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Need Forms?
Call (801) 297-6700 or 1-800-662-4335, ext. 6700
Print from the Internet at http://www.tax.ex.state.ut.us/CurrentPackX/Business.html

Need more information?
You can find additional tax information and forms on the Tax Commission's web page at
http://www.tax.ex.state.ut.us

References:
UCA – Utah Code Annotated
IRC – Internal Revenue Code
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• Tax Credit For Increasing Research Activities: A nonrefundable credit is allowed for
expenses incurred for increasing qualified research activities in Utah. To see if you
qualify, see page 10.

• Tax Credit For Machinery And Equipment Used To Conduct Research: A nonrefundable
credit is allowed for machinery, equipment or both used primarily for conducting qualified
research or basic research in Utah. To see if you qualify, see page 10.

• The Department of Commerce is re-issuing identification numbers for incorporation or
qualification in the state of Utah. Each new number issued will consist of 6 or 7 digits
followed by a 4-digit suffix. Enter the new identification number on all return forms where
requested. If you have not yet received notification of your new identification number,
enter your original 6-digit charter number.

• Use tax, in the amount of $400 or less, may be claimed on Line 11 of the return. If use
tax exceeds $400, the purchaser is required to obtain a sales and use tax license. See
instructions on Page 6.
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If you need an accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act, contact the Tax Commission at
(801) 297-3811 or Telecommunications Device for the Deaf  (TDD) (801) 297-3819. Please allow three
working days for a response.
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The Utah State Tax Commission will use the Em-
ployer Identification Number (EIN) as the
corporation’s taxpayer identification with the state.
The Utah Department of Commerce issues a reg-
istration number upon incorporation or qualification
in Utah. Enter the Utah Incorporation/Qualification
number in the field provided. Make sure you pro-
vide your EIN and Utah Incorporation/Qualification
Number for proper identification of the corporate
tax return or any correspondence.
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All entries must be reported in whole-dollar amounts.
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The Tax Commission supplies returns for filing of
corporate taxes to corporations properly registered
with the state. If an original return is received by the
corporation, call (801) 297-6700 to request forms.
NOTE: Please review “Supporting Federal Infor-
mation,” later in these general instructions to iden-
tify what federal information is required with the
Utah filing.
Franchise Tax
Every C corporation incorporated in Utah (domes-
tic), qualified in Utah (foreign), or doing business in
Utah, whether qualified or not, must file a corporate
franchise tax return. C corporation returns are filed
on form TC-20. There is a minimum tax (privilege
tax) of $100 on every corporation that files form TC-
20 regardless of whether the corporation exercises
its right to do business.
S Corporation
Every S corporation (as defined in IRC Section
1361(a)) that has filed a proper and timely election
under IRC Section 1362(a) must file form TC-20S
so long as the federal election remains in effect.
The minimum tax does not apply to S corporations.
S corporation franchise or income tax return, sched-
ules, and general instructions are printed sepa-
rately from this booklet.
Income Tax
The only corporations required to file under the
income tax provisions are those that derive income
from Utah sources, but that are not qualified to do
business in Utah and have no regular and estab-
lished place of business in this state, either owned

or rented, and that do not maintain an inventory or
have employees located at a place of business in
Utah. For example: A foreign corporation with
goods maintained in Utah in a public warehouse, or
a trucking company operated in or through Utah by
a foreign corporation not qualified for the privilege
of doing business in Utah, is subject to the income
rather than franchise tax. Corporate income tax
filers use form TC-20. A $100 minimum tax applies
to the corporate income tax.
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The taxable year for Utah Corporation franchise or
income tax purposes must match the taxable year
used for federal income tax purposes. When the
taxable year changes for federal purposes, the
taxable year must be adjusted accordingly for Utah
corporation franchise or income tax purposes. Refer
to “Filing Return Where Period Changed,” below. If
the taxable year is not a calendar year, enter the
beginning and ending dates of the taxable year at
the top of form TC-20 where indicated.
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When changes are made to the taxable year, as
indicated in “Taxable Year,” above, a short period
return is required. The short period return must
cover the period of less than 12 months between
the prior taxable year-end and the new taxable
year-end. The tax rates as provided in UCA §59-7-
104 and §59-7-201 apply to short period returns,
which includes a minimum tax of $100.
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Returns must be filed on or before the 15th day of the
fourth month following the close of the taxable year.
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Corporations are automatically allowed an exten-
sion of up to six months to file a return without filing
an extension form. This is an extension of time to
file the return - NOT an extension of time to pay
taxes. To avoid penalty and interest, the prepay-
ment requirements must be met on or before the
original return due date and all returns must be filed
within the six-month extension period.
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The required extension prepayments must equal
90 percent of the tax due for the current year’s tax
liability (or the $100 minimum tax, whichever is
greater) or 100 percent of the previous year’s tax
liability. Typically, corporations that make estimated
prepayments using the form TC-559, payment
coupon book, will have complied with the 90 per-
cent requirement and may not need to make addi-
tional prepayments to avoid extension penalties.
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Every corporation having a Utah tax liability of
$3,000 or more in the current year, or a tax liability
of $3,000 or more in the previous year, must make
quarterly estimated tax prepayments. In addition,
parent companies filing combined reports with af-
filiated companies must make the quarterly pre-
payment when the aggregate amount is $3,000 or
more for all companies listed on Schedule M,
including those paying only the minimum tax.

A corporation is not subject to the prepayment
requirements the first year the corporation is re-
quired to file a return in Utah if the corporation
makes a payment on or before the due date,
without the automatic extension, equal to or greater
than the minimum tax.

Quarterly prepayments are due in four equal pay-
ments on the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, 9th and 12th
months of the corporation’s taxable year. Corpora-
tions may elect to make the quarterly prepayments
equal to 90 percent of the current year’s tax or 100
percent of the prior year’s tax. As defined in IRC
Section 6655, the applicable percentage of the
required annual payment for annualized income
installments, for adjusted seasonal installments,
and for estimated tax payments based on the
current year tax liability is the following:

Installment Percentage
1st 22.5
2nd 45.0
3rd 67.5
4th 90.0

If a taxpayer elects a different annualization period
than the period used for federal purposes, the
taxpayer must make an election with the Tax Com-
mission at the same time as provided in IRC Section
6655. Prepayments should be made with form TC-
559, Corporation Tax Payment Coupon Booklet.
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The penalty for failure to file a tax due return by
the due date is the greater of $20 or 10 percent of
the unpaid tax. In addition, if a tax balance remains
unpaid 90 days after the due date, a second
penalty, the greater of $20 or 10 percent of the tax
balance, will be added for failure to pay timely.
The penalty for failure to pay tax due as reported
on a timely filed return, or within 30 days of a notice
of deficiency, is the greater of $20 or 10 percent of
the tax due.
The penalty for underpayment of the extension
prepayment is 2 percent per month of the unpaid
tax during the extension period. If the return is not
filed by the extension due date, failure to file and
failure to pay penalties will apply, as if the extension
had not been granted.

Penalty for failure to file an information return or
complete supporting schedule is $50 for each
return or schedule to a maximum of $1,000.
The penalty for each underpayment of required
estimated tax or required quarterly installments
is determined by applying the state interest rate(s)
in effect for the period of the underpayment, plus
four percentage points to the amount of the under-
payment for the period of the underpayment.
For a list of additional penalties, that may be
imposed please refer to UCA §59-1-401.
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Annualized Exception
A corporation may annualize its income before
determining the amount of each installment. It is
recommended that federal guidelines be followed
in determining annualized income. If the corpora-
tion meets the annualized exception at the federal
level, for any installment, indicate by checking the
appropriate box(es) on form TC-20, Schedule A
line 25.
Recurring Seasonal Exception
A corporation with recurring seasonal income may
annualize its income before determining the amount
of each installment. It is recommended that federal
guidelines be followed in determining seasonal
income. If the corporation meets the seasonal
exception at the federal level, for any installment,
indicate by checking the appropriate box(es) on
form TC-20, Schedule A line 25.
Prepayment of minimum tax
Corporations that met the prepayment require-
ment in the current year and that had a tax liability
of $100 (the minimum tax) for the previous year,
may choose to prepay the minimum tax amount of
$100 on the 15th day of the 12th month instead of
four increments of $25.

