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 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 
PETITIONER,  )  

) ORDER 
Petitioner, )  

) Appeal No. 05-0470   
v.  )  

) Account No.  ##### 
AUDITING DIVISION, ) 
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, ) Tax Type:   Sales and Use 

)  
Respondent. ) Presiding:  Phan   

 _____________________________________ 
 

Presiding: 
Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge 
 

Appearances: 
For Petitioner: PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1, Assistant Attorney General 

                                 RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2, Audit Manager, Sales and Use Tax 
                                 RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 3, Auditor  
 
 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Commission for an Initial Hearing on September 8, 2005.  

Petitioner is appealing 10% failure to pay penalty and a 10% negligence penalty assessed with a sales and use 

tax audit for the period of January 1, 2002 through December 31, 2004.   

 APPLICABLE LAW 

The Utah Legislature has provided for the imposition of penalties in Utah Code Ann. ∋59-1-

401 which states: 

(2) The penalty for failure to pay tax due shall be the greater of $20 or 10% 
of the unpaid tax for (a) failure to pay any tax, as reported on an timely filed 
return; (b) failure to pay nay tax within 90 days of the due date  of the return, 
if there was a late filed return subject to the penalty and provided under 
Subsection (1)(a). . .  
(5) Additional penalties for underpayment of tax are as follows: (i) If any 
underpayment of tax is due to negligence, the penalty is 10% of the 
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underpayment . . .  
 
Negligence is generally recognized to be the omission to do something that a reasonably 

prudent and careful person would do, or the doing of something, which the reasonably prudent and careful 

person would not do.  In a tax setting, the Utah Supreme Court has found that a negligence penalty is 

appropriate when the taxpayer fails to make a reasonable investigation into statutes and rules to determine if 

tax is due.  Hales Sand & Gravel, Inc. v. State Tax Comm'n, 842 P.2d 887, 895 (Utah 1992).  The Court 

further states that an error based on the good faith interpretation of an arguable point of law does not rise to the 

level of negligence.  ID.  Likewise, the Commission finds that an error based on a justifiable or honest mistake, 

when compared to the reasonable actions of other taxpayers, also does not rise to the level of negligence. 

 DISCUSSION 

Petitioner explained that he had purchased items like water-heaters, garbage disposals and 

faucets and at the time of the purchase he paid sales tax.  The items were then used in his plumbing repair 

service through which they would be installed in homes and businesses.  Petitioner did not have a sales tax 

license and generally understood that he was required to pay sales tax at the time of purchase.  However, when 

Petitioner invoiced his customer he would list an amount as sales tax on the invoice.   Petitioner then did not 

remit to the state that amount claimed as sales tax on the invoice.  He had already paid the tax and did not 

understand that by putting the amount that he paid on the invoice as tax, he was obligated to remit it to the Tax 

Commission. 

Petitioner now understands the process and has paid the tax amount, but he points out that this 

is essentially double taxation as he had paid the tax at the time of sale and now a second time as part of the 

audit deficiency.  He argues that the penalties assessed in this matter are excessive, as it had just been an 

unintended error. 

This would be considered the first time error on the part of Petitioner, as he did not have a 

sales tax license.  Additionally Petitioner was paying taxes at the time he purchased the items.  Certainly based 
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on these factors there is basis for waiver of the failure to pay penalty.  Concerning the negligence penalty, the 

sate was being paid the correct amount of tax as Petitioner was correctly paying at the time of purchase.  

Petitioner did not have a sales tax license and was not required to have one.  Without some indication that he 

should have been aware that the invoicing was incorrect, the Commission finds that the negligence penalty 

should also be waived.      

 DECISION AND ORDER 

Based upon the foregoing the Commission waives both the failure to pay and negligence 

penalties relating to the audit for the period of January 1, 2002 through December 31, 2004.  It is so ordered. 

The Commission would note that interest is generally waived only in the event that there was on error on the 

part of the Tax Commission or Tax Commission employee that led to the late payment or underpayment and 

there was no basis presented for waiver of the interest.  It is so ordered.   

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and 

Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written 

request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall 

be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this __________ day of ______________________, 2005. 

 
____________________________________ 
Jane Phan 
Administrative Law Judge 
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 BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 

The  Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this ________ day of _________________________, 2005. 

 

 
Pam Hendrickson    R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair    Commissioner 
 
 
 
Palmer DePaulis    Marc B. Johnson 
Commissioner     Commissioner 
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