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 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 
PETITIONER, )   
  )  ORDER  

 ) 
Petitioner, ) Appeal No. 05-0754 

)  
v.  ) Account No. ##### 

) Tax Year 2005 
PROPERTY TAX DIVISION, ) Tax Type:   Centrally Assessed/Property Tax  
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, )  Penalty 
  )  

Respondent. ) Judge: Chapman 
 _____________________________________ 
 

This Order may contain confidential "commercial information" within the meaning of Utah Code 
Sec. 59-1-404, and is subject to disclosure restrictions as set out in that section and regulation 
pursuant to Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-37.  The rule prohibits the parties from disclosing 
commercial information obtained from the opposing party to nonparties, outside of the hearing 
process.  However, pursuant to Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-37, the Tax Commission may publish 
this decision, in its entirety, unless the property taxpayer responds in writing to the Commission, 
within 30 days of this notice, specifying the commercial information that the taxpayer wants 
protected.  The taxpayer must mail the response to the address listed near the end of this decision. 
 
Presiding: 
 Kerry R. Chapman, Administrative Law Judge  
 
Appearances: 

For Petitioner: PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE, Vice President 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1, from Property Tax Division 
 RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2, from Property Tax Division 

 

 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the 

provisions of Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5, on July 27, 2005. 

At issue is a late filing penalty assessed to the Petitioner for the 2005 tax year.  The 

Division assessed PETITIONER (“Petitioner”) a penalty for the 2005 tax year for not filing its 
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annual property tax statement on or before March 1. 

APPLICABLE LAW 

Pursuant to Utah Admin. Code §59-2-207(1)(a), a centrally assessed taxpayer shall, 

on or before March 1 of each year, file with the Division a statement: 

(i) showing in detail all real property and tangible personal property located 
in the state that the person owns or operates; and  
(ii) containing any other information the commission requires.   

Pursuant to Subsection 59-2-207(1)(c), extensions to the March 1 filing deadline are 

allowed, as follows:  

(c) (i) The commission may allow an extension for filing the statement under 
Subsection (1)(a) for a time period not exceeding 30 days, unless the 
commission determines that extraordinary circumstances require a longer 
period of extension.   
     (ii) The commission shall grant a person, or an officer or agent of that 
person, an extension for filing the statement under Subsection (1)(a) for a 
time period not exceeding 15 days if:   
             (A) a federal regulatory agency requires the taxpayer to file a 
statement that contains the same information as the statement under 
Subsection (1)(a); and  
             (B) the person, or an officer or agent of that person, requests the 
commission to grant the extension.   

For a taxpayer that does not file its statement within the statutory timeframe, a penalty 

is imposed pursuant to Subsection 59-2-207(3), as follows: 

(3)(a) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(c), the commission shall assess a 
person a penalty as provided in Subsection (3)(b), if the person, or an officer 
or agent of that person, fails to file:  

(i) the statement required under Subsection (1)(a) on or before the 
later of:  

                  (A) March 1; or  
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(B) if the commission allows an extension under Subsection 
(1)(c) for filing the statement, the day after the last day of the 
extension period; or  

(ii) any other information the commission determines to be necessary 
to:  

                  (A) establish valuations for assessment purposes; or  
                  (B) apportion an assessment.   
    (b) The penalty described in Subsection (3)(a) is an amount equal to the 
greater of:  

(i) 10% of the person's estimated tax liability under this chapter for 
the current calendar year not to exceed $50,000; or   

            (ii) $100.   
    (c)    (i) Notwithstanding Subsections (3)(a) and (4), the commission may   
            waive, reduce, or compromise a penalty imposed under this section if 
            the commission finds there are reasonable grounds for the waiver,       
            reduction, or compromise.   

(ii) If the commission waives, reduces, or compromises a penalty 
under Subsection (3)(c)(i), the commission shall make a record of the 
grounds for waiving, reducing, or compromising the penalty.   

 
DISCUSSION 

The Petitioner did not file the annual statement required under Section 59-2-207(1)(a) 

until May 2005, well past the statutory deadline of March 1.  The Petitioner is in its second year of 

operations, and PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE explained that there was confusion over who in 

the company had responsibility for filling the annual statement.  In addition, the company had 

difficulty obtaining some of the required information from a bank with which it has a relationship.  

Given these circumstances, the Commission finds that the penalty was properly imposed.  

However, the Division recommends that the penalty be waived because it is the 

company’s first delinquency in filing the annual statement and because the company has 

demonstrated a willingness to work well with the Division.  The Commission is authorized to waive, 
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reduce, or compromise the penalty upon a showing of reasonable grounds.  Because of the Division’s 

recommendation and the Petitioner’s co-operative efforts to work with the Division, the Commission 

finds that reasonable grounds exist to waive the penalty at issue. 

 DECISION AND ORDER 

After reviewing the circumstances in this matter, the Commission finds that the 

penalty was properly imposed, but waives the penalty because reasonable grounds exist to do so.   It 

is so ordered. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing or the right of an 

affected county to show cause pursuant to section 59-2-1007 why the Commission should not adjust 

the values in accordance with this order.  However, this Decision and Order will become the Final 

Decision and Order of the Commission unless an affected party files a written request within thirty 

(30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed 

to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further administrative appeal 

rights in this matter.  In that event, the Property Tax Division is ordered to adjust its records in 

accordance with this order.  The Property Tax Division is also ordered to calculate the final 

adjustments to the values apportioned to tax districts as a result of this order and to deliver that 

information to the affected counties on behalf of the Commission.  The auditors of the affected 



Appeal No. 05-0754 
 
 
 

 
 - 5 - 

counties are ordered to use the information so provided to adjust their tax roles in accordance with 

this order. 

DATED this ___________ day of ________________________, 2005. 
 
 
   ______________________________________ 
   Kerry R. Chapman 
   Administrative Law Judge 
 

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION. 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this _________ day of ________________________, 2005. 

 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
Palmer DePaulis   Marc B. Johnson 
Commissioner    Commissioner 
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