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Walk-in Service
Ogden, 2540 Washington Blvd, 7th Floor
Provo, 150 E Center St. #1300
Salt Lake City, 210 N 1950 W.
St. George, 359 E Riverside Dr.

Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Saturday and 
extended service hours will be announced.

TDD: If you need an accommodation under the Americans with 
Disabilities Act, contact the Tax Commission at (801) 297-3811 
or Telecommunications Device for the Deaf (801) 297-2020. 
Please allow three working days for a response.

Tax Commission Mailing Addresses
Use the preaddressed envelope in this booklet to mail 
your return. To speed up a refund, blacken the box on 
the front of the envelope. If you do not have a preprint-
ed envelope, use the following addresses:

REFUND RETURN
Utah State Tax Commission
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134-0260

PAYMENTS and/or ALL OTHER RETURNS
Utah State Tax Commission
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134-0266

Your Utah Return is Scanned
Scanning results in faster processing and fewer errors. For 
the most effi cient processing, please follow these guidelines.

• Write within the lines of each box.

• Use black or dark blue ink only. Do not use felt tip pen.

• Print only one number or letter in each box.

• Enter only whole dollar amounts - no pennies.

• If a line or box does not apply to you, leave it blank.

• Do not use dollar signs, slashes or parenthesis in boxes.

• Send in the original return - keep a copy for your records.

Numbers and letters are machine-read, enter as follows:

If entering a loss on line 4, use a minus sign.

Forms Available
tax.utah.gov/forms
Automated forms ordering:
(801) 297-6700, In the Salt Lake area
(800) 662-4335 ext. 6700, Outside Salt Lake
Visit participating libraries and post offi ces.

Customer Service
taxmaster@utah.gov
(801) 297-2200, In the Salt Lake area
(800) 662-4335, Outside the Salt Lake area
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Marital Status Filing Status: At end of 2005 And gross
at end of 2005:  you were: income
     is at least:

Single  Single Under 65  $8,200
   65 or older $9,450

  Head of Under 65  $10,500
  Household 65 or older $11,750

  Qualifying Under 65  $13,200
  Widow(er) 65 or older $14,200

Married with Head of Under 65  $10,500
dependent  Household 65 or older $11,750
child, living 
apart from
spouse during
last 6 months of 
2005

Married, living Married Under 65 (both) $16,400
with spouse joint return
at end of 2005  65 or older
or up to date   (one spouse) $17,400
spouse died  65 or older 
   (both spouses) $18,400

  Married
  separate return Any age  $3,200

Married, not Married  joint or  
living with separate return Any age  $3,200
spouse at end of
2005 or up to the
date spouse died

Things You Should Know
What’s New?

• Interest Rate: The Utah interest rate for the 2006 
calendar year is 6 percent. See page 2.

• New Nonrefundable Credit for Organ Donations: 
A credit is now allowed for up to $10,000 in qualifi ed 
expenses incurred and not reimbursed to a living donor 
who donates certain live organs for transplanting in 
another individual. See page 12.

• Special Needs Adoption Credit Changed: The 
qualifi cations for this credit now require the adoption 
be in the State of Utah. It is no longer required that 
permanent custody be awarded to the Utah Division of 
Child and Family Services. See page 14.

• National Guard and Reserves Military Pay: For 
2005 only, the fi rst $2,200 of military pay received by 
Reservists assigned to a unit located in Utah and by 
Utah Army and Air National Guard members is exempt 
from Utah tax. See page 9.

• New Schedule S: A new schedule (TC-40S) is provided 
for reporting additions to income, other deductions, non-
refundable credits and refundable credits. The Schedule 
must be attached to your TC-40 return to report any of 
these items.

Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA)
VITA volunteers provide tax preparation service to low-
income, elderly and disabled taxpayers. Some VITA sites 
have the capability of fi ling electronically. Contact the IRS 
by calling 1-800-829-1040 to fi nd the site nearest you.

Who Must File
1. Every Utah resident who is required to fi le a federal 

income tax return;
2. Every non or part-year resident having income from 

Utah sources who is required to fi le a federal return;
3. Taxpayers requesting a refund of any overpayment of 

income tax regardless of the amount of gross income; or
4. Every individual with Utah income that meets the follow-

ing requirements:

If you must fi le a state return, fi rst complete a federal 
return, even if you're not required to fi le with the IRS. 
Information from the federal return is needed to complete 
the state return.

Income Tax Exemption: You may be exempt from Utah 
individual income tax if your federal adjusted gross income 
is less than the sum of your federal standard deduction and 
personal exemptions for the taxable year. See page 9.

When to File and Pay
 Quarterly estimated tax payments are NOT required.

You must fi le your return and pay any income tax due:
1. By April 17, 2006, if you fi le on a 2005 calendar year 

basis (tax year ends December 31, 2005); or
2. By the 15th day of the fourth month following the close 

of the fi scal year, if you fi le on a fi scal year basis.

All Utah income taxes for the year 2005 must be paid by 
the due date. If your return is not fi led on time or all income 
tax due is not paid by the due date you may be subject 
to penalties and interest. (See Penalties and Interest 
instructions on page 2.)

Where to File
Mail your return and/or payment using the envelope in this 
booklet. If you don't have a preprinted envelope, refer to 
the correct mailing addresses on the inside front cover.

What to Attach
Include the following with your TC-40. Keep copies of these 
with your tax records.
• Withholding Forms: Attach all forms (W-2, 1099-R, 

1099-MISC, etc.) showing Utah withholding tax for which 
you are claiming credit and mineral withholding tax 
shown on TC-675R.

• Utah Schedules: Attach Utah schedules TC-40A, 
TC-40B, TC-40C, and/or TC-40S, if applicable. 

• Other Adjustments: If any other adjustments are 
deducted on TC-40S (Schedule S) Part 2, code 79, 
attach a separate explanation.

Do not send a copy of your federal return, credit schedules, 
worksheets, or other documentation. Keep these with your 
tax records for future reference.

Recordkeeping and Documentation
Keep copies of any receipts, state forms, worksheets, credit 
authorization forms and other documentation to support 
any income, deductions, exemptions and credits you 
reported on your return.

Rounding Off to Whole Dollars
Round off cents to the nearest whole dollar. Round down 
if cents are under 50 cents; round up if cents are 50 cents 
and above. Do not enter cents anywhere on the return.

Extension of Time to File
 There is NO extension of time to pay your taxes – only 

an extension of time to fi le your tax return.

You are automatically allowed an extension of up to six 
months to fi le your return without fi ling an extension 
form. However, if the prepayment requirements (see next 
paragraph) are not met on or before the original due date 
(April 17th), penalties will be assessed. See Penalties and 
Interest instructions on page 2. All extension returns must 
be fi led by October 16, 2006. 

TIPTIP
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Prepayment Requirements for Filing 
Extension 
 All prepayments are due on or before April 17, 2006.

The required prepayment must equal:
• Ninety percent (90%) of the tax due for 2005 (line 18); or
• One hundred percent (100%) of your 2004 Utah tax 

liability (line 18 of your 2004 Utah return).

A prepayment may be in the form of withholding (W-2,    
TC-675R, TC-675M, 1099-R, etc.), tax credit, and/or payment 
made on or before the tax due date using form TC-546, 
Prepayment of Income Tax. Interest will be assessed on 
unpaid tax from the fi ling due date until the tax is paid in full. 
Penalties may also be assessed.

Penalties and Interest
PENALTIES
Utah law provides for uniform tax penalties for failure to 
fi le tax returns, failure to pay tax due, and failure to fi le 
information returns or supporting schedules.

The penalty for failure to fi le a tax due return by the due 
date is the greater of $20 or 10 percent of the unpaid tax. 

The penalty for failure to pay tax due as reported on a 
timely fi led return, or within 30 days of a notice of defi cien-
cy, is $20 or 10 percent of the tax due, whichever is greater. 
If a tax balance is still unpaid 90 days after the due date on 
a late return, a second penalty of $20 or 10 percent of the 
unpaid tax, whichever is greater, will be added for failure to 
pay timely.

The penalty for underpayment of an extension 
prepayment is 2 percent per month of the unpaid tax during 
the extension period. If the return is not fi led by the extension 
due date, failure to fi le and failure to pay penalties will apply, 
as if the extension had not been granted.

For a list of additional penalties that may be imposed, refer 
to UC §59-1-401 and Pub 58.

INTEREST (In addition to penalties due)
Interest will be assessed at the rate prescribed by law from 
the original due date until any outstanding liability is paid in 
full. The interest rate for most taxes and fees administered by 
the Tax Commission for the 2006 calendar year is 6 percent. 
Pub 58, which contains applicable interest rates, is available 
on the Internet at tax.utah.gov/forms or by calling or writing 
the Tax Commission.

The Tax Commission will bill the taxpayer if any penalty or 
interest is owed.

Domicile Defi ned
Domicile is the place where an individual has a permanent 
home and to which he intends to return after being absent. 
It is the place at which an individual has voluntarily fi xed 
his habitation, not for a special or temporary purpose, but 
with the intent of making a permanent home. A domicile, 
once established, is not lost until all of the following three 
elements are met: 1) a specifi c intent to abandon the former 
domicile; 2) the actual physical presence in a new domicile; 
and 3) the intent to remain in the new domicile permanently.

For more information on determining residency, see Tax 
Commission rules R865-9I-2 and R884-24P-52. Visit our 
website at tax.utah.gov/research/ruleseffective.html.

Resident Defi ned
A Utah resident is an individual who:
1. Is domiciled in Utah for the entire year, even if 

temporarily outside of Utah for an extended period of 
time – even years in certain situations;

2. Is domiciled in Utah for any period of time during the 
taxable year, but only for the duration of that period;

3. Even though domiciled outside Utah, maintains a 
permanent place of abode within the state and spends 
a total of 183 or more days of the taxable year within 
Utah. This does not apply to military personnel or their 
spouses who are in Utah on military assignment, unless 
they are Utah residents.

All income received during the period of Utah residency is 
taxable in Utah, regardless of the source of that income.

Part-Year Resident Defi ned
A part-year resident is an individual who is domiciled in 
Utah for part of the year and is domiciled outside Utah 
for part of the year. All income received during the period 
of Utah residency by a part-year resident is taxable in 
Utah, regardless of the source of that income. Income 
from Utah sources is taxable in Utah during the period of 
nonresidency. 

Nonresident Defi ned
A nonresident individual is one who was not in Utah or 
was in Utah for temporary purposes for less than 183 days 
during the taxable year. Income received by a nonresident 
from Utah sources is taxable in Utah. 

Deceased Taxpayer Return
A return must be fi led for a deceased individual who 
would have been required to fi le an income tax return. 
The personal representative, executor, administrator, 
legal representative or survivor must sign and fi le the 
fi nal return and any other returns still due. Persons, other 
than a surviving spouse, claiming a refund on behalf 
of the deceased, must attach form TC-131, Statement 
of Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer, 
to the front of the return. Also, see pages 4 and 15 for 
additional instructions for deceased taxpayers.

