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General Information
The Utah State Tax Commission administers the cigarette 
and tobacco tax laws in Utah and ensures all tobacco prod-
ucts are sold by licensed sellers.

The Tax Commission works with state and local health depart-
ments to prevent cigarette and tobacco product sales to minors.

The Tax Commission also works with the State Fire Marshal 
to ensure that cigarettes and tobacco products sold in Utah 
are fi re-safe. Fire Safe Cigarettes (FSC) are designed to stop 
burning when left unattended.

Definitions
Cigarette: Any roll for smoking made wholly or in part of to-
bacco, irrespective of size or shape, and whether or not such 
tobacco is fl avored, adulterated, or mixed with any other 
ingredient, the wrapper or cover of which is made of paper or 
any other substance or material except tobacco.

Little cigar: A roll for smoking made wholly or in part of 
tobacco, that uses an integrated celluslose acetate or similar 
fi lter, and that is wrapped in a substance containing tobacco, 
but is not exclusively natural leaf tobacco.

Moist snuff: Tobacco that:

 • is fi nely cut, ground or powdered,

 • has at least 45 percent moisture content, and

 • is not meant to be smoked or placed in the nasal cavity.

Participating manufacturer (PM): A tobacco product 
manufacturer that is a participant in the Master Settlement 
Agreement (MSA) between the State of Utah and the leading 
U.S. tobacco product manufacturers. Examples of PM brands 
are: Marlboro, Camel, Lucky Strike, Kent and Liggett Select 
(this list is not all inclusive).

Nonparticipating manufacturer (NPM): A tobacco product 
manufacturer that is not a participant in the MSA between 
the State of Utah and the leading U.S. tobacco product 
manufacturers.

To identify NPM products, see Publication 51, Utah Approved 
Tobacco Manufacturers and Cigarette/RYO Brands, available 
online at tax.utah.gov/forms/. NPM products are highlighted 
and identifi ed by brand name. Examples of NPM brands are 
Complete, Kingsboro, Premis, Roger, Traditions and Zig Zag 
(this list is not all-inclusive).

Other tobacco products: Products containing tobacco that 
do not meet the defi nitions of “cigarette,” “moist snuff” or “little 
cigars.” Examples: cigars, roll your own (RYO) tobacco and 
pipe tobacco and cigarettes produced from a rolling machine 
(this list is not all-inclusive).

Who Can Buy Cigarettes and 
Tobacco Products

A person must be at least 19 years of age to legally buy cig-
arettes or tobacco products in Utah. A person younger than 
19 who uses or possesses cigarettes or tobacco products is 
guilty of a class C misdemeanor, subject to a minimum fi ne 
of $60 and a mandatory court-approved tobacco education 
program. See Utah Code 76-10-105(1).

Anyone who provides any cigarettes or tobacco products to 
a person younger than 19 is guilty of:

1. a class C misdemeanor for the fi rst offense,

2. a class B misdemeanor for the second offense, and

3. a class A misdemeanor for each additional offense.

See Utah Code §76-10-104(1).

Who Can Sell Cigarettes 
and Tobacco Products

You must be licensed by the Tax Commission to legally sell 
cigarettes and tobacco products in Utah. We will only issue a 
license to the person owning or operating a place which sells 
the products. A person who does not operate a business 
cannot be licensed. See Utah Code §59-14-202(1).

We will not issue a tobacco license until a seller has paid the license 
fee and posted a bond, if applicable. See Utah Code §59-14-201.

See Cigarette and Tobacco License on page 2.
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Vending Machines
Each cigarette vending machine is considered a separate 
place of business. Exception: When more than one machine 
operates at a single location, only one of those machines 
needs to be licensed. 

See Rule R865-20T-3(A).

What is Legal to Sell
Only cigarettes and RYO tobacco listed in Publication 51, Utah 
Cigarette and RYO Authorized Brands, may be legally sold in 
Utah. See Publication 51 online at tax.utah.gov/forms. 

Cigarettes sold in Utah must also be fi re-safe (see fi gure 1). 
The Fire Marshal maintains a list of fi re-safe brands online at 
publicsafety.utah.gov/fi remarshal/cigarettes.html.

