6) (previously 41-6-102.5 (5) 

(c) The administrative impound fee assessed under Subsection (6)(a)(iv) shall be 
waived or refunded by the State Tax Commission if the registered owner, lien holder, or 
owner's agent presents written evidence to the State Tax Commission that:   

(i) the Driver License Division determined that the arrested person's driver license 
should not be suspended or revoked under Section 53-3-223 or 41-6a-521 as shown by a 
letter or other report from the Driver License Division presented within 30 days of the 
final notification from the Driver License Division; or   

(ii) the vehicle was stolen at the time of the impoundment as shown by a copy of the 
stolen vehicle report presented within 30 days of the impoundment.   

DISCUSSION 

The foregoing statute prohibits the relief requested by Petitioner.  In the 

absence of evidence the Driver License Division has determined Petitioner’s driver 

license should not be suspended or revoked, the Commission has no power to refund the 

administrative impound fee. 

DECISION AND ORDER 

Based on the foregoing, the Commission denies Petitioner’s request for a 

refund of the administrative impound fee.  It is so ordered. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, 

this Decision and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission 

unless any party to this case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of 
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this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed to the 

address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights 

in this matter. 

DATED this __________ day of _______________________, 2005. 

 
______________________________ 
R. Spencer Robinson 
Administrative Law Judge 

 
BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION. 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in 

this decision. 

DATED this _________ day of ________________________, 2005. 

 

 
Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
Palmer DePaulis   Marc B. Johnson 
Commissioner    Commissioner  
 
SR/05-0920.int    
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