

Follow us!



@UtahStateTax



@utahstatetaxcommission

Changes in Utah laws or Tax
Commission rules may supersede
this Tax Bulletin. For the most current
state and local tax information,
including local sales tax rates, visit

tax.utah.gov

Tax Bulletin 06-23

Effective: July 1, 2023

Re: Washington County Imposes Off-highway and Recreational Vehicle Short-term Rental Tax

Utah Code §59-12-603(1)(a)(ii) allows a county to impose a tax of up to 7 percent on rentals of off-highway and recreational vehicles for 30 days or less.

Washington County will impose the off-highway and recreational vehicle rental tax at 7 percent.

Definitions

Off-highway and recreational vehicles include all-terrain vehicles, snowmobiles, motorcycles and certain trailers designed as a temporary dwelling. See Utah Code §59-12-602.

Registration and Filing Requirements

If you will have rentals of off-highway and/or recreational vehicles on July 1, 2023, notify us by filing form TC-69C, *Notice of Change for a Tax Account.* On line 4e ("Other – explain"), enter, "Rentals of off-highway/recreational vehicles."

Report and pay this tax on the *Motor Vehicle Rental Tax Return* (TC-62L) starting with the following periods:

- · July 2023 (monthly filers)
- July-Sept 2023 (quarterly filers)
- Jan-Dec 2023 (annual filers)

Find all tax rates and quarterly rate changes at tax.utah.gov/sales.

QUESTIONS...

E-mail: taxmaster@utah.gov

Website: tax.utah.gov Phone: 801-297-2200 Toll free: 1-800-662-4335 TDD: 801-297-2020