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 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 

PETITIONER, ) FINDINGS OF FACT, 
) CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, 

          Petitioner, ) AND FINAL DECISION 
)  

v. ) Appeal No. 04-0752    
) Account No.  ##### 

 MOTOR VEHICLE ENFORCEMENT )             
          DIVISION, UTAH STATE TAX  ) Tax Type: Misc.    
 COMMISSION, )       
  ) Judge:  Phan 

 Respondent. )  
 _____________________________________ 

 
 Presiding:  

                Palmer DePualis, Commissioner     
                 Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge  
 
 Appearances:  

For Petitioner:   PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE, Owner  
 
For Respondent:   RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1, Assistant Attorney General 
 RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2, Director, Motor Vehicle Enforcement 
 RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 3, Sgt. 
 RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 4, Sgt.  
 

 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for a Formal Hearing on September 

29, 2005.   Based upon the evidence and testimony presented at the hearing, the Tax Commission hereby 

makes its: 

 FINDINGS OF FACT 

1.   Petitioner is appealing a penalty of $$$$$ assessed for selling new motor vehicles 

without a franchise in violation of Utah Code Sec. 41-3-210(10).       

2.   The Notice of Assessment was issued on April 25, 2004.  

3. Sales of new motor vehicles without holding a franchise is a Level III violation 
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pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 41-3-702-(1).  The penalty for this level of violation is $250 for the first offense, 

$1,000 for a second offense and $5,000 for the third and each subsequent offense.  Respondent calculated the 

penalty under this statute for three offenses. 

4. Petitioner is a used car dealer.  Petitioner does not hold a franchise to sell new cars.   

5. Petitioner’s representative stipulated that he had purchased at least three vehicles from 

a new car dealer and received MSO’s from the dealer.  These vehicles were new and had never been titled or 

registered.  Petitioner took the MSO’s to the Department of Motor Vehicles and obtained titles to the vehicles.  

Then Petitioner offered the vehicles for sale and sold them to the general public.     

6. Additionally, Petitioner purchased a number of other vehicles that were essentially 

new from at least two new car dealers but the dealers had the vehicle titled and title transferred to Petitioner at 

the time of purchase.  Although titled, these vehicles had never been registered.  Petitioner offered these 

vehicles for sale and sold them to the general public. 

7. Respondent had received information from the Davis County Department of Motor 

Vehicles regarding Petitioner obtaining titles relating to new vehicles.  Sergeant RESPONDENT 

REPRESENTATIVE 4 investigated the allegation and the Division determined to impose the civil fine that is 

at issue in this matter, rather than pursue the matter criminally. 

8. Petitioner asserts that he was not intentionally trying to evade the law, he merely did 

not understand what he was doing was a violation.  Respondent did not refute this assertion. 

9. Petitioner did not represent to his customers that the vehicles were new vehicles. 

APPLICABLE LAW 

A used motor vehicle dealer is permitted to do the following as set out at Utah Code Ann. Sec. 

41-3-202(2): 

A used motor vehicle dealer’s license permits the licensee to: (a) 
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offer for sale, sell, or exchange used motor vehicles; (b) operate as a 
body shop; and (c) dismantle motor vehicles.  
 

The law places the following prohibitions on a used motor vehicle dealers at Utah Code Sec. 

41-3-210(10) as follows: 

A used motor vehicle dealer licensed under this chapter may not 
advertise, offer for sale, or sell a new motor vehicle that has been 
driven less than 7,500 miles by obtaining a title only to the vehicle 
and representing it as a used motor vehicle. 
 

Civil penalties for violation are set out at Utah Code Sec.41-3-702, which states in pertinent 

part: 

(1) The following are civil violations under this chapter and are in 
addition to criminal violation under this chapter:   . … (c) Level III: 
. . . (ii) selling a new motor vehicle without holding the franchise; 
… 
(2)(a) The schedule of civil penalties for violations of Subsection (1) 
is: .  . (iii) Level III: $250 for the first offense, $1,000 for the second 
offense, and $5,000 for the third and subsequent offenses.  (b) 
When determining under this section if an offense is a second or 
subsequent offense, only prior offenses committed within the 12 
months prior to the commission of the current offense may be 
considered. 
 

For purposes of the Chapter 3, Motor Vehicle Business Regulation, the statute defines “new 

motor vehicle” and “used motor vehicle” at Utah Code Sec. 41-3-102 as follows: 

(20) “New motor vehicle” means a motor vehicle that has never 
been titled or registered and has been driven less than 7,500 miles, 
unless the motor vehicle is a trailer, travel trailer or semi trailer, in 
which case the mileage limit does not apply. 
(33) “Used motor vehicle” means a vehicle that has been titled and 
registered to a purchaser other than a dealer or has been driven 
7,500 or more miles, unless the vehicle is a trailer, or semi trailer, in 
which case the mileage limit does not apply. 
    