Corporations that met the prepayment require-
ment in the previous year and have a tax liability of
$100 (the minimum tax) in the current year may
choose to prepay the minimum tax amount of $100
on the 15th day of 12th month instead of four
increments of $25. In this scenario, the corporation
must pay $100, not 90 percent.
The Tax Commission will calculate the penalty for
underpayment of required prepayments. Taxpay-
ers who would like to calculate their own penalty
may contact the Tax Commission at (801) 297-
7790 for assistance.
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The calendar year interest rate applicable for all
taxes and fees administered by the Tax Commis-
sion is two percentage points above the federal
short-term rate in effect for the preceding fourth
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calendar quarter. The Internal Revenue Service
publishes this rate in September of each year.
The interest rate for most taxes and fees adminis-
tered by the Tax Commission for the 2001 calendar
year is 8 percent.
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Federal form 1120, pages 1-4 as filed with the IRS
should be included with the filing of the Utah return
(Form TC-20). Other detail schedules should NOT
be included with the initial Utah filing, unless other-
wise specified in this publication. These detail sched-
ules may be requested at a later date by the
Auditing Division of the Tax Commission
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Corporation changes (e.g., name change, merger,
or ceasing to do business in Utah) must be reported
to both:

Division of Corporations
Department of Commerce
160 E 300 S
Salt Lake City, UT 84145

and:
Tax Commission
Master File Maintenance
210 N 1950 W
Salt Lake City, UT 84134
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Utah law provides for suspension of the corporation’s
right to do business in Utah if the corporation fails
to pay taxes due before 5 p.m. on the last day of the
eleventh month after the due date.
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Any corporation owned by another corporation, or
owning more than 50 percent of another corpora-
tion, or a group of corporations related through
common ownership (i.e., certain brother/sister cor-
porations) and engaged in unitary business activ-
ity, must file a combined report, including the com-
bined income of all such corporations.
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A unitary business exists if the activities of the
corporations (subsidiary or affiliated corporations
related through common ownership) are economi-
cally interdependent as demonstrated by the fol-
lowing factors:

•  Strong centralized management
•  Functional integration
•  Attainment of operational economies of scale
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A unitary group is required to file on a water’s edge
basis unless the worldwide combination method
has been elected. A water’s edge combined report
includes the income and activities of all members of
a unitary group that are:

• Corporations organized or incorporated in the
United States, including those corporations
qualifying for the Puerto Rico and Possession
Tax Credit as provided in IRC Section 936; and

• Corporations organized or incorporated out-
side of the United States meeting the threshold
level of business activity.
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A group of corporations that are not otherwise a
unitary group may elect to file a water’s edge
combined report under UCA §59-7-402(2) if each
member of the group is:

• Doing business in Utah;
• Part of the same affiliated group, and;
• Qualified under IRC Section 1501 to file a

federal consolidated return.
Each corporation within the affiliated group that is
doing business in Utah must consent to filing a
combined report. If an affiliated group elects to file
a combined report, each corporation within the
affiliated group that is doing business in Utah must
file a combined report.
Corporations that elect to file a water’s edge com-
bined report under this section may not thereafter
elect to file a separate return without the consent of
the Tax Commission.
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A unitary group may elect to file a worldwide com-
bined report. When the worldwide combined re-
porting method is elected, the income/loss of each
corporation within the unitary group must be in-
cluded regardless of the country in which the corpo-
rations are incorporated or conduct business.
Corporations electing to file a worldwide combined
report may not thereafter elect to file a return on a
basis other than a worldwide combined report
without the consent of the Tax Commission.
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Foreign corporations that conduct 20 percent or
more of their business activity in the United States,
as measured by the average of the property and
payroll factors, must be included 100 percent in a
water’s edge combined report. Any business activ-
ity in Utah will subject a foreign corporation to the
Utah franchise tax. The threshold test for purposes
of combined reporting determines whether the
foreign corporation is a member of a unitary group.
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Fifty percent of unitary foreign dividends are in-
cluded in adjusted income. The remaining 50 per-
cent, less expenses, are excluded. Refer to UCA
§59-7-106(11)(a). Adjustment to the denominators
of the apportionment fraction for each dividend
paying company is provided at the ratio that the
included dividend bears to the total earnings and
profits for dividend paying companies.
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A group filing a combined report will calculate
adjusted income of the combined group by:

1. Determining which corporations are unitary;
2. Computing unadjusted income on a separate

return basis;

3. Combining income or loss of the members
included in the combined report;

4. Making appropriate eliminations and adjust-
ments between members included in the com-
bined report to arrive at unadjusted income on
a combined basis, and;

5. Making additions and deductions to unadjusted
income as outlined in Schedules B, C and D to
arrive at adjusted income.

A unitary group of corporations is considered a
single taxpayer for purposes of the assignment of
sales in the sales factor of the apportionment
fraction. Therefore, sales of tangible personal prop-
erty by any member of the unitary group that are
delivered or shipped into Utah are includable in the
Utah sales numerator. Conversely, such sales origi-
nating in Utah, which are delivered or shipped to
another state, will not be thrown back to the Utah
sales numerator if any member of the unitary group
has a taxable presence (nexus) in that state. Refer
to Tax Commission Rule R865-6F-24.
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An election made or considered to be made under
IRC Sections 338, 338(h)(10) and 336(e) for years
beginning on or after January 1, 1994 is also
followed for Utah purposes.
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If a federal election is made under IRC Section 338
the target corporation must file a separate entity
one-day tax return for Utah purposes, as required
for federal purposes. The target corporation must
include the gain or loss on the deemed sale of
assets in its adjusted income. Form TC-20 (338),
‘One-day Corporation Tax Return for Target Cor-
poration’, is available upon request.
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If an election is made for federal purposes under
IRC Section 338(h)(10) the following apply:

1. If the target corporation is a member of a
unitary group immediately preceding the acqui-
sition date, the target corporation must be
included in a combined report to the extent of its
income through the acquisition date. The gain
or loss on the deemed sale of assets is included
in the combined income of the unitary group.

2. If the target corporation is not a member of a
unitary group immediately preceding the acqui-
sition date, the target corporation must file a
short period return for the period ending on the
acquisition date and must include in that return
the gain or loss on the deemed sale of assets in
its adjusted income.

3. Any gain or loss, which is not recognized for
federal purposes, on stock sold or exchanged
by a member of a selling consolidated group
(as defined in IRC Section 338) may not be
included in the adjusted income of the selling
corporation.

4. The target corporation is treated as a new
corporation as of the day after the acquisition
date.
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If an election is made under IRC Section 336(e), the
transaction must be treated as follows:
1. If the corporation is treated for federal pur-

poses as having disposed of all of its assets and
is a member of a unitary group immediately
preceding the date of sale, the corporation
must be included in a combined return to the
extent of its income through the date of sale.
The gain or loss on the deemed disposal of
assets is included in the combined income of
the unitary group.

2. If the corporation is treated for federal pur-
poses as having disposed of all of its assets and
is not a member of a unitary group immediately
preceding the date of sale, the corporation
must file a short period return for the period
ending on the date of sale and must include the
gain or loss on the deemed disposal of assets
in its adjusted income.

3. Any gain or loss that is not recognized for
federal purposes on stock sold, exchanged or
distributed by a corporation pursuant to IRC
Section 336(e) may not be included in adjusted
income.

4. The new basis of assets of the corporation
treated as having disposed of its assets is the
same as determined for federal purposes.

5. The corporation that is treated as having dis-
posed of its assets is treated as a new corpora-
tion as of the day after the date of sale.
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If a corporation is no longer required to file a Utah
corporate return, any taxes owed by that corpora-
tion on installment sales entered into by that corpo-
ration shall accelerate and be due on the
corporation’s last return filed in Utah.
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Enter the corporation name, address, and telephone
number. Check the box provided if there has been a
change to this information since last year’s filing.

!
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Enter the Employer Identification Number (EIN)
and Utah Incorporation/Qualification Number is-
sued by the Department of Commerce in the appro-
priate fields.
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If the return is being filed for a period other than the
calendar year ending Dec. 31, 2000 enter the
beginning and ending filing dates.
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An amended state return for 2000 should be filed
promptly once you discover:

1. An error on your state or federal return after it
has been filed; or

2. Your federal return is audited or adjusted by the
IRS and the IRS audit or adjustment affects
your state return. You must report such changes
or corrected net income within 90 days of the
IRS’s final determination.

If you need to amend a return for a tax year other
than 2000, please use the tax form and instructions
for the year you are amending.
Do not submit an amended return for the purpose
of claiming a loss carryback refund. This is auto-
matically calculated by the Tax Commission. Any
refund will be mailed to the Corporation.
To qualify for a refund or credit, an amended return
must be filed within three years following the date
the original return was filed. A return filed before the
due date is considered filed on the due date.

