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PETITIONER, ) 

) ORDER 
Petitioner, )  

) Appeal No. 05-0708   
v.  )     

) Tax Year:  2005 
PROPERTY TAX DIVISION ) Tax Type:   Property Tax/Centrally Assessed 
OF THE UTAH STATE TAX ) 
COMMISSION, ) Judge: Phan 

) 
Respondent. )  

 _____________________________________ 
 

Presiding: 
Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge  

        
Appearances: 

For Petitioner:     PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE  
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1 
                            RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2  

 
 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the 

provisions of Utah Code Ann. ∋59-1-502.5, on August 4, 2005.  At the hearing Respondent requested time to 

file a posthearing brief in this matter.  The Brief was filed on September 20, 2005.  Petitioner was granted 

fifteen days to file a reply brief but did not do so.   

 APPLICABLE LAW 

 A person, or an officer or agent of that person, owning or operating property described in  

Subsection(1)(b) shall, on or before March 1 of each year, file with the Tax Commission a signed statement in 

a form prescribed by the Tax Commission. (Utah Code Ann. ∋59-2-202(1).)   

The Commission shall assess a penalty as provided in Subsection (3)(b) if one required to file 

the statement fails to file the statement required under Subsection (1)(a), or any other information the 
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Commission determines to be necessary to establish value and apportion the assessment, on or before the later 

of  March 1, or if the Property Tax Division allows an extension, the day after the last day of the extension 

period.  (Utah Code Ann. ∋59-2-202(3).) 

The penalty is equal to the greater of 10% of the estimated tax due not to exceed $50,000; or 

$100.  (Utah Code Ann. ∋59-2-202(3)(b).) 

DISCUSSION  

Respondent had assessed the penalty pursuant to Utah Code Ann. ∋59-2-202(3) in this matter 

because Petitioner failed to timely file its Annual Property Tax Report.  Petitioner filed an appeal of the penalty 

but at the hearing indicated that the issue was not that the penalty had been assessed, as Petitioner did not have 

grounds for waiver, it was the amount of the penalty.  Petitioner had also appealed the assessed value of the 

property in this matter and indicates that they were in the process of trying to work out an agreement that 

would lower the assessed value for the property.  It was Petitioner’s request that the amount of the penalty be 

reduced based on the new value, rather than remain 10% of the estimated tax based on the original assessment. 

It is Respondent’s position that the amount of the penalty is based on the amount of the 

original assessment and would not be reduced if the original assessment is reduced.  In its brief, Respondent 

points to the language of the statute regarding the penalty.  Utah Code Sec. 59-2-202(3)(b) indicates the 

penalty is to be an amount equal to the greater of 10% of the person’s “estimated tax liability.”   The same 

section of the statute indicates that if the return is not filed the property is to be assessed using the “best 

information obtainable by the commission.” Utah Code Sec. 59-2-202(2).   

“Estimated tax liability” is not defined in the statute and the chapter refers elsewhere to an 

assessment.  When an assessment is appealed to the State Tax Commission, the statutory provisions indicate 

that the Commission may increase, lower or sustain the “assessment.”  See Utah Code Sec. 59-2-1007(7).   
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Based on this it is clear that term “estimated tax liability” was a specific reference and not intended to mean a 

revised assessment resulting from the appeal, but rather the original assessment based on the “best information 

obtainable” pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 59-2-202(2).  

Respondent also adds that although the penalty may be waived or reduced based on a showing 

of reasonable cause, there was no such showing in this case.  Respondent’s representatives point to the fact that 

there was extensive history of late filing the return.  The Commission notes that Petitioner did not argue for 

waiver or reduction on the basis or reasonable cause.  In absence of a showing that the estimate was made in 

bad faith or otherwise improper there is no basis for waiver. 

 DECISION AND ORDER 

Based on the forgoing, the Commission concludes that he penalty should not be adjusted 

based on an eventual reduction in assessment.  The penalty is sustained.  It is so ordered.     

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing or the right of an affected 

county to show cause pursuant to section 59-2-1007 why the Commission should not adjust the values in 

accordance with this order.  However, this Decision and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the 

Commission unless an affected party files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to 

proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the 

Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further administrative appeal rights in 

this matter.  In that event, the Property Tax Division is ordered to adjust its records in accordance with this 

order.  The Property Tax Division is also ordered to calculate the final adjustments to the values apportioned to 
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tax districts as a result of this order and to deliver that information to the affected counties on behalf of the 

Commission.  The auditors of the affected counties are ordered to use the information so provided to adjust 

their tax roles in accordance with this order. 

DATED this _________ day of _______________________, 2005. 

 

___________________________________ 
Jane Phan 
Administrative Law Judge 
 

 

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION. 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this ________ day of ________________________, 2005. 

 

 
Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
 
Palmer DePaulis   Marc B. Johnson 
Commissioner    Commissioner  
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