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Ifyou need an accommodation under the Americans
with Disabilities Act, email taxada @utah.gov, or
call 801-297-3811 or TDD 801-297-2020. Please

allow three working days for a response.

General Information
Utah law allows Utah residents five types of property tax
relief:

* Circuit Breaker
* Veterans with a Disability Exemption

e Active or Reserve Duty Armed Forces Exemption (see
Utah Code §§59-2-1104 & 1105)

* Blind Exemption
¢ Indigent Abatement/Deferral

Specific information and application forms are available
in the office of each county. Call your county auditor’s or
treasurer’s office for clarification, deadlines and to answer
questions not covered in this publication.

Excluding applicants for the veterans with a disability
exemption, all other applicants for tax relief must be U.S.
citizens or qualify to be legally present in the U.S. under 8
U.S.C. 1641.

Circuit Breaker
Eligibility

This tax credit is available to the following persons whose
2015 household income was less than $31,845:

* homeowners and mobile homeowners who are at least 66
years of age,

e renters who are at least 66 years of age,
» Utah residents for an entire year, and
* surviving spouses, regardless of age.

Verification of Utah residency and household income is a
requirement of eligibility. Only owner-occupied homes or low
income renters are eligible.

Abatement
Up to $943 of property tax can be abated, based on income.
For renters, the relief is also based on a percentage of gross
rent paid. For homeowners or mobile homeowners, there is
an additional credit equal to the tax on 20 percent of the fair
market value of the residence.

Filing Requirements
Homeowners and mobile homeowners must submit a
completed application to their local county government by
September 1.

Renters must file application form TC-90CB, Renter Refund
Application, and submit the completed form to the Utah
State Tax Commission (210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City UT
84134) by December 31.

For more information or assistance, contact the Utah State
Tax Commission’s Taxpayer Services Division at
(801) 297-2200 or 1-800-662-4335.

To order a form through our automated forms system, call
(801) 297-6700.

Veterans with a Disability
Exemption

Eligibility
This exemption is available to veterans disabled in military
service, their unmarried surviving spouse or minor orphans.

Exemption
The exemption is up to $253,264 of taxable value of a
residence, based on the percentage of disability incurred
in the line of duty and on the unemployability classification.
The exemption can also be applied toward tangible personal
property, such as motor vehicles. No exemption is allowed
for any disability below 10 percent.
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Filing Requirements
File by September 1 with proof of ownership,
income, disability and/or hardship and other infor-
mation required by the county. Those applying for
deferral must also file a clearance statement from
the mortgage holder. All claims must be made
with the county.

Filing Requirements
An application with proof of military service and proof of
disability (or death) must be on file with the county where the
eligible property is located.

Active or Reserve Duty Armed
Forces Exemption

Eligibility
This exemption is available to active or reserve members of
the US Armed Forces on active duty outside the state 200
days in a calendar year or 200 consecutive days beginning
in the prior year.

Deferral
The county may elect to defer any or all property
taxes until property ownership changes. This
means that property taxes will be assessed, but
there will be no need to pay the taxes until the
home is sold or ownership changes. There will be
no delinquency penalty, but interest will accrue

Exemption annually.

The exemption amount equals the total taxable value of the
claimant’s primary residence.

Appeal Rights
If you feel the county has improperly denied your
request for property tax exemption, abatement or
deferral, you may appeal to the Utah State Tax
Commission. The appeal must be filed within 30
days of the natification. The appeal should be
filed with the county auditor, who will forward the

Filing Requirements
Claimant must be property owner of record as of January 1
and must file on or before September 1 of the year after the
year of qualifying service. Verifying military documentation
including orders for qualifying active or reserve service must
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accompany the application. Claimant must apply each year.

Blind Exemption
Eligibility

The blind exemption is available to all legally blind property
owners, their unmarried surviving spouse or minor orphans.

appeal to the State Tax Commission.

Phone your County
for Application Forms

and Additional Information

There are no income or age requirements. Countv Phone

Beaver 435-438-6463

Exemption Box Elder 435-734-3319/3317
Up to $11,500 of the taxable value of real and tangible per- Cache 435-755-1500
sonal property is exempt from property tax. Carbon 435-636-3221
Daggett 435-784-3210
i - Davis 801-451-3332
Filing Requirements Duchesne 435-738-1120
File by September 1. First year's application must be accompa- Emery 435-381-5106
nied by an opthalmologist signed statement (also, death certifi- Garfield 435-676-1109
cate, if appropriate). All claims must be made with the county. Grand 435-259-1338
Iron 435-477-8332
- Juab 435-623-3410
Indigent Abatement Kane 435-644-2458
Millard 435-743-5227
or Deferral Morgan 801-845-4030
= =g mg= Piute 435-577-2840
Eligibility Rich 435-793-5155

Indigent abatement and deferrals are granted at the dis-
cretion of the county legislative body, and are available to

Salt Lake (Treasurer)
San Juan

801-468-3404
435-587-3221

people at least 65 years of age with a 2015 income of less Sanpete 435-835-2142
than $31,845. In addition, an abatement or deferral is also Sevier 435-893-0401
available to people less than age 65 who demonstrate a dis- Summit 435-336-3016
ability or extreme hardship. The abatement or deferral can be -LrJ?r?grem igggg?g;gg
Eztra:egnly for owner-occupied residences, including mobile Utah 801-851-8225

) Wasatch 435-657-3190
Washington 435-634-5712

Abatement Wayne 435-836-1300
The abatement is 50 percent of the tax due, to a maximum Weber 801-399-8400

of $943 (Utah Code §59-2-1107).
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