To amend a previously filed 2000 state tax return:
1. Check the amended box located at the top of

the return; and

2. Indicate the reason for amending by writing the
number in the box provided on the return.

���	��	� %���&�������
1. You filed an amended return with the Internal

Revenue Service (you must attach a copy of
your amended federal return).

2. You made an error on your state return  (attach
an explanation of the adjustments made).

3. Federal audit adjustments, which resulted in
changes in federal taxable income, were is-
sued and became final (attach a copy of the IRS
adjustment).

4. Other (please attach explanation to return).
Complete the return entering the figures as cor-
rected. Enter other amounts shown on your original
return. If you received a refund on your original
return, subtract previous refunds from the amount
of tax paid with the original return and/or subse-
quent payments of the tax prior to filing the amended
return. Enter the amount on Schedule A, line 19.
Remember: Except for the amounts you amend,
the amounts you place on the return must match
your original return.
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Check the box on line 1 if this corporation con-
ducted business in Utah during the taxable year.
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Check the box on line 2 if the federal form 1120 for
the same tax period was a consolidated return.
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Select and check the appropriate box to indicate
whether the return is:

a. A “water’s edge” combined report, or
b. A “water’s edge” election made under UCA

§59-7-402(2), or

c. A “worldwide” combined report.
See “Combined Reports” in the general instruc-
tions for information on the proper filing method.
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Select and check the appropriate box(es) if an
election has been made under IRC Sections 338,
338(h)(10) or 336(e). See General Instructions for
information regarding these elections.
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Check the box on line 5 if this corporation is or
includes a financial institution as defined in Tax
Commission Rule R865-6F-32.
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Indicate the ultimate U.S. parent corporation’s name.

����� �
Indicate the ultimate U.S. parent corporation’s
employer identification number.
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Enter applicable penalty and interest amounts on
the appropriate lines. Enter the total amount in the
box. The Tax Commission will calculate the penalty
for underpayment of required prepayments. For
help calculating penalties and interest, you may
contact the Tax Commission at (801) 297-7790 or
1-800-662-4335.
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Utah corporations that purchased items or services
outside Utah for use or consumption in Utah and did
not pay sales or use tax on those items at the time of
purchase, or that paid sales or use tax at a lower rate
than the required use tax rate must pay use tax on
the purchase price at the rate applicable in the city or
county in which the item or service was consumed
Use tax of $400 or less may be paid on this line; use
tax exceeding $400 must be filed and paid on a
sales and use tax return. Use tax applies to the
following purchases:
• Goods purchased in another state and trans-

ported to Utah for use or consumption.

• Goods purchased from a catalog and shipped
into Utah for use or consumption.

• Goods purchased over the Internet and shipped
into Utah for use or consumption.

Credit is allowed for sales taxes paid in another state
or for Utah use tax collected by the vendor. No credit
is given for taxes paid in foreign countries.

Complete the worksheet below to determine use tax.
Use the city tax rate from the list at the top of the next
column. If your city is not listed, use the county rate.
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Subtract lines 10 and 11 from line 8.

Signature and date lines are required for declara-
tion of the return’s accuracy. Refunds will not be
granted on returns without signatures and dates.
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Add lines 9, 10 and 11.
Do not mail cash. The Tax Commission assumes
no liability for the loss of cash placed in the mail.
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All corporations must complete this section, located
on the back of the return.
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����� �
Enter the total amount of all refunds applied from
the prior year.

����� �
List the date, check number and amount of exten-
sion prepayment.

����� �
List the date, check number and amount of all
prepayments made for the filing period. Enter the
total amount on line 3. Attach additional sheet, if
necessary.

����� 	
Add lines 1, 2, and 3. Enter the total on this line and
on Schedule A, line 18c.

WORKSHEET FOR COMPUTING UTAH USE TAX
(Retain this worksheet for your records.)

1. Total amount of purchases subject to use tax ... $___________

2. Use tax rate (decimal) .......................................... $___________

3. Use tax (multiply line 1 by line 2) ......................... $___________

4. Credit for sales tax paid ....................................... $___________

5. Amount of use tax due (line 3 less line 4)
Enter ZERO if less than zero .............................. $___________

Use Tax Rate Chart (Effective Dec. 31, 2000)

.0600 Beaver County

.0700 Beaver

.0600 Box Elder County

.0625 Brigham, Perry,
Willard

.0600 Cache County

.0625 Logan

.0600 Carbon County

.0625 Price

.0600 Daggett County

.0625 Davis County

.0600 Duchesne County

.0625 Roosevelt

.0575 Emery County

.0750 Green River

.0700 Garfield County

.0800 Boulder, Panguitch,
Tropic

.0600 Grand County

.0775 Moab, East Green
River

.0600 Iron County

.0775 Brian Head

.0600 Juab County

.0625 Nephi

.0675 Kane County

.0775 Kanab

.0575 Millard County

.0600 Morgan County

.0600 Piute County

.0600 Rich County

.0635 Salt Lake County

.0735 Alta

.0600 San Juan County

.0650 Monticello

.0600 Sanpete County

.0625 Ephraim, Gunnison

.0600 Sevier County

.0625 Richfield, Salina

.0600 Summit County

.0725 Park City

.0575 Tooele County

.0600 Erda, Grantsville,
Lakepoint, Lincoln,
Tooele City,
Stansbury Park

.0650 Uintah County

.0675 Vernal

.0600 Utah County

.0625 Alpine, American
Fork, Lehi, Lindon,
Mapleton, Orem,
Payson, Pleasant
Grove, Provo,
Provo Canyon,
Salem, Highland,
Spanish Fork,
Springville,
Cedar Hills

.0600 Wasatch County

.0625 Heber

.0600 Washington Cnty

.0625 Hurricane, Ivins, La
Verkin, St. George,
Santa Clara,
Washington City

.0750 Springdale

.0600 Wayne County

.0625 Weber County
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Enter the federal taxable income (before net oper-
ating loss deduction and special deductions) from
line 28 of federal form 1120 or line 24 of federal
form 1120-A.

������� ������%���'� %��)�!�*�'%��� (�����
Bring forward total additions from Schedule B, line
15.

�����������,%�!�%���'������)�!�*�'%���(�����
Bring forward total subtractions from Schedule C,
line 14.

����� 	� ����*�'%��� (�����
Add line 1 and line 2, subtract line 3.

����� 
� �� -��,�'���''� (������ -�%� ��� ���!%��
."/��'�'
Add lines 5a and 5b.
5a. Nonbusiness income allocated to Utah from

Schedule H, line 13.

5b. Nonbusiness income allocated outside Utah
from Schedule H, line 26.

����� �� �� �//��%���!,��� (������ 0�����
1��%��,�%���'� #����%���
Subtract line 5 from line 4.

���������)%!��1��%��,�%���'
Enter amount from Schedule D, line 8.

����� 
� ���//��%���!,��� (�����
Subtract line 7 from line 6.

����������//��%������%���!�%���
100 percent or fraction from Schedule J, line 7.

����� �$� �� �//��%������ (�����
Multiply line 8 by fraction on line 9.

����� ��� �� -��,�'���''� (������ �����!%��
%��)%!�
Enter the amount reported on line 5a above.

����� ��� �� )%!��  !"!,��� (�����+��''
Add lines 10 and 11. If Utah taxable income on line
12 is a loss, the corporation may elect to: 1) carry
the loss back (subject to the $1,000,000 limitation),
or 2) forego the loss carryback and carry the loss
forward.
If an election is made to forego the federal net
operating loss carryback, a similar election is con-
sidered to be made for Utah tax purposes unless
the taxpayer makes a specific election to carry back
the loss for Utah purposes. Indicate in the appropri-
ate box whether you elect to forego the Utah net
loss carryback:

Yes, forego the loss carryback

No, treat the loss as a carryback
If no election is made to forego the loss carryback,
the Utah net loss will be carried back to the earliest
of the three preceding tax years; if not entirely used
to offset income of that year it will be carried to the
second year preceding the loss year; any remain-
ing loss will be carried to the taxable year immedi-
ately preceding the loss year. Any remaining loss
should be carried forward.

Do not submit an amended return for the purpose
of claiming a loss carryback refund. A refund result-
ing from a loss carryback will be sent automatically.
Schedule L is obsolete.