Military Personnel
1. Residents: Utah residents who enter military service 

do not lose their Utah residency or domicile solely by 
being absent due to military orders. They still must 
fi le a resident Utah income tax return on all income, 
regardless of the source. If income tax is required to be 
paid to another state on nonmilitary income, a credit 
may be allowed for the tax paid to the other state. If 
taxes are owed to another state, complete and attach 
form TC-40A, included in this booklet.

2. Nonresidents: Nonresidents stationed in Utah solely due 
to military orders are not subject to Utah tax on their 
military pay. However, nonresident personnel or members 
of their family residing in Utah with earned income from 
Utah sources, other than active military service pay, are 
required to fi le a Utah income tax return and pay any tax 
due. See instructions on page 9 and Pub 57.

3. Married couples: The spouse of a person in active 
military service is generally considered to have the 
military person’s domicile and is subject to the same 
income tax laws and rules that apply to the military 

TIPTIP
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person. If one spouse is a full-year Utah resident and 
the other spouse is a nonresident, the couple may fi le 
separate Utah income tax returns, even though they 
fi led a joint federal income tax return. See Special 
Instructions below and Pub 49.

Special Instructions for Couples

Couples who qualify to use Special Instructions may fi le a 
federal return as married fi ling joint and fi le Utah returns as 
married fi ling separate. Couples who do not qualify to use 
Special Instructions must fi le the Utah return using the 
same fi ling status as the federal return.

To fi le using Special Instructions, one spouse must be a 
full-year Utah resident and the other spouse must be a 
nonresident. If either spouse is a part-year resident they 
cannot fi le using Special Instructions.

Native Americans
1. Residents: Native Americans who are domiciled and 

earn income in Utah should fi le a Utah income tax re-
turn.
• Enrolled members of a Native American tribe or 

nation in Utah, who live and work on the reservation 
on which they are enrolled, are exempt from Utah 
income tax on income earned on the reservation. 
See page 8 for an explanation on how to deduct this 
income.

• Enrolled members of the Ute Tribe who work on 
the Uintah and Ouray Reservation and live on land 
removed from that reservation under Hagen vs. Utah 
(510 U.S. 399 (1994)) are exempt from Utah income 
tax on income earned on the reservation. See page 
8 for an explanation on how to deduct this income. 

2. Nonresidents: Nonresident Native Americans who are 
not domiciled on a reservation within Utah, but earn 
income from Utah sources, must fi le a Utah income tax 
return and pay any tax due.

Students
1. Residents: A Utah resident who is a student at a non-Utah 

school (full or part-time) is required to fi le a Utah return 
and pay tax on all income, regardless of the source. If 
income tax is required to be paid to another state on 
income that is also taxed by Utah, a credit may be allowed 
for the tax paid to the other state. To claim credit for taxes 
paid to another state, complete and attach form TC-40A, 
included in this booklet. Do not send a copy of the other 
state’s return. Keep the other state’s return and all related 
documents with your records.

2. Nonresidents: A nonresident student who is attending 
a Utah school is required to fi le a Utah state income 
tax return and pay Utah tax on income, such as wages, 
rental income, business income, etc. earned from Utah 
sources.

Injured Spouse
If your spouse brought prior outstanding state tax liabilities 
into the marriage, any refund may be offset against that 
liability. You may be entitled to claim a part or all of any refund 
under the injured spouse provisions. See specifi c details on 
our website at tax.utah.gov/billing/innocent.html.

Innocent Spouse
If your spouse omitted income or claimed false deductions or 
credits for which you did not receive any benefi t, you may be 
entitled to relief from the tax liability. See specifi c details on 
our website at tax.utah.gov/billing/innocent.html.

Amended Returns
To amend a previously fi led return, use the tax form 
and instructions for the year you are amending. You 
can obtain prior year forms and instructions at tax.utah.
gov/forms/old.html.

Amend your return promptly if:
• An error is discovered on your Utah or federal return 

after it has been fi led; or
• Your federal return is audited or adjusted by the IRS and 

the audit or adjustment affects your Utah return. You must 
amend your Utah return within 90 days of the IRS’s fi nal 
determination. If you are unsure whether or not your Utah 
taxes are affected by an audit or adjustment, contact the 
Tax Commission.

Generally, to qualify for a refund or credit, an amended 
return must be fi led within three years following the date the 
original return was due. A return fi led before the due date 
is considered fi led on the due date. If an amended return 
must be fi led based on changes made by the IRS, a claim 
for refund or credit must be made within two years after a 
Utah amended return was required to be fi led.

How to Amend a 2005 Utah Income Tax Return
A. Enter on page 1 of the Utah return, in the box titled “For 

Amended Return - Enter Code (1-5)"  a code number 
that best corresponds to your Reason For Amending. 
See codes below.

 Reason-for-Amending Codes (enter on return)
1 You fi led an amended return with the IRS (attach a 

copy of your amended federal return).
2 You made an error on your Utah return (attach an 

explanation of the error).
3 Your tax calculation was changed by an IRS audit 

and/or adjustment (attach a copy of the IRS adjust-
ment).

4 You had a net operating loss. Utah treats net op-
erating losses in the same manner as the federal 
return. If your amended return is the result of a 
carryback net operating loss, complete an income 
tax return for each year you are amending (attach a 
copy of your amended federal return). 

5 Other (attach explanation to return).  

B. Complete the return by entering the corrected fi gures.
C. Enter other amounts shown on your original return. If 

you received a refund on your original return, enter the 
amount of the previous refund on line 22 of the 2005 
amended return.  If you paid with the original return or 
made subsequent payments of the tax prior to fi ling the 
amended return, enter the total previous payments on 
line 28 of the 2005 amended return. Contributions on 
line 21 cannot be changed after the original return is 
fi led.

D. Do not submit a copy of your original return with the 
amended return.

Pub 49 - Special instructions if one spouse 
is a full-year resident and the other is a non-
resident - incometax.utah.gov/forms.html.
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for this exemption, the individual must be claimed as a 
dependent on your tax return. Neither the taxpayer nor 
the taxpayer’s spouse qualifi es for this exemption.

e. Add all exemptions and enter the total. 

 Disabled Exemption Qualifi cations
Infants and Toddlers with Disabilities
(Ages 0 through 2 years)
A representative from either the State Department of 
Health or a local early intervention program is authorized to 
approve this exemption. For additional information, contact 
the Utah Department of Health, Early Intervention Program, 
44 N Medical Dr, PO Box 144720, SLC, UT 84114-4720, 
telephone (801) 584-8226 or 1-800-961-4226.

 School-Age Persons with Disabilities
(Ages 3 through 21 years)
Children eligible for the exemption must be diagnosed by 
a local school district (under State Board of Education 
guidelines), as having a disability classifi ed as: autism, 
deafness, developmental delay (ages 3 through 7), dual 
sensory impairment (deaf/blind), hearing impairment, 
intellectual disability, multidisability, orthopedic impairment, 
other health impairment, traumatic brain injury, or visual 
impairment, AND must not be currently receiving residential 
services from the Division of Services to People with 
Disabilities (Department of Human Services) or from the 
School for the Deaf and Blind. Students with only learning 
disabilities, behavior disorders, or communication disorders 
are not eligible for this exemption. Questions concerning 
programs for children may be directed to your local school 
district, local school, or the Utah State Offi ce of Education,  
250 E 500 S, PO Box 144200, SLC, UT 84114-4200, 
telephone (801) 538-7700.

Adults With Disabilities
(Age 18 and older)
The eligible adult for this exemption must:
• Be 18 years of age or older; 
• Be eligible for services under Title 62A, Chapter 5 

(Services to People with Disabilities);
• Not be enrolled in an education program for students with 

disabilities authorized under Section 53A-15-301; and
• Not be enrolled in a school established under Title 53A, 

Chapter 25 (Schools for the Deaf and Blind).

A support coordinator from the Division of Services for 
People with Disabilities is authorized to sign form TC-40D 
to certify the adult with disabilities is either enrolled in 
division services or qualifi es for this exemption. A primary 
care physician or licensed psychologist familiar with the 
adult’s disabilities may also sign form TC-40D, certifying 
the person qualifi es for this exemption.

Questions may be directed to the Utah Department of Hu-
man Services, Division of Services for People with Disabili-
ties, 120 N 200 W, Room 411, SLC, UT 84103, telephone 
(801) 538-4200; www.hsdspd.utah.gov.

Form TC-40D is available on the Internet at tax.utah.gov/
forms or by calling or writing the Tax Commission or one of 
the agencies noted above.

3. Election Campaign Fund
If your Utah income tax liability on line 18 of your Utah 
income tax return is $2 or more ($4 if married fi ling jointly), 
you may designate $2 to be contributed to the campaign 
fund for any of the qualifi ed parties listed. If this is a joint 

Line-by-Line Instructions
Name, Address, Social Security Number
 Your social security number(s) and name(s) must
 match your social security card(s).

Type or print your social security number(s), name(s), 
address and telephone number, including area code, in 
the spaces provided. If fi ling married jointly or separately, 
enter the spouse’s name and social security number. You 
must enter the social security numbers in the same order 
your names appear on the form.

FOREIGN ADDRESS
If your address is in a foreign country, enter the mailing 
address where indicated. Enter the foreign city, state/
province and postal code in the city fi eld. Enter only the 
foreign country name in the fi eld titled "Foreign country." 

DECEASED TAXPAYER
If you are fi ling for a taxpayer who died during the tax 
year (including a deceased spouse), enter the deceased 
individual's name and social security number and your 
mailing address and telephone number. Enter an "X" in the 
box if the taxpayer or spouse died in 2005 or 2006. See 
pages 2 and 15 for additional information.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER DISCLOSURE
Each individual fi ling a Utah individual income tax return 
must disclose his or her social security number pursuant 
to Tax Commission Rule R861-1A-15. The social security 
number is used as a unique identifi er on the State’s 
automated income tax system. All information on the income 
tax return is confi dential and protected from unauthorized 
disclosure by federal and state laws.

1. Filing Status
If you fi led a joint federal return, you must fi le a joint state 
return unless the Special Instructions apply.

Enter the code that matches the fi ling status shown on your 
federal return:
 1040 and 1040A, lines 1 through 5
 1040EZ, there is no federal fi ling status listed. Select fi ling 

status code A or C that corresponds to your federal fi ling 
status.

2. Exemptions
 For lines 2a through 2c, enter the same number of
 exemptions claimed on your federal return.

a. Enter a “1” if you claim yourself. If someone else, such 
as a parent, is claiming you as their dependent on their 
federal return, you must claim “0.” If you checked YES on 
line 5 of your 1040EZ, enter “0.”

b. Enter a “1” if you claimed your spouse as an exemption on 
your federal return. If someone else, such as a parent, is 
claiming your spouse as their dependent on their federal 
return, you must enter “0.”

c. Enter the number of dependents claimed on line 6c of 
the federal return 1040 or 1040A.

d. Qualifi ed disabled dependent exemption. Complete form 
TC-40D, Disabled Exemption Verifi cation, each year 
for each disabled exemption claimed (see explanation 
below). Do not send form TC-40D with your return. 
Keep the form and all related documents with your 
records. Enter the total disabled exemptions. To qualify 

TIPTIP
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return, your spouse may also designate $2 to the party of his 
or her choice. This will not reduce your refund or increase the 
amount of taxes you owe.

