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  ) 
PETITIONER,  )  

) ORDER 
Petitioner, )  

) Appeal No. 05-0039  
v.  )  

) Acct No.  ##### 
AUDITING DIVISION,  ) 
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, ) Tax Type:   Cigarette Stamp Tax  

)  
Respondent. ) Judge: Robinson 

 _____________________________________ 
 
Presiding: 

R. Spencer Robinson, Administrative Law Judge 
 

Appearances: 
For Petitioner: PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE 1 
 PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE 2 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1, Assistant Attorney General 
 RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2, Auditing Division  
  

 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the provisions of 

Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5, on April 5, 2005.  Petitioners are appealing the assessment of $$$$$.  The 

Division imposed the assessment after it conducted an audit on November 16, 2004.  The audit produced 

##### packages of (  X  ) cigarettes, identified as illegal imports. 

Petitioner also sells (  X  ) cigars.  Petitioner purchased some (  X  ) cigarettes from the same 

distributor that supplies it (  X  ) cigars.  (  X  ) cigarettes are not listed in Publication 51.  They have no 

warning label.  Publication 51 states, “Products not appearing on this list are prohibited, may not be stamped 

and are subject to confiscation as contraband.” 

Those confiscating the cigarettes said there would be no fine associated with the confiscation.  

They explained there would be no fine because they were not familiar with the cigarettes. 
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Petitioner pays sales taxes quarterly on the (  X  ) cigars it sells.  It noticed the (  X  ) cigarettes 

lacked the necessary tax stamp, so it submitted payment for the cigarettes with the payment for the cigars.  This 

was the first violation for Petitioner.  (  X  ), of the CITY Police Department, appeared on his personal time in 

support of Petitioner. 

 APPLICABLE LAW 

The Tax Commission may assess a $25.00 penalty for each violation.  Each article without the 

required stamps is a separate offense.  Utah Code Ann. § �59-14-205 (7).   

Sale of cigarettes not manufactured for sale, distribution, or use in the United States is 

prohibited.  Utah Code Ann. § �59-14-210.  The penalty that may be imposed is not to exceed the greater of 

500% of the retail value or $5,000.00.  Utah Code Ann. § �59-14-211.  

  DISCUSSION 

Publication 51, which lists the Utah approved tobacco manufacturers and cigarette brands, is 

referenced at the time of licensure.  It is not provided to licensees.  They are told they may view it on the 

Internet.  (  X  ) brand cigarettes were not listed in Publication 51 at the time they were seized.  Therefore, they 

are prohibited and contraband.  The (  X  ) cigarettes sold for $$$$$ per carton. 

 DECISION AND ORDER 

Utah Code Ann. § �59-14-205 (7) states the Commission may fine offenders $25.00 for each 

violation.  Each package constitutes a violation.  §59-14-211 (2)(b)(i) and (ii) state the Commission may 

impose a civil penalty not to exceed the greater of 500% of the retail value of the cigarettes or $5,000.00.  Use 

of the term “may,” rather than “shall,” grants discretion to the Commission.  The Division assessed the 

maximum civil penalty of $5,000.00 for the ##### packages of (  X  ) cigarettes. 

The Commission finds that this is a case where it is appropriate to exercise discretion.  While 

Petitioner should be held responsible for violations, a maximum fine of $5,000.00 for a first offense involving 

unapproved cigarettes without additional aggravating circumstances seems disproportionate. 
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Based on the foregoing, the Commission sets the civil penalty in this case at $$$$$ for the 

##### packages of (  X  ) cigarettes.  It is so ordered. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and 

Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written 

request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall 

be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this __________ day of ______________________, 2005. 

 
____________________________________ 
R. Spencer Robinson 
Administrative Law Judge 

 
 
BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this ________ day of _________________________, 2005. 

 

 
Pam Hendrickson  R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair  Commissioner 
 
 
 
Palmer DePaulis  Marc B. Johnson 
Commissioner   Commissioner  
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