
Fuel Tax Rate Decreases for Motor 
Fuel and Special Fuel
Utah Code §59-13-201 sets the motor fuel and special fuel 
tax rate at 14.2 percent of the statewide average motor fuel 
rack price for the previous three fiscal years. Following this 
method, motor fuel and special fuel tax rates will decrease 
by 0.6 cents for 2026. The following tax rates will be effective 
for fuels sold, used or received for use in Utah:

Motor fuel (gasoline) 37.9 cents per gallon

Special fuel (diesel) 37.9 cents per gallon

Fuel Tax Rate Increases for CNG, 
LNG and Hydrogen for Motor Vehicles
Utah Code §59-13-301 provides that the fuel tax rate for 
compressed natural gas (CNG), liquefied natural gas (LNG) 
and hydrogen used to power motor vehicles is adjusted 
annually to account for inflation, as calculated by the 
Consumer Price Index.

Beginning Jan. 1, 2026, the following tax rates will be 
effective for fuels sold, used or received for use in Utah:

CNG  21.2 cents per gasoline gallon equivalent (GGE)

LNG  21.2 cents per diesel gallon equivalent

Hydrogen   21.2 cents per GGE

Filing Requirements
Report and pay these taxes on form TC-109, Motor Fuel Tax 
Return.

For more information about Utah fuel taxes, see Publication 
66, Fuel Tax General Information, online at 
tax.utah.gov/forms.

QUESTIONS...
E-mail: misctaxes@utah.gov
Website: tax.utah.gov
Phone: 801-297-7710
Toll free: 1-800-662-4335
TDD: 801-297-2020
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Changes in Utah laws or Tax 
Commission rules may supersede 

this Tax Bulletin. For the most current 
state and local tax information, 

including local sales tax rates, visit 

tax.utah.gov

Follow us!
@UtahStateTax

@utahstatetaxcommission