����������)%!��-�%���''�1!���������2!��
�����&�����3�!�'
Losses incurred in years beginning prior to January
1, 1994, which remain after all carrybacks have
been applied, may be carried forward for five
taxable years following the taxable year of the loss.
Losses incurred in years beginning on or after
January 1, 1994, which remain after all carrybacks
have been applied, may be carried forward for
fifteen taxable years following the taxable year of
the loss.

Attach documentation to the return to support the
loss amounts carried forward on Schedule A, line
13.

����� �	� ��-�%�  !"!,��� (�����
Subtract line 13 from line 12.

������
���1!����!%������� !"
Add lines 15a and 15b.

����� �
�!�
Multiply line 14 by .05, or enter $100 minimum tax
due for each corporation listed on Schedule M,
whichever is greater.

����� �
�,�
Generally, interest must be paid on the deferred tax
related to installment sales if the contract was
entered into on or after January 1, 1994.
The rate of interest applicable must be determined
pursuant to IRC Section 453A. Enter the interest as
an additional tax on Schedule A, line 15b.
The deferred tax liability for Utah purposes must be
calculated in a manner similar to that outlined in IRC
Section 453(A)(c), except:
1. The tax rate applied must be five percent; and
2. In the case of multistate corporations, the

amount of Utah gain, which has not been
recognized, must be determined by multiplying
the deferred gain, which has not been recog-
nized for federal purposes, by the current year
apportionment fraction.
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����� ��� ��-��������!,���1����%'
Enter on lines 16a through 16g any of the following
nonrefundable credits allowed. You must write the
code and the amount related to the credit on your
return. Enter the total of all credits claimed on line
16.
Codes for line 16a through 16g

02 Qualified Sheltered Workshop Cash Contribu-
tion Credit

03 Renewable Energy Systems Tax Credit

04 Clean Fuel Alternative Tax Credit
05 Clean Fuel Vehicle Tax Credit
06 Historic Preservation Tax Credit

07 Enterprise Zone Credit
08 Low Income Housing Tax Credit
09 Credit for Employers who Hire Persons with

Disabilities
10 Recycling Market Development Zone Tax Credit
12 Credit for Increasing Research Activities

13 Credit for Machinery and Equipment Used to
Conduct Research

14 High Technology Equipment Contribution Tax
Credit

15 Utah Municipal, U.S. and Agency Bond Interest
Tax Credit

16 Utah Steam Coal Tax Credit
 (02) Qualified Sheltered Workshop Cash

Contribution Credit (UCA §59-7-602)
There is no form for this credit. Make sure you keep
any documentation to support this credit.
Cash contributions made within the tax year to a
qualified nonprofit rehabilitation sheltered work-
shop facility for the handicapped operating in Utah
are eligible for a credit against Utah income taxes.
Check with the workshop to make sure they have a
current Day Training Provider License or Day Sup-
port Provider Certificate issued by the Department
of Human Services. The credit is equal to 50
percent of the total of cash contributions, not to
exceed $1000. If the contribution was deducted
when calculating federal taxable income (federal
form 1120, line 19), that amount must be deducted
from current year contributions (Utah Schedule D,
line 5a) before the credit may be claimed on this
line.
For more information, contact:

Div. of Services for Person’s with Disabilities
Contract Administrator
120 N 200 W #411
Salt Lake City, UT  84103
Telephone: (801) 538-4200

(03) Renewable Energy Systems Tax Credit
(UCA §59-7-611)

Attach form TC-40E, “Renewable Energy Systems
Tax Credit” with the Office of Energy and Resource
Planning stamp, verifying the credit has been ap-
proved.
To qualify for the energy tax credit, you must have
installed or upgraded a renewable energy system
(such as solar or wind generated power systems)
during the tax period. Energy saving devices, such
as insulation, siding thermal windows, and high
efficiency furnaces, that do not contain a renewable
component, do not qualify.

To determine if your system or system components
and installation qualify for the tax credit you must
submit a written application, complete with signa-
tures and photocopies of receipts, to the Utah
Office of Energy and Resource Planning (OERP).
Application forms can be obtained from:

Utah Office of Energy and ResourcePlanning
1594 W North Temple, Suite 3610
Box 146480
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6480
Telephone: (801) 538-5428.

If your system meets the eligibility requirements,
you will receive form TC-40E, with information on
your eligible system and installation costs and the
OERP stamp of approval.

(04) Clean Fuel Alternative Tax Credit
(UCA §59-7-606)

Complete and attach form TC-40F, “Clean Fuel
Alternative Tax Credit” with the Utah Energy Office
seal, verifying the credit has been approved.
To qualify you must have purchased and installed
EPA certified pellet burning stoves, high mass
wood stoves, solid fuel burning devices, and natu-
ral gas or propane free standing fireplaces or
inserts. The credit is limited to $50 or 10 percent of
the total of the purchase cost and installation costs,
whichever is less.

To obtain form TC-40F, certification, and for addi-
tional information, contact:

Department of Environmental Quality
Division of Air Quality
150 N 1950 W
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820
Telephone: (801) 536-4000

(05) Clean Fuel Vehicle Tax Credit
(UCA §59-7-605)

Complete and attach form TC-40V, “Clean Fuel
Vehicle Tax Credit,” with the Division of Air Quality
approval stamp, verifying the credit has been ap-
proved.
The following credits are available:



������

• 20 percent, to a maximum of $500 per vehicle
for purchases of new vehicles that are fueled by
propane, natural gas, or electricity and are
registered in Utah for the first time;

• 20 percent, to a maximum of $400 of the cost of
equipment for conversion of a Utah registered
vehicle to be fueled by propane, natural gas, or
electricity; or

• 20 percent, to a maximum of $500 of the cost of
equipment for conversion of a special fuel
mobile equipment engine to be fueled by pro-
pane, natural gas, or electricity.

To obtain form TC-40V, approval, or for additional
information, contact:

Department of Environmental Quality
Division of Air Quality
150 N 1950 W
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820
Telephone: (801) 536-4000

(06) Historic Preservation Tax Credit
(UCA §59-7-609)

Complete and attach form TC-40H, “Historic Pres-
ervation Tax Credit” with the State Historic Preser-
vation Office certification, verifying the credit has
been approved.

This is a credit for costs incurred in connection with
qualified rehabilitation of any residential certified his-
toric building. If qualified rehabilitation expenditures
exceed $10,000, a credit of 20 percent of the total
expenditures is allowed. Unused credits may be car-
ried forward five years as a credit against Utah tax due.

To obtain form TC-40H, certification, and for addi-
tional information, contact:

State Historic Preservation Office
300 Rio Grande
Salt Lake City, UT  84101
Telephone (801) 533-3563.

(07) Enterprise Zone Credit (UCA §9-2-413)
There is no form for this credit. Retain documenta-
tion to support this credit.

For businesses to qualify for the enterprise zone
tax credit, at least 51 percent of the employees
employed by the business located in the enterprise
zone, must reside in the county in which the
enterprise zone is located.
• Businesses engaged in retail trade or public

utilities are not eligible for the enterprise zone
tax credit.

• Construction jobs are not eligible for the tax
credits in paragraphs 1 through 4 below.

The following state tax credits are applicable to
qualifying businesses in an enterprise zone.

1. A credit of $750 for each new full-time position
filled for not less than six months during a tax year.

2. An additional $500 tax credit if the new position
pays at least 125 percent of the county average
monthly nonagricultural payroll wage for the
respective industry as determined by the De-
partment of Workforce Services. If this informa-
tion is not available, the job must pay at least
125 percent of the total average monthly nona-
gricultural payroll wage in the respective county
where the enterprise is located.

3. An additional credit of $750 may be claimed if
the new position is in a business that adds value
to agricultural commodities through manufac-
turing or processing.

4. An additional $200 credit may be claimed for
two consecutive years for each new employee
who is insured under an employer-sponsored
health insurance program, if the employer pays
at least 50 percent of the premium cost for two
consecutive years.

5. A 50 percent credit, not to exceed $100,000, for
cash contributions made to a private nonprofit
corporation that is exempt from federal income
tax under Section 501(c)(3) of the IRS Code,
whose primary purpose is community and eco-
nomic development, and is accredited by the
Utah Rural Development Council Board of Di-
rectors.

6. A 25 percent credit of the first $200,000 spent
on rehabilitating a building, vacant for two years,
in the enterprise zone.

7. An annual investment tax credit of 10 percent of
the first $250,000 investment and 5 percent of
the next $1,000,000 qualifying investment in
plant, equipment, or other depreciable prop-
erty.