4. Federal Adjusted Gross Income
Enter your federal adjusted gross income (FAGI) from your 
federal return:
 1040, line 37 1040EZ, line 4
 1040A, line 21 1040NR-EZ, line 10
 1040NR, line 35

5.  State Income Tax Itemized on 2005 
Federal Schedule A

 If you did not itemize your deductions on federal return 
1040, leave this line blank.

If you fi led federal form 1040 and you claimed any income 
tax paid to Utah, another state, the District of Columbia, or 
possession of the United States as an itemized deduction 
on line 5 of federal Schedule A, enter an amount as follows:

A. For federal adjusted gross income LESS than or equal 
to $145,950 (or $72,975 for married fi ling separate) on 
line 4 on your Utah return, enter the state income tax 
itemized from your federal Schedule A, line 5.

B. For federal adjusted gross income GREATER than 
$145,950 (or $72,975 for married fi ling separate) on line 
4 on your Utah return, complete the following worksheet 
to determine the amount to enter.

6. Additions to Income
If you have any of the following additions to income, 
complete Schedule S, Part 1 and attach it to your Utah 
return. On Schedule S, write the code and amount of each 
addition to income you are required to report. Carry the 
sum of all additions to line 6 of your return. An explanation 
of each addition to income is listed below.

Codes for additions to income
51 Lump Sum Distribution
52 State Taxes Allocated from an Estate or Trust
53 Medical Savings Account (MSA)
54 Utah Educational Savings Plan (UESP)
55 Reimbursed Adoption Expenses
56 Child's Income Excluded from Parent's Return
57 Municipal Bond Interest
60 Untaxed Income of a Resident Trust
61 Untaxed Income of a Nonresident Trust

(51) Lump Sum Distribution (UC §59-10-114(1)(b))
 If you did not fi le form 4972 with your federal return, 

this addition to income does not apply.

If you received a lump sum distribution and fi led federal 
form 4972, add any amount shown on Part II, line 6 and 
the amount shown on Part III, line 10 of federal form 4972. 
Keep a copy of federal form 4972 and any 1099-R forms 
showing the distribution with your records.

Shared Distributions: If you shared a lump sum distribution, 
fi rst multiply the amount on line 10 of form 4972 by the 
distribution percentage shown in box 9a on your form 1099-R. 
Then add the amount shown on Part II, line 6 on form 4972. 

(52) State Taxes Allocated from an Estate or Trust
        (UC §59-10-114(1)(h))
If state taxes were allocated to you by a fi duciary, enter that 
amount. If a state tax refund was allocated to you by the 
fi duciary, include that amount as a negative number.

(53) Medical Savings Account (MSA) Utah residents only 
        (UC §59-10-114(1)(e))
The account holder of an MSA should receive a form 
TC-675M, Statement of Withholding for Utah Medical 
Savings Account, from the account administrator each year 
contributions are made. Include the sum of lines 8 and 9 
from form TC-675M. Keep form TC-675M with your records.

(54) Utah Educational Savings Plan (UESP)
        (UC §59-10-114(1)(f))
An account holder in the Utah Educational Savings Plan 
should receive a form TC-675H, Statement of Contribution 
for Utah Educational Savings Plan, from the UESP 
trustee. Any amount of principal refunded for which the 
account holder received a prior tax deduction, must be 
added back to income. The principal amount refunded is 
shown in box 2 of form TC-675H. Keep form TC-675H 
with your records. Contact UESP at (801) 321-7188 or 
1-800-418-2551 or www.uesp.org for more information.

(55) Reimbursed Adoption Expenses
        (UC §59-10-115(1))
Include any adoption expense deducted from Utah 
income in any prior taxable year for which you received 
reimbursement from your insurance company, a public 
welfare agency, or a private charitable organization in the 
current year.

(56) Child's Income Excluded from Parent's Return
        (UC §59-10-114(1)(c))
Parents who elect to report a child's interest and dividends 
on their federal return must add to their Utah income any 
child's income that was excluded from the parent's federal 
adjusted gross income. Use the following worksheet to 
calculate the amount to be added back.

(57) Municipal Bond Interest
        (UC §59-10-114(1)(g))
Interest from certain bonds, notes and other evidences 
of indebtedness (commonly known as municipal bonds) 

TIPTIP

  WORKSHEET
1. Add lines 4, 9, 14, 18, 19, 26 and 27
 from federal Schedule A                    $__________

2. Add lines 4, 13, 15b and 19, plus any gambling
 losses included on line 27 of federal
 Schedule A                  $__________

3. Subtract worksheet line 2 from line 1. If your
 answer is zero, stop here. Enter the amount
 from federal Schedule A, line 5 on line 5 of
 your Utah return                 $__________

4. Enter the amount from line 28 on federal
 Schedule A                  $__________

5. Subtract line 4 from line 1                $__________

6. Subtract line 5 from line 3                $__________

7. Divide line 6 by line 3 (decimal rate)                 __________

8. Multiply the amount on line 5 of federal 
 Schedule A by the rate on line 7. Enter the
      amount here and on line 5 of your Utah return       $__________

1. Enter $1,600 OR the sum of the child's taxable
 interest, ordinary dividends and capital gain
 distributions (federal form 8814, line 4),
 whichever is less                $_________

2. Federal amount not taxed               $            800

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. If less than zero,
      enter zero. Add this amount to Utah income          $________
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issued by non-federal governmental entities outside Utah 
will be subject to Utah income tax if acquired after January 
1, 2003. However, interest earned on non-Utah municipal 
bonds will not be subject to Utah tax if the state (or political 
subdivision) issuing the bonds does not impose an income 
tax on bonds issued by Utah. For more information, visit 
incometax.utah.gov/topicsbondinterest.html.

(60) Untaxed Income of a Resident Trust
Include any distribution received by a resident benefi ciary 
of a resident trust of income that was taxed at the trust level 
for federal tax purposes, but was subtracted from state tax-
able income of the trust (UC §59-10-114(1)(h)). 

(61) Untaxed Income of a Nonresident Trust
Include any distribution received by a resident benefi ciary 
of a nonresident trust of income that was taxed at the trust 
level for federal tax purposes, but was not taxed at the trust 
level by any state (UC §59-10-114(1)(i)).

8. Standard/Itemized Deductions
Itemized Deductions: If you itemized your deductions on your 
federal return, you must use the same itemized deductions on 
your Utah return. This amount is found on federal form:
 1040, line 40     1040NR, line 37    1040NR-EZ, line 11

Standard Deduction: If you used the standard deduction 
on your federal return, you must use the same deduction on 
your Utah return. This amount is found on federal form: 
 1040, line 40     1040A, line 24
 1040EZ, if you checked either box on line 5 of federal   

    form 1040EZ, enter the amount from line D of the
    worksheet on the back of form 1040EZ. If you are
    single and did not check a box on line 5, enter $5,000.
    If you are married fi ling joint and did not check a box on
    line 5, enter $10,000. 

9. Personal Exemptions
The Utah personal exemption is $2,400 per person (75 
percent of the federal exemption amount). If your federal 
adjusted gross income from line 4 on your Utah return is 
less than or equal to the amount in the AGI TABLE below 
for your fi ling status, multiply $2,400 by the number of 
exemptions claimed in box 2e and enter the result.

If your federal adjusted gross income on line 4 exceeds the 
amount in the AGI TABLE below for your fi ling status, you are 
subject to a reduced exemption amount. Multiply your federal 
amount from form 1040 line 42, 1040A line 26, or 1040NR 
line 39 by 0.75 and enter the result.
If you provided housing for persons displaced by 
hurricanes and fi led IRS form 8914, see instructions at 
incometax.utah.gov/instructions.html.

Note: If your income exceeds the amount in the AGI TABLE  
and you claim a qualifi ed disabled exemption (line 2d), 
complete the following worksheet to determine your Utah 
exemption amount.

10. Deduction for One-half of the Federal 
Tax

 Self-employment and household employment taxes 
MAY NOT be included in this deduction.

Locate the federal tax amount from the following federal 
forms:
 1040, add lines 57 and 60. NOTE: If any Recapture   

 Taxes were reported on federal form 1040, they must 
  be added to the total of lines 57 and 60.
 1040A, line 36
 1040EZ, line 10
 1040NR, add lines 52 and 55
 1040NR-EZ, line 15

Divide the federal tax amount by two and enter the result. 

11. State Tax Refund Included in Federal 
Income

 If you did not itemize deductions on your 2004 federal 
form 1040, leave blank. 

If you were required to report any state income tax refund 
on line 10 of your 2005 federal form 1040, you can deduct 
that amount. 

12. Retirement Income Exemption/
Deduction

Complete and attach form TC-40B to determine your 
allowable exemption/deduction for retirement income.

A. Taxpayers age 65 or older
Each taxpayer (you, and/or your spouse if fi ling jointly) 
who is 65 or older at the end of the tax year is entitled to a 
retirement income exemption of $7,500. This exemption is 
limited by the amount of your adjusted gross income plus 
certain interest income. Complete and attach form TC-40B 
to determine the retirement exemption allowed.

B. Taxpayers under age 65
Each taxpayer (you, and/or your spouse if fi ling jointly) 
who is under 65 at the end of the tax year and received 
retirement income may qualify for a deduction up to 
$4,800, but not in excess of the qualifying income. Attach 
copies of all forms 1099-R, SSA-1099, TC-40B and other 
documentation to support this deduction.

1. Qualifying Income
Qualifying income comes in the form of pensions, annuities 
or taxable retirement social security benefi ts. To claim the 
deduction a taxpayer must have earned the qualifying 
income. A taxpayer cannot use pension, annuity or social 
security income of their spouse as qualifi ed income for 
their deduction. The deduction is limited by adjusted 
gross income plus certain interest income. Complete form        
TC-40B to determine the retirement deduction allowed.

For purposes of determining this deduction, pensions, 
annuities and taxable retirement social security benefi ts 
that meet the following criteria are considered to be 
retirement income:
• Paid from an annuity contract purchased under a plan 

which has been contributed to by your employer and 
is not revocable by you as provided under Section 
404(a)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code;

• Purchased by an employee under a plan which meets 
the requirements of Section 408 of the Internal Revenue 
Code (commonly known as IRA plans);

    AGI TABLE         Filing Status
      $109,475 Married-separate
      $145,950 Single
      $182,450 Head of household
      $218,950 Married-joint or Qualifying widow(er)

High Income Worksheet for Disabled Exemption
1. Federal form 1040 line 42 x 0.75=             $________ 
2. Number of exemptions from federal
 form 1040 line 6d or 1040NR line 7d   ________
3. Divide line 1 by line 2. Enter result             $________
4. Number of Utah exemptions on TC-40 line 2e  ________
5. Multiply line 3 by line 4 and enter result              $________
  This is your Utah personal exemption amount.
 Enter on line 9.



