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 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 
PETITIONER,  ) ORDER 

)  
Petitioner, ) Appeal No. 05-0365 

)   
v.  ) Account No.  ##### 

) 
AUDITING DIVISION ) Tax Type:   Income / Penalty Waiver  
OF THE UTAH STATE ) 
TAX COMMISSION, ) Tax Periods:  2001 

) 
Respondent. ) Judge: Chapman 

 _____________________________________ 
 

Presiding: 
  Kerry R. Chapman, Administrative Law Judge 

        
Appearances: 

For Petitioner: PETITIONER (by telephone) 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1, from Auditing Division 

  RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2, from Auditing Division 
 
 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing 

pursuant to the provisions of Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5 on February 14, 2006. 

On April 20, 2005, Auditing Division (“Division”) issued a Statutory Notice of 

Estimated Income Tax for the 2001 tax year to the Petitioner, in which it imposed additional income 

tax and interest.  Because the Petitioner had not filed a 2001 Utah tax return or paid the tax due, the 

Division also imposed a 10% penalty for failure to file an appeal when due and a 10% penalty for 

failure to pay tax when due. 
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The Petitioner does not contest the tax or interest that was assessed.  However, he 

asks the Commission to waive the penalties because he had no idea that a 401(k) distribution that he 

received from his STATE employer while living in Utah for nine months would be subject to Utah 

taxation. 

 APPLICABLE LAW 

UCA §59-10-539(1) provides for the imposition of penalty, pertinent parts as follow: 

(1)    In case of failure to file an income tax return and pay the tax required 
under this chapter on or before the date prescribed therefor (determined with 
regard to any extension of time for filing), unless it is shown that such failure 
is due to reasonable cause and not due to willful neglect, there shall be added 
to the amount required to be shown as tax on such return a penalty as 
provided in Section 59-1-401.  For the purposes of this subsection, the 
amount of tax required to be shown on the return shall be reduced by the 
amount of any part of the tax which is paid on or before the date prescribed 
for payment of the tax and by the amount of any credit against the tax which 
may be claimed upon the return.   
. . . . 
 
UCA §59-1-401 provides for the imposition of penalties for failure to file returns and 

pay tax when due, as follows: 

(1) (a)  The penalty for failure to file a tax return within the time prescribed 
by law including extensions is the greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax 
due on the return. 
. . . .           
(2)  The penalty for failure to pay tax due shall be the greater of $20 or 10% 
of the unpaid tax for:  

(a) failure to pay any tax, as reported on a timely filed return;   
(b) failure to pay any tax within 90 days of the due date of the return, 

if there was a late filed return subject to the penalty provided under 
Subsection (1)(a);  

(c) failure to pay any tax within 30 days of the date of mailing any 
notice of deficiency of tax unless a petition for redetermination or a request 
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for agency action is filed within 30 days of the date of mailing the notice of 
deficiency;   

(d) failure to pay any tax within 30 days after the date the 
commission's order constituting final agency action resulting from a timely 
filed petition for redetermination or request for agency action is issued or is 
considered to have been denied under Subsection 63-46b-13(3)(b); and   

(e) failure to pay any tax within 30 days after the date of a final 
judicial decision resulting from a timely filed petition for judicial review.   

Furthermore, in those situations where penalty and interest have been properly 

imposed, the Tax Commission is granted the authority to waive, reduce, or compromise penalties and 

interest upon a showing of reasonable cause.  Utah Code Ann. §59-1-401(10). 

DISCUSSION 

The only issue before the Commission is the Petitioner’s request for a waiver of the 

penalties assessed in this matter.  For the tax year at issue, the Petitioner does not dispute that he was 

required to file a Utah tax return and pay Utah individual income tax, or that he failed to do both in a 

timely manner.  Accordingly, the Division legally imposed the 10% penalty for failure to timely file a 

return and the 10% penalty for failure to timely pay tax for the 2001 tax year, pursuant to Sections 

59-10-539 and 59-1-401. 

At issue is whether “reasonable cause” exists for the Commission to waive the 

penalties in accordance with Subsection 59-1-401(10).  The Petitioner asks the Commission to waive 

the penalties because he mistakenly believed the income was taxable to STATE, where he had 

recently lived.  Utah State Tax Commission Publication 17 (revised 04/04), Waivers – Reasonable 

Cause, provides that it is “reasonable cause” to waive a penalty associated with a “first time filer.”  

Because of the circumstances in this case, the Petitioner’s requirement to file a Utah return and pay 
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Utah income tax first arose in the tax year at issue.  Now that the Petitioner was made aware of his 

mistake, he has paid the Utah tax due.  Under these circumstances, the Commission believes that 

sufficient “reasonable cause” exists to waive the penalties. 

 DECISION AND ORDER 

Based upon the foregoing, the Commission finds the penalties assessed for the 2001 

tax year were properly imposed.  However, the Commission finds that “reasonable cause” exists to 

waive the penalties and orders that they be waived.  It is so ordered. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this 

Decision and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to 

this case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a 

Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the 

Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this 

matter. 

DATED this __________ day of _______________________, 2006. 

 

____________________________________ 
Kerry R. Chapman 
Administrative Law Judge  



Appeal No.  05-0365 
 
 
 

 
 -5- 

 
 
BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION. 
 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this _________ day of ________________________, 2006. 
 
 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson  R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair  Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
Palmer DePaulis  Marc B. Johnson 
Commissioner   Commissioner  
 
Notice: If a Formal Hearing is not requested as discussed above, failure to pay any balance resulting 
from this order within thirty (30) days from the date of this order may result in a late payment 
penalty. 
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