

Follow us!



@utahstatetaxcommission

Changes in Utah laws or Tax Commission rules may supersede this Tax Bulletin. For the most current state and local tax information. including local sales tax rates, visit

tax.utah.gov

Tax Bulletin 18-24

Effective: Jan. 1, 2025

Re: Cannabinoid Licensing and Tax Act

The 2024 Utah Legislature passed HB 52, Industrial Hemp Amendments.

Among its provisions, effective Jan. 1, 2025, HB 52:

- 1. enacts the Cannabinoid Licensing and Tax Act;
- 2. requires a cannabinoid product seller to pay a bond and be licensed by the Tax Commission (see Utah Code §59-31-201); and
- 3. exempts cannabinoid products from sales and use tax (see Utah Code §59-12-104);
- 4. creates a cannabinoid product tax of 10 percent (see Utah Code §§59-31-301 and 302);
- 5. requires a cannabinoid products retailer who sells a cannabinoid product to a consumer to collect, report and pay the tax (see Utah Code §59-31-302).

Cannabinoid Products*

A cannabinoid product is a product that:

- 1. contains or claims to contain a naturally-occurring cannabinoid(s);
- 2. contains less than a combined 0.3 percent THC and THC analog concentration;
- 3. contains an amount of combined THC and THC analog that is no more than:
 - 10 percent of the total cannabinoid content,
 - 5 milligrams per serving, and
 - 150 milligrams per package; and
- 4. has a serving size that is a whole number (not a fraction), unless the product is an oil.

See Utah Code §4-41-102 for a full definition. For more information about cannabinoid products, see Publication 67, Cannabinoid Product Tax, at tax.utah.gov/forms-pubs.

Requirements

On or before Jan. 1, 2025, cannabinoid retailers must get a Cannabinoid Product License from the Tax Commission and pay a bond (see Utah Code §59-31-202). The minimum amount of the bond is \$500. Apply for the license at Taxpayer Access Point (tap.utah.gov).

Starting Jan. 1, 2025, a retailer must collect the cannabinoid tax at a rate of 10 percent of the retail price. You must report and pay the tax electronically using TC-551, Quarterly Return.

Questions...

For more information, see HB 52 online at le.utah.gov.

See a list of approved cannabinoid products at agbusiness.utah.gov/s/industrial-hemp-registered-products.

E-mail: tobenforcement@utah.gov

Website: tax.utah.gov Phone: 801-297-2900 1-800-662-4335 Toll free: TDD: 801-297-2020

Cannabinoids subject to tax include THC, Delta 9 THC, Delta 8 THC, THCA, THCV, CBD, CBL, CBC, CBN, CBDV, CBE, CBG, CBGV and CBV. Taxable products may also list MCT oil, hemp extract or CBD oil, or include the phrase "hemp infused."