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 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 
PETITIONER, )   FINAL ORDER FROM FORMAL   
  )  HEARING 

 )  
Petitioner, )  Appeal No. 05-0795 

)  Account No. ##### 
v.  )  Tax Year 2005 

)  
PROPERTY TAX DIVISION, ) Tax Type:   Centrally Assessed/Property Tax  
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, )  Penalty 
  )  

Respondent. ) Judge: Rees 
 _____________________________________ 
 

This Order may contain confidential "commercial information" within the meaning of Utah Code Sec. 59-1-404, 
and is subject to disclosure restrictions as set out in that section and regulation pursuant to Utah Admin. Rule 
R861-1A-37.  The rule prohibits the parties from disclosing commercial information obtained from the opposing 
party to nonparties, outside of the hearing process.  However, pursuant to Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-37, the Tax 
Commission may publish this decision, in its entirety, unless the property taxpayer responds in writing to the 
Commission, within 30 days of this notice, specifying the commercial information that the taxpayer wants 
protected.  The taxpayer must mail the response to the address listed near the end of this decision. 
 
Presiding: 
 Commissioner Palmer DePaulis 
 Irene Rees, Administrative Law Judge  
 
Appearances: 
 For Petitioner: PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE, Legal Counsel for Petitioner 
   

For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1, Assistant Attorney General 
 RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2 and RESPONDENT 

REPRESENTATIVE 3, Property Tax Division 
          
 
 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

Following an Initial Hearing on this matter, the Commission issued an Order dated 

September 13, 2005 upholding the penalty assessment imposed by the Division.  Petitioner appealed 

that Order and this matter came before the Commission in a Formal Hearing on February 23, 2006.  
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In the hearing, the Petitioner renewed its request for waiver of the penalty and the Division agreed 

that waiver is appropriate in this case. 

APPLICABLE LAW 

Pursuant to Utah Admin. Code §59-2-207(1)(a), a centrally assessed taxpayer shall, 

on or before March 1 of each year, file with the Division a statement: 

(i) showing in detail all real property and tangible personal property located 
in the state that the person owns or operates; and  
(ii) containing any other information the commission requires.   

Pursuant to Subsection 59-2-207(1)(c), extensions to the March 1 filing deadline are 

allowed, as follows:  

(c) (i) The commission may allow an extension for filing the statement under 
Subsection (1)(a) for a time period not exceeding 30 days, unless the 
commission determines that extraordinary circumstances require a longer 
period of extension.   
     (ii) The commission shall grant a person, or an officer or agent of that 
person, an extension for filing the statement under Subsection (1)(a) for a 
time period not exceeding 15 days if:   
             (A) a federal regulatory agency requires the taxpayer to file a 
statement that contains the same information as the statement under 
Subsection (1)(a); and  
             (B) the person, or an officer or agent of that person, requests the 
commission to grant the extension.   

For a taxpayer that does not file its statement within the statutory timeframe, a penalty 

is imposed pursuant to Subsection 59-2-207(3), as follows: 

(3)(a) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(c), the commission shall assess a 
person a penalty as provided in Subsection (3)(b), if the person, or an officer 
or agent of that person, fails to file:  

(i) the statement required under Subsection (1)(a) on or before the 
later of:  

                  (A) March 1; or  
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(B) if the commission allows an extension under Subsection 
(1)(c) for filing the statement, the day after the last day of the 
extension period; or  

(ii) any other information the commission determines to be necessary 
to:  

                  (A) establish valuations for assessment purposes; or  
                  (B) apportion an assessment.   
    (b) The penalty described in Subsection (3)(a) is an amount equal to the 
greater of:  

(i) 10% of the person's estimated tax liability under this chapter for 
the current calendar year not to exceed $50,000; or   

            (ii) $100.   
    (c)    (i) Notwithstanding Subsections (3)(a) and (4), the commission may   
            waive, reduce, or compromise a penalty imposed under this section if 
            the commission finds there are reasonable grounds for the waiver,       
            reduction, or compromise.   

(ii) If the commission waives, reduces, or compromises a penalty 
under Subsection (3)(c)(i), the commission shall make a record of the 
grounds for waiving, reducing, or compromising the penalty.   

 
DISCUSSION 

The Petitioner filed its annual return in a timely matter, but the information was incomplete.  

The Division asked for additional information, but Petitioner did not supply complete information 

within the time period specified by the Division.  When the information was not provided during the 

extension period, the Division imposed  the 10% penalty, as required by law.    

At the hearing, the Division acknowledged that the Company has been cooperative in 

complying with the Division’s requests for additional information.  The Division also acknowledged 

that the Commission generally waives the penalty for a first time error when a taxpayer with a good 

filing history works cooperatively with the Division.  Consistent with that general policy, the 

Division does not object to a waiver of the penalty in this case. 
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 The Division is required by statute to impose penalties under the circumstances 

set out in Utah Code section 59-2-207(3), subsections (a) and (b).  Waiver requests are 

considered by the Commission, which has authority to waive the penalty assessment under Utah 

Code section 59-2-207(3)(c).  It is the policy of the Commission to waive the penalty if, as in this 

case, the taxpayer has a strong compliance history with no previous assessments of late filing 

penalties and if the taxpayer worked cooperatively to submit the information requested.     

 DECISION AND ORDER 

After reviewing the circumstances in this matter, the Commission finds that the 

penalty was properly imposed, but waives the penalty because reasonable grounds exist to do so.   It 

is so ordered. 

  

DATED this ___________ day of ________________________, 2006. 
 
 
   ______________________________________ 
   Irene Rees 
   Administrative Law Judge 
 
 
 

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION. 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this _________ day of ________________________, 2006. 
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Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
Palmer DePaulis   Marc B. Johnson 
Commissioner    Commissioner 
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