Utah State Tax Commission Clear form TC-40V
Clean Fuel Vehicle Tax Credit Get forms online - tax.utah.gov  Rey. 2/09

Do not send this form with the return. Keep this form and all related documents with your records.

Utah law allows a nonrefundable credit against individual, corporation, or fiduciary tax for the purchase or conversion of a vehicle that
uses cleaner burning fuels. Complete a separate form for each qualified vehicle. The credit may only be taken once per vehicle and
must be certified and claimed in the taxable year in which purchased or converted. If the credit exceeds the tax liability for the year,
the excess credit may be carried forward for up to five taxable years.

See additional instructions on reverse side.

m This section must be completed by the taxpayer
Taxpayer's name Telephone number Social security number or EIN

Address City State and ZIP code

Vehicle Identification Number

Indicate the following:
1. The vehicle is fueled by: D Propane D Natural gas D Electricity D Other

D The vehicle meets federal Clean Air Act standards

2.| | New qualified vehicle | | OEM natural gas vehicle | | Converted vehicle D Converted special mobile equipment

Calculation of Clean Fuel Vehicle Credit _Column A Column B Column C Column D
(complete applicable column - see instructions Original purchase | Purchase of . Equipment to
. price of new qualified vehicle Equipment to convert special

for column details) qualified vehicle | fueled by CNG | convert vehicle mobile equip.
3. Vehicle purchase price or cost of conversion equipment $ $ $ $
4. Applicable credit percentage N/A 35% 50% 50%

5. Multiply line 3 by percentage on line 4 N/A

6. Amount of any clean fuel grant received N/A N/A

7. Subtract line 6 from line 5 $750
8. Maximum credit allowed $750 $2,500 $2,500 $1,000
9. Clean fuel vehicle credit (lesser of line 7 or line 8)

Worksheet to Calculate Carryover of Excess Column A Column B Column C
Credit to Subsequent Years (if any) Subtract current

year Col. B from
Credit claimed in | ~ previous year
Carryover year carryover year Col.C

10. Carryover from original year (subtract credit claimed

from total of line 9 above)
11. First carryover year

12. Second carryover year

13. Third carryover year

14. Fourth carryover year

15. Fifth carryover year No further carryover

This section must be completed by the Division of Air Quality, Department of Environmental Quality

To the best of my knowledge and belief, the information contained in Part A above is true and correct.

DEQ authorized signature (required) Date signed DEQ original stamp of approval (required)
X
Title

IMPORTANT - PLEASE READ
The Air Quality certification signature may be obtained by mailing or presenting this form with the required documentation to
Division of Air Quality, 150 North 1950 West, SLC, UT 84116, telephone 801-536-4000 or fax to 801-536-0085.

IMPORTANT: Refer to the instructions for your Income (TC-40), Corporation (TC-20 or TC-20S), or Fiduciary (TC-41) tax return
to determine the line number on which you will record this credit. The credit code is "05" for all returns.

For further information regarding the tax credit, contact the Utah State Tax Commission at 801-297-2200 or if outside the
Salt Lake area 1-800-662-4335.



2009 Instructions for the Clean Fuel Vehicle Tax Credit - TC-40V

Taxpayers may claim a nonrefundable tax credit against Utah individual income tax, corporate franchise tax or fiduciary tax. (See Utah
Code section 59-7-605 and 59-10-1009)

The credit may only be taken once per vehicle. It must be certified and claimed in the taxable year in which the item is purchased or
converted.

Column A - New Vehicle Meeting Air Quality and Fuel Economy Standards and Not Fueled by Compressed Natural Gas
A qualified vehicle is an original purchase, registered and titled for the first time in Utah, and having less than 7,500 miles. The vehicle
must be certified by the Department of Environmental Quality and meet both of the following standards:

1. Fuel Economy Standards

at least 31 miles per gallon for gasoline-fueled vehicles;

at least 36 miles per gallon for diesel-fueled vehicles;

at least 19 miles per gallon for vehicles fueled by a blend of 85% ethanol and 15% gasoline;

at least 19 miles per gallon for liquified petroleum gas-fueled vehicles; or

meet standards consistent with 40 C.F.R. 600.209-95(d) that are adopted by the Air Quality Board by rule.

Pooop

2. Air quality standards which are equal to or cleaner than the standards established in bin 2 in Table S04-1, of
40 C.F.R. 86.1811-04(c)(6).

The credit amount is $750.

Column B - OEM Vehicle Fueled by Compressed Natural Gas
A qualified vehicle is one fueled by compressed natural gas, and is registered in Utah.

The credit is equal to the lesser of 35% of the purchase price of the vehicle or $2,500.

Column C - Equipment to Convert Vehicle to Run on Propane, Natural Gas, Electricity, or Other Approved Fuel
A qualified vehicle must be registered in Utah and meet one of the following conditions:
1. It converts the engine to be fueled by propane, compressed natural gas, or electricity;
2. It converts the engine to be fueled by another fuel determined by the Air Quality Board to be as effective as the
above listed fuels, or
3. It converts the vehicle to meet the clean-fuel vehicle standards in the federal Clean Air Act.

The credit is the lesser of 50% of the cost of the conversion equipment - less any clean fuel grant received or $2,500.

Column D - Equipment to Convert Special Mobile Engine to Operate on Propane, Natural Gas, Electricity, or Other Approved
Fuel
A qualified vehicle must meet one of the following conditions:
1. It converts the engine to be fueled by propane, compressed natural gas, or electricity;
2. It converts the engine to be fueled by another fuel determined by the Air Quality Board to be as effective as the
above listed fuels, or
3. It converts the engine to be substantially more effective in reducing air pollution than the fuel for which the engine
was originally designed.

The credit is the lesser of 50% of the cost of the conversion equipment less any clean fuel grant received or $1,000.

Procedures
1. If you have purchased a qualifying vehicle or converted a vehicle or special mobile equipment engine, submit the required
documentation with a completed form TC-40V to the Division of Air Quality. Information for obtaining clean fuel vehicle
certification is located in the Utah Administrative Code as follows:

R307-121-3: Demonstration of Eligibility for OEM Compressed Natural Gas Vehicles

R307-121-4: Demonstration of Eligibility for Motor Vehicles that meet Air Quality and Fuel Economy Standards
R307-121-5: Demonstration of Eligibility for Motor Vehicles Converted to Natural Gas or Propane

R307-121-6: Demonstration of Eligibility for Motor Vehicles Converted to Electricity

R307-121-7: Demonstration of Eligibility for Special Mobile Equipment Converted to Clean Fuels

2. The taxpayer must receive certification from the Division of Air Quality. The credit is not valid unless both an authorized
signature and certification stamp are present.

3. Complete the calculation of the credit in Part A. Carryover credits may be recorded on lines 10 through 15.

4. Refer to the return instructions to determine the line number on which to record this credit. The credit code is "05" for all
returns.

5. Do not send this form with your return. Keep this form and all related documents with your records.
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