 

 CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

1. As a ‘used motor vehicle dealer’ Petitioner may sell only ‘used vehicles.’  See Utah 
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Code Sec. 41-3-202(2).  The vehicles at issue are not ‘used vehicles’ because they had not been titled and 

registered prior to Petitioner’s offering them for sale.  Utah Code Sec. 41-3-102(33).  This means that 

Petitioner clearly and directly acted outside the scope of permitted activity that may be performed by a ‘used 

motor vehicle dealer’ and was in violation of the Motor Vehicle Laws.   

2. Petitioner is clearly and directly in violation of Utah Code Sec. 41-3-210(10) because 

the business offered for sale and sold new motor vehicles by obtaining a title only to the vehicles and 

representing them to be used.   

3. The real issue in this matter is not the fact that Petitioner is in violation, but what is 

the appropriate sanction or penalty.  Respondent determined that it would apply civil penalties, rather than 

proceed criminally.  The code section providing the civil penalties does not, however, mirror the language of 

the provisions at Utah Code Sec. 41-3-202(2) or 41-3-210(10).  Respondent argues that this falls under Utah 

Code Sec.  41-3-702(1)(c) as a Level III violation for “selling a new motor vehicle without holding the 

franchise.” Petitioner does not hold the franchise.  Petitioner argues that the vehicles were not “new motor 

vehicles” under the statutory definition at Utah Code Sec. 41-3-102(2) because Petitioner had titled them prior 

to the sale.  The statute defines a “new motor vehicle” as one that “has never been titled or registered.” (Id. 

Emphasis added.)  Upon review of the relevant statutes the Commission disagrees with Petitioner.  Utah Code 

Sec. 41-3-210(10), which is directly on point and prohibits the specific activities at issue, clarifies that the 

vehicles are considered to be “new vehicles” and the used motor vehicle dealer may not sell them when the 

used vehicle dealer has obtained “title only” to the vehicle.  Rules of Statutory Construction require an 

interpretation in this manner.1 

4. Additionally the question arises regarding whether the violation should be treated      

                         
1 “We read the plain language of the statue as a whole, and interpret its provisions in harmony with other statues in 
the same chapter and related chapters.” Mountain Ranch Estates v. Utah State Tax Comm’n, 2004 UT 86, 2004 
LEXIS 193,p11. (Utah 2004). Citation Omitted. 



Appeal No. 04-0752 
 
 

 
 -5- 

as one violation for the amount of the penalty as Petitioner requests, or three offenses with the higher penalty as 

established by Respondent.  Utah Code Sec. 41-3-702(2(a)(iii) provides for Level III, the fine for the first 

offense is $250, the second offense $1,000 and the third and subsequent offenses $5,000.  Petitioner argues 

that the matter should be treated as one offense because he was notified of the offenses at one time, and had he 

been notified prior he would have stopped immediately.  The Commission would note that Respondent’s 

approach is consistent with how it has applied penalties in other matters.  The Commission does not find that 

merely because multiple violations were caught together at one time the amount of the fine should be the same 

as if there had been only one violation. 

5. The Commission has not been given express or implied authority to waive or reduce 

for cause these penalties assessed under the Motor Vehicle Act.  The legislature has granted the Tax 

Commission discretion in other areas of law regarding waiver or reduction of penalties, but has not done so 

with the penalties assessed under Utah Code 41-3-702.  Therefore the Commission limits its review to whether 

or not the penalties were property imposed under the law.   

 DECISION AND ORDER 

Based upon the foregoing, the Tax Commission sustains the penalties in the amount of $$$$$ 

assessed against Petitioner on April 25, 2004.  It is so ordered. 

DATED this _____ day of ___________________________, 2005. 

 
____________________________________ 
Jane Phan 
Administrative Law Judge 
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BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this _____ day of _____________________, 2005.  

 

Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
Palmer DePaulis   Marc B. Johnson 
Commissioner    Commissioner  
 
 
 
 
Notice of Appeal Rights and Payment Requirement:  You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order 
to file a Request for Reconsideration with the Tax Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. ∋63-
46b-13.  A Request for Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of law or fact.  If 
you do not file a Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order constitutes final agency action. 
You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order in accordance with 
Utah Code Ann. ∋∋59-1-601 and 63-46b-13 et. seq.  Failure to pay the balance resulting from this order within 
thirty (30) days from the date of this order may result in a late payment penalty.   
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