7

• Paid by the United States, a state thereof, or the District 
of Columbia;

• Taxable retirement social security benefi ts (excluding 
survivor benefi ts), only if included in your federal ad-
justed gross income.

2. Income that does NOT qualify
The following are examples of income that does not qualify 
for the retirement deduction:
• Disbursements from deferred compensation plans, such 

as 401(k) and 457 plans; and
• Social security survivor benefi ts received by a child on 

behalf of a deceased employee.

13. Other Deductions from Income
If you have any of the following other deductions from 
income, complete Schedule S, Part 2 and attach it to your 
Utah return. On Schedule S, write the code and amount 
of each other deduction from income. Carry the sum of all 
other deductions to line 13 of your return. An explanation of 
each other deduction from income is listed below.

Codes for other deductions
71 Interest from U. S. Government Obligations
72 Medical Savings Account (MSA)
73 Utah Educational Savings Plan (UESP)
74 Health Care Insurance Premiums
75 Long-term Care Insurance Premiums
76 Adoption Expenses
77 Native American Income
78 Railroad Retirement Income
79 Equitable Adjustments (Other)
81 Gains on Capital Transactions
82 Nonresident Active Duty Military Pay
83 National Guard & Reserves Military Pay

(71) Interest from U. S. Government Obligations
       (UC §59-10-114(2)(a))

Interest earned on U. S. Government obligations issued by 
an agency or instrumentality of the United States is exempt 
from state income tax. U. S. Government obligations include:
• Treasury bills,
• Treasury notes, and
• E, EE, H, HH and I bonds

Income NOT exempt from Utah state income tax includes:
• Interest or dividends from Federal National Mortgage 

Association (FNMA) and Government National Mort-
gage Association (GNMA); and 

• Interest on refunds from the IRS or any federal agency.

For further questions about taxability of interest income, 
you may use the following test developed by the U. S. 
Supreme Court in Smith vs. Davis, 323 U.S. 111 (1944) to 
determine if the instrument qualifi es as a U. S. Government 
obligation. The instrument must:
1. Be a written document,
2. Bear interest,
3. Contain a binding promise by the U. S. Government to 

pay a specifi c sum on a specifi c date, and
4. Have congressional authorization to pledge the full faith 

and credit of the United States in support of the promise 
to pay.

Only interest or dividend income from U. S. Government 
obligations included in your federal adjusted gross income is 
exempt from Utah income tax. Before entering an amount, 
subtract any related expenses claimed as deductions on 
your federal return, such as interest expense on money 
borrowed to purchase bonds or securities, or ordinary and 
necessary expenses paid or incurred in connection with 
producing exempt income.

Keep all records, forms and worksheets to support this 
deduction.

(72) Medical Savings Account (MSA) Utah residents only
       (UC §59-10-114(2)(i))
If you claimed MSA amounts on federal form 1040, you 
CANNOT claim MSA amounts on lines 6 or 13 of your Utah 
return. The Utah resident account holder of an MSA should 
receive a form TC-675M, Statement of Withholding for Utah 
Medical Savings Account, from the account administrator. 
Include the sum of lines 5 and 6 from form TC-675M. Keep 
form TC-675M with your records.

(73) Utah Educational Savings Plan (UESP)
       (UC §59-10-114(2)(j))
Each Utah taxpayer is entitled to an income tax deduction 
of up to $1,510 per qualifi ed benefi ciary for contributions to 
a UESP account during the tax year. A married couple can 
deduct up to $3,020 per qualifi ed benefi ciary on a married 
fi ling joint return. Contributions are reported in box 1 of form 
TC-675H, Statement of Contribution for Utah Educational 
Savings Plan.

Keep form TC-675H with your records. Contact UESP at 
(801) 321-7188 or 1-800-418-2551 or www.uesp.org for 
more information.

(74) Health Care Insurance Premiums
       (UC §59-10-114(2)(h))
 Premiums that were itemized or otherwise deducted in 

determining the taxable income on the federal return 
cannot be deducted on the Utah income tax return.

A taxpayer may deduct the premiums paid by the taxpayer 
for health care insurance during the taxable year for the 
taxpayer, spouse and dependents. Qualifying taxpayers are 
subject to the following requirements and limitations.

REQUIREMENTS
To qualify, the taxpayer or taxpayer’s spouse must not be 
eligible to participate in a plan offered and funded (fully 
or partially) by an employer or former employer. A retiree, 
who may participate in a plan offered and funded (fully 
or partially) by a previous employer, cannot take this 
deduction. Employees who elect not to participate in a plan 
offered and funded by an employer or former employer 
cannot claim a deduction. Pre-tax deductions from wages 
through employer-sponsored programs, such as a cafeteria 
or fl ex plan, cannot be claimed as a deduction.   

LIMITATIONS
Qualifi ed taxpayers who meet the requirements above may 
have their deduction limited by:
1. Premiums fully or partially reimbursed or funded by the 

federal, state or any agency or instrumentality of the 
federal government or state, excluding Medicare.

 

2. Premiums paid for health insurance previously deducted 
on the federal return under any of the following sections 
of the Internal Revenue Code:

TIPTIP
Pub 33 - Detailed instructions and
examples of Interest from U. S. Obligations
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•   Any welfare agency, child placement service, legal and 
other fees or costs relating to the adoption.

Keep all records, forms and worksheets to support your 
deduction.

(77) Native American Income
       (UC §59-10-114(2)(l))
An enrolled member of a Native American tribe in Utah 
who lives and works on the reservation on which he/she is 
an enrolled member is exempt from Utah income tax on the 
reservation income. An enrolled member of the Ute tribe 
who works on the Uintah and Ouray Reservation and lives 
on land removed from that reservation under Hagen vs. 
Utah (510 U.S. 399 (1994)) is exempt from Utah income tax 
on income earned on the reservation. 

On Schedule S, Part 2, using code 77, enter the exempt 
income included in your federal adjusted gross income. 
Enter your enrollment/census number and a Native/Tribe 
Code from the list below in the box designating to which 
nation/tribe you belong.

        Nation/Tribe Code
         1 Confederated Tribes of the Goshute Reservation
         2 Navajo Nation Reservation
         3 Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah Reservation
         4 Skull Valley Bank of Goshute Indians
         5 Ute Indian Tribe
         6 Other tribe

(78) Railroad Retirement Income
Federal law does not allow states to tax railroad retirement 
or disability income received from the Railroad Retirement 
Board on form RRB-1099. States are also prohibited from 
taxing unemployment and sickness benefi ts. If railroad 
retirement pensions from these forms are deducted on line 
12, do not deduct the amounts again as an other deduction 
on Schedule S. 

Railroad retirement pensions are deductible on the Utah 
return only to the extent they are taxable on the federal 
return. If you received pension payments, disability income 
or unemployment payments under the Railroad Retirement 
Act and are required to report all or part of the amount 
received as income on lines 16b and/or 20b on federal 
form 1040, or lines 12b and/or 14b of federal form 1040A, 
you may deduct that amount from Utah income. If amounts 
derived from sources other than railroad retirement are 
included on lines 16b and/or 20b of federal form 1040, or 
lines 12b and/or 14b of federal form 1040A, only deduct the 
railroad retirement amounts reported on these lines.

(79) Equitable Adjustments (other)
       (UC §59-10-115)
This includes qualifi ed equitable adjustments. Attach a 
schedule or explanation of any other deductions claimed.

(81) Gains on Capital Transactions
        (UC §59-10-114(2)(m))
A qualifi ed taxpayer may deduct the long-term and short-
term capital gain on a transaction if:

a. The gain occurs on or after January 1, 2003;
b. At least 70% of the proceeds of the capital gain 

transaction are used to purchase qualifying stock in 
a Utah small business corporation within 12 months 
from when the gain was recognized; and

c. The individual did not have an ownership interest in 
the Utah small business corporation that issued the 
qualifying stock.

a. Section 125 - cafeteria plans. Generally, this is 
an employer plan covering all employees and the 
employees may choose among two or more benefi ts 
consisting of cash and qualifi ed benefi ts.

b. Section 162 - trade or business expenses. This is 
the deduction for self-employed individuals of up to 
100 percent of premiums paid, but not exceeding 
the taxpayer's net business income.

c. Section 213 - medical, dental, etc., expenses. 
These are itemized expenses deducted on federal 
Schedule A to the extent they exceed 7.5 percent 
of the taxpayer's federal adjusted gross income.

(75) Long-Term Care Insurance Premiums
       (UC §59-10-114(2)(k))
You may only deduct amounts paid during 2005 for long-
term care insurance policies to the extent the amounts paid 
for premiums were not deducted on your federal return.

Long-term care insurance policy means any insurance 
policy designed to provide coverage:
•   For not less than 12 consecutive months; and
•   For medically necessary services provided in a setting 

other than an acute care unit of a hospital.

A long-term care insurance policy includes group and 
individual annuities and life insurance policies or riders 
that provide or supplement long-term care insurance. It 
also includes a policy or rider that provides for payment of 
benefi ts based upon cognitive impairment or the loss of 
functional capacity. 

Long-term care insurance does NOT include any insurance 
policy offered primarily to provide:
•   Basic Medicare supplement coverage,
•   Basic hospital expense coverage,
•   Basic medical-surgical expense coverage,
•   Hospital confi nement indemnity coverage,
•   Major medical expense coverage,
•   Disability income or related asset-protection coverage,
•   Accident only coverage,
•   Specifi ed disease or specifi ed accident coverage, or
•   Limited benefi t health coverage.

(76) Adoption Expenses
       (UC §59-10-114(2)(c))
Utah allows individuals to subtract qualifying adoption ex-
penses in ONE of three ways: 1) the year in which the ex-
penses are paid or incurred; 2) the year in which the adoption 
is fi nalized; or 3) the year in which the taxpayer may claim the 
federal adoption credit. Qualifi ed adoption expenses may be 
deducted, even if the adoption process is terminated.

This deduction applies to the actual qualifi ed adoption 
expenses of the birth mother, the legal guardian of the birth 
mother (or another acting on behalf of the birth mother), or 
the adoptive parents. Expenses include:
• Any medical and hospital expenses of the birth mother 

of the adopted child incidental to the child’s birth;
•   Living expenses of the birth mother if paid by the adoptive 

parents as part of their adoption expenses;
•   Actual travel costs incurred exclusively for the purpose 

of completing adoption arrangements; and

incometax.utah.gov/deductionshealthinsur-
ance.html - Detailed instructions and examples 
for Health Care Insurance Premiums.
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For more information and a detailed defi nition of a Utah Small 
Business Corporation, visit the Tax Commission website, 
incometax.utah.gov/deductionscapitalgains.html or refer 
to UC §59-10-103(1)(c). 