Collecting Utah Cigarette 
and Tobacco Taxes
Cigarettes

Each pack of cigarettes must be stamped before it is legal 
for sale in Utah (see fi gure 1). Stamps must be affi xed within 
72 hours of receipt by wholesalers, distributors or retailers in 
Utah. Stampers buy stamps from the Tax Commission at the 
current tax rate.

There is no consumer cigarette tax paid at the time of 
purchase. Consumers can only buy cigarettes from licensed 
retailers who have paid tax when buying cigarette stamps. All 
cigarette packs sold to consumers must be stamped.

See Utah Code §59-14-205(3).

Tobacco Products
Tobacco product distributors report and pay tobacco tax quar-
terly on form TC-553, Tobacco Product Tax Return. The return 
is due on or before the last day of the month following each 
quarterly period (e.g., the April - June return is due July 31).

See Utah Code §59-14-303(1).

Utah Tax Rates
Utah imposes taxes on the sale, use, storage and distribu-
tion of all cigarettes and tobacco products in Utah.

See Utah Code §59-14-204 and §59-14-302.

Cigarettes
Rate per cigarette Rate per 20 pack Rate per 25 pack                   

8.5 cents  $1.70 $2.125

NPM Cigarettes
NPM cigarettes are subject to an additional equity assess-
ment of 35 cents per pack of 20 ($2.05 total tax per pack), 
and 43.75 cents per pack of 25 ($2.5625 total tax per pack). 

Moist Snuff
The tax rate for moist snuff is $1.83 cents per ounce.

Little cigars
Effective July 1, 2011, the tax rate for little cigars is 8.5 cents 
per little cigar.

Rolling Machine Cigarettes
Cigarettes produced by a rolling machine are taxed at the 
same rate as cigarettes.

All Other Tobacco Products
All other tobacco products are taxed at 86 percent of manu-
facturer’s sales price.

Mail, Phone and 
Internet Purchases

The sale and purchase of cigarettes and tobacco products 
via the Internet, phone or mail-order is prohibited, except to 
licensed persons.

Any person who makes such sales to an unlicensed person 
in Utah is subject to a fi ne of up to $5,000 for each sale.

See Utah Code §59-14-509.

Cigarette and Tobacco License
You must have an active Sales and Use Tax License in good 
standing to qualify for a Cigarette and Tobacco License.

Apply for both a sales tax license and a tobacco license on 
form TC-69, Utah State Business and Tax Registration.

Fees
Initial license ................ $30

Renewal ....................... $20

Reinstatement .............. $30

Bond
Cigarette stampers and tobacco distributors must be 
bonded. The bond value must equal your estimated quarterly 
tobacco products tax, with a minimum amount of $500 for 
cigarettes or tobacco, or $1,000 for both.

Post a cash bond or obtain a surety or performance bond 
from an insurance company. See Utah Code §59-14-201(3).

Retailers 
Retailers sell products directly to consumers, who buy all 
products tax-paid. All cigarettes a retailer buys must have the 
Utah stamp affi xed.

The license fee is $30. No bond is needed. The license is 
valid for three years unless revoked. A three-year renewal 
license is $20.

Licenses are owner and location specifi c. A business must 
get a new license if the business location or ownership 
changes.

Multiple Locations
If you have multiple licenses for multiple locations, we will set 
the same renewal date for all your licenses.

Figure 1: 
Markings on legal 
packs of cigarettes
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Cigarette Stampers
Cigarette stampers buy unstamped product and affi x the 
Utah stamp before selling to a licensed distributor, whole-
saler or retailer. Stampers order Utah stamps from the Tax 
Commission on form TC-79, Cigarette Revenue Stamp 
Order Form.

The licensing fee is $30. A cigarette stamper must be 
bonded. The minimum bond is $500 and must be paid at the 
time of application.

Cigarette stampers must report Utah sales of cigarettes and 
RYO on form TC-553 (with Schedules E and F).

Cigarette stampers with accounts in good standing may buy 
stamps on credit, up to 90 percent of their bond value. These 
accounts must be paid in full within 60 days after the date 
the stamps were delivered.

Tobacco Products Distributors
Tobacco products distributors buy tobacco products before 
the tax has been paid and pay tax on a quarterly basis on 
form TC-553, Tobacco Tax Product Return.

