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General Information
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) is a method to pay your 
taxes electronically. EFT is safe, secure, effi cient and less 
expensive than paper checks.

This publication explains how to make tax payments using 
the ACH credit method.

NOTE: EFT is a payment method only. You must fi le a tax 
return separately for each period. 

Pre-authorization
You must submit form TC-86, Registration to Make Utah Tax 
Payments Through EFT ACH Credit, and be approved before 
you can make ACH credit payments. See form TC-86 at the 
end of this publication. We will send you written confi rmation 
when we approve your registration. Allow up to 10 days for 
confi rmation.

Rules and Guidelines
All laws and rules concerning Utah taxes, reporting periods 
and deadlines remain valid for EFT payments.

We may assess a penalty for late payments. Payments are 
considered late if they:

• arrive in the Tax Commission bank account after the due 
date, or

• do not include all the required information.

For due dates, see Due Dates in this publication.

Getting Started
You must authorize your bank to make EFT transfers. Make 
a separate transfer for each tax account and each reporting 
period. 

When you authorize an EFT transfer, your bank will require 
you to specify a settlement date. The settlement date is the 
date your electronic payment will be taken from your account 
and credited to the Tax Commission’s account. Payments 
you authorize before the tax due date will not be made until 
the settlement date.

Because the ACH system requires at least one day to 
transfer funds, you must authorize your payment at least one 
business day before the due date. Some banks may require 
more than one day to process EFT payments. Check with 
your bank to allow enough processing time for your payment.

Making Your First EFT Payment
Many banks require a pre-note (test transmission) for a 
zero amount before they will transfer actual funds. This may 
take up to 10 days to complete. Contact your bank for more 
information.

Notify the Tax Commission in advance of the pre-note by 
calling 801-297-3817 or 1-800-662-4335 ext. 3817.

Addendum
Your transfer must include addenda information to identify 
your payment. Transfers must conform to the Tax Payment 
(TXP) Banking Conventions. Authorize your bank to make 
ACH-Credit CCD + TXP addendum transfers.

Addendum Transfer 
Format and Content 

Make the EFT payment as follows:

Credit to: Utah State Tax Commission
Bank: Wells Fargo Bank
Routing number: 1210-00248
Account number: 051-08051-61

Use only the fi rst 11 digits of your 14-character tax ac-
count number. Do not include the three letters at the end 
of the number.
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Addendum Record Format and Content
The addendum record must include the following fi elds. Fields marked with a (1) may vary, so pay special attention to 
those entries.

When coding fi eld 7, you must use a valid “tax period end-date” (YYMMDD) for the tax period. Using the transmission 
or due date in this fi eld will delay processing.

Field  Length Contents  Description
1  3 TXP Segment identifi er

2  1 * Field separator

31  11 NNNNNNNNNNN Utah account number. Enter the fi rst 11 numbers, but 
not the last three letters (e.g., if your account number 
is 12345678-002-WTH, enter 12345678002). DO NOT 
enter hyphens.

4  1 * Field separator

51  4 NNNN Tax type code. See Tax Type Codes below. 

6  1 * Field separator

71  6 YYMMDD Tax period end date 
(e.g., March 31, 2011 = 110331)

8  1 * Field separator

9  1 T Amount type code

10 1 * Field separator

111 2-10 $$$$$$$¢¢ Payment amount. Include dollars and cents only. Do not 
include decimal points, commas or leading zeros.

12 5 ***** Field separator

131 6 XXXXXX Taxpayer ID verifi cation. Use the fi rst six characters of the 
taxpayer’s name. Drop any common words, such as “the.” 