(82) Nonresident Active Duty Military Pay
       (UC §59-10-116)
Active duty military service pay received by a nonresident 
is not taxable on the Utah return. The amount of active 
duty military pay included in federal adjusted gross income 
should be deducted on Schedule S, Part 2, using code 82. 
Also, see instructions for line 30 on TC-40C and Pub 57. 
If you deduct military pay under code 83, do not claim the 
same deduction under code 82.

(83) National Guard and Reserves Military Pay
       (UC §59-10-114(2)(n))
This deduction has changed for 2005. Members of the 
Army Reserve, Naval Reserve, Air Force Reserve, Marine 
Corps Reserve or Coast Guard Reserve assigned to a unit 
located in Utah, or members of the Utah Army National 
Guard or the Utah Air National Guard, can deduct the fi rst 
$2,200 of their military pay included in their 2005 federal 
adjusted gross income. For a member of the reserves, 
the deduction is limited to the fi rst $2,200 earned while 
assigned to a unit in Utah. The deduction is entered on 
Schedule S, Part 2, using code 83 . For more information 
see Pub 57. If you deduct military pay under code 82, do 
not claim the same deduction under code 83.

14.  Total Deductions
Add lines 8 through 13.

15.  Utah Taxable Income
Subtract line 14 from line 7. If less than zero, enter zero. If 
the Utah Taxable Income is zero, skip line 16a and enter 
zero on line 16b.

16. Calculate Income Tax
 To see if you are exempt from Utah income tax, see 

line 16a instructions. If you are not qualifi ed, SKIP to 
the instructions for line 16b.

 16a.  Qualifi ed Taxpayers
 If your federal adjusted gross income (line 4 of your Utah 

return) is less than or equal to the sum of your federal 
standard deduction and federal exemption amount, 
you are exempt from Utah income tax. Complete the 
Qualifi cation Worksheet on this page to see if you qualify.

 16b. Tax
 Complete the Tax Calculation Worksheet on page 

17, using the Utah 2005 Taxable Income on line 15. 
Use WORKSHEET A if you fi led as Single or Married 
Filing Separately. Use WORKSHEET B if you are 
Married Filing Jointly, Head of Household, or Qualifying 
Widow(er).

 FULL-YEAR UTAH RESIDENT - Enter your Utah tax on 
line 16b. You MUST also complete lines 18 though 34 
on the back of the return.

 NON OR PART-YEAR RESIDENT - Use the tax on line 
16b in the calculation of your Utah tax on line 17.

17. Nonresident and Part-year Resident 
Only

 If you were a full-year Utah resident, SKIP line 17 and 
go to line 18.

Follow these FOUR STEPS to Calculate Your Utah Tax
STEP 1: Use the Tax Calculation Worksheet on page 17 to 
calculate the tax for line 16b. See line 16b instructions.

STEP 2: COMPLETE form TC-40C: Non or Part-Year 
Resident Utah Income Schedule, included in this booklet. 
Transfer the totals from Columns A and B, line 32 to line 
17 of the return.
 

STEP 3: On line 17, divide the total in Box a by the total in 
Box b and enter the resulting decimal in Box c (rounding to 
four decimal places).

STEP 4: Multiply the amount on line 16b by the decimal 
in Box c on line 17. This is your Utah tax. You MUST also 
complete lines 18 though 34 on the back of the return.

Attach a copy of form TC-40C to your Utah return. Do not 
attach a copy of your federal return. Keep copies of form 
TC-40C and your federal return with your records.

TIPTIP

Qualifi cation Worksheet for line 16a
  1. Enter the federal adjusted gross income from
      your federal return 1)_________
  1040, line 37  1040NR, line 35
  1040A, line 21 1040NR-EZ, line 10
 1040EZ, line 4
  2. Enter the standard or itemized deductions
      taken on your federal return 2)_________
  1040, line 40  1040NR, line 37
  1040A, line 24 1040NR-EZ, line 11
 1040EZ, if you checked either box on line 5, enter the
 amount from line D on the back of your 1040EZ return.
 If you are single and did not check a box on line 5, enter
 $5,000. If you are married fi ling joint and did not check a
 box on line 5, enter $10,000.
  3. Check the fi ling status reported on your federal
    return and enter the standard deduction for
 your fi ling status shown below (federal 1040NR
 and 1040NR-EZ fi lers, enter zero): 3)_________
 

 Single: Enter $5,000

 Head of Household: Enter $7,300

 Married fi ling joint: Enter $10,000

 Married fi ling separate: If your spouse did not
 itemize, enter $5,000. If your spouse itemized,
 enter zero

 Qualifying widow(er): Enter $10,000  

  4. Enter the smaller of line 2 or line 3 4)_________ 
  5. Enter the exemption amount taken on your
 federal return 5)_________
 1040, line 42 * 1040NR, line 39 *
  1040A, line 26 * 1040NR-EZ, line 13 *
 1040EZ, if you checked either box on line 5, enter the
 amount from line E on the back of your 1040EZ return.
 If you are single and did not check a box on line 5, enter
 $3,200. If you are married fi ling joint and did not check a
 box on line 5, enter $6,400.
     * If you provided housing for persons displaced by hurricanes
        and fi led IRS form 8914, see instructions at
        incometax.utah.gov/instructions.html.
  6. Add lines 4 and 5              6)_________
  7. Subtract line 6 from line 1. If the amount is
 less than zero, enter zero. 7)_________

If the amount on worksheet line 7 is greater than 0 (zero), 
leave box 16a blank and calculate your tax following the instruc-
tions for line 16b.

If the amount on worksheet line 7 is 0 (zero), you are exempt 
from paying Utah income tax. Check the box on line 16a and enter 
the amount from worksheet line 6 in the "Amount from worksheet" 
box on your return. Enter 0 (zero) in box 16b and skip to line 17.
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18. Enter Tax Amount
Full-year residents: Enter the tax from line 16b.
Non or part-year residents: Enter the tax from line 17.

19. Nonrefundable Credits
 Nonrefundable credits can reduce your income tax to 

zero, but cannot result in a refund.

If you claim any of the following nonrefundable credits, 
complete Schedule S, Part 3 and attach it to your Utah 
return. On Schedule S, write the code and amount of 
each nonrefundable credit you are claiming. Carry the sum 
of all nonrefundable credits to line 19 of your return. An 
explanation of each nonrefundable credit is listed below.

Codes for nonrefundable credits
01 At-Home Parent 09 Hiring Disabled
02 Qualifi ed Sheltered Workshop 10 Recycling Market
03 Renewable Energy Systems 11 Tutoring Disabled
05 Clean Fuel Vehicle 12 Research Activities
06 Historic Preservation 13 Research Mach./Equip.
07 Enterprise Zone 17 Taxes Paid to Another State
08 Low-Income Housing 19 Live Organ Donation Expen.

(01) At-Home Parent Tax Credit (UC §59-10-108.1)
There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents 
with your records.

An at-home parent may claim a nonrefundable credit of 
$100 for each child who is not more than 12 months old 
on the last day of the taxable year for which the credit is 
claimed. For purposes of this credit an at-home parent 
includes:
• Biological mother or father, 
• Stepmother or stepfather, 
• Adoptive parents, 
• Foster parents,
• Legal guardian, or
• Individuals in whose home the child is placed by a child-

placing agency for the purpose of legal adoption.

To qualify for the credit all of the following criteria must be met:
1. The child must be 12 months or younger on the last day 

of the taxable year for which the credit is claimed;
2. The at-home parent must provide full-time care in the   

at-home parent’s residence;
3. The child must be claimed as a dependent by the at-

home parent;
4. The sum of the at-home parent’s total wages, tips and 

compensation listed on federal W-2 forms and the 
gross income on federal Schedule C, Profi t or Loss 
from Business, line 7, or Schedule C-EZ, Net Profi t 
from Business, line 1, must be $3,000 or less for the 
taxable year; and

5. The federal adjusted gross income of all of the taxpayers 
fi ling the individual income tax return is less than or equal 
to $50,000.

(02) Qualifi ed Sheltered Workshop Cash Contribution
        Credit (UC §59-10-108)
 Charitable contributions claimed on the federal
 Schedule A cannot be claimed as a credit on the Utah 

return.

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents 
with your records. The name of the qualifi ed workshop 
must be written on the TC-40S to claim credit.

Cash contributions made within the tax year to a qualifi ed 
nonprofi t rehabilitation sheltered workshop facility operating 
in Utah for persons with disabilities are eligible for a credit 

against Utah income taxes. Check with the workshop 
to make sure they have a current Day Training Provider 
License or Day Support Provider Certifi cate issued by the 
Department of Human Services. The credit is equal to 50 
percent of the total cash contributions, not to exceed $200. 
Contributions claimed as a tax credit under this section 
may not also be claimed as a charitable deduction in 
determining net taxable income.

Contact the Contract Administrator, Division of Services 
for People with Disabilities, 120 N 200 W #411, SLC, UT 
84103, telephone (801) 538-4200; www.hsdspd.utah.gov 
for more information.

(03) Renewable Energy Systems Tax Credit
        (UC §59-10-134)
Complete form TC-40E, Renewable Energy Systems Tax 
Credit, with the Utah Energy Offi ce stamp, verifying the 
credit has been approved. Do not send form TC-40E with 
your return. Keep the form and all related documents with 
your records.

To qualify for this credit, you must have installed or upgraded 
a renewable energy system, such as solar or wind generated 
power system, during the tax period. Energy savings 
devices, such as insulation, siding, thermal windows, and 
high effi ciency furnaces do not qualify.

In order to determine if your system or system compo-
nents and installation qualify for the tax credit, you must 
submit a signed application, complete with photocopies of 
receipts, to the Utah Geological Survey.  Application forms 
can be obtained from the Utah Geological Survey, 1594 W 
North Temple, Suite 3110, Box 146100, SLC, UT 84114-
6100, telephone (801) 538-5428 or through the Internet 
at www.energy.utah.gov/incentives.htm. If your system 
meets the eligibility requirements, UGS will send you 
form TC-40E with information on your eligible system and 
installation costs and the UGS stamp of approval.

(05) Clean Fuel Vehicle Credit (UC §59-10-127)
Complete form TC-40V, Clean Fuel Vehicle Tax Credit, with 
the Division of Air Quality approval stamp, verifying the 
credit has been approved. Do not send form TC-40V with 
your return. Keep the form and all related documents with 
your records.

To qualify you must have:
• Purchased a vehicle which is registered in Utah, for which 

this credit has not been taken, that was manufactured to 
use propane, natural gas, or electricity, or

• Purchased and installed equipment to convert a vehicle 
registered in Utah to use propane, natural gas, or 
electricity.

Note: A hybrid vehicle qualifi es only if the same vehicle 
model is manufactured without the clean-fuel fueling system 
and the hybrid vehicle otherwise meets the requirements for 
a clean fuel vehicle.  

Contact the Division of Air Quality, 150 N 1950 W, SLC, UT 
84116, telephone (801) 536-4026 to obtain form TC-40V, 
approval, and for additional information.

