
Amount
 Paid 00

Make check or money order payable to the Utah State Tax Commission.
Do not send cash. Do not staple check to this coupon. Detach check stub.

TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX RETURN – TC-553
 Federal ID Number Filing Period Due Date

UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION
TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX RETURN
210 N 1950 W
SLC UT  84134-3500

 A Moist Snuff B All Other
    Tobacco Products
  (net weight in ounces)  (manufacturer’s sales price)

 1. Product received from manufacturer ......................................   1A OZ.  1B 00

 2. Product exported....................................................................   2A OZ.  2B 00

 3. Tax-paid purchases included in line 1 ....................................   3A OZ.  3B 00

 4. Other deductions (attach schedule and explanation) .............   4A OZ.  4B 00

 5. Total deductions (add lines 2, 3 and 4)...................................   5A OZ.  5B 00

 6. Product for sale in Utah (line 1 less line 5).............................   6A OZ.  6B 00

 7. Tax rate...................................................................................   7A              1.83   7B              .86 

 8. Net tax due (line 6 multiplied by line 7) .................................  • 8A 00 • 8B 00

 9. Total tax due on all tobacco products (add line 8, column A and column B) .............................. • 9 00

I declare under the penalties provided by law that to the best of my knowledge this is a true, complete and correct return.

Authorized Signature Title Date Telephone

Utah State Tax Commission 
210 N 1950 W • SLC, UT 84134 • www.tax.utah.gov

 Tobacco Products Tax Return

Name and address (please correct any errors)

TC-553
 Rev. 6/10

Federal ID Number

Use this number for 
all references

Tax Period

Due Date

Check box if AMENDED and enter correct 
REPORT PERIOD (above) being amended. 



Tobacco Products Tax Return Instructions

General Information
Tobacco products include cigars, cigarette tobacco (roll-your-own), 
chewing tobacco, pipe tobacco and other tobacco products 
prepared for chewing or smoking. Tobacco products do not include 
cigarettes.

Effective May 11, 2010, moist snuff is defined as tobacco that is: 

• finely cut, ground or powdered, 

• has at least 45 percent moisture content, and

• is not meant to be smoked or placed in the nasal cavity.

Moist snuff may include single-use pouches of loose tobacco, such 
as Skoal Bandits, Timberwolf packs and Copenhagen pouches, if 
that product has at least 45 percent moisture content.

If you are required to pay tax on tobacco products that could be 
considered moist snuff:

1. Obtain documentation from the manufacturer for all tobacco 
that is finely cut, ground or powdered, is not meant to be 
smoked or placed in the nasal cavity, and, other than 
single-use pouches of loose tobacco, is not packaged, sold 
or distributed in single-use units.

2. You must keep moisture content documentation given to you 
by the manufacturer for review by the Tax Commission for 
three years.

3. You are not liable for nonpayment or underpayment of tax if 
you rely, in good faith, on the manufacturer’s documentation.

Note: Because moist snuff must have moisture content of 45 
percent or more, some products may be taxed as moist snuff if 
bought before May 11, 2010 and taxed as other tobacco products 
if bought beginning May 11, 2010.

Report all tobacco products purchased during the reporting period.  

Line-by-Line Instructions
Column A Enter the net weight, as listed by the manufacturer, of 

moist snuff.

Column B Enter the manufacturer’s net sales price for all other 
tobacco products purchased.

Line 1 Enter the net weight  (moist snuff) or the manufacturer’s 
net sales price (other tobacco products) for all products 
received from the manufacturer.

 The manufacturer’s net sales price is the amount 
charged by the manufacturer after deducting discounts 
and adding freight charges. If the manufacturer’s sale 
price is not known, multiply the retail sales price 
including tobacco tax by 0.60.

Line 2 Enter the net weight (moist snuff) or the net sales price 
(other tobacco products) for all sales delivered outside 
Utah by the seller or by a common carrier. A registered 
dealer who purchases tobacco products upon which tax 
has been paid and then sells the products outside Utah 
may apply for credit on the next quarterly return. Tax on 
tobacco products purchased for sale outside of Utah 
must be paid at the time of purchase if delivery is made 
within Utah.

Line 3 Enter the net weight (moist snuff) or the net sales price 
(other tobacco products) for purchases on which tax was 
already paid.  

Line 4 Deduct unsellable merchandise included on line 1 or 
unsellable tobacco products upon which the tax has 
been paid during a previous tax period. The taxpayer 
must keep supporting documents for merchandise 
returned to the factory for credit. Any unsellable tobacco 
products that are not returned to the factory for credit 
must be destroyed in the presence of a Tax Commission 
agent before credit will be allowed.

If you have questions, contact the Tax Commission at 
801-297-3533 or 1-800-662-4335, ext. 3533. 
Or visit our website: tax.utah.gov.

____________________

If you need an accommodation under the Americans with Disabili-
ties Act, contact the Tax Commission at 801-297-3811 or TDD 
801-297-2020. Please allow three working days for a response.

TC-553_i   Rev. 6/10
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