The licensing fee is $30. A tobacco product distributor must 
be bonded. The minimum bond is $500 (cash or surety), 
or an amount equal to one quarter of the fi ling obligation, 
and must be paid at the time of application. A higher bond 
amount may be required if the distributor has not faithfully 
met all obligations to the state or if the account is not in good 
standing.

Each quarter, distributors must report cigarettes and RYO 
sold in Utah on form TC-553.

Manufacturers
Cigarette manufacturers that want to certify cigarettes for 
sale in Utah must have a valid cigarette license.

Tobacco products manufacturers that will distribute tobacco 
products directly into Utah must have a valid Utah tobacco 
distributor license.

Rolling Machine Operators
Effective July 1, 2013, rolling machine operators must:

1. certify with the Tax Commission (form TC-550) prior to 
bringing rolling machines into the state,

2. renew certifi cation each year by December 31, and

3. fi le form TC-553 quarterly to report and pay taxes on 
cigarettes produced by rolling machines.

Keeping a License in 
Good Standing

State and local health departments monitor all retail loca-
tions and perform quarterly compliance checks to prevent 
illegal sales to underage persons. You can learn about 
the Utah Department of Health Tobacco Prevention and 
Control Program by calling 1-877-220-3466 or visiting 
www.tobaccofreeutah.org.

• Your license will be suspended for up to 30 days if you are 
cited for selling to an underage person three times in a 
12-month period.

• Your license will be revoked for one year if you are cited 
for selling to an underage person four times in a 12-month 
period.

The Tax Commission audits for cigarette tax compliance.

• Check packs before stocking to ensure all cigarettes on 
your shelves have the proper tax stamp visible. Keep 
invoices for all tobacco products for three years from date 
of purchase.

• Renew your license prior to expiration. Failure to renew will 
cause your license to expire. Expired licenses cannot be 
renewed. You will have to apply for a new license.

Electronic Reporting, Filing, 
License Renewals and Payments

You are encouraged to fi le all cigarette and tobacco tax 
returns, reports and payments  online using Tax Express, 
Taxpayer Access Point (TAP), our online account manage-
ment system. TAP:

• Is fast

• Is accurate

• Calculates for you

• Is available 24/7

You will need the following information to set up online ac-
cess to your accounts:

• Federal Employer Identifi cation Number (FEIN) or Social 
Security Number (SSN),

• Utah 14-digit account number

• Your PIN 
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Violation Statute Penalty Notes

Internet or mail order sales 
of tobacco or cigarettes to an 
unlicensed person

§59-14-509

§76-10-105.1

• Fine of up to $5,000 per violation.

• Injunction to restrain.

• Recovery of additional costs and fees.

• Profi ts, gain, gross receipts, or other 
benefi t may be disgorged and paid to the 
state treasurer. 

Failure to report imported 
cigarettes or provides false or 
misleading information

§59-14-212 • License suspended or revoked.

• Fine of the greater of 500% of retail value 
of cigarettes or $5,000.

• Class B misdemeanor.

MAY be subject to civil penalty.

Selling contraband goods: no 
license, no stamp, counterfeit, 
prohibited, non-reported im-
ported cigarettes, non-report-
ed NPM cigarettes, cigarettes 
not listed in Pub 51

§59-14-213 • Contraband seized without a warrant by 
the Tax Commission, its employees or 
any peace offi cer.

• Confi scated products destroyed.

Prohibited sales of cigarettes §59-14-210

§59-14-211

• License suspended or revoked.

• Fine of the greater of 500 percent of retail  
value of cigarettes or $5,000.

• Class B misdemeanor.

• Possible imprisonment.

• Each affi xed stamp is a 
separate violation.

• Prohibited sales include  
products not intended for 
sale or use in the US, prod-
ucts that do not comply with 
labeling laws, and products 
imported unlawfully.

• Does not include duty-free 
cigarettes. 

Counterfeit cigarettes or 
stamps  

§59-14-209

§59-14-211

§59-14-213

• Seizure of counterfeit cigarettes and any 
personal property used in direct connec-
tion with sale or possession for sale of 
counterfeit cigarettes. Forfeiture of the 
seized assets.

• Counterfeit goods seized without a war-
rant by the Tax Commission, its employ-
ees or any peace offi cer.

• Seizure without a warrant of all cigarettes 
stamped with counterfeit, reused, washed 
or restored stamps.