(06) Historic Preservation Credit (UC §59-10-108.5)
Complete form TC-40H, Historic Preservation Tax Credit, 
with the State Historic Preservation Offi ce certifi cation, 
verifying the credit has been approved. Do not send form 
TC-40H with your return. Keep the form and all related 
documents with your records.
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Only Utah residents are allowed this credit. The credit is 
for costs incurred in connection with qualifi ed rehabilitation 
of any residential certifi ed historic building. Unused credits 
may be carried forward fi ve years as a credit against Utah 
tax due.

Contact the State Historic Preservation Offi ce, 300 Rio 
Grande, SLC, UT 84101, telephone (801) 533-3562, or 
history.utah.gov/historic_preservation to obtain form 
TC-40H, certifi cation, and for additional information.

(07) Enterprise Zone Credit (UC §63-38f-413)
 An individual may not claim this credit or carry this 

credit forward into a year the individual has claimed 
the recycling market development zone credit 
(nonrefundable credit, code 10) or the targeted 
business income tax credit (refundable credit, code 40).

There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents 
with your records.

The Enterprise Zone Credit is available for certain busi-
nesses that hire new full-time employees, rehabilitate build-
ings or meet certain other requirements in a designated 
zone.

Any credit amount exceeding the tax owed may be carried 
forward for a period that does not exceed the next three 
taxable years.

Indian tribes may apply for enterprise zone designation 
within an Indian reservation.

If enterprise zone credits are being taken on your owner-
ship in a partnership or S corporation, you must allocate 
the credits calculated above based on your respective 
percentage of ownership.

Contact the Governor's Offi ce of Economic Development, 
324 S State St, Suite 500, SLC, UT 84111, telephone (801) 
538-8775; goed.utah.gov/incentives/enterprize_zones to 
obtain additional information.

(08) Low-Income Housing Credit (UC §59-10-129)
Individuals sharing in the credit must obtain form TC-40TCAC, 
Utah Low-Income Housing Tax Credit Allocation Certifi cation, 
and complete form TC-40LI, Summary of Utah Low-Income 
Housing Tax Credit. If you are carrying this credit forward or 
backward, you must also complete form TC-40LIC, Utah Low-
Income Housing Tax Credit Carryback and/or Carryforward. 
Do not send these forms with your return. Keep the forms and 
all related documents with your records.

The building project owner must also complete and attach 
form TC-40LIS, Credit Share Summary of Low-Income 
Housing Project, to the return.

This credit is an amount, determined by the Utah Housing 
Corporation, for the owners of a low-income housing project 
who have also received an allocation of the federal low-
income housing tax credit. Unused credits may be carried 
back three years or carried forward fi ve years.

When this credit is applicable, the project owner will provide 
form TC-40TCAC (issued by the Utah Housing Corporation) 
to the taxpayer.

For more information go to the Utah Housing Corporation 
website at www.utahhousingcorp.org.

(09) Credit for Employers Who Hire Persons with
        Disabilities (UC §59-10-109)
Complete form TC-40HD, Employers Who Hire Persons with 
Disabilities Tax Credit, showing the required certifi cation. Do 
not send form TC-40HD with your return. Keep the form and 
all related documents with your records.

The credit is for employers hiring individuals with disabilities 
who:  (1) worked in Utah for at least 6 months in a taxable 
year for that employer, and (2) are paid at least minimum 
wage by that employer.

Contact the Division of Services for People with 
Disabilities, 120 N 200 W #411, SLC, UT 84103, 
telephone (801) 538-4200, or www.hsdspd.utah.gov to 
obtain certifi cation and for additional information.

(10) Recycling Market Development Zone
        (UC §59-10-108.7)
 An individual may not claim this credit or carry this 

credit forward into a year that the individual has 
claimed the enterprise zone credit (nonrefundable 
credit, code 07) or the targeted business income tax 
credit (refundable credit, code 40).

Complete form TC-40R, Recycling Market Development 
Zone Tax Credit, with the Governor's Offi ce of Economic 
Development certifi cation verifying the credit has been 
approved. Do not send form TC-40R with your return. Keep 
the form and all related documents with your records.

The Utah legislature has authorized credit to individuals 
and businesses operating in a designated recycling market 
development zone as defi ned in UC §63-38f-1102. 

Contact the Governor's Offi ce of Economic Development, 
324 S State St, Suite 500, SLC, UT 84114-7360, telephone 
(801) 538-8804, goed.utah.gov/incentives/recycling_
zones or email Iprall@utah.gov to obtain form TC-40R, 
certifi cation, and for additional information.

(11) Tutoring Credit for Disabled Dependents
        (UC §59-10-130)
There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents 
with your records.

The credit is equal to 25 percent, up to $100, of the costs 
paid by the taxpayer for tutoring each disabled dependent. 

A disabled dependent is defi ned as a person who: (1) is 
disabled under UC §53A-15-301; (2) attends a public or 
private kindergarten, elementary, or secondary school; and 
(3) is eligible to receive disability program monies under 
UC §53A-17a-111.

Tutoring, for purposes of this credit, means educational 
services approved by an individual education plan team 
and provided to a disabled dependent that supplements 
classroom instruction the disabled dependent receives at 
a public or private kindergarten, elementary, or secondary 
school in Utah.

Tutoring does not include:
1. Purchases of instructional books and materials; or 
2. Payments for attendance at extracurricular activities, 

including sporting events, musical or dramatic events, 
speech activities, or driver education.

Contact the Utah State Board of Education at (801) 538-7700 
for additional information.

TIPTIP

TIPTIP
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(12) Tax Credit for Increasing Research Activities
       (UC §59-10-131)
There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents 
with your records.

The credit is for expenses incurred for increasing qualifi ed 
research activities in Utah. A qualifying taxpayer may claim 
the credit in the taxable year immediately following the 
taxable year for which the taxpayer qualifi es for the credit. 

For detailed information regarding this credit, including 
defi nition of terms and procedures for claiming the credit, 
refer to UC §59-10-131.

(13) Tax Credit for Machinery and Equipment Used to
       Conduct Research (UC §59-10-132)
There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents 
with your records.

The credit is for machinery, equipment, or both used 
primarily for conducting qualifi ed research or basic 
research in Utah for not less than 12 consecutive months. A 
qualifying taxpayer may claim the credit in the taxable year 
following the taxable year for which the taxpayer qualifi es 
for the credit. 

For detailed information regarding this credit, including 
defi nition of terms and procedures for claiming the credit, 
refer to UC §59-10-132.

(17) Credit for Income Tax Paid to Another State
       (UC §59-10-106)
A Utah resident or part-year resident whose income is taxed 
by Utah AND another state(s), the District of Columbia, or a 
possession of the United States, may be entitled to a credit 
against Utah income tax for the amount of tax paid to the 
other state(s).

Part-year residents will rarely qualify for this credit, as Utah 
and other states apportion income and only tax the income 
earned while a resident of that state. To qualify, the income 
must be:

1. Taxable in Utah,
2. Taxed by another state(s), and
3. Included in "Column A - Utah" income on form TC-40C.

Part-year residents must prorate the tax paid to other 
state(s). The credit only applies to the portion of the actual 
taxes paid on income that was taxed in both Utah and the 
other state.

Complete and attach form TC-40A, Credit for Income Tax 
Paid to Another State. If there are two or more states, use 
additional copies of form TC-40A. Examples of how to 
calculate the credit are located on the Tax Commission 
website, incometax.utah.gov/creditsotherstate.html. Keep 
a copy of the other state's return and all related documents 
with your records.

Do not use the state income tax withheld from the form W-2 
as the taxes paid to another state. You must complete and 
fi le the other state's return to determine the amount of taxes 
paid. You may be asked to furnish additional information later 
to verify this credit.

(19) Live Organ Donation Expenses Credit
       (UC §59-10-134.2)
A living donor may claim a credit for up to $10,000 of 
qualifi ed expenses incurred for the donation of human bone 
marrow, or any part of an intestine, kidney, liver, lung or 
pancreas for transplanting in another individual. Qualifi ed 

expenses are those incurred by the taxpayer or dependent 
for travel, lodging or a "lost wage" and not reimbursed by any 
person.

If qualifi ed, complete form TC-40T, Credit for Live Organ 
Donation Expenses. Do not send form TC-40T with your return. 
Keep the form and related documents with your records.

20. Subtract line 19 from line 18
Nonrefundable credits cannot exceed the tax liability on the 
return. If the total of the credits shown on line 19 is greater 
than or equal to the tax on line 18, enter zero.

21. Contributions
 Contributions may be made to the following approved 

funds. Contributions made will add to your tax due or 
reduce your refund. Any contribution designated on an 
original return is irrevocable and cannot be changed 
on an amended return.

Write the code and amount of each voluntary contribution on 
lines 21a through 21f. Enter the sum of all contributions on line 
21. An explanation of each contribution is listed below.

Codes for lines 21a through 21f
01  Utah Nongame Wildlife Fund
02  Pamela Atkinson Homeless Trust Fund
03  Kurt Oscarson Children's Organ Transplant Fund
05  School District and Nonprofi t School District Foundation
06  Utah College of Applied Technology
07   Uniform School Fund
08  Wolf Depredation Fund

(01) Utah Nongame Wildlife Fund
        (UC §59-10-530)
Contribute $1 or more. Contributions provide funding for 
management, preservation, protection, and perpetuation of 
nongame wildlife species. For information contact the Utah 
Division of Wildlife Resources, 1594 W North Temple, Suite 
2110, SLC, UT 84116, telephone (801) 538-4854.

(02) Pamela Atkinson Homeless Trust Fund
        (UC §59-10-530.5)
Contribute $2 or more. Contributions provide funds to the 
Pamela Atkinson Homeless Trust Fund for services and 
programs statewide to help Utahns become self-suffi cient. 
For information, contact the Governor's Offi ce of Economic 
Development, 324 S State St, Suite 500, SLC, UT 84111, 
telephone (801) 538-2564.

(03) Kurt Oscarson Children’s Organ Transplant Fund
        (UC §59-10-550)
Contribute $1 or more. Contributions provide fi nancial 
assistance to the families of children in need of organ 
transplants. For information, contact the representative 
for the Department of Health, 7247 S Santa Maria Circle, 
West Jordan UT 84084, telephone (801) 566-5356 or 
(801) 243-7060.

(05) School District and Nonprofi t School District
        Foundation (UC §59-10-549(a))
Contribute $1 or more. Contributions provide funds to 
private, nonprofi t school district foundations established 
to promote: (1) partnership activities between schools and 
communities; (2) charitable giving activities to specifi c 
educational programs; and (3) opportunities for scientifi c, 
educational, literary and improvement objectives. If the 
school district does not have a nonprofi t foundation, the 
contribution goes to the school district. Indicate to which 
school district/foundation you would like your contribution 
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donated by entering the corresponding code in the SCH/
TECH CODE box to the right of the amount.

