

Follow us!

ØUtahStateTax

@utahstatetaxcommission

Changes in Utah laws or Tax Commission rules may supersede this Tax Bulletin. For the most current state and local tax information, including local sales tax rates, visit

tax.utah.gov

Tax Bulletin 10-23

Effective: Oct. 1, 2023

Re: Alta Increases Resort Community Tax

Utah Code §59-12-401 allows cities to impose a resort communities tax of up to 1.1 percent on taxable sales.

Alta (Salt Lake County) will increase the resort communities tax from 1.0 percent to 1.1 percent starting Oct. 1, 2023. The total resort communities tax in Alta will then be 1.6 percent. The new combined sales and use tax rate in Alta will be 8.85 percent.

Filing Requirements

Report this tax on your *Sales and Use Tax Return* starting with the following periods:

- · October 2023 (monthly filers)
- Oct-Dec 2023 (quarterly filers)
- Jan-Dec 2023 (annual filers)

Find all tax rates and quarterly rate changes at tax.utah.gov/sales.

QUESTIONS...

E-mail:	taxmaster@utah.gov
Website:	tax.utah.gov
Phone:	801-297-2200
Toll free:	1-800-662-4335
TDD:	801-297-2020