14 1 \ Segment terminator
1Variable fi eld provided by the taxpayer

Tax Type Codes
Tax Type    Tax Type Code

Beer

Beer tax ..............................................................0630

Corporate/Partnership

Corporate/Partnership tax ..................................0220

Fuel

Fuel tax ..............................................................0500

Insurance

Insurance premium tax .......................................0710 

Self insurance tax ...............................................0715

Oil, Gas, Severance

Oil & gas severance tax (prepayments) .............0840

Oil & gas severance tax (payment with return) ..0841

Oil & gas conservation tax .................................0803

Mining severance tax (prepayments) .................0880

Mining severance tax (payment with return) ......0881

Other Taxes

Lubricating oil fee ...............................................0405

Multichannel audio/visual tax .............................0405

Prepaid disposable cell phone fee .....................0405

Sexually explicit business tax .............................0405

Waste tire recycling fee ......................................0405

Emergency services telephone fee ....................0407

Municipal telecommunications license tax .........0408

Radioactive waste tax ........................................0900

Brine shrimp tax .................................................2000

Sales

Sales and use tax ...............................................0400

Transient room tax ..............................................0401

Motor vehicle rental tax ......................................0403

Restaurant tax ....................................................0404

Municipal energy sales and use tax ...................0406

Tobacco

Cigarette stamps ................................................0720

Tobacco products tax .........................................0730

Withholding

Withholding tax ...................................................0110

Mineral production withholding ...........................0800
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Due Dates
Payments are due the last day of the month after the fi ling 
period ends. For example, April-June period payments are 
due July 31.

If the due date is on a weekend or holiday, payments are due 
the next business day.

Additional Information
Sales Tax

Filers whose annual Utah sales tax liability is $96,000 or 
more must pay sales and sales-related taxes by EFT. See 
Pub 25, Sales and Use Tax General Information. 

Corporate Tax
Filers can pay by ACH Credit. 

The tax period end date for corporate tax is the taxable year 
end date.

Fuel Tax
The following fuel tax types can pay by ACH Credit: Motor 
fuel, special fuel, aviation fuel, compressed natural gas and 
environmental assurance. Filers must submit their returns in 
XML format. See Pub 66, Fuel Tax General Information.

• • • • • • • • • • • • • • •

EFT Help Line: 801-297-3817 or 800-662-4335, ext. 3817

Online fi ling: taxexpress.utah.gov

Forms Hotline: 801-297-6700 

Forms online: tax.utah.gov/forms
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210 North 1950 West • Salt Lake City, UT 84134 • www.tax.utah.gov

Registration to Make Utah Tax Payments Through EFT ACH Credit

Taxpayers who make Utah tax payments using EFT ACH Credit must follow the terms and conditions set forth below. 
Complete and sign this application, and submit it to the Tax Commission at the address below.

Company Identification
Company name    Utah 14-digit tax account number  Tax Type Code

Address    

(list each separately)*

  

(see below)

City  State ZIP Code

Telephone number Fax number  Federal EIN

Email address 

Contact person within the company Contact person’s title

    *If you do not know your 14-digit account number, enter your EIN.

Company Authorization and Agreement
The above taxpayer will initiate tax payments to the Utah State Tax Commission using electronic funds transfer through the ACH 
Credit method. Funds will be electronically remitted from the taxpayer’s bank account to the Tax Commission’s bank account.

The Taxpayer will follow all procedures for each tax type and will conform to the addendum transfer format and content detailed 
in Pub. 43, Electronic Funds Transfer. All Utah tax laws and rules will remain in effect.

By signing this registration I confirm all the information is correct and I will follow the addendum format and content 
in Pub 43.

Authorized signature

Title Date

 
To Request EFT Authorization...

 • Fill out, sign and mail this form to the address below, or fax to 801-297-7698

Electronic Funds Transfer Unit
Utah State Tax Commission
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, UT  84134

Tax Type Tax Type Code

Beer
Beer Tax 0630

Corporate/Partnership
Corporate/Partnership Tax 0220

Fuel
Fuel Tax 0500

Insurance
Insurance Premium Tax 0710
Self Insurance Tax 0715

Oil, Gas, Severance
Oil & Gas Severance Tax (Prepayments) 0840
Oil & Gas Severance Tax (Payment with Return) 0841
Oil & Gas Conservation Tax 0803
Mining Severance Tax  (Prepayments) 0880
Mining Severance Tax (Payment with Return) 0881

Other Taxes
Lubricating oil fee 0405
Multichannel audio/visual tax 0405
Prepaid disposable cell phone fee 0405

Tax Type Tax Type Code

Other Taxes Continued
Sexually explicit business tax 0405
Waste Tire Recycling Fee 0405
Emergency Services Telephone Fee 0407
Municipal Telecommunications License Tax 0408
Radioactive Waste Tax 0900
Brine Shrimp Tax 2000

Sales
Sales and Use Tax 0400
Transient Room Tax 0401
Motor Vehicle Rental Tax 0403
Restaurant Tax 0404
Municipal Energy Sales and Use Tax 0406

Tobacco
Cigarette Stamps 0720
Tobacco Products Tax 0730

Wittholding
Withholding 0110
Mineral Production Withholding 0800