School District Codes for "SCH/TECH CODE" box
Code Code Code Code
01 Alpine 11 Grand 21 Nebo 31 Sevier
02 Beaver 12 Granite 22 N. Sanpete 32 S. Sanpete
03 Box Elder 13 Iron 23 N. Summit 33 S. Summit 
04 Cache 14 Jordan 24 Ogden 34 Tintic
05 Carbon 15 Juab 25 Park City 35 Tooele
06 Daggett 16 Kane 26 Piute 36 Uintah
07 Davis 17 Logan 27 Provo 37 Wasatch
08 Duchesne 18 Millard 28 Rich 38 Washington
09 Emery 19 Morgan 29 Salt Lake 39 Wayne
10 Garfi eld 20 Murray 30 San Juan 40 Weber
 41 Utah Assistive Technology

(06) Utah College of Applied Technology
        (UC §59-10-549(b))
Contribute $1 or more. Contributions provide funds to a 
campus of the Utah College of Applied Technology. Indicate 
to which campus you would like your contribution donated 
by entering the corresponding code in the SCH/TECH 
CODE box to the right of the amount. If you contribute, you 
must specify one of the following campus codes.
   

Applied Technology Campus code for "SCH/TECH CODE" box 
51 Bridgerland (Box Elder, Cache, Logan and Rich School
 Districts)
52 Davis (Davis and Morgan School Districts)
53  Dixie (Washington School District)
54 Mountainland (Alpine, Nebo, N. Summit, Park City, Provo,
 S. Summit and Wasatch School Districts)
55  Ogden-Weber (Ogden City and Weber School Districts)
56  Salt Lake/Tooele (Granite, Jordan, Murray, Salt Lake City
 and Tooele School Districts)
57 Southeast (Carbon, Emery, Grand and San Juan School
 Districts)
58 Southwest (Beaver, Garfi eld, Iron and Kane School Districts)
59 Uintah Basin (Daggett, Duchesne and Uintah School Districts)

(07) Uniform School Fund
        (UC §59-10-549(1)(c))
Contribute $1 or more to the Uniform School Fund.

(08) Wolf Depredation Fund
        (UC §59-10-550.1)
Contribute $1 or more. Contributions provide funding to 
be used for payments for livestock depredation by wolves 
and for wolf management, as permitted by federal law. For 
information contact the Utah Division of Wildlife Resources, 
1594 W North Temple, Suite 2110, SLC, UT 84116, 
telephone (801) 538-4854 or wildlife.utah.gov.

22. Amended Returns Only - Previous 
Refunds

This line is used only for amended returns. When fi ling an 
amended return, enter the amount of all refunds, credits, or 
offsets of state income tax received for the tax year being 
amended. Exclude refund interest from this amount. This 
amount is then added into your total tax and contributions.

23. Tax from Recapture of Credits
Owners of a low-income housing project and other taxpayers 
who have taken the low-income housing credit and disposed 
of the building or an ownership interest, must recapture any 
credits that have reduced their tax liability in a previous year. 
See form TC-40LIC for instructions on calculating the Low-
Income Housing Credit Recapture tax.

24.  Utah Use Tax
Use tax is required on all taxable items purchased for 
storage, use or consumption in Utah during the fi ling year, 
if sales and use tax was not paid at the time of purchase. 

Purchases include amounts paid or charged for purchases 
made on the Internet or through catalogs.

Complete the worksheet on this page to determine the 
amount of use tax due. Credit for sales tax paid to another 
state cannot exceed the Utah sales tax that would otherwise 
be due on those items. If sales taxes were paid to more than 
one state, complete a worksheet for each state. Enter the 
sum of the use tax from each worksheet on line 24.

Credit is allowed for sales or use tax paid to another state, 
but not to a foreign country. If the tax rate in the other state 
is lower than Utah's tax rate, the person or consumer is 
required to pay the difference. If the tax rate in the other state 
is greater than Utah's tax rate, no sales or use tax credit or 
refund is allowed.

Enter use tax of $400 or less. If the amount exceeds $400, 
the purchaser is required to obtain a sales and use tax 
license and to pay the use tax on a sales and use tax return.

Sales and use tax rates vary throughout Utah. Use the 
chart below to fi nd the tax rate for the Utah location where 
the merchandise was delivered, stored, used or consumed. 
If the city is not listed, use the county tax rate.

.0600 Beaver County

.0700 Beaver City

.0600 Box Elder County

.0625 Brigham City, Perry, 
Willard

.0700 Snowville

.0610 Cache County 

.0635 Cache Valley Transit, 
Hyde Park, Hyrum, 
Logan, Millville, Nibley, 
N.Logan, Providence, 
Richmond, River 
Heights, Smithfi eld 

.0600 Carbon County

.0625 Price, Wellington

.0600 Daggett County 

.0650 Davis County

.0600 Duchesne County 

.0625 Roosevelt 

.0575 Emery County

.0750 Green River

.0700 Garfi eld County 

.0800 Boulder, Panguitch,
Tropic

.0600 Grand County

.0775 Moab

.0600 Iron County 

.0775 Brian Head

.0600 Juab County

.0625 Nephi

.0675 Kane County 

.0775 Kanab, Orderville

.0575 Millard County

.0600 Morgan County  

.0600 Piute County

.0600 Rich County

.0700 Garden City  

.0660 Salt Lake County

.0810 Alta

.0600 San Juan County 

.0650 Monticello 

.0600 Sanpete County

.0625 Ephraim, Gunnison

.0600 Sevier County 

.0625 Richfi eld, Salina 

.0610 Summit County

.0735 Park City

.0635 Snyderville Basin Transit

.0600 Tooele County 

.0625 Erda, Grantsville, 
 Lakepoint, Lincoln, 

Stansbury Park,
.0635 Tooele City
.0650 Uintah County 
.0675 Vernal 
.0600 Utah County 
.0625 Alpine, American 

Fork, Cedar Hills, 
Highland, Lehi, Lindon, 
Mapleton, Orem, Pay-
son, Pleasant Grove, 
Provo, Provo Canyon, 
Salem, Spanish Fork, 
Springville 

.0600 Wasatch County

.0625 Heber

.0725 Park City East 

.0600 Washington County 

.0625 Hurricane, Ivins, La
 Verkin, St. George,
 Santa Clara, 

Washington City
.0750 Springdale
.0600 Wayne County
.0660 Weber County

Worksheet for Computing Utah Use Tax on Line 24
(Retain this worksheet for your records)

1.   Total amount of purchases subject to use tax              $___________

2.   Use tax rate (decimal from chart)            x___________

3.   Use tax (multiply line 1 by line 2)              $___________ 

4.   Credit for sales tax paid to another state                     $___________ 

5.   Use tax due (subtract line 4 from line 3)
      Enter ZERO if less than ZERO                                    $___________

Use Tax Rate Chart (Effective Dec. 31, 2005)
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25. Total Tax, Use Tax and Additions to Tax
Add lines 20 through 24.

26. Utah Income Tax Withheld 
You MUST enter the amount of UTAH TAX WITHHELD on 
this line. Utah tax withheld is identifi ed by the code UT and 
the amount withheld found on the following forms:

• W-2, boxes 15 and 17 
• 1099-MISC, boxes 16 and 17
• 1099-R, boxes 10 and 11

Attach to your return a copy of each form showing Utah 
withholding. Also, keep copies of all withholding forms with 
your records.

Nonresident Shareholder’s Withholding Tax Credit is entered 
on Schedule S, Part 4, code 43 and should NOT be entered 
on this line.

27.  Credit for Utah Income Taxes Prepaid
Prepayments include payments you made using form TC-546, 
Prepayment of Income Tax, and any amount from the previous 
year’s refund applied as a credit to your current tax liability.

Nonresident Shareholder’s Withholding Tax Credit is entered 
on Schedule S, Part 4, code 43 and should NOT be entered 
on this line.

28. Amended Returns Only - Previous 
Payments

This line should only be used for amended returns. When 
fi ling an amended return, enter the amount of tax paid with 
the original return and/or subsequent payments of the tax 
prior to fi ling this amended return.

29.  Refundable Credits
To claim any of the following refundable credits, complete 
Schedule S, Part 4 and attach it to your Utah return. On 
Schedule S, write the code and amount of each refundable 
credit you are claiming. Carry the sum of all refundable 
credits to line 29 of your return. An explanation of each 
refundable credit is listed below.

Codes for refundable credits
40 Targeted Business Tax Credit
41 Special Needs Adoption Credit
43 Nonresident Shareholder's Withholding Tax Credit
46 Mineral Production Withholding Tax Credit
47 Agricultural Off-highway Gas/Undyed Diesel Tax Credit
48 Farm Operation Hand Tools

(40) Targeted Business Tax Credit
        (UC §63-38f-501 through 503)
 If an individual claims this credit, the individual may 

not claim an enterprise zone tax credit (nonrefundable 
credit, code 07) or recycling market development zone 
tax credit (nonrefundable credit, code 10).

Obtain a certifi ed copy of form TC-40TB, Targeted Business 
Tax Credit. Keep this form and all related documents with 
your records.

A refundable credit is available to businesses providing a 
community investment project as defi ned in UC §63-38f-
501 through §63-38f-503.

Contact the Governor's Offi ce of Economic Development, 
324 S State St, Suite 500, SLC, UT 84111, telephone 

(801) 538-8775, goed.utah.gov/incentives/enterprise_
zones to obtain form TC-40TB, certifi cation or for 
additional information.

(41) Special Needs Adoption Credit (UC §59-10-133)
There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents 
with your records.

A taxpayer who adopts in the State of Utah a child who has 
a special need may claim a refundable credit of $1,000 for 
each special need child adopted. This credit may only be 
claimed in the tax year the court issues the order granting 
the adoption.
 

To claim this credit, the child must meet one of the following 
conditions:
• Be fi ve years of age or older;
• Be under the age of 18 and have a physical, emotional, 

or mental disability; or
• Be a member of a sibling group (two or more persons) 

placed together for adoption.

(43) Nonresident Shareholder's Withholding Tax Credit
        (non/part-year residents only) (UC §59-10-108.2)
 Do not include Nonresident Shareholder's Withholding 

Tax Credit with the withholding tax on line 26. It must 
be entered on Schedule S, Part 4, code 43.

Keep the federal schedule K-1 issued by the corporation 
and all other related documents with your records. Do not 
attach to your Utah return.

If you are a Utah nonresident shareholder of an S corpora-
tion, you are entitled to a credit for any Utah income tax 
withheld and paid by the S corporation on your behalf.

Enter the amount of the withholding credit claimed. Also, 
enter the federal identifi cation number of the S corporation 
in the space provided on Schedule S. If you have Utah 
withholding credits from more than one S corporation, enter 
the federal identifi cation number of the S corporation for 
which you are claiming the largest amount of withholding.

(46) Mineral Production Withholding Tax Credit
        (UC §59-6-102(3))
Enter the total of the mineral production tax withheld as 
shown on forms TC-675R or federal schedule K-1(s) for 
2005.

Attach copies of form TC-675R or federal schedule K-1 to 
the return to receive proper credit. (Attach these forms with 
other W-2 and 1099 forms.)

(47) Agricultural Off-highway Gas/Undyed Diesel Tax
        Credit (UC §59-13-202)
There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents 
with your records.

The credit is 24.5 cents per gallon only for motor fuel and 
undyed diesel fuel purchased in Utah to operate stationary 
farm engines and self-propelled farm machinery used solely 
for commercial nonhighway agricultural use that was taxed at 
the time of purchase. 

Activities that DO NOT qualify for this credit include, but 
are not limited to, the following: golf courses, horse racing, 
boat operations, highway seeding, vehicles registered for 
highway use, hobbies, farming for personal use, etc. 

Credit calculation:  Gallons _______ x .245 = Credit _________

TIPTIP
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(48) Farm Operation Hand Tools
        (UC §59-10-134.1)
There is no form for this credit. Keep all related documents 
(receipts, invoices, and documents showing amount of 
sales or use tax paid) with your records.

The refundable credit is allowed for sales and use tax paid 
on hand tools purchased and used or consumed primarily 
and directly in a farming operation in Utah. The credit only 
applies if the purchase price of a tool is more than $250.

30. Total Withholding and Credits
Add lines 26 through 29.

31.  Tax Due
If the amount on line 25 is greater than the amount on line 
30, subtract line 30 from line 25.  This is the amount you 
owe.

PAYMENT OPTIONS
You may pay any tax due online with your credit card or with 
an electronic check (ACH debit) from your checking account.  
Each online payment is subject to a service fee.

To pay online, access PaymentExpress (paymentexpress.
utah.gov) and follow the step-by-step instructions.

You may also mail in your check or money order payable to 
the Utah State Tax Commission with your return. Be sure to 
write your social security number, daytime telephone number 
and "2005 TC-40" on your check. DO NOT STAPLE check 
to return. Remove the check stub before sending. DO NOT 
MAIL CASH with your return. The Tax Commission assumes 
no liability for loss of cash placed in mail.

Use the envelope provided in this booklet. If you do not 
have a preprinted envelope, mail your payment and return 
to the Utah State Tax Commission, 210 N 1950 W, SLC, UT 
84134-0266.

ALLOW AT LEAST 90 DAYS FOR YOUR RETURN TO BE 
PROCESSED.

PENALTY AND INTEREST, if applicable, will be billed. 
Penalty and interest charges are explained in the Penalties 
and Interest instructions on page 2.

PAYMENT AGREEMENT REQUEST: If you owe tax and are 
unable to pay all or a portion of the amount owed, you may 
request a payment agreement by completing form TC-804, 
Payment Agreement Request. The form can be obtained at 
tax.utah.gov/forms. If approved, you will receive a letter 
confi rming the acceptance of your request.

A payment agreement does not stop the accrual of penalty 
and interest. If you do not pay in full by the return due date, 
whether or not you request a payment agreement, any 
balance due will be subject to penalty and interest and a 
lien may be fi led to secure the debt.

If you do not submit a payment agreement request form, a 
billing notice for the full amount due, including penalty and 
interest, will be mailed to you. Upon receiving this notice, 
you must pay the total amount due, unless you request 
a payment agreement by completing and mailing form 
TC-804 or calling (801) 297-7703 or 1-800-662-4335 ext. 
7703.

Payments may be submitted prior to approval of the payment 
agreement or billing notice, per the instructions above.

32. Refund
If the amount on line 30 is greater than the amount on line 
25, subtract line 25 from line 30. This is your refund.

NOTE: Your refund may be applied to any outstanding fed-
eral or state debt owed.
 

Use the envelope provided in this booklet. To help you get 
your refund quicker, completely darken the BLUE box area 
on the front of the envelope using BLACK ink so that none 
of the vertical lines show.

If you do not have a preprinted envelope, mail your return 
to Utah State Tax Commission, 210 N 1950 W, SLC, UT 
84134-0260.

33. Refund Applied To 2006 Taxes 
You may apply all or part of your 2006 refund shown on line 
32 as a prepayment for your 2006 Utah income tax liability. 
Enter the amount of refund you want applied to your 2006 
tax on this line. YOUR REFUND WILL BE REDUCED BY 
THIS AMOUNT. Any part of the refund not applied to your 
2006 tax liability will be refunded to you. Once made, this 
election cannot be changed.

34. Direct Deposit
 If you choose to deposit your refund directly into your 

account, you will not receive a check in the mail.

If you want your refund deposited directly into your checking 
or savings account, enter your fi nancial institution’s routing 
number and your account number.

The check example on page 16 indicates where the routing 
and checking account numbers are located on your checks. 
If needed, contact your fi nancial institution and they can 
provide this information to you.

If for any reason your fi nancial institution rejects your 
request for direct deposit, you will receive a check by mail 
instead of direct deposit.

You cannot use Direct Deposit if you are AMENDING a 
return.

Completing The Return
Signature
You must sign the return. If the return is a joint return, both 
husband and wife must sign.

Signature For Deceased
If your spouse died during 2005 or 2006, prior to fi ling, 
and you are fi ling a joint return, write “DECEASED” in the 
signature block for your spouse. See additional instructions 
on pages 2 and 4. If you are not a surviving spouse, attach 
form TC-131.

Attachments to Return
Include with your TC-40 ONLY the following:
• Withholding forms showing Utah withholding, i.e., W-2, 

1099-R, 1099-MISC, TC-675R, etc.;
• Utah schedules TC-40A, TC-40B, TC-40C, and/or TC-40S, if 

applicable;
• An explanation of any other adjustment deducted on 

Schedule S, Part 2, using code 79.

Do not send a copy of your federal return, credit schedules, 
worksheets or other documents. Keep these with your tax 
records.
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Direct Deposit Example for Line 34

Third Party Designee
If you want to allow a friend, family member or other person 
you choose to discuss your 2005 Utah tax return with the 
Tax Commission, enter the party's name and telephone 
number in the Third Party Designee area on page 2 of 
your Utah return. Also, enter a number (up to 9 digits) the 
designee chooses as his or her personal identifi cation 
number (PIN). If you want to allow the paid preparer who 
signed your return to discuss it with the Tax Commission, 
enter "Preparer" in the space for the designee's name. You 
do not have to provide the other information requested.

If you make entries in the Third Party Designee area, you, 
and your spouse if fi ling a joint return, are authorizing 
the Tax Commission to call the designee to answer any 
questions that may arise during the processing of your 
return. You are also authorizing the designee to:

• Give the Tax Commission any missing information from 
your return;

• Call the Tax Commission for information about the 
processing of your return or the status of your refund or 
payment(s);

• Receive copies of notices or transcripts related to your 
return, upon request; and

• Respond to certain Tax Commission notices about math 
errors, offsets and return preparation.

You are not authorizing the designee to receive any refund, 
bind you to anything (including any additional tax liability), 
or otherwise represent you before the Tax Commission. If 
you want to expand the designee's authorization complete 
and submit to the Tax Commission form TC-737, Power of 
Attorney and Declaration of Representative. Form TC-737 
is available on our website at tax.utah.gov/forms.

The authorization will automatically end no later than the due 
date (without regard to extensions) for fi ling your 2006 tax 
return. This is April 16, 2007 for most people. If you wish to 
revoke the authorization before it ends, submit your request 
in writing to the Utah State Tax Commission, attention 
Taxpayer Services, 210 N 1950 W, SLC, UT 84134.

Paid Preparer
The paid preparer must enter his or her name, address, and 
social security number or PTIN in the section below your 
signature on the return.

Preparer Electronic Filing Requirements
(UC §59-10-514.1)
Beginning with the 2005 return fi ling period, if a preparer 
(or two or more preparers affi liated together in the same 
establishment) prepared 101 or more returns in the prior 
calendar year, the preparer(s) must submit all their Utah 
individual income tax returns electronically or using 2-D 
bar code technology. Exceptions apply for taxpayers who 
elect out of electronic fi lling or using 2-D technology and 
for undue hardship on the preparer in conforming to this 
provision.

Preparer Penalties: The person who prepares, presents, 
procures, advises, aids, assists or counsels another on a 
return, affi davit, claim or similar document administered 
by the Tax Commission, and who knows or has reason to 
believe it may understate a tax, fee or charge is subject 
to both a civil penalty ($500 per document) and criminal 
penalties (second degree felony with a fi ne between 
$1,500 to $25,000). See Utah Code §59-1-401(9) and (10) 
for specifi c details. 

IRS
All information on your return is compared to 
information fi led with the IRS.
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Use this worksheet if you entered code A or D on line 1 on the front of the return.
WORKSHEET A -WORKSHEET A -  For Single or Married Filing SeparateFor Single or Married Filing Separate

$0 to $863 $864 to $1,726 $1,727 to $2,588 $2,589 to $3,450 $3,451 to $4,313 Over $4,313

a. Taxable income
    from line 15

b. Amount to subtract 

c. Subtotal (subtract b from a)

d. Tax rate

f. Amount to add

e. Subtotal (multiply c by d)

g. This is your Utah income
    tax. (Add lines e and f)
    Enter on line 16b

0

.023

0

$863

.033

$20

$1,726

.042

$48

$2,588

.052

$85

$3,450

.06

$129 $181

–

x

+

=

=

=

Use this worksheet if you entered code B, C or E on line 1 on the front of the return.
WORKSHEET B -WORKSHEET B -  For Married Filing Joint, Head of Household, or Qualifying Widow(er)For Married Filing Joint, Head of Household, or Qualifying Widow(er)

$0 to $1,726 $1,727 to $3,450 $3,451 to $5,176 $5,177 to $6,900 $6,901 to $8,626 Over $8,626

a. Taxable income
    from line 15

b. Amount to subtract 

c. Subtotal (subtract b from a)

d. Tax rate

f. Amount to add

e. Subtotal (multiply c by d)

g. This is your Utah income
    tax. (Add lines e and f)
    Enter on line 16b

0

.023

0

$1,726

.033

$40

$3,450

.042

$97

$5,176

.052

$169

$6,900

.06

$259

$8,626

.07

$362

2005 TAX CALCULATION WORKSHEET2005 TAX CALCULATION WORKSHEET

$4,313

.07

–

x

+

=

=

=

–

x

+

=

=

=

–

x

+

=

=

=

–

x

+

=

=

=

–

x

+

=

=

=

–

x

+

=

=

=

–

x

+

=

=

=

–

x

+

=

=

=

–

x

+

=

=

=

–

x

+

=

=

=

–

x

+

=

=

=

1. Select WORKSHEET A or WORKSHEET B by your fi ling status from line 1 of your return.

2. Locate the taxable income column that matches the taxable income on line 15. For example, if you 
used WORKSHEET B and your income on line 15 was $5,500, you would look for the taxable income 
column that is $5,177 to $6,900.

3. Under the selected taxable income column, complete the calculations as instructed on the worksheet.

If taxable income
from line 15 is —�

If taxable income
from line 15 is —�


