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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for a Formal Hearing on
August 18, 2005. Based upon the evidence and testimony presented at the hearing, the Tax
Commission hereby makes its:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. PETITIONER is licensed as a motor vehicle dealer in Utah.

2. The Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division (“Division”) issued a letter to
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PETITIONER, the Petitioner, on December 29, 2004 in which it informed the Petitioner that an
advertising flyer it had mailed to COUNTY residents was in violation of Utah law (“Exhibit R-3").

3. In its December 29, 2004 letter, the Division not only informed the Petitioner
that the advertising violation was a Level Il violation, but also that the violation was the Petitioner’s
second offense in the last 12 months. For these reasons, the Division assessed the Petitioner a $$$$$
fine.

4. At issue in this appeal is whether the advertising flyer referred to in the
Division’s December 29, 2004 letter is a violation of Utah law and, if so, whether the violation
warrants a fine of $$$$$.

5. Prior to the end of the 2004 calendar year, the Petitioner mailed the advertising
flyer referred to in the Division’s January 29, 2004 letter (“Exhibit P-1) to residents of COUNTY,
Utah to advertise a sale of motor vehicles at the PETITIONER dealership in CITY, COUNTY, Utah,
that was to be held on December 30™ and 31, 2004 and January 1%, 2005.

6. Included in the information appearing on the front of the advertising flyer are
the following clauses: “( PORTION REMOVED ).”

7. The clause “ ( PORTION REMOVED )” also appeared on the back of the
advertisement.

8. In a letter dated March 4, 2004 (“Exhibit R-2”), the Division fined the
Petitioner $$$$$ for a March 2, 2004 advertisement violation. In the March 4, 2004 letter, the

Division asserted that PETITIONER had violated Utah law by impermissibly including a statement
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concerning trade-in amounts or trade-in allowances in its advertisement. PETITIONER paid the
$$$$$ fine for the violation on April 26, 2004.

9. As an alternative to imposing a $$$$$ fine for the advertising violation at
issue in this matter, the Petitioner proposes a “plea in abeyance,” where the amount of the fine would
become dependent on whether the Petitioner incurred another advertising violation within the next
year. If the Petitioner did not incur another violation within the next year, the Commission would
reduce the fine from $$33$$ to $$$$$. If the Petitioner were to commit another violation within the
next year, the Petitioner would incur the full $$$$$ for the violation at issue in this appeal.

10. Should the Commission not accept the Petitioner’s proposed plea in abeyance,
the Petitioner argues that the current advertising violation should be fully abated because the
Petitioner’s use of the word “wholesale ” in its advertising flyer was not used with the intent that the
dealership would sell any motor vehicle at its wholesale price. Instead, the Petitioner claims that
the word was used in a “modifying” sense to explain that it was offering the vehicles for sale prior to
the vehicles going to an auction at which they would be sold for wholesale prices.

1. Furthermore, should the Commission not accept the plea in abeyance and not
find that the Petitioner’s use of the word “wholesale” was permissible under Utah law, the Petitioner
argues that the violation at issue is the first offense within the past 12 months involving the
impermissible use of the word “wholesale,” and as such, the fine should only be $$$$$, not the

$$$$$ imposed by the Division.
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12. The Division argues that any use of the word “wholesale” in an advertisement
involving motor vehicles is a violation of Utah law, regardless of the context. Furthermore, the
Division asserts that, although the violation at issue may be the first involving the impermissible use
of the word “wholesale,” the violation is nevertheless the second advertising violation that the
Petitioner has incurred within the past 12 months and, as a result, the fine should be $1,000 under
Utah law.

APPLICABLE LAW

1. Utah Code Ann. §41-3-210 prohibits the holder of a license issued under the
Utah Motor Vehicle Business Regulation Act from engaging in certain activities, pertinent parts as
follows:
(1) The holder of any license issued under this chapter may not:
(a) intentionally publish, display, or circulate any advertising that is
misleading or inaccurate in any material fact or that misrepresents any
of the products sold, manufactured, remanufactured, handled, furnished

by a licensee;

(c) violate this chapter or the rules made by the administration;

2. Utah Admin. Rule R877-23V-7 (“Rule 7”) provides guidelines concerning
misleading advertising as it relates to motor vehicles and provides, pertinent parts as follows:

A. Violation of any of the following standards of practice for the advertising
and selling of motor vehicles is a violation of Section 41-3-210.

4. Savings and Discount Claims. Because the intrinsic value of a used
vehicle is difficult to establish, specific claims of savings may not be
used in an advertisement. This includes statements such as, "Was
priced at $....., now priced at $......

—4-
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a) The word "wholesale " may not be used in retail automobile
advertising.

6. Trade-in Allowance. Statements representing that no other dealer
grants greater allowances for trade-ins may not be used. A specific
trade-in amount or range of trade-in amounts may not be used in
advertising.

3. Utah Code Ann. §41-3-702 provides that, for purposes of the Utah Motor
Vehicle Business Regulation Act, certain activities are considered civil violations and subject to civil
penalties, pertinent parts as follows:

(1) The following are civil violations under this chapter and are in addition to
criminal violations under this chapter:

(c) Level III:

(viii) advertising violation.
(2) (a) The schedule of civil penalties for violations of Subsection (1) is:

(ii1) Level III: $250 for the first offense, $1,000 for the second
offense, and $5,000 for the third and subsequent offenses.
(b) When determining under this section if an offense is a second or
subsequent offense, only prior offenses committed within the 12
months prior to the commission of the current offense may be
considered.

