

This bulletin is missing information regarding a decrease in the prepaid wireless 911 service charge. See Tax Bulletin 6-25.

Tax Bulletin 19-24

Effective: Jan. 1, 2025

Re: Telecom Rate Changes

Statewide E-911 Telephone Fee

The 2022 Utah Legislature passed SB 147, resulting in the following changes to the E-911 telephone fee:

- The 911 emergency service charge will increase from \$0.71 to \$0.73 per line per month.
- The radio network charge will decrease from \$0.52 to \$0.27 per line per month.

Due to these changes, the total E-911 telephone fee will decrease statewide from \$1.48 to \$1.25.

Report and pay this fee electronically on your *E-911* Telephone Fee Return (TC-62Y) at tap.utah.gov.

MIDAs Impose Municipal Telecommunications License Tax

Utah Code §10-1-403 allows jurisdictions to impose a municipal telecommunications license tax of up to 3.5 percent on a telecom provider's gross receipts for telecom

MIDA MVP - SLC (county/city code 18-301) and MIDA MVP -Utah County (county/city code 25-301) will impose the municipal telecom license tax at 3.5 percent. (Note: MIDA MVP was previously MIDA Sundance.)

Report and pay this tax electronically on your Municipal Telecom License Tax Return (TC-62Z) at tap.utah.gov.

Follow us!



@utahstatetaxcommission

Changes in Utah laws or Tax Commission rules may supersede this Tax Bulletin. For the most current state and local tax information. including local sales tax rates, visit

tax.utah.gov

Filing Requirements

File these returns and pay these charges and fees, starting with the following periods:

- January 2025 (monthly filers)
- Jan-March 2025 (quarterly filers)
- Jan-Dec 2025 (annual filers)

QUESTIONS...

E-mail: taxmaster@utah.gov

Website: tax.utah.gov Phone: 801-297-2200 Toll free: 1-800-662-4335 TDD: 801-297-2020