A business claiming a credit under paragraphs 1
through 4 may claim a credit for 30 full-time em-
ployee positions or less in each of its taxable years.
A business may claim an additional credit for a full-
time employee position under paragraphs 1 through
4 above if:
a. The business creates a new full-time employee

position;

b. The total number of full-time employee posi-
tions is greater than the number of full-time
employee positions previously claimed by the
business under paragraph 1 through 4; and

c. The total number of credits claimed for its
current taxable year, including the new full-time
employee positions being claimed as a credit, is
less than or equal to 30.

If the tax credit exceeds the tax liability, the credit
amount exceeding the liability may be carried for-
ward for a period that does not exceed the next
three taxable years.
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Indian tribes may apply for Enterprise Zone desig-
nation within an Indian reservation.
If Enterprise Zone credits are being taken based on
your ownership in a partnership, you must allocate
the above-calculated credits based on your re-
spective percentage of ownership.
For additional information, contact:

Dept. of Community and Economic Development
324 S State Street, Suite 500
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Telephone: (801) 538-8782

(08) Low Income Housing Tax Credit
(UCA §59-7-607)

Complete and attach forms TC-40TCAC, “Utah
Low-Income Housing Tax Credit Allocation Certifi-
cation,” and TC-40LI, “Summary of Utah Low-
Income Housing Tax Credit,” to your return. If you
are carrying this credit forward or backward, you
must also attach form TC-40LIC, “Utah Low-In-
come Housing Tax Credit Carryback and/or
Carryforward,” to your return.
This credit is an amount determined by the Utah
Housing Finance Agency, for any housing sponsor
that has received an allocation of the federal low-
income housing tax credit and any applicant for an
allocation of the federal low-income housing tax
credit. Unused credits may be carried back three
years or carried forward five years.

To obtain forms, certification and for additional
information, contact:

Utah Housing Finance Agency
554 S 300 E
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Telephone: (801) 521-6950

(09) Credit For Employers Who Hire Persons
With Disabilities (UCA §59-7-608)

Complete and attach form TC-40HD, “Tax Credit
for Employers Who Hire Persons with Disabilities,”
showing certification.
The credit is for employers hiring an individual with
a disability who:
1. Worked in Utah for at least 6 months in a

taxable year for that employer; and

2. Is paid at least minimum wages by that em-
ployer.

Individual with a disability means an individual who:

1. Has been receiving services from a certified
day-training program for persons with disabili-
ties, which is certified by the Department of
Human Services, for at least six consecutive
months prior to working for the employer claim-
ing the tax credit; or

2. Is eligible for services from the Division of
Services for People with Disabilities at the time

the individual begins working for the employer
claiming the tax credit.

To obtain form TC-40HD, certification or for addi-
tional information, contact:

Utah Department of Human Services
Division of Services for People with Disabilities
120 N 200 W Rm 411
Salt Lake City, UT 84103
Telephone: (801) 538-4200

(10) Recycling Market Development Zone
Tax Credit (UCA §59-7-610)

Attach the completed form TC-40R, “Recycling
Market Development Zone Tax Credit” with the
Department of Community and Economic Develop-
ment certification, verifying the credit has been
approved.

A credit is available to businesses operating in a
recycling market development zone as defined in
UCA §9-2-1602.

To obtain form TC-40R, certification, or for addi-
tional information, contact:

Dept. of Community and Economic Development
324 S State Street, Suite 500
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Telephone: (801) 538-8804

(12) Credit for Increasing Research
Activities (UCA §59-7-612)

The credit is for expenses incurred for increasing
qualified research activities in Utah. A qualifying
taxpayer may claim the credit in the taxable year
immediately following the taxable year for which the
taxpayer qualifies for the credit.
A qualifying taxpayer may take the following nonre-
fundable research credits for activities in Utah:

1. A research credit of 6% of the taxpayer’s quali-
fied research expenses for the current taxable
year that exceed the base amount; and

2. A credit for payments to qualified organizations
for basic research, as provided in IRC Section
41(e), of 6% for the current taxable year that
exceed the base amount.

For detailed information regarding this credit, in-
cluding definition of terms and procedures for claim-
ing the credit, refer to UCA §59-7-612.
(13) Credit for Machinery and Equipment

Used to Conduct Research
(UCA §59-7-613)

The credit is for machinery, equipment, or both
used primarily for conducting qualified research or
basic research in Utah for a time period of not less
than 12 consecutive months. A qualifying taxpayer
may claim the credit in the taxable year immediately
following the taxable year for which the taxpayer
qualifies for the credit.
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A qualifying taxpayer may take the following nonre-
fundable credits:
1. A credit of 6 percent of the purchase price of

certain machinery and equipment primarily used
to conduct qualified research in Utah; and

2. A credit of 6 percent of the purchase price of
certain machinery and equipment donated to a
qualified organization and used primarily to
conduct basic research in Utah.

For detailed information regarding this credit, in-
cluding definition of terms and procedures for claim-
ing the credit, refer to UCA §59-7-613.
(14) High Technology Equipment

Contribution Tax Credit (UCA §59-7-603)
A nonrefundable tax credit is allowed for 25 percent
of the fair market value of high technology equip-
ment contributions to public education, not to ex-
ceed the basis of the property contributed. If the
contribution was deducted when calculating fed-
eral taxable income, that amount must be deducted
from current year contributions (Utah Schedule D,
line 5b) before the credit may be claimed on this
line.
(15) Utah Municipal, U.S. and Agency Bond

Interest Tax Credit (UCA §59-7-601)
A credit of 1 percent of Utah municipal interest and
federal interest included in Utah taxable income will
be allowed. For multistate corporations, the amount
of Utah municipal and federal interest included in
Utah taxable income is calculated by multiplying the
total amount of that interest by the current year
apportionment fraction. The credit is nonrefund-
able but may be carried back three years and
forward five years. Attach a schedule showing the
calculation of credit.
(16) Utah Steam Coal Tax Credit

(UCA §59-7-604)
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1,
1993, there is allowed, as a credit against any tax
imposed by UCA Title 59, Chapters 7 and 8, an
amount equal to $1 per ton for each ton of Utah
steam coal sold from a permitted mine by the
taxpayer to a purchaser outside of the United
States in excess of the number of tons of Utah
steam coal sold from a permitted mine by the
taxpayer to a purchaser outside of the United
States in the taxable year beginning on or after
January 1, 1992, but before Dec. 31, 1992.
Unused credits may be carried forward 15 years.
The credit allowed by this section is repealed
effective for tax years beginning on or after January
1, 2002.

����������-�%� !"
Subtract line 16 from line 15 (cannot be less than
minimum tax per corporation).

����� �
� ��������!,���1����%'
Add lines 18a through 18c.

������
!���4����!��&�����%����5�%�������6
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�
7�	57��
There is no form for this credit. Make sure you keep
any documentation to support this credit.

Enter the total of the mineral production tax with-
held as shown on forms TC-675R or federal sched-
ule K-1(s) for 2000.  Attach copies of TC-675R or
K-1 forms to the return to receive proper credit.

������
,���1����%������6�����%��!��8��79�6�2!:
4�%��� �����  !"� �)1�� ;
�7��7�$��
Attach federal form 1040 Schedule F. There is no
state form for this credit. Make sure you keep all
personal records, forms, and worksheets to sup-
port this credit.
This is 24.5 cents per gallon credit only for:
• Motor fuel and undyed diesel fuel purchased in

Utah; and
• Used to operate stationary farm machinery

used solely for commercial nonhighway agri-
cultural use; and

• That was taxed at the time of purchase.
Activities that DO NOT qualify for this credit include,
but are not limited to, the following:
• Golf courses
• Hobbies

• Horse racing
• Boat operations
• Highway seeding

• Vehicles registered for highway use
• Farming for personal use
Multiply your total gallons eligible for the credit by
.245 and enter the gallon and credit amount on line
18b of your state return.

����� �
�� �� �%!�� &��/!:���%'
A refundable credit is allowed for advance pay-
ments made as quarterly prepayments and exten-
sion payments (form TC-559). Include any over-
payments from a prior year that were applied to this
year. The amount is computed on Schedule E.

����� ��� ������������%���'�8��:
�&��<���'� &!:���%'� ��''� &��<���'� ������'�
This line should only be used for amended returns.
Enter the amount of tax paid with the original return
and/or subsequent payments made prior to filing
this amended return less any previous refunds
(exclude refund interest).

����� �$� �� �%!��������!,���1����%'
Add lines 18 and 19.