DISCUSSION AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

PETITIONER is a dealership selling motor vehicles in CITY, Utah. On December
29, 2004, the Division informed the Petitioner that an advertising flyer it mailed to customers to
advertise a sale occurring on December 30" and 31%, 2004 and January 1*, 2005 violated Utah law,

specifically Section 41-3-210(1)(a) and Rule 7(A)(4)(a). The Division further concluded that this

—-5-
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violation was a Level III violation, as described under Section 41-3-702(1)(c)(viii). The Division
also found that the Petitioner had incurred another Level I1I violation on March 2, 2004, less than 12
months prior to the 2004 year-end mailing of the flyer at issue in this matter. For these reasons, it
considered the advertising violation at issue to be a second violation within 12 months and, in
accordance with Section 41-3-702(2), imposed a fine of $1,000.

Plea in Abeyance. The Petitioner first asks the Commission to accept a “plea in

abeyance,” so that should the Petitioner not commit another advertising violation in 12 months, the
$$$$$ fine imposed by the Division would be reduced to $$$$$. However, the Commission is given
no authority to waive or reduce a civil penalty that is properly imposed under the Utah Motor
Vehicle Business Regulation Act. Accordingly, the Petitioner’s proposed plea in abeyance is denied.

Civil Violation. Before determining if the civil penalty was properly imposed, the

Commission must first determine if a civil violation occurred. Section 41-3-702(1)(c)(viii) provides
that an advertising violation is a Level III civil violation. The advertising flyer at issue (Exhibit P-1),
contains, in two separate places, a sentence that reads, “( PORTION REMOVED ).” Utah Code
Ann. Sec. 41-3-210(1) prohibits the publication of advertising that is misleading or inaccurate. Rule
7, enacted with substantial input from the motor vehicle dealers associations and intended to provide
guidance concerning advertisements that would be considered misleading, expressly prohibits the use
of the word “wholesale ” in retail automobile advertising (see Rule 7(A)(4)(a)) . The Petitioner

b

admits that the word “wholesale ” appeared in its advertising flyer, but argues that the context in

which it is used is not misleading. The Commission disagrees. The Commission believes that a
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customer reading the advertising flyer could reasonably believe that the Petitioner might be selling
vehicles at wholesale prices. Furthermore, the prohibition of using the word “wholesale ,” in Rule
7(A)(4)(a), in motor vehicle advertising is absolute and is not dependent on the context of the word’s
use. For these reasons, the Commission finds that the advertising flyer violated Section 41-3-210
and Rule 7 and, as a result, is an advertising violation. In accordance with Section 41-3-702, the
advertising violation is also a Level III civil violation for which a penalty must be imposed.

Civil Penalty. Section 41-3-702(2)(a)(iii) provides that the amount of the penalty
associated with a Level III civil violation is dependent on the number of Level III civil violations that
have been committed within the past 12 months. Although neither party provided the Commission
with information concerning the mailing date of the advertising flyer at issue (Exhibit P-1), the
Commission finds that the flyer was mailed prior to the end of the 2004 calendar year because it
advertised a sale occurring at the end of the year. In addition, the Division submitted evidence
showing that the Petitioner committed another advertising violation on March 2, 2004, less than
twelve months prior to the year-end 2004 (see Exhibit R-2). The Petitioner did not deny that it
committed an advertising violation on March 2, 2004 or that it paid the resulting penalty without
protest. The March 2, 2004 offense concerned an advertisement related to trade-in vehicles and,
because it was a violation of Section 41-3-210 and Rule 7(A)(6), was an advertising violation.
Accordingly, the March 2, 2004 offense was a Level III civil violation under Section 41-3-702.

Second Offense. The Petitioner argues that should the Commission find both

offenses to have occurred in the same year and to be Level III civil violations, the Commission
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should consider the offense at issue in this appeal to be a “first” offense because it is the first time

b

that the Petitioner committed the offense of using the word “wholesale ” in its advertising. The
Commission disagrees.

The language of Section 41-3-702(2)(b) specifically provides that when
determining if an offense is a second or subsequent offense, one considers if a "prior offense" has
been committed, not whether a prior offense of the same type has been committed. Section 41-3-
702(1)(c) lists eight separate Level III offenses, with only one of these being an advertising
violation. Subsection 702(2) does not specify that an offense is a second violation only if the
violator committed the same type of Level III offense within the past 12 months. Instead, the
only requirement for an offense to be considered a second offense is if another offense occurred
within the past 12 months. As a result, committing two differently enumerated Subsection
702(1)(c) offenses within 12 months would result in the latter offense qualifying as a second
offense. Likewise, the commission of two different advertising violations also qualifies as two
Level Il violations and, should they occur within a 12-month period, the latter offense would be
considered a second offense. For these reasons, the Commission finds that the advertising

violation at issue in this matter is the second Level III offense committed by the Petitioner within

a 12-month period and, accordingly, the $$$$$ fine imposed by the Division is correct.

DECISION AND ORDER
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Based on the foregoing, the Commission finds that the use of the word "wholesale
" in the advertising flyer at issue (Exhibit P-1) is a Level III violation, and because this violation
is the second Level III offense committed by the Petitioner within a 12-month period, the
Division properly imposed a $$$$$ penalty. Accordingly, the Division's penalty is sustained and
the Petitioner's appeal is denied. It is so ordered.

DATED this day of , 2005.

Kerry R. Chapman
Administrative Law Judge

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION.

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision.

DATED this day of , 2005.
Pam Hendrickson R. Bruce Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner
Palmer DePaulis Marc B. Johnson
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice of Appeal Rights: You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request for
Reconsideration with the Tax Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §63-46b-13.

—9-
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A Request for Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of law or fact. If
you do not file a Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order constitutes final
agency action. You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this
order in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §§59-1-601 and 63-46b-13 et. seq. Failure to pay the
balance resulting from this order within thirty (30) days from the date of this order may result in a
late payment penalty.
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