

# Tax Bulletin 16-24

Effective: July 1, 2024

## **Re: Electronic Cigarette Amendments**

The 2024 Utah Legislature passed SB 61, Electronic Cigarette Amendments.

Among its provisions, SB 61:

- 1. requires registration of all electronic cigarette products with the Tax Commission (see Utah Code §59-14-810);
- 2. prohibits the sale of electronic cigarette products that are not included on the registry (see Utah Code §59-14-810);
- effective Jan. 1, 2025, creates a 4 percent nicotine limit for electronic cigarette products (see Utah Code §76-10-101);
- 4. effective Jan. 1, 2025, prohibits the sale of flavored electronic cigarette products (see Utah Code §76-10-113).

### **Registry Requirements**

On or before Oct. 1, 2024, the Tax Commission will publish an Electronic Cigarette Products Registry on its website (tax.utah.gov). The registry will list each electronic cigarette product manufacturer and each electronic cigarette product approved by the Department of Health and Human Services.

Starting Aug. 1, 2024, a manufacturer of an electronic cigarette product that is sold in Utah must apply to have its products listed on the registry. Apply through the Tax Commission's Taxpayer Access Point (tap.tax.utah.gov).

### Follow us!

@utahstatetaxcommission

Changes in Utah laws or Tax Commission rules may supersede this Tax Bulletin. For the most current state and local tax information. including local sales tax rates, visit

tax.utah.gov

A manufacturer must pay a \$1,000 nonrefundable fee per electronic cigarette product to have it initially added to the registry and a \$250 nonrefundable fee per electronic cigarette product to re-certify annually.

Starting Jan. 1, 2025, a person may not sell or offer for sale in Utah an electronic cigarette product that is not listed on the registry. A wholesaler, distributor or retailer who sells or offers for sale a non-listed product will be subject to a civil penalty of \$1,000 for each product and an additional penalty of \$100 per day until the offending product is either removed from the market or properly listed on the registry.

#### Questions...

For more information, see SB 61 online at le.utah.gov.

E-mail: tobenforcement@utah.gov

Website: tax.utah.gov Phone: 801-297-3630 Toll free: 1-800-662-4335 801-297-2020 TDD:

Tax Bulletin 16-24 was revised by removing one item from the list of SB 61 provisions in the first column. This action was taken in order to improve clarity; it does not change the substance of the information, and in no way represents a change in or interpretation of law. Please contact us if you have any questions.