����� ��� ��8<��/!:���%
If line 20 is larger than line 17, subtract line 17 from line 20.
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����� ��� ��8<��/!:���%� ��0���//����� �
-�"%�  !"!,��� 3�!�
As a convenience to refund filers, all or part of a
refund may be applied as an advance payment for
the next tax year. Enter amount to be applied (must
be less than or equal to refund).

����������������
Subtract line 22 from line 21, and enter the amount
here and on Form TC-20, line 8.

����� �	� � !"�#��
If line 17 is larger than line 20, subtract line 20 from
line 17 and enter the amount here and on Form TC-
20, line 9.

����� �
� ��=�!�%���:�.'%��!%���&��/!:���%'
4��%��6� ."��/%���
Check boxes corresponding to the four quarterly
prepayments for those quarters in which penalty
exceptions exist. Refer to “Prepayment Require-
ments” in the general instructions for exceptions to
penalty on estimated prepayments. Attach sup-
porting documentation.

��������
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����� �� �� (�%���'%�������%!%��8,��6!%���'
Interest from bonds, notes, and other evidences of
indebtedness issued by any state of the United
States, including any agency and instrumentality of
a state of the United States.

����'� �!� 7� ��� 7����� !"�'� �!%�5����#����%��
%�� #�%������� )�!�*�'%��� (�����>
Amounts included in federal taxable income from
refunds of the following taxes should be netted
against similar taxes on the appropriate lines.

������!���(������ !"�'�&!���%����:��%!%�
Add taxes imposed by any state that are measured
by income.

������,�����!����'�����&��<���6�� !"�'�&!��� %�
��:��%!%�
Add franchise taxes paid by a corporation to any
state for taxes imposed for the privilege of doing
business or exercising its corporate franchise.

����������1��/��!%���%��?� !"�'�&!��� %����:
�%!%�
Add corporate stock taxes paid to any state.

���������������6�� !"�'�&!��
Add any income, franchise, or capital stock taxes
imposed by a foreign country, a United States
possession or the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

����� ��� �� 0�'���''� !��� 8���/!%����  !"�'
Add business and occupation taxes deducted for
federal purposes.

����������!���9!�,�����!'�� ��9�����*�'%���%'
Reverse the effects of SHL adjustments. SHL’s
originated from adjustments primarily available to
businesses during the years 1981 and 1982 under
ERTA. These provisions allowed transfers of cer-
tain tax benefits for federal tax purposes. However,
Utah did not adopt these provisions and the effects
of any remaining SHL adjustments must be re-
versed for Utah purposes.
Add to income:
SHL Purchaser/Lessor
1. Interest expense.
2. Depreciation claimed on SHL property.

SHL Seller/Lessee
1. Amount of gain on the sale of federal tax benefits.
2. Rental expense on SHL property.

�����	���1!/�%!����''�1!��:�<��
Add capital losses that were deducted on a Utah
corporate return in previous years, but are used to
offset capital gains on this year’s federal return.

����� 
� ��#����%���'�  !?��� &��<���'�:� ��� %��
)%!����%���
Include any deduction on the federal return that has
been previously deducted on the Utah return.

��������������!��1�!��%!,���1��%��,�%���'
Add federal charitable contributions from federal
form 1120, line 19.

����� �� �� @!��+��''� ��� ���%���'� ��
�����$�
��� ������
Add the amount of gain or loss determined under
UCA §59-7-114(3) regarding a target corporation
under IRC Section 338, if that gain or loss has not
been included in unadjusted income, and the amount
of gain or loss determined under UCA §59-7-115
regarding corporations treated for federal pur-
poses as having disposed of its assets under IRC
Section 336(e), if that gain or loss has not been
included in unadjusted income.

The purpose of this addition is to make sure that the
gain or loss on IRC Section 338(h)(10) and 336(e)
transactions are treated similarly for Utah and
federal purposes as a deemed sale of assets. The
gain or loss is only added if it has not already been
included in unadjusted income.

����� 
� �� 0!'�'� ��*�'%���%'
Utah laws generally follow the Internal Revenue
Code for depreciation, amortization, and basis. How-
ever, basis differences occasionally arise due to
differences between state and federal laws in limited
instances. Some examples of such instances may
include: a) an IRC Section 338 election in a tax year
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beginning prior to January 1, 1994; b) adjustments
attributed to the federal consolidated rules under
IRC Section 1502. A company may not deduct basis
differences generated by errors in prior returns in
years when Utah and federal depreciation or amor-
tization amounts are required to be the same.

����� �� �� ."/��'�'� �%%��,�%!,��� %�� 
$� /�����%
)��%!�:� �����6��#�<������ ."���'���
Add the expenses directly and indirectly attribut-
able to the dividends from subsidiaries excluded on
Schedule C, line 7 (i.e., 50 percent of the unitary
foreign dividends). To calculate indirect interest
expense attributable to excluded dividends:

1. Divide the taxpayer’s average investment in
dividend paying subsidiaries by the taxpayer’s
average investment in total assets.

2. Multiply the result by the total interest expense.

����� �$� �� (�'%!�����%� �!��'� (������ &��<���'�:
 !"������������!��0�%�-�%� ����)%!��&��/�'�'
Add installment sales income from installment sales
made in tax years beginning before January 1, 1994
if the Utah installment provisions of former UCA §59-
7-119 were used. If the Utah installment provisions
were used on the Utah return, then a timing difference
was created between federal and Utah purposes.

����������������������<��� �����)%!��.���!7
%���!���!<��6'�&�!���).�&�
The participant in the Utah Educational Savings
Plan should receive a “Statement of Withholding
For Utah Educational Savings Plan,” form TC-
675H, from the UESP Trustee. Enter the amount
from line 1 of form TC-675H. Attach a copy of form
TC-675H to the return. If you have any questions
about UESP, call 1-800-418-2551.

����� ��� �� (�����+��''� ����� (�1� ���%���� ���
1��/��!%���'
IRC Section 936 corporations are fully includable in
the combined report. Add income/loss from IRC
Section 936 corporations.

����� ��� �� �����6�� (�����+��''� ���� A5����7
2���B� 1��,����� �����'
Corporations electing to file a worldwide combined
report must include income/loss of each corporation in
the unitary group regardless of the country in which the
corporations are incorporated or conduct business.
Add income/loss before extraordinary items and prior
period adjustments and before the provision for in-
come, war profits and excess profits taxes as reported
on federal form 5471 for foreign corporations.

������	���(�����+��''����)��%!�:�1��/��!%���'
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Add income/loss of unitary corporations owned greater
than 50 percent whose income/loss is not included on
the federal consolidated return. Please refer to “Com-
bined Reports” in the general instructions for addi-
tional information on unitary combined filings.

������
��� �%!������%���'
Add lines 1 through 14 and enter the result on this
line and on Schedule A, line 2.

��������
�����������	���	���&
��)�����
��������'���,���	�
���� 	

���������(�%�����/!�:�#�<������.�����!%���
Deduct dividends received from U.S. corporations
owned greater than 50 percent whose income is
included on this return and whose dividend has not
been previously eliminated.

����� �� �������6��#�<������@��''7�/
Deduct the foreign dividend gross-up included in
gross income for federal income tax purposes
under IRC Section 78.

������� ��-�%�1!/�%!����''
The corporation must include its capital losses on
this line if an election is being made to take a
deduction for capital losses incurred in the taxable
year. If a current year deduction is not taken, the
loss must be carried forward as provided in IRC
Section 1212(a)(1)(B) and (C).

����� 	�!�� �������!�� C�,'�1����%
Deduct the amount of salary expense reduction
due to claiming the federal jobs credit under IRC
Section 51.

����� 	�,�� �� ��'�!���� !��� #�<���/���%
Deduct qualified research and basic research ex-
pense reduction due to claiming the research and
development credit under IRC Section 41.

����� 	���� �� 1�����!��  �'%��6� ."/��'�
Deduct qualified clinical testing expense reduction
due to claiming the federal orphan drug credit
under IRC Section 28.

����� 	���� ��8%���������!��1����%'
Subtract expense reduction attributable to claiming
any other federal credit. Attach applicable federal
form.

�����
����!���9!�,�����!'�� ��9�����*�'%���%'
The effects of any remaining SHL adjustments must be
reversed for Utah purposes. For general SHL informa-
tion, see the instructions for Schedule B, line 3.
Subtract from income:
SHL Purchaser/Lessor

1. Rental income.
2. Amortization of the purchase price of tax ben-

efits (purchase price of tax benefits must be
capitalized).