• Confi scated products destroyed.

• Various penalties imposed by a court for 
counterfeit cigarettes.

• 3rd degree felony.

• For each affi xed stamp.

• Reuse or cause stamps to 
be reused; buy, sell, offer 
washed or restored stamps; 
use or possess washed or 
restored stamps; buy, sell, 
offer for sale or use counter-
feit stamp.

Failure to properly affi x and 
cancel stamps

§59-14-205

§59-14-213

• $25 for each offense (article, package or 
container).

• Cigarettes seized without a warrant by 
the Tax Commission, its employees or 
any peace offi cer.

• Confi scated products destroyed.

Each article, package or con-
tainer is a separate offense.

Table 1: Cigarette and Tobacco Violation Penalties
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Selling cigarettes without a 
license

§59-14-203

§59-14-213

• Seizure, forfeiture and destruction of 
products.

• Class B misdemeanor.

Selling to underage person 
(under 19 years)

• Dept. of Health enforces and 
assesses penalties.

• Tax Commission suspends/
revokes accounts.

§26-42-103

§59-14-203.5

• 1st – penalty of up to $300.

Within 12 months of 1st violation:

• 2nd – penalty of up to $750.

• 3rd – penalty of up to $1,000 and sus-
pend license up to 30 days.

• 4th – penalty of up to $1,000 and revoke 
license for one year.

Bringing goods not listed in 
Pub 51 into Utah for use, pos-
session for sale, stamping or 
selling

§59-14-213 

§59-14-604

§59-14-608

• Stamping agent’s license suspended or 
revoked.

• Fine of the greater of 500 percent of retail 
value or $5,000.

• Each affi xed stamp is a separate 
violation.

• Class B misdemeanor.

• Civil penalties and Tax 
Commission action (see 
§59-14-608).

• These are contraband 
cigarettes.

Failure to place funds in 
escrow

§59-22-203 If a court fi nds violation of annual deposit, 
it may impose a penalty of 5 percent of 
amount not put into escrow per day of viola-
tion, up to 100 percent of amount improp-
erly withheld. If it is a knowing violation, 
the court may impose 15 to 300 percent. A 
two-year injunction is added for a second 
knowing violation.

Each failure to make an annual 
deposit is a separate violation.

Selling or offering for sale 
cigarettes that are not marked 
Fire Safe (FSC)

§53-7-406 • Penalty of $10,000-$100,000 penalty 
against manufacturer.

• Penalty of $500-$25,000 against retailer.

• Penalty of $75,000-$250,000 for false 
certifi cation.

• Forfeiture and destruction of cigarettes.

Each violation is a separate 
offense.

Failure to supply a report of 
Internet sales as required by 
Jenkins Act

§375 of US Code 
Title 15 
Chapter 10A

$1,000 or imprisonment of up to six months.

Selling smokeless tobacco 
without a warning label

§59-14-501

§59-14-505

§59-14-506

• Products seized without a warrant by the 
Tax Commission, its employees or any 
peace offi cer.

• Confi scated products destroyed.

Violation Statute Penalty Notes

Failure to fi le quarterly return 
and supporting schedules

§59-14-407

§59-14-606

§59-14-214

• Class B misdemeanor.

• Subject to revocation or suspension of 
license.

• Penalty, not to exceed the greater of 
500% of retail value of cigarettes or 
$5,000.

Failure to affi x NPM Equity As-
sessment stamp

§59-14-205

§59-14-214

• Cigarettes seized without a warrant by 
the Tax Commission, its employees or 
any peace offi cer.

• Confi scated products destroyed.

Each article, package or con-
tainer is a separate offense.
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Return Filing Requirements

XTC-752

Utah Certifi cate of Compli-
ance by Tobacco Products 
Manufacturers (annual)

XXXTC-553

Tobacco Product Tax Return 
(quarterly)

X

  

XXXXTC-69

Utah State Business and 
Tax Registration

XTC-79

Cigarette Revenue Stamp 
Order Form

RYO OperatorManufacturerDistributor
(tobacco)

Stamper
(cigarette)

RetailerReturn

XTC-550

Cigarette Rolling Machine 
Operation Certifi cate

XXXXXTC-38B

Cigarette and Tobacco Prod-
ucts License Renewal Appli-
cation (every three years)


