Be the first to know when we release tax bulletins!

**y** 

Follow us on Twitter: twitter.com/UtahTaxWebsite

Changes in Utah laws or Tax Commission rules may supersede this Tax Bulletin. For the most current state and local tax information,

including local sales tax rates, visit **tax.utah.gov** 

## Tax Bulletin 2-21

Effective: April 1, 2021

## **Re: Piute County Imposes Restaurant Tax**

Utah Code §59-12-603 allows a county to impose a tax to fund tourism of up to 1 percent on food and alcoholic beverage sales by restaurants.

Piute County will impose the restaurant tax at 1 percent starting April 1, 2021. Any retail establishment whose primary business is selling prepared food for immediate consumption in Piute County must collect the restaurant tax, in addition to other state and local taxes.

See Pub 25, Sales and Use Tax General Information, and Pub 55, Sales Tax Information for Restaurants, for more information about the restaurant tax.

## **Filing Requirements**

Report and pay sales and use taxes at the new rates on your *Sales and Use Tax Return*. Start paying the new rates with the following periods:

- · April 2021 (monthly filers)
- Apr-Jun 2021 (quarterly filers)
- Jan-Dec 2021 (annual filers)

Get the tax rate for each location on our website at tax.utah.gov/sales.

## QUESTIONS...

E-mail: taxmaster@utah.gov

Website: tax.utah.gov Phone: 801-297-2200 Toll free: 1-800-662-4335 TDD: 801-297-2020