������	

SHL Seller/Lessee

1. Interest income.
2. Depreciation on SHL property.

����� �� �� (������ &��<���'�:�  !"��
Subtract any income on the federal corporate re-
turn, form 1120 or 1120-A that has been previously
taxed by Utah. Attach supporting schedules and
documentation.

����� �� �� 
$� /�����%�."���'���� ����#�<�����'
�����)��%!�:������6����,'���!���'
Deduct 50 percent of the dividends deemed re-
ceived or received from subsidiaries that are mem-
bers of the unitary group and are organized or
incorporated outside of the United States, unless
those subsidiaries are included in a combined
report. In that case, the dividends are eliminated as
an intercompany transaction.
For corporations filing a water’s edge combined
report, the 50 percent exclusion includes dividends
from unitary foreign corporations, foreign sales
corporations, and subpart F income.

����� 
� �� 
$� /�����%�."���'���� ��� A�����6�
8/��!%��6� 1��/!�:B� (�����D��''
Deduct 50 percent of the adjusted income\loss of a
foreign operating company unless the taxpayer is
filing a worldwide combined report. A foreign oper-
ating company is a corporation (other than an IRC
Section 936 corporation) incorporated in the United
States with 80 percent or more of its business
activity, based on the average of the property and
payroll factors, conducted outside the United States.
In calculating this subtraction, no deduction is al-
lowable for foreign taxes.

���������@!��������''����1��%!����%��?��!��'
Subtract the gain or loss on the sales of stock
included in unadjusted income, yet not taxable for
federal purposes because the transaction is con-
sidered to be a deemed sale of assets under IRC
Sections 338(h)(10) or 336(e).

The purpose of this subtraction is to avoid the
double taxation that will occur if both the gain on the
stock sale and the gain on the deemed sale of
assets were included in income. Utah law follows
the federal statute that taxes the gain on the
deemed sale of assets.

����� �$� �� 0!'�'� ��*�'%���%'
Include adjustments to gains, losses, depreciation
expense, amortization expense, and similar items
due to a difference between basis for federal and
Utah purposes as explained in instructions for
Schedule B, line 8, page 12.

����� ��� �� (�%���'%� ."/��'�
Deduct interest expense not deducted on the fed-
eral corporate return under IRC Sections 265(b) or
291(e).

����������#�<�����'������(�'��!����1��/!�:
��,'���!���'
Deduct dividends received from subsidiaries owned
greater than 50 percent that are insurance compa-
nies taxed on their Utah premiums.

����������&!:���%'�4!���%�� %���)%!��.���!7
%���!���!<��6'�&�!���).�&�
The participant in the Utah Educational Savings
Plan should receive a “Statement of Withholding
For Utah Educational Savings Plan,” form TC-
675H, from the UESP Trustee. Include on this line
the amount on line 1 of form TC-675H. Attach a
copy of form TC-675H to the return. If you have any
questions about UESP, call 1-800-418-2551.

������	��� �%!����,%�!�%���'
Add lines 1 through 13. Enter the amount on line 14
and on Schedule A, line 3.

��������
�����������	���	�*�&
'���������
)��
����*	����
��

Compute deductions for Utah charitable contribu-
tions (UCA §59-7-109(2)).

����� ��� �//��%���!,��� (������ 0�����
1��%��,�%���'� #����%���
Enter amount from Schedule A, line 6.

���������)%!��1��%��,�%��������%!%���
&�����%!6�
Charitable contributions for the current year, in-
cluding excess contributions carried forward from a
prior year, cannot exceed the contribution limita-
tion. The contribution limitation percentage rate is
preprinted on this line (see UCA §59-7-109(2)).

���������)%!��1��%��,�%��������%!%���
Multiply line 1 by line 2 and enter limitation amount.
If line 1 is a loss, then no contributions deduction is
allowed.

�����	���1�����%�3�!��1��%��,�%���
Enter charitable contributions for the current year.

����� 
� ��1��%��,�%���'�#����%��� ��������!�
����� ���$�� ����� ��
Utah law precludes a deduction for the following
contributions when a Utah credit is being claimed.
If the contributions below were claimed as chari-
table  deductions on federal form 1120, line 19,
enter the credit amount that was claimed on Utah
Schedule A, line 16 in the space that was provided.

Lines 5a and 5b will be deducted from the current
year contribution on line 4.



������


�����
�!�� ��1��%��,�%���'� %��=�!�����������%����
5��?'��/'
Enter the amount of the Qualified Sheltered Work-
shop Cash Contribution Credit (code 02) claimed
on Utah Schedule A, line 16.

�����
�,�� ��#����%���� ����9�6�� �������6:
.E��/���%
Enter the amount of the High Technology Equip-
ment Contribution Tax Credit (code 14) claimed on
Utah Schedule A, line 16.

���������)%!��1��%��,�%����1!��:���2!��
Charitable contributions made in a taxable year
beginning on or after January 1, 1994, which ex-
ceed the allowable deduction for Utah, may be
carried forward to the 5 succeeding taxable years
in the same manner as allowed under federal law.
Enter the excess contributions carried forward to
this year. Attach a schedule showing contributions
made in taxable years beginning on or after Janu-
ary 1, 1994 that exceed the Utah contribution
limitation, have not been previously carried for-
ward, and are available to be carried forward to the
current year.

��������� �%!��1��%��,�%���'��<!��!,��
Subtract lines 5a and 5b from line 4 and add line 6.

�����
���)%!������2���1��%��,�%���'�#����%���
Enter the lesser of line 3 or line 7 here and on
Schedule A, line 7.

��������
�����������	���	�-�&
���)��
�	������� 	����	���	

Determine nonbusiness income allocated to Utah and
outside Utah by completing this schedule. All income
that arises from the conduct of the trade or business
operations of a corporation is business income.

Nonbusiness income means all income other than
business income and will be narrowly construed.
Intangible income must be properly classified and
based upon factual evidence. The burden of proof
is on the corporation to justify the manner in which
the income is claimed on the return.

Interest income is business income where the intan-
gible with respect to which the interest was received
arises out of or was created in the regular course of
the taxpayer’s trade or business operations. (Tax
Commission Rule R865-6F-8(A)(3)(c))
Dividends are business income where the stock with
respect to which the dividends are received arises
out of or was acquired in the regular course of the
taxpayer’s trade or business operations. Because of
the regularity with which most corporate taxpayers
engage in investment activities, income arising from

the ownership, sale or other disposition of invest-
ments is presumptively business income. (Tax
Commission Rule R865-6F-8(A)(3)(d))
Gain or loss from the sale, exchange, or other
disposition of real or tangible or intangible personal
property constitutes business income if the prop-
erty while owned by the taxpayer was used in the
taxpayer’s trade or business. (Tax Commission
Rule R865-6F-8(A)(3)(b))
Rental income from real and tangible property is
business income if the property with respect to
which the rental income was received is used in the
taxpayer’s trade or business or includable in the
property factor. (Tax Commission Rule R865-6F-
8(A)(3)(a))
If the corporation is claiming only Utah nonbusiness
income, lines 1a through 13 must be completed. If
the corporation is claiming only non-Utah nonbusi-
ness income, lines 14a through 26 must be com-
pleted. If the corporation is claiming both Utah and
non-Utah nonbusiness income, lines 1a through 26
must be completed. Use additional pages if neces-
sary to provide complete information including a
description of the business purpose for making the
investment, the transactions creating the non-busi-
ness income, and the use of revenues generated
by the non-business investment.

.���	�����������	
�����

����'� ��!�7���� �� )%!�� -��,�'���''� (�����
Complete each column with the information re-
quired and show the gross nonbusiness income
from each class of income being specifically allo-
cated. Use additional pages, if necessary, to pro-
vide complete information about additional sources
of nonbusiness income.

����� �� ��  �%!��)%!��-��,�'���''� (�����
Add lines 1(a) through 1(d).

����'� ��!�7���� �� #����%� ���!%��� ."/��'�'
Describe and enter amounts of direct expenses on
the same letter line as the corresponding nonbusi-
ness income is listed on lines 1a-d. Direct related
expenses include wages, interest, depreciation,
etc. (Reference: UCA §59-7-101(19))

����� 	� ��  �%!�� #����%� ���!%��� ."/��'�'
Enter the sum of direct related expenses by adding
lines 3(a) through 3(d).

����� 
� ��)%!��-��,�'���''� (������-�%� ��
#����%� ���!%��� ."/��'�'
Subtract line 4 from line 2.

����� �� �� 0�6�����6� ���3�!���''�%'
Enter the beginning of year value of assets used to
produce Utah nonbusiness income in column A.
Enter the beginning of year value of the corporation’s
total assets in column B. All assets, including Utah
assets, should be included in column B.



�������

���������.������3�!���''�%'
Enter the end of year value of assets used to
produce Utah nonbusiness income in column A.
Enter the end of year value of the corporation’s total
assets in column B. All assets, including Utah
assets, should be included in column B.

�����
����������0�6�����6�!���.������3�!�
�''�%'� F!���'
Add lines 6 and 7 for each respective column.

����� �� �� �<��!6�� �''�%� F!���'
Line 8 divided by 2 for each column.

����� �$� �� �<��!6�� �''�%'� )'��� %�� &������
)%!�� -��,�'���''� (�����
Line 9, column A divided by line 9, column B.

����� ��� �� (�%���'%� ."/��'�
Enter the total amount of interest deducted in
computing Utah taxable income.

����� ��� �� (������%� ���!%��� ."/��'�'� ���
)%!�� -��,�'���''� (�����
Multiply line 10 by line 11.

����� ��� ��  �%!�� )%!��-��,�'���''� (������-�%
��� ."/��'�'
Subtract line 12 from line 5. Enter amount here and
on Schedule A, line 5(a).

����.���	�����������	 
�����

����'� �	!7�� �� -��7)%!�� -��,�'���''� (�����
Complete each column with the information re-
quired and show the gross nonbusiness income
from each class of income being specifically allo-
cated. Use additional pages, if necessary, to pro-
vide complete information about additional sources
of nonbusiness income.

����� �
� ��  �%!�� -��7)%!�� -��,�'���''� (�����
Add lines 14a through 14d.

����'� ��!7�� �� #����%� ���!%��� ."/��'�'
Describe and enter amounts of direct expenses on
the same letter line as the corresponding nonbusi-
ness income is listed on lines 14a-d. Direct related
expenses include wages, interest, depreciation,
etc. (Reference: UCA §59-7-101(19))

����� ��� ��  �%!�� #����%� ���!%��� ."/��'�'
Enter the sum of direct related expenses by adding
lines 16a through 16d.

����� �
� �� -��7)%!�� -��,�'���''� (������ -�%
��� #����%� ���!%��� ."/��'�'
Subtract line 17 from line 15.

����� ��� �� 0�6�����6� ��� 3�!�� �''�%'
Enter the beginning of year value of total assets
used to produce non-Utah nonbusiness income in
column A. Enter the beginning of year value of the
corporation’s total assets in column B. All assets,
including Utah assets, should be included in col-
umn B.

������$���.������3�!���''�%'
Enter the end of year value of total assets used to
produce non-Utah nonbusiness income in column
A. Enter the end of year value of the corporation’s
total assets in column B. All assets, including Utah
assets, should be included in column B.

�����������������0�6�����6�!���.������3�!�
�''�%'� F!���'
Add lines 19 and 20 for each respective column.

����� ��� �� �<��!6�� �''�%� F!���'
Line 21 divided by 2 for each column.

����� ��� �� �<��!6�� �''�%'� )'��� %�� &������
-��7)%!�� -��,�'���''� (�����
Line 22, column A divided by line 22, column B.

����� �	� �� (�%���'%� ."/��'�
Enter the total amount of interest deducted in
computing Utah taxable income.

����� �
� �� (������%� ���!%��� ."/��'�'� ���
-��7)%!�� -��,�'���''� (�����
Multiply line 23 by line 24.

����� ��� ��  �%!�� -��7)%!�� -��,�'���''� (�����
-�%� ��� ."/��'�'
���������	
���
�������	
����������������������������
���������	�����	
������

��������
�����������	���	�.�&
%�����
�� 	������	���	

Determine apportionment fraction by completing
this schedule. The factors express a percent for
tangible property in Utah, for wages and salaries in
Utah, and for sales in Utah. These factors are to be
added together and divided by the number of
factors present (typically 3) to arrive at the Utah
apportionment fraction calculated to six decimals.
This fraction is to be applied to the apportionable
income (or loss) to arrive at the amount of income
(or loss) apportioned to Utah. In cases where one
or more of the factors is omitted due to peculiar
aspects of the business operations, the corporation
should divide by the number of factors present.
Income or loss from partnership or joint venture
interests must be included in income and appor-
tioned to Utah through application of the three-factor
formula consisting of property, payroll, and sales.
For apportionment purposes, the portion of part-
nership or joint venture property, payroll, and sales
to be included in the corporation’s property, payroll,
and sales factors must be computed on the basis of
the corporation’s ownership interest in the partner-
ship or joint venture.



�������

Briefly describe the nature and location(s) of your
Utah business activities in the space provided at the
top of this schedule.

����'� ��!�7����� ��  !�6�,��� &��/��%:
Show the average cost value during the taxable year
of real and tangible personal property used in the
business within the state (including leased property)
in column A and overall (including Utah) in column B.
Property owned by the corporation is valued at its
original cost. Property rented by the corporation is
valued at eight times the net annual rental rate. Net
annual rental rate is the annual rental rate paid by
the corporation less the annual rate received by the
corporation from subrentals.
The average value of property must be determined by
averaging the cost values at the beginning and end of
the tax period. However, monthly values may be used
or required if monthly averaging more clearly reflects
the average value of the corporation’s property.

A supporting schedule should be attached when-
ever monthly averaging is used.

��������� �%!�� !�6�,���&��/��%:
Enter totals of lines 1(a) through 1(e) in the respective
columns.

������!���&��/��%:���!�%���
Determine property fraction: column A, line 2 di-
vided by column B, line 2.

����� �� ��5!6�'�� �!�!���'�� 1����''���'�� !��
8%���� (�����!,��� 1��/��'!%���
Wages, salaries, commissions, and other includ-
able compensation paid to employees for personal
services must be included in the Utah factor to the
extent that the services, for which the compensa-
tion was paid, were rendered in Utah.
Compensation is paid in the state if:
1. The individual’s service is performed entirely

within the state;
2. The individual’s service is performed both within

and without the state, but the service per-
formed without the state is incidental to the
individual’s service within the state; or

3. Some of the service is performed in the state and:

a. The base of operations or, if there is no
base of operation, the place where the
service is directed or controlled is within the
state, or

b. The base of operations or the place where
the service is directed or controlled is not in
any state where some part of the service is
performed, but the individual’s residence is
in this state.

Amounts reportable for employment security pur-
poses may ordinarily be used to determine the
wage factor.

�������!����5!6�'���!�%���
Determine wage fraction: column A, line 3 divided
by column B, line 3. Overall wages, including Utah,
are listed in column B.

����'� 	�!�7	���� �� @��''� �����/%'� ����� 0�'���''
The sales factor is the percentage the sales or
charges for services within the state for the taxable
year bear to the overall sales for the taxable year.
Gross receipts from the performance of services
are in this state to the extent the services are
performed in this state.
Sales of tangible personal property are in this state
if the property is delivered or shipped to a pur-
chaser within this state regardless of the F.O.B.
point or other conditions of the sale, or if the
property is shipped from an office, store, ware-
house, factory, or other place of storage in this state
and: (1) the purchaser is the United States Govern-
ment, or (2) the corporation is not taxable in the
state of the purchaser.
Nexus: The jurisdictional link that must be present
before a state may tax a corporation upon its
activities within a state’s borders.
Note: Exception to the above method for securities
brokerage businesses can be found in the UCA
§59-7-319(3).

�����
��� �%!���!��'�!������<���
Enter totals of lines 4(a) through 4(e) in their
respective columns.

�����
�!�����!��'���!�%���
Determine sales fraction: column A, line 5 divided
by column B, line 5. Overall sales, including Utah,
are listed in column B.

��������� �%!����!�%���
Enter total of lines 2(a), 3(a) and 5(a).

����������//��%������%���!�%���
Calculate the apportionment fraction to six deci-
mals: Line 6 divided by the number of factors used
(typically 3 - property, wages and sales). If one or
more of the factors are not present (i.e., there is a
zero represented on lines 2, 3, or 5 in column B),
divide by the number of factors present. Enter
apportionment fraction here and on Schedule A,
line 9.

$�������0��	�������������	�����

Specialized apportionment rules apply for:

• Trucking Companies (R865-6F-19)
• Railroads (R865-6F-29)
• Publishing Companies (R865-6F-31)

• Financial Institutions (R865-6F-32)
• Telecommunication (R865-6F-33)
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