Tax Commission Information & Management

The Utah State Tax Commission is charged with collecting revenue for the state of Utah and local governments and administering tax and assigned motor vehicle laws. The main Tax Commission offices are located in Salt Lake City, with additional offices located around the state. See this page for more information about the Tax Commission and tax commissioners.

Tax Commission Executive Director

The executive director is appointed by the four tax commissioners and the appointment is approved by the Governor. Under a management agreement, the executive director runs the day-to-day operations of the Tax Commission.

Barry Conover

Barry C. Conover

Mr. Conover holds a bachelor’s of science degree in Sociology from Brigham Young University and has served in a variety of leadership positions with Tax